Workday Adaptive Planning Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
239 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (76-100 of 170)

Richard Danis | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2018

Adaptive Insights is a great user experience

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DCC uses Adaptive Insights for planning and budget across 40 business units. Those 40 business units are geographically dispersed across Canada. Adaptive Insights has allowed us to transform our planning and budgeting from an Excel model that required a lot of maintenance to an easy to use format user have adoption easily. It has also shortened the time it takes to do monthly financial reporting. The additional benefit is the dashboard capability that we didn't have before.
  • Easy to use and implement.
  • The organizational hierarchy makes it easy to roll up business units into regions and the company as a whole.
  • It has made the reporting function easier at month end.
  • The processes set up need to be able to assign multiple users to each task. The way it works, the tasks are assigned to each individual user.
  • The workflow for lower levels in the hierarchy could be enhanced to make it easier to find for users.
  • For managing reports, it would be nice to be able to drag and drop them between folders.

Adaptive Insights is well suited to the planning and budgeting of employee and general and administrative expenses. You can also create powerful models for revenue with multiple dimensions for detailed planning.

The version control is easy to use and allows for the creation of multiple what-if if scenarios.

The reporting allows you to combine the multiple versions into a single report to compare versions.

Read Richard Danis's full review
David Spektor | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2018

Adaptive Insights for Revenue Forecasting

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive Insights primarily for our revenue and operations planning.
  • Adaptive Insights makes it easy for multiple users to work on their forecast at the same time. In the past, we had each sales manager submit their monthly forecast via Excel and then all the files needed to be consolidated. This is no longer needed with Adaptive Insights.
  • Adaptive Insights allows for real-time sales forecast updates.
  • When we originally implemented Adaptive Insights, the system was very slow and almost unusable. After working with Adaptive Insights we were able to get the issue resolved. Moral of the story is to be careful how you implement the system.
Revenue and operations planning.
Read David Spektor's full review
Imran Mohammad | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2017

Adaptive Insights is the way to go for budgeting, forecasting, planning

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive is being used across the whole organization for our planning and forecasting processes. We have over 40 users that actively use the system and engage in the planning process. The immediate consolidation of planning input into reports and seeing the results is the biggest benefit that the organization receives from using Adaptive. From a finance perspective, the ease of modeling, scenario and version control, and ad hoc analysis are big benefits.
  • "Excel" type modeling - the formula logic, navigation, look and feel are very much like Excel. Additionally, the ease-of-use is enhanced by features like automatically copying across or down through cells with similar numbers or formulas that are repetitive. Single-click actions in general, are great.
  • Integrity - unlike Excel, there is a much lower risk of unintended, accidental "fat-fingering". The confirmation requests when switching between pages/sheets to ensure changes are not lost are a huge benefit.
  • Scenario modeling by simply copying existing models is priceless. It allows for looking at different outcomes based on different decision points. Additionally, you can look at side-by-side comparisons in a single model by comparing versions.
  • OfficeConnect: Ability to open multiple files in the same instance
  • Adaptive Planning: one-click expand and collapse of parent/child groupings in rows
  • Adaptive Reports are not the easiest to format. Lack intuitive formatting, and clean results.
Adaptive Suites is the best mix and/balance for modeling, reporting, and analysis out in the market today. It offers the best of cloud-based computing, mixed with Excel-like features and the experience of the best planning and analysis models that a company can buy. The pricing is not inflated and is well balanced with the feeling of a light-weight system that is fairly agile and easy to use and intuitive.
Read Imran Mohammad's full review
Karen Phillips | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2018

