Workday Adaptive Planning Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
239 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (26-50 of 170)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2019

Adaptive Insights Allows a Lean Finance Team to Manage a Dynamic Business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, only our finance department, which consists of a VP, director, manager, and three financial analysts, is using Adaptive Insights. Each individual owns a certain portion of our model, usually aligned with the business they support. We have built our complete business model in Adaptive Insights so that we can forecast our financial statements, as well as forecasting and tracking key process indicators and business metrics.
  • Consolidation.
  • Detailed modeling.
  • Integration with accounting systems like NetSuite.
  • Permissions for users by the account in addition to the level. The use case being letting a financial analyst see the headcount sheet with the comp for the organizations he or she supports, but not for the finance and accounting departments to hide the salaries of other team members from them.
  • Currently, the View Dependencies feature does not seem to work very well, so you really can't see all the places a certain account is showing up in your model. It would be nice to have greater visibility to see where each account is used in the model so that you know how changing that account will change your model.
  • The Account Code in Reports is different than the actual account codes, so it is hard to know what account is actually being used in the report.
Adaptive Insights is suited for financial budgeting, planning, reporting, forecasting, and modeling. The dashboarding is not great for our purposes. It also will not replace a CRM like Salesforce, which is fine.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Best of breed application that is relatively easy to get up and going + maintain

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Adaptive as our system of record planning and reporting application. The FP&A team is the primary editor of information, but read-only information is widely consumed across the org.
  • Excellent documentation with articles and videos.
  • Strong implementations network of consultants.
  • Accessible staff for Q&A (like formulas Friday and other weekly sessions).
  • Being cloud only, occasionally the model may be slow to load or update.
  • Certain features like user assigned sheets are edit only or no access (no read-only access).
  • Dimension level security is coming in a future release (Fall 2019).
  • Cannot have multiple security profiles per user (one profile per account).
Adaptive is great for lining up multiple version (variance analysis) and a nice mix of structure and flexibility. We still maintain some more complex models outside of the system in Excel and application scripts like cohort models.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2019

Great product, easy to use!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive is being used in the Finance department. We run our forecasts and budgets through Adaptive. We really like the different aspects for the program. One attribute that we use a lot is the ability to have different versions. We change things about our forecast in different versions to run scenario analysis.
  • Audit history of what has been changed is huge
  • Being able to have different versions to run scenario analysis
  • Ability to easily load and download data easily
  • Being able to set user defaults on specific pages like different filters so it is the same every time the page is pulled up, it seems like right now the default is the same across all users.
It is great for a finance department for forecasts and budgets.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2019

Insights you can Adapt

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used across the whole organization to reduce static planning.
  • Provides a one-stop space for the entire organization to view data & reports.
  • Provides a one-stop space for the entire organization to enter their own unique data.
  • Provides a one-stop space for the entire organization to handle received tasks.
  • Like any software understanding formula & formula language.
Well suited for dynamic reporting. Less suited for drill down functions as that is dependent on the agency's own model and implementation of AI.
Read this authenticated review
Mark McConkie | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2018

Adaptive Rocks at Workfront!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive is being used across the entire company as our budget software. We also use it to generate some operational metrics, and are expanding that functionality now. We have all of our financials, track our bookings, and track our ARR in Adaptive.
  • I love how easy it is to track software and general amortizations in Adaptive. The software has been an issue with my past employers, but it flows very easily here in Adaptive.
  • We also use Adaptive's OfficeConnect for easy reporting. It has helped us automate our reporting as we work with internal departments. We have the reports built, and the software and can refresh all of them simultaneously, reducing generation time and giving us more time for analysis.
  • We are building out more operational metrics now. We are starting to track sales opportunities across different business segments to see the correlation between spending activities and opportunity generation. This helps us set better targets in the future. This paired with OfficeConnect also makes it very easy to track and report on operational metrics in addition to financial metrics.
  • It can get cumbersome to have separate sheets for all prepaid expenses. The software works out very neatly - but creating a new sheet for each prepaid expense can be difficult. Because of this, I feel like forecasting is less based on actual plans, and more based on gut feelings, and trends rather than actual plans.
  • I wish OfficeConnect could pull individual lines rather than just aggregated data. The example that I'm trying to work on now is that I would like to pull personnel information from OfficeConnect (mainly pulling lists of employees, or open positions). I don't know how to do that currently. I can pull aggregated data and show totals - but I can't see the individual lines that make up that total within OfficeConnect.
It is very helpful for budgeting and reporting. I love how easy it is to automate reports and presentations. It can be more difficult to plan specific activities. It feels more high-level than activity-level. It shows totals rather than individual transactions (either past or future transactions).
Read Mark McConkie's full review
Brian Kyslinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2018

Adaptive Insights

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Adaptive to allow us to provide financial reports with different groupings and views that the accounting software could not provide. As we continue we will be adding key metrics that will provide individual business leaders actionable items that can directly impact the P&L.
  • Infinite ability to group accounts and departments for reporting. The only limitation is the number of ways that you think of in terms of consolidating the information.
  • Being able to build scalable, complex, distributed, budget models. With the data we can bring into the system and the formulas we can use we have all the functionality of the spreadsheet, but with the flexibility to allow leaders across the organization to participate and update their section.
  • The platform allows multiple forecast/budget versions which allows for version control and sensitivity analysis. I can lock versions from changes while quickly creating a new version to see the impact of a +or- scenario to the company’s profitability.
  • With the OfficeConnect tool we can leverage Excel to provide repeatable reports for the board and other business leaders that are repeatable from month to month. While the platform provides more flexibility than an accounting package it still has limitations. Using OfficeConnect I can leverage the power of the Microsoft suite of Excel/Word/PowerPoint directly.
  • When trying to learn about a new feature or a feature I have not used previously it is sometimes difficult to find that information on the help section.
  • Adaptive can be deployed through consultants when they do not have specialized knowledge like higher education. This sometimes makes it difficult to determine who to contact when experiencing issues with the model after implementation.
  • You are limited to one master chart of accounts. When you have multiple businesses this can cause some difficulties that can be overcome, but takes additional thought and planning and can cause issues when making changes.
It is well suited for mid-size companies to have a budgeting, forecasting, and reporting platform. The system needs data and someone to maintain it so it would not be well suited for a small company or one without a dedicated finance team.
Read Brian Kyslinger's full review
Gary Grzesiak | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2018

Adaptive is very insightful!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive for all of our budget development, forecasting, analysis and management reporting. Adaptive is used across the whole organization. Adaptive allowed us to move away from manual spreadsheet forecasting, develop budgets using staffing, travel, capital assumptions. Also real time KPI's and dashboards was a real business need for our association and Adaptive provides that solution. The ease of loading actual data from our transactional system gives us real time financials that we did not previously have the capability . OfficeConnect allows us to run our monthly budget reports in a timely fashion as our previous system had to be run over night due to serve issues without the amount of data.
  • Allows assumptions to be created for fringes, taxes, capital etc. We are now able to push these type of expenses to individual departments as opposed to a single department. Gives us true costs for each department.
  • The flexibility in revising and creating new sheets allows our organization to modify our budget/forecast approach without much downtime. Also, we can make these modifications internally . No need to hire consultants to complete these tasks.
  • Adaptive Insights is an easy to use/understand tool for end-users. Our users typically struggle with new systems but the Adaptive roll-out was very smooth with very little end-user angst.
  • The format of reports when downloaded to Excel or PowerPoint could use improvement.
  • Would be nice if you could inactivate GL accounts when they are no longer being used.
  • Suppress rows functionality when set by the administrator to default to suppress if not data doesn't always seem to work.
Adaptive is great if you want to create many what- if scenarios when budgeting and forecasting. Staffing scenarios has been particularly helpful for our HR department when analyze staff needs for future years and analyzing open and unfilled positions over a certain time frame.