Adaptive is a game changer!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, I am using Adaptive Insights for our budgeting, forecasting, and variance reporting. I am working with my Adaptive support team to also begin using Adaptive for scenario planning. The reports are being used across our entire organization.
  • Adaptive is great at building a budget model, and providing reports around that model.
  • Adaptive allows me to build our budget in various currencies for our global entities.
  • Adaptive is great at allowing me to take a scenario, or version of our budget, and then tweaking it as we consider various business decisions, to determine the financial impact.
  • I think Adaptive has room for improvement regarding the ability to use various sheets from an updated version - I'd like to be able to take a sheet that I've updated - say the Personnel sheet - and then have that information integrated back into a previous version. Hard to explain - and it may be something that I can already do but just haven't figured it out yet.
  • I'd like to have more formatting options with the Discovery tools.
Adaptive Insights is well suited to the scenarios I've already listed.
Read Karen Phillips's full review
Rebeca Richmond | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2017

Adaptive Insights: Better Budgeting, Better Reporting

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Adaptive Insights across multiple locations and departments. We use it for planning (budgeting) purposes and helps us to eliminate formula and other errors prone to spreadsheet use.
  • Adaptive has excellent, quick, and free customer service support for customers.
  • Adaptive Model Management allows Finance Administrators to quickly updated organizational structure or restructure and the changes are effective instantaneously.
  • Adaptive's Engineering team was able to quickly and accurately design and executive requested implementation parameters for data extraction from our source system, which allows each user to view budget to actual results in Adaptive Reporting.
  • Adaptive continuously improves its products and solicits customer input. Throughout the year, they allow customers to vote on desired improvements/enhancements and the selected improvement/enhancement is released within the year.
  • Formulas are based on proprietary language syntax. With the help of built-in formula assistance, an Administrator or User can develop formulas. However, the syntax appears complicated.
  • Pricing can become cost-prohibitive for 100+ user logins.
  • Currently, Adaptive sends email blasts to communicate product improvements or new releases. With increased email spam, this results in lost or deleted email communication. Quarterly or Monthly local seminars providing continuing education would be helpful for customers to remain apprised of product improvements while also allowing learning opportunities for certified and un-certified professionals.
Adaptive is well-suited for:
    • Multiple business units
    • Multiple departmental managers
    • Multiple specific, desired access levels
    • Various planning scenarios
Read Rebeca Richmond's full review
Tom Podany | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2017

Adaptive reveiw - Infoblox

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive Insights for our whole company budgeting / spend and headcount management as well as our P&L roll up and reporting.
  • Labor cost forecasting.
  • Comparison of actual to forecast and variance analysis.
  • User friendly, we have many non-finance users that input and track their spending with limited finance support.
  • Cannot open more than one Office Connect file at a time, this is very frustrating. Have been told this is going to be fixed but it has not.
Well suited for spend and headcount forecasting and variance reporting / analysis. Pretty good at management reporting when coupled with Adaptive Office Connect. We download all of our actual P&L line items into Adaptive for comparing actual to forecast, including transaction detail allowing relatively easy drill down capability.

We tried to do some more complicated forecasting such as revenue and cash flow forecasting and the modeling was difficult to do in Adaptive versus doing this on spreadsheets.
Read Tom Podany's full review
Brian Macias | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2017

Adaptive Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive is used across the entire organization. We use it for budgeting forecasting, reporting and grant planning.
  • Easy to roll-up financials for every level of the organization - makes consolidating, planning and reporting faster and easier to produce.
  • Drill-down capabilities in sheets and in reports allows non-finance users to review and verify GL detail.
  • Familiar, easy-to-use functionality and navigation for non-fiance users.
  • We scrapped Discovery (dashboarding) a few years ago because it was not as customizable as we had hoped and a bit hard to use and navigate. I hear however that there have been significant updates since.
Adaptive has allowed us to move away from spreadsheets and onto a single platform where users across our organization can engage, enter, and review financial information. We use Adaptive for revenue planning, personnel planning, expense planning, grant planning and monthly reporting. Cycle times for annual budgeting, monthly forecasting and monthly reporting have been significantly reduced with Adaptive.
Read Brian Macias's full review
Nicholas Amoroso, CPA MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2017