Every so often Adaptive's response time when in the system has been slow but Adaptive has rolled out the Elastic Hypercube to take care of that issue.
Read Gary Grzesiak's full review
Denise Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2018

BEST CPM software out there!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is used across our organization. It has addressed many business problems, such as more streamlined budgeting and forecasting, including income statements, balance sheets, cash flow statements, and capital expenditures. We recently completed our first 5-year forecast, which would not have been possible without Adaptive Insights. We use Adaptive Insights for all of our financial reporting. We also utilize the Dashboard capability for executives.
  • Financial Reporting - Building financial statements in OfficeConnect is a breeze! They are quick and easy to update on a monthly basis! The HTML reporting within Adaptive Insights is also particularly useful for department and adhoc reports!
  • Budgeting/Forecasting - Being able to budget/forecast within Adaptive Insights has significantly cut down on the time it takes to budget by utilizing formulas and assumptions within the model! We reforecast quarterly, and with Adaptive Insights, it's painless when compared to the Excel forecasting we did previously.
  • Cash Flow Statement - Creating this for the annual audit was painful before Adaptive Insights! Now, it's a simple export from Adaptive Insights.
  • Dashboards - The dashboards that can be created are endless and provide valuable insight for our executives in real-time!
  • Model - It takes a little bit of time to get familiar with how the model works.
We are a medium-sized holding company, and Adaptive Insights has worked tremendously well for us! We do not currently use it to consolidate our business units, but we plan on exploring that soon. If you find yourself spending numerous hours creating financial statements and budgeting in Excel, then Adaptive Insights may be for you! It saves us an exponential amount of time in variance analysis, refreshing financial statements, and budgeting.
Read Denise Lewis's full review
Jessalyn Ka | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2018

Adaptive Insights - Effectively manage actual data and budget data

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an organization that represents over 230,000 classified employees, we are using Adaptive Insights to generate reports that provide transactions and more drill down reports by dept. across the entire organization. This enables all departments to review their budget at any time without waiting for the monthly reports to be distributed. In addition, this helps eliminate human errors as we are able to pull the reports and drill down to the exact transactions to review and confirm that they are coded correctly. We like that the system is web-based - accessible from anywhere as long as you have internet access.
  • Web-based system which eliminates the need to purchase new software. System is accessible anywhere as long as there is internet access.
  • Its features provide for good planning, budgeting, and forecasting.
  • The ability to create customized reports is a very nice touch - we are able to share this across our organization.
  • The layout of the various reporting options could be displayed in a more user-friendlier way. It's a bit difficult to locate where to find the reports.
  • I'm finding that the drill down feature from the monthly financials section is not as convenient as it should be.
  • The exporting to Excel or PDF format is a bit off - it's time consuming to manipulate the excel to a regular paper size.
Adaptive Insights is well suited for many business sizes, including small companies to companies with billions of dollars in revenue. Its flexibility with customization and the various options is very attractive.
Read Jessalyn Ka's full review
Jonny Linehan | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2018

Adopt Adaptive

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently Adaptive Insights is being used almost solely by our FP&A team. We have given access to other managers also, but they usually reach out to us in Finance if they have any Adaptive related questions. We just recently started using OfficeConnect and this has helped us become more efficient when preparing and presenting our monthly business reviews. Also, we just completed our budgeting process for next year, and by using Adaptive Insights and OfficeConnect together we were able to make real-time updates and show executives immediately what would happen to their budget by adding/cutting what they suggested.
  • Forecasting. When you design sheets correctly you are able to create accurate and insightful forecasts. The integration with NetSuite is also a great feature because you can access all information related to a certain expense and really give useful insights to your business.
  • If I have a question on how to do something in Adaptive it is difficult to search for the answer online. For example, if I had a problem with an Excel formula I could google it and have someone explain the answer to me almost immediately. It would be nice if there were more training resources for Adaptive.
Adaptive is well suited for individuals and business partners who are familiar with basic financial practices. Here at Workfront, we are trying to limit the amount of Adaptive users because we are working in Adaptive every single day and some budget owners aren't going in there frequently and when they do their information they look at doesn't match our information because they might forget to change the particular version they are using. This is where OfficeConnect is very useful because we can send a slide deck out each month with updated numbers for our budget owners and it is easy, stress-free, and accurate.
Read Jonny Linehan's full review
Justin Ballesteros | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Adaptive Insights to the moon