Very Satisfied Adaptive Insights User

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive for all of our budgeting and quarterly forecasting across the entire company. In addition we use it for all of our monthly financial reporting at the senior leadership and department levels. It has solved the problem of consolidating spreadsheet files every time we do the annual budget or a new forecast, cutting out errors and greatly simplifying the process in general.
  • Setting up new departments or changing a reporting hierarchy
  • Creating new reports, whether at a high level or detailed view
  • Creating a new budget or forecast version
  • Creating formulas within a report or in sheets can be challenging
  • Adding more icons and/or the copy/past function to help eliminate some of the repetitiveness when creating new reports
Very well suited for small to medium sized organizations where you want department heads to have an important role in creating their budgets or updating forecasts.
Read Nicholas Amoroso, CPA MBA's full review
Jimmy Roybal | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2017

Adaptive blows away the competition

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive Suite for all of our budgeting, forecasting, and reporting needs. All business unit owners have access to both Adaptive Planning and Discovery. This product addresses all of our planning, BOD reporting and IR decks as well.
  • Allows real time what-if scenarios
  • Great for preparing financial decks via PowerPoint / Office Connect
  • Provides detailed budgets to allow business unit owners to build itemized budgets
  • Excel Add on for Planning still needs improvement. Very slow and cumbersome.
  • Discovery (dashboard reporting) has improved over the years but still needs to allow more flexibility with reporting and the data attributes that you can use to build out dashboards.
  • Needs more ways to provide end user access so that you can add more security around what each person can see.
I think the Office Connect add on with Adaptive Suite is the best way to leverage Adaptive Suite, and allows end users (finance) to still have flexibility with Excel. If you are a small company with only one person building a budget then I wouldn't recommend Adaptive until you're ready to increase your user group.
Read Jimmy Roybal's full review
Orlando Blanco | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2017

The best budget, forecast application on the market

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the entire organization for budgeting and forecast purposes. It shows the department heads how they are trending in a live environment. The sales team also uses it to track sales to individual hospitals and OEMs. It provides them useful data and ability to create powerful reports and dashboards.
  • Budgeting
  • Forecasting
  • Reporting
  • Dashboards
  • Add Daily and Weekly ability
  • Integration
Well Suited
  1. Budgeting
  2. Forecasting
  3. Reporting
Improvement Desired
  1. Salesforce/Financial Force Integration
  2. Daily or Weekly Columns instead of monthly only
Read Orlando Blanco's full review
Brian Kam | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2017

My Experience in Adaptive Insight

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insight is used to consolidate various ERP environments to one reporting environment for the entire company. It consolidates information from many places into one place so reporting is easier. Additionally, it interfaces with our forecasting tool and communicates information to various personnel within the company.
  • Assimilates information from various corporate entities into a usable and readable form.
  • Very much like a giant spreadsheet and a reporting tool.
  • Can make communication within organization easier with Discovery tool and export of information back to users.
  • Not for items that more not monthly items, production reports are not appropriate nor daily sales data.
Appropriate for data systems from various forms, spreadsheet , ERP system, CRM and consolidates. Limited graphic capabilities in Discovery module although the Office Connect module is excellent for recurring tasks such as board of director slides etc.
Read Brian Kam's full review
Georgeta Elena Precup, CPA,CGMA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 26, 2018

Peace of mind for your reporting and FP&A process

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Adaptive Suite across the entire company. We have a very complex structure with over 100 P&Ls. Adaptive allows for transparency and the flow of data. We use Adaptive for forecasting, budgeting, analysis, and reporting.
  • Everything is one place
  • Easy interaction between users across the country / organization using life data
  • No downtime during update and maintenance.
  • Ease of interfacing with other databases
  • User roles and responsibilities for personnel only
The application is hosted by Adaptive, however, it is customized to the customers' needs. Based on the data you have in Adaptive, Adaptive will give you what you need. There are certain administrative areas that I wish were better, for example, I wish there was awash to set up user roles with personnel only access
Read Georgeta Elena Precup, CPA,CGMA's full review
Tom Trudeau | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2017

My experience with Adaptive Insights

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive Insights for planning and reporting. Department users around the globe use the system for planning and then for reports.
  • Looks and feels like Excel, so easy for users to adapt.
  • Allows for many levels of the organization globally.
  • Provides data in a matrix organization.
  • We have a few challenges with how the level work. It is not always intuitive.
  • It would be beneficial if we could report different time frames. One for management reporting and one for statutory reporting.
  • It would be great if we could use the same base data and report one way as sales revenue and another as amortized revenue.
It rolls up budget data instantaneously and does allocations as data is updated.
Read Tom Trudeau's full review
Frank Jiang | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2017

Great forecasting and budgeting system

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive Planning as our primary forecasting and budgeting tool, as well as for rudimentary customer level detail and cube data. It is used by the entire FPA team and allows us to work as a cohesive unit and easily deliver our budget or forecast as a single, seamless process.
  • Love the shared functionality and visibility that Adaptive provides. Being able to see how changes affect the bottom line on the fly and the ability to audit previous changes makes collaboration a breeze.
  • Nice suite of formulas, allowing for easy model creation.
  • Version comparison and creating backups.
  • The UI is a bit dated.
  • The ability to change my default settings (such as copying formulas vs. copying numbers to clipboard) when opening a new window.
  • Drag and drop version comparison, timeframes or levels (UI -related).
Adaptive is well suited for team-driven products that require multiple individuals to contribute to a single product. Adaptive is strong at modeling and doing comparative analysis with historical periods. Adaptive could be easier to use when trying to integrate it with other systems (Tableau, SQL etc.).
Read Frank Jiang's full review
Samuel Gibbs, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2017

Making forecasting great again.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive is only used by the finance team at my company although it can be used by the operational org as well. I just find that getting other teams to lean/use adaptive is harder in practice than theory. It is a great tool for forecasting revenue and expenses and is really great at making fast scenario-based forecasts.
  • Very fast. It is fast and easy to change one number and see how it rolls up to the financial statements.
  • Simple interface. Really easy for new people to come in and start using it day one. Still a little much for a non-finance person to use it, but easy for the finance peeps.
  • Poor customer service. We have some complicated problems, but they just haven't seemed super invested in helping us.
Tech companies are a great fit. Easy implementation and pricing model.
Read Samuel Gibbs, MBA's full review
Sandy Arami | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 08, 2017

Adaptive - BEST tool for FP&A Budgeting & Forecasting!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses Adaptive in our Finance department - specifically FP&A - for financial budgeting and forecasting. In my experience it is the best budgeting and forecasting system I have used. Adaptive is extremely flexible and allows you to make multiple versions of your forecast quickly, which allows you to drastically reduce the amount of time it takes to create and edit a new month's forecast. It also updates in real time seamlessly for all users in an intuitive and powerful UI.
  • Budgeting and Forecasting
  • Collaboration between Business Unit Managers and Budget Owners
  • Reporting - able to build custom reports quickly
  • Would love to see integration with Salesforce
  • Needs more layout options for reporting
  • Requires a "lead user" that knows the modeling and system admin functions extremely well
This is simply the best tool for budgeting and forecasting that I have seen or used. But it is also great for reporting and modeling. If you have accounting data that flows through another software, you can easily import and map that data to Adaptive, but it would be great to see implementation with Salesforce. This is primarily for use by an FP&A team, and even though budget-owners should see the work done in Adaptive, they should not need access to the system itself.
Read Sandy Arami's full review
Michael Spain | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2017