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is used for Financial Planning and Reporting activities. It's much more user friendly and efficient in regards to slicing and dicing the financial than extracting data to excel from our ERP.
  • Adaptive is an excellent tool in creating dynamic models for budgets and forecasts that can connect directly to our financials.
  • The most powerful tool of Adaptive is the ability to handle complex calculations behind the scenes while mupltiple users can access our instance and see the results in real-time.
  • Adaptive Insights could improve it's user training by offering more video instructions that our included in customer subscriptions.
  • The Office Connect feature is a great tool for working with financial data in Excel. I believe this will be an area to focus on improvement as many of their competitors have better functionality with pulling and drilling into data.
I believe Adaptive Insights can be instrumental for any business looking to streamline their operations strategy with finance. Adaptive is an excellent system to implement if a company is looking to invest in the business and looking for a product to help plan and track the results. It's well suited for providing department results vs what if scenarios,able to handle complex modeled calculations, and equip Finance to partner with key stakeholders in the business in real-time. Their product is much less reliant on IT as traditional reporting systems since Finance will typically troubleshoot issues.
Read Justin Ballesteros's full review
Steve Paul, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2018

The efficiency of Adaptive

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across our entire organization. We are using it both for forecasting purposes and actuals reporting purposes. We were previously using an in-house built financial system and the implementation of Adaptive has saved us time both in our monthly reporting process as well as our planning/quarterly forecasting process.
  • It allows us to provide up to date information to senior management with the click of a few buttons.
  • It saves us time in our month-end close process as well as our budgeting/forecasting process.
  • Its dashboarding allows us to create visuals and monthly KPI's to report to senior management.
  • We would like to see the functionality of dates being added to web reports.
  • The month to month maintenance is sometimes cumbersome. This is more of a comment due to the fact that we are a construction company and our structure (jobs) changes on a monthly basis.
Adaptive Insights allows us to consolidate our reporting in a simple and efficient manner. The system is very user-friendly and a person with just an accounting background and no previous IT background can maintain the system with ease. Adaptive appeals to companies of all sizes as there are many tools each company can take advantage of.
Read Steve Paul, CPA's full review
Allison Bailey Cates | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2018

Adaptive Insights Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is used predominantly by the accounting and finance department. However, we track our system sales, same store sales, and other items in Adaptive. We use Adaptive to build reports for all areas of our company.
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to learn
  • Similar to Excel
  • Allowing users to select an individual month within the time frame filter
Adaptive is well suited in my organization's month end financial close process.
Read Allison Bailey Cates's full review
Manuel Lora Fernández | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2018

Forecasting made easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Adaptive is being used across a department within one of our Divisions. Adaptive allows us to prepare and project our monthly Forecast and annual Budget. The Adaptive built-in reports are key for our department to analyse the evolution of our forecast and the comparison with our budget.

Furthermore it gives you a tool to control the projection of our intercompany recharges.

  • Flexibility
  • Ease of use
  • Intergration with other tools (SAP, SAP FC, Excel)
  • Formatting of the built-in reports
  • Ability to modify the levels structure
  • Dashboard improvements

Easy to integrate with ERP such as SAP thanks to their API interface. Importing to Adaptive is smooth and easy to configure. Also when exporting to another application is needed, well suited interfaces can be built to fulfill any needs.

After our migration to SAP, we tried to change our organisational e-structure and move some cost centers from a level folder to another. That causes a loss of historical data and until today I am not sure if there is a safe way to do something like that.

Read Manuel Lora Fernández's full review
Jared Bryant, CFE, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2018

Adaptive Insights is very Intuitive

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is being used across the whole organization. Every cost center manager prepares an annual plan within Adaptive Insights.
  • Very Intuitive and easy to learn.
  • Adaptive Insights can be managed and owned by Finance people and does not require IT involvement.
  • Office Connect reporting is very useful.
  • The new process tracker feature could be expanded.
Adaptive Insights would be well suited for organizations that either prepare a bottom-up plan or top-down plan.
Read Jared Bryant, CFE, MBA's full review
Pahoran Da Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Adaptive Insights

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights and Office Connect make my job as an FP&A analyst so easy and streamlined. I can update my monthly dashboards with the click of a button. We are currently in the budgeting process and the forecast and revisions are very easy to update. We can provide real-time feedback to business leaders and make sure we hitting our target. Overall, Adaptive is a great tool for us.
  • The forecast is easy to create and manage
  • Office Connect connection is sleek
  • Easy connection with other software like Net Suite
  • Navigation can be a bit difficult
Any company from 50+ employees needs this tool. It helps manage cost, especially with headcount. Its a great tool to manage a budget and forecast.
Read Pahoran Da Silva's full review
Brandon Samuels | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2018