Adaptive - Taking The Pain Out of Forecasting And Budgeting

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it across the organization. We use to facilitate our forecasting and tracking our sales opportunities
  • Adaptive allows you to quickly modify information in your model and see the results immediately. You can actually see up to two versions of you forecast against a current version on screen at the same time.
  • The OfficeConnect tool for reporting is an add-in in Excel that is very intuitive to make adhoc reports or reports to be used in board packages. The tool also works with PowerPoint and Word.
  • The implementation of Adaptive is quick. At my prior and initial exposure with Adaptive we implemented in one month. At Circor, I implemented the tool my self in about the same time.
  • Another great selling point for me is that I did not need IT resources to help with the implementation or current use of the system. We load our trial balances and transaction detail each month using Excel.
  • There is not much that I don't like about Adaptive. They usually do a couple of major updates each year that put out new functionality based on what the user community is requesting.
  • One item that I did think needed some work was the Adaptive Discovery module that basically creates a dashboard for your data. It was a little difficult to keep updated and was not easy to build. I have not had the module for the last year or so and I do know they did some updates to enhance the tool.
If you are doing your forecasting in Excel then you can do it in Adaptive. Adaptive will give you more time to analyze the data instead of trying make sure your formulas in Excel are correct. We do percentage of completion accounting and I have built a model that impacts the balance sheet, cash flow, and income statement related to this accounting method.
Read Michael Spain's full review
W. Stephens | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2016

Adaptive Suite Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our instance of Adaptive was implemented around 18 months ago at the company I work at, and it was intended to streamline the forecast process and enhance our internal reporting capabilities. All of this was key for the growth which we were in the early stages of at the time. We relocated from San Diego and hired a new workforce in Dallas, plus we were actively adding companies to the portfolio. When we began looking for a reporting tool we met with several industry leaders including Adaptive, Oracle, IBM, Host etc. and we had a set of criteria for which we needed to make sure the choice would suffice the demands we would have for the product. Needless to say we picked Adaptive, but more importantly is to say that 2 years later we are all pleased with the decision. We just finished our second fiscal budget using Adaptive and our instance has evolved tremendously since the prior fiscal planning cycle. We are a private company owned by a private equity firm so we have large reporting requirements each month so the various reporting options, including Office Connect, ensures that we have the capability to churn out the reporting each month without a large effort by our analysts. We are gradually expanding the users beyond finance and accounting and the result has been good so far. We are beginning to develop various planning sheets that feed the income statement that have sound logic built into them, and the result is much higher forecast precision. In short, the problem 2 years ago was that we were unable to spend anytime understanding the business, with the biggest reason being time or the lack there of. Now we are streamlined with key reporting packages developed in Office Connect and the time to produce the package is a matter of minutes for one person, instead of weeks of work for multiple analysts. Now we are getting to the point where we understand the business implicitly and we are able to enhance our role in supporting the business and really turning our efforts to helping the organization make better financial decisions and plan for the future with more confidence. The results and the perception of Adaptive at my company are both great at this point. We're still growing and evolving just like our instance of Adaptive. We are pleased with product and feel confident that the product will be sufficient as we continue our growth.
  • 1 - Click reporting. Either Matrix reporting or Office connect are the choices and both are great. Just having the ability to roll dates forward and run reporting packages on a monthly basis alone is something most analyst dream of, Adaptive is for real.
  • Multiple connectors. We not only have our Oracle connect pulling trial balance data on demand but we also have ADP, and Transaction connectors in place. Having all of these connectors in place save untold amounts of time and allows you to develope some really strong processes to make monthly close and planning a breeze.
  • Attributes and Dimensions: tagging your data will make life easier but too many will make it tough. Be smart but most certainly use them, it's an important component of analysis but segmenting the business in ways that make analysis more simple is at your finger tips. You just have to develop a plan of action and put it into place.
  • Model Sheets are complicated.
  • Some parts of the suite are not very intuitive, like formulas. It takes work.
  • It would be nice to have 2 Actuals versions. Just a thought.
A growing company and a company that has the desire to streamline financial reporting and enhance there dashboarding can benefit from Adaptive. Though if the company does not have the resources to fully committ to the product and ensure it's success has hope, then it's not something that a company wants to go half way on. The resources expended will pay off but they are critical nonetheless.
Read W. Stephens's full review
Zoltan Ilyes | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 28, 2017

Tool that makes your finance life easy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Adaptive Suite in our FP&A department, primarily for budgeting and forecasting.
  • The easiness of creating reports
  • Having all data stored on the cloud and access it whenever we want
  • The easiness of viewing the financial activity of the company over the time
  • Comparing different versions; i.e actual versus forecast/budget versions
  • Selecting and copying multiple cells
  • Easier formula view structure
  • Changes made by the user log keeping
Great for budgeting and forecasting, less useful in the accounting area for bookkeeping
Read Zoltan Ilyes's full review
Ben Gibson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 05, 2017

Adaptive Insights will help your company adapt to the future of finance.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Insights is being used across the entire company as a tool to forecast and budget monthly financial revenues and expenses. It has helped streamline our planning processes by allowing for one source of data input which in turn provides finance with one form of data output or information to build yearly financial budgets/forecasts.
  • Structure of levels/departments so that all managers have specific places to add their business needs.
  • Ability to link separate planning models together to create a complete plan. Relating to the budget manager/user is key. If planning by GL account doesn't make sense for the user then it is nice to build them a separate model that represents their business and then allow Adaptive to pull the needed information together for finance.
  • Different types of models. They have "Sheets" which consists of 3 different types Standard, Model, and Cube. Standard allows you to plan by account (row) by month (column). Model is more for planning in a list view. Cube is like creating a Pivot table in Excel and having the ability to plan differently based on how the accounts are sliced and diced (row vs. column).
  • More functionality with formulas. There are a lot of different places to add a formula and it can sometimes be confusing. As well as when you're building formulas there aren't as many functions like Excel to reference other accounts, months, or versions (plan).
  • Reports - they allow the building/modifying of reports but when you are needing each user to modify the reports with notes you are also giving them access to modifying how the report is run. It would be nice to see some added permissions for report building vs. modifying vs. editing notes.
Suited for planning cross functional department expenses, cost, balance sheet, and cashflow assumptions. Not suited for detailed statistical revenue/unit planning by stock code by week/day.
Read Ben Gibson's full review
Jose L. Velez | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2016

Adaptive Suite Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive is being used by multiple departments within the organization. It is being used for budgeting, forecasting, and providing our operations teams more insight into the results of our business. By using Adaptive, we have been able to greatly reduce discrepancies in communication of results as well as expectations.
  • Tying into our existing GL software
  • Ability to work from any device
  • Faster report generation
  • Reporting needs work
  • Better support for custom formulas
  • More videos and documentation
Adaptive is well suited for any situation that involves planning and budgeting as well as reporting of financial results.
Read Jose L. Velez's full review
Jonathan Lau | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2016

Adaptive really lives up to it's name

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have previous experience using Hyperion, PeopleSoft, and Microsoft Excel to model financials. As flexible as regular spreadsheets are, it was always hard to get everybody on the same page. It was always a battle to get everyone referencing the same numbers and using the same version. Adaptive takes care of that. This tool has saved hours upon hours every month, as well improved accuracy and timeliness of reports.
  • Modeling and forecasting
  • Reporting results
  • Automation
  • Customer support--takes a while to resolve the more complex issues
Adaptive is well suited to high level forecasting and reporting. It also can do well with a moderate level of data segmentation. It doesn't do quite as well with highly detailed/segmented products (say, 1000s of SKUs).
Read Jonathan Lau's full review
Kavitha Sankar | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2017

Adaptive Insights Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adaptive Suite not just as a planning tool, but [we] also use its very robust reporting platform, OfficeConnect.
  • Planning
  • Reporting
  • Ease of use
  • Modelling
  • Implementation of Adaptive Connector took more time than expected
Scenarios that Adaptive is well suited to are collaboration on sheets and reporting. Adaptive integration to our ERP/Data Warehouse took longer than anticipated.
Read Kavitha Sankar's full review
Greg Clarke | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2016

Drive Better Enterprise Performance Management with Adaptive Insights

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Enterprise Performance Management

We use Adaptive to drive planning, budgeting, forecasting and financial reporting for ABM Systems.