Great tool once you get the training

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being predominantly used for financial reporting and trend analysis by the finance teams
  • It is very visually appealing
  • As long as the hierarchy is built out right it's very efficient
  • Security access is great
  • The user experience could be better. Its difficult to get up to speed.
  • It could be more visually appealing
  • Send report feature in the tool needs to be improved
Really great for reporting and trend analysis
Read Brandon Samuels's full review
Victoria Ferrando | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2018

Adaptive Insights

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Suite is used by the whole organization, even though the data entry is centralized in one department. It is used to plan the budget of the current and following year and to analyze the information by the reports customized by us.
  • Reload with new info
  • Import data
  • Export data
  • Reports
Well suited for any medium to a large-sized company that needs to forecast and budget their operations.
Read Victoria Ferrando's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2018

Agile Reporting and Planning with Adaptive

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization currently uses Adaptive across over 20 separate sites for both regular monthly forecasting and the yearly budget process. Adaptive's cloud-based system replaced complex models built entirely in Excel, which led to version fragmentation and a certain lack of quality due to files passing through so many hands. Adaptive has allowed our organization to simplify our forecasting and budgeting for non-finance professionals handling their team/site's projections, while providing a more robust toolset to these end users. From a financial control standpoint, we've been able to develop stronger version control and the overall quality of our org's projections has improved dramatically.
  • Allows for better integration between multiple business segments, which in turn leads to faster and more robust projections for the whole organization.
  • Adaptive's simple user interface ensures that stakeholders without a proper Finance background still can navigate our projection entry processes with relative ease.
  • Adaptive's strong network of consultants and community resources allow for great support from the original integration on through continuing support years after go-live.
  • Adaptive has strong integration connnections with other financial or CRM sources, especially with NetSuite and Salesforce. However, there could be more tools available for greater dynamic imports, especially where headcount/payroll data is concerned.
  • Adaptive could benefit from more flexible data visualization tools, especially involving pre-created tools that layer on-top of existing sheet data.
  • Adaptive's OfficeConnect platform has been a major boon to our standard reporting process, and easier functionality around this tool would make reporting even easier.
Adaptive is extremely well-suited to implementation in organizations with multiple, segmented business units which don't necessarily have the strongest finance training/background but nevertheless are managing forecasting/budgeting for their individual unit. Adaptive has allowed our organization to develop better, more accurate reporting on a shorter timeline as a result of centralizing the entry points for all teams within the org.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

Time Saving

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive was purchased to improve our current budget processes and make it more efficient. The software is being used by the Finance Department and key bBusiness users across the organization.

Prior to Adaptive, the organization used complex Excel spreadsheets for over 90 departments. Adaptive has taken these complex spreadsheets and incorporated them into the set up and incorporates all of the standards and assumptions, so that the end user only has to input their information one time and everything flows through to the correct budget sheets for analysis.
  • Adaptive's reporting function is an excellent tool for analysis. It can be used for budget formulation through monthly reporting analysis.
  • Adaptive makes it easy to get down to the most minute level of detail in order to quickly give analysis on the budget, through its modeled sheets, and cube sheets.
  • I don't see any weaknesses from the software, other than it not having the flexibility to make changes to other versions of budgets without affecting previous versions.
It takes away the need for so many Excel spreadsheets - from the manual preparation and edits, all the way through reporting.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2018

Adaptive Insights to the rescue

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have multiple units that need to be budgeted on an annual basis. Each of these entities is responsible for their own budgets using some assumptions driven by corporate. At the end of the process, it all has to be pulled together. Previously, using Excel, this was at least a full day process, with similar turnaround times every time something was changed at the base level. Now that process takes minutes.
  • It is one database, so there is no pulling together or consolidating of data
  • It allows for structural changes to be made such that if a corporate decision is made that impacts everyone, or even a segment of the units, the change can easily be made in minutes
  • At the end of the process, often times we will want to dig into the numbers, and possibly change some, based on how they all roll up. Previously, this was an Excel nightmare. Now it is instant and seamless.
  • Discovery provides an "at your fingertips" display of every KPI that you can dream up, as well as trends, breakdowns, and projections that are driving or being driven by those indicators.
  • I would like to see the ability to completely turn off all calculations for a budget version, such that it is locked down, and would require an act of Congress to change a number. We have had a few cases where something was inadvertently changed AFTER the budget was finalized.
  • The ability to back-up an entire budget would be helpful (see the comment above).
Anyplace where Excel is used as a primary budgeting tool, and there are multiple inputs/locations to that process, Adaptive will be able to make the process smoother. This is particularly the case when the units are spread out, and not on the same internal network. We have saved a ridiculous amount of time by using Adaptive.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2018

Adaptive Insights Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is currently used in our finance department to help plan, budget, and forecast for our company. Ultimately, it helps us as we work with the business leaders to track expenses as they come in. We review expenses each month and compare our budgeted numbers to actual numbers with our business leaders to identify the reasons behind any variances.
  • It is much nicer than having Excel because you don't have to worry nearly as much about breaking formulas.
  • It enables analysts and business partners to plan together by both having access to the same numbers in the same software thus reducing confusion and helping to keep everyone on the same page.
  • It helps a lot with reporting and doing analyses on budgets vs. actuals.
  • I wish that there were a way to select multiple levels when viewing sheets instead of having to build a report.
  • It would be nice if there were slightly more access controls so that different analysts could see the headcount for their groups without giving them access to the entire company's headcount data.
Adaptive is great if you have been using Excel models as a small company, and you're looking for a software to help build financial models that can more easily grow with your company.

It might not be the best option if you are an extremely large corporation as we've discovered that it can slow down substantially if sheets have too many rows. For example, if you are a company with several thousand employees, I don't think Adaptive is currently robust enough to support all of your data and planning.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2018

Adaptive a home run product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive is being used for all our budgeting, forecasting, and board reporting. It is currently being used by just the finance department, but I have been at a previous organization where it was more widely used. Adaptive has really helped us make our monthly, quarterly, and board reporting much more accurate and efficient. Moving from Adaptive and out of Excel has really allowed us to get important information into the hands of our executive team much quicker.
  • The security settings are very easy to implement. I can easily give access to our analyst in Europe access to only their portion of the budget with just a single click.
  • Being able to quickly spin up multiple versions of a plan make scenario planning very efficient.
  • The reporting functionality is robust and can be done by the team.
  • The implementation process could be a little more straight forward
Adaptive is very well suited for small and large companies. Like any software implementation, there is a little bit of heavy lifting up front to get it up and running, but once you do it makes the FP&A organization much for efficient and strategic. It has also been very useful for integration acquisitions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2018

Management Reports & Consolidation

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive Insights to consolidate our financial systems. It's being used for consolidation and management reporting purposes. It's very intuitive and easy to use. It improved our process by two times. Our monthly close process is much faster than it was before. Adaptive is a great database to have all the company's information to manipulate and report.
  • It's very flexible
  • Easy to use
  • Can adapt with any ERP system
  • It should look into more software integration
  • More standard templates
  • More flexibility on formulas
It's okay for consolidation. It should not be used as a general ledger.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2018