We also use it to enable our clients to drive better corporate performance. Our clients range from SME to large enterprise.across commerce, industry and government.

Adaptive helps us develop better business plans integrating with our ERP, CRM and other systems from revenue and cost of sales forecasting to remuneration plans and expense budgeting.

Adaptive allows us to build plans collaboratively, consolidating plans and actuals in real time, and to generate better quality reports, more efficiently.
  • Adaptive is methodology agnostic. As strategic imperatives change from growth to operational efficiency users can change their planning approach from driver based, top down planning to bottom up, zero based or just build on prior periods with rolling forecasts and more.
  • Adaptive is collaborative and enterprise class. Enterprises can engage all users to work together in real time to build more effective plans where ones outputs are drivers to others. Yet all have visibility over where the numbers originate with drill through and drill to transaction for explaining when plans are not achieved. And all can see who changed what, when with an audit trail.
  • Adaptive reporting is fabulous.The quality of Adaptive reports is fantastic. Adaptive Reporting empowers users to streamline board quality report pack production and other reporting needs. Users can self serve for reporting. Users can annotate reports. Reporting integrates with MS Office, PDF and other applications.
  • Adaptive Discovery dashboards are nice but they are not a Business Intelligence solution.The dashboards provide users with very attractive dashboards and charts but they only enable cube based hierarchical drill. They do not enable robust, sophisticated, multi-dimensional analytics the way modern BI tools do.
  • Budget Adjustments - Adaptive Consolidation provides great functionality for entering journals. It would be nice to have this sort of capability available for processing budget adjustments especially for the public sector.
  • Email Alerts - Whilst some email alerts are enabled it would be nice if more types were added like out of tolerance alerts
Here are some key questions to ask during a selection process. Does your solution enable:

  1. Import/Export and Integration with Excel, ERP, CRM and other systems? Are there connectors available? Open source?
  2. Real time consolidation
  3. Collaboration
  4. Process management and Workflow control
  5. Centralised formulae and assumption control
  6. Change management and version control
  7. Driver based planning and Rolling Forecasting
  8. Scenario analysis
  9. Comparative analysis
  10. Drill through to formulae source on plan numbers
  11. Audit trail and strong user security
  12. Copy actual or plan forward and use of copy forward controls (e.g. historic pattern, assumptions)
  13. Drill-down to transaction on actuals
  14. Annotation
  15. Colour alerting
  16. Email alerting
  17. Integrated dashboards
  18. Integrated pixel-perfect reporting
  19. Consolidation management
  20. Ease of deployment and maintenance
Read Greg Clarke's full review
Brian Lawrence, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2016

Versatile and Customizable FP&A Solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adaptive Suite is being used by all of our departments across our whole organization. We are a global company, and the ability to customize and use the product anywhere and with great collaboration tools allows us to achieve our budgeting needs electronically to replace our Excel processes. Overall the department head users and the finance group love the product.
  • Customization - ability to budget based on various drivers and to report on those.
  • Reporting - the report writer within Adaptive Suite is very powerful and allows you to create and adapt the reports to everyone's analytical needs,
  • Support - both the implementation teams and support are great with Adaptive Suite.
  • Learning Curve - there is a steep learning curve, at least for the administrators of the system. Learning how it works and how to create and customize accounts/models/etc takes some time and dedication, but is worth it.
Adaptive Suite is very appropriate for multiple users, in multiple locations. Such as where security is important across many departments or many entities to be able to allow the leaders of those departments access to their, and only their information for planning and analysis. It is also great for service organizations, as the personnel planning is outstanding.
Read Brian Lawrence, CPA's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (1)
9
Customizable dashboards (1)
10
Report Formatting Templates (1)
9
Drill-down analysis (1)
9
Formatting capabilities (1)
7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (1)
8
Report sharing and collaboration (1)
8
Publish to PDF (1)
8
Report Versioning (1)
8
Report Delivery Scheduling (1)
8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (1)
7
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (1)
8
Predictive Analytics (1)
8
Multi-User Support (named login) (1)
9
Role-Based Security Model (1)
9
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (1)
9
Responsive Design for Web Access (1)
8
Dedicated iOS Application (1)
8
Dedicated Android Application (1)
8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (1)
10
Long-term financial planning (130)
7.9
Financial budgeting (140)
8.9
Forecasting (135)
9.0
Scenario modeling (130)
7.1
Management reporting (139)
8.9
Financial data consolidation (82)
8.6
Journal entries and reports (48)
6.3
Multi-currency management (58)
7.5
Intercompany Eliminations (42)
7.9
Minority Ownership (20)
7.9
Local and consolidated reporting (71)
8.5
Detailed Audit Trails (89)
8.5
Financial Statement Reporting (115)
8.7
Management Reporting (127)
8.6
Excel-based Reporting (126)
7.3
Automated board and financial reporting (110)
7.4
XBRL support for regulatory filing (17)
7.5
Personalized dashboards (86)
7.5
Color-coded scorecards (68)
6.4
KPIs (81)
7.3
Cost and profitability analysis (88)
8.3
Key Performance Indicator setting (71)
7.9
Benchmarking with external data (49)
4.8
Flat file integration (91)
8.3
Excel data integration (115)
8.3
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (85)
8.2

About Workday Adaptive Planning

Workday Adaptive Planning aims to power a new generation of business planning, and drive business agility in a fast-moving world. The Workday Adaptive Planning Business Planning Cloud offers modeling capabilities for organizations of any size, and helps users to collaborate, gain insights, and make smarter decisions faster.

The vendor states that more than 3,800 organizations across 50-plus countries use Workday Adaptive Planning, and boasting its ease of use, they state that Workday Adaptive Planning ranks #1 in customer satisfaction in independent industry surveys from leading market analysts such as Gartner, Forrester, and BPM Partners.

According to the vendor, Adaptive Planning helps mid-size & enterprise organizations’ leaders better manage their business:
  • Adaptive Planning enables organizations to break free from static planning, to active planning
  • Active planning is collaborative, comprehensive, and continuous
  • Active planning requires a solution that’s easy, powerful, and fast
Capabilities include:
  • Automated Budgeting and Forecasting to increase productivity
  • Self-Service Financial Reporting allowing users to create, share and personalize reports
  • Integration with Salesforce.com, NetSuite, Intacct, & MS Dynamics

Workday Adaptive Planning Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features
Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting
Consolidation and Close Features
Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureMulti-currency management
Has featureIntercompany Eliminations
Has featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails
Financial Reporting and Compliance Features
Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Has featureAutomated board and financial reporting
Has featureXBRL support for regulatory filing
Analytics Features
Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting
Has featureBenchmarking with external data
Integration Features
Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Does not have featureCustomizable dashboards
Does not have featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Does not have featureDrill-down analysis
Does not have featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Does not have featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Does not have featurePublish to Web
Does not have featurePublish to PDF
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Does not have featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Does not have featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Does not have featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Does not have featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Does not have featureRole-Based Security Model
Does not have featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Does not have featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Does not have featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Does not have featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Workday Adaptive Planning Screenshots

Workday Adaptive Planning Video

Don’t settle for static plans. Get active planning with Adaptive Insights – your source for business budgeting software that is easy, powerful, and fast.

Workday Adaptive Planning Integrations

Workday Adaptive Planning Competitors

Vena Solutions, Longview, Prophix, IBM Cognos, Anaplan, CCH Tagetik, Tidemark, Planful (formerly Host Analytics), BusinessObjects SRC (Discontinued), Oracle Hyperion, SAP

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Workday Adaptive Planning Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
60%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Workday Adaptive Planning Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Workday Adaptive Planning Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, and many more!
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, Japanese, Portuguese (Brazilian), Russian, Polish, Dutch