Adaptive Insights - Useful Tool!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is a tool we heavily use in our finance department to help us budget, forecast, and plan the financial success for our company. Adaptive Insights allows us to create sheets that flow into our financial reports and enable us to better forecast the finances within our company. We are able to keep track of incoming and outgoing personnel. We also use Office Connect to quickly update and produce reports to our business partners.
  • The Office Connect plugin gives great flexibility and possibilities for providing a greater level of detailed analysis to business partners.
  • Being able to produce a personnel report across multiple departments.
Adaptive Insights is particularly useful for any FP&A department within an organization to better forecast, budget, and plan. It's an exceptional tool that empowers financial analysts to best present a department's financial health to a business partner. It would be less appropriate, from my experience, for departments outside of finance, unless the company does not have a strong finance department that is able to provide analysis for all departments.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (1)
9
Customizable dashboards (1)
10
Report Formatting Templates (1)
9
Drill-down analysis (1)
9
Formatting capabilities (1)
7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (1)
8
Report sharing and collaboration (1)
8
Publish to PDF (1)
8
Report Versioning (1)
8
Report Delivery Scheduling (1)
8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (1)
7
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (1)
8
Predictive Analytics (1)
8
Multi-User Support (named login) (1)
9
Role-Based Security Model (1)
9
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (1)
9
Responsive Design for Web Access (1)
8
Dedicated iOS Application (1)
8
Dedicated Android Application (1)
8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (1)
10
Long-term financial planning (130)
7.9
Financial budgeting (140)
8.9
Forecasting (135)
9.0
Scenario modeling (130)
7.1
Management reporting (139)
8.9
Financial data consolidation (82)
8.6
Journal entries and reports (48)
6.3
Multi-currency management (58)
7.5
Intercompany Eliminations (42)
7.9
Minority Ownership (20)
7.9
Local and consolidated reporting (71)
8.5
Detailed Audit Trails (89)
8.5
Financial Statement Reporting (115)
8.7
Management Reporting (127)
8.6
Excel-based Reporting (126)
7.3
Automated board and financial reporting (110)
7.4
XBRL support for regulatory filing (17)
7.5
Personalized dashboards (86)
7.5
Color-coded scorecards (68)
6.4
KPIs (81)
7.3
Cost and profitability analysis (88)
8.3
Key Performance Indicator setting (71)
7.9
Benchmarking with external data (49)
4.8
Flat file integration (91)
8.3
Excel data integration (115)
8.3
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (85)
8.2

About Workday Adaptive Planning

Workday Adaptive Planning aims to power a new generation of business planning, and drive business agility in a fast-moving world. The Workday Adaptive Planning Business Planning Cloud offers modeling capabilities for organizations of any size, and helps users to collaborate, gain insights, and make smarter decisions faster.

The vendor states that more than 3,800 organizations across 50-plus countries use Workday Adaptive Planning, and boasting its ease of use, they state that Workday Adaptive Planning ranks #1 in customer satisfaction in independent industry surveys from leading market analysts such as Gartner, Forrester, and BPM Partners.

According to the vendor, Adaptive Planning helps mid-size & enterprise organizations’ leaders better manage their business:
  • Adaptive Planning enables organizations to break free from static planning, to active planning
  • Active planning is collaborative, comprehensive, and continuous
  • Active planning requires a solution that’s easy, powerful, and fast
Capabilities include:
  • Automated Budgeting and Forecasting to increase productivity
  • Self-Service Financial Reporting allowing users to create, share and personalize reports
  • Integration with Salesforce.com, NetSuite, Intacct, & MS Dynamics

Workday Adaptive Planning Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features
Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting
Consolidation and Close Features
Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureMulti-currency management
Has featureIntercompany Eliminations
Has featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails
Financial Reporting and Compliance Features
Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Has featureAutomated board and financial reporting
Has featureXBRL support for regulatory filing
Analytics Features
Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting
Has featureBenchmarking with external data
Integration Features
Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Does not have featureCustomizable dashboards
Does not have featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Does not have featureDrill-down analysis
Does not have featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Does not have featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Does not have featurePublish to Web
Does not have featurePublish to PDF
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Does not have featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Does not have featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Does not have featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Does not have featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Does not have featureRole-Based Security Model
Does not have featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Does not have featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Does not have featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Does not have featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Workday Adaptive Planning Screenshots

Workday Adaptive Planning Video

Don’t settle for static plans. Get active planning with Adaptive Insights – your source for business budgeting software that is easy, powerful, and fast.

Workday Adaptive Planning Integrations

Workday Adaptive Planning Competitors

Vena Solutions, Longview, Prophix, IBM Cognos, Anaplan, CCH Tagetik, Tidemark, Planful (formerly Host Analytics), BusinessObjects SRC (Discontinued), Oracle Hyperion, SAP

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Workday Adaptive Planning Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Workday Adaptive Planning Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Workday Adaptive Planning Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, and many more!
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, Japanese, Portuguese (Brazilian), Russian, Polish, Dutch