Zimbra Email & Collaboration Reviews

31 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 27, 2021
Bruno Soares | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Great tool for professional use, very easy to use, with easy navigation. Interacts very well with several other applications, including Webex. Very efficient structural organization of the agenda and timetable. Excellent accessibility and availability. Very good for sharing between teams and people. 100% collaboration. It has a tab to include tasks that is very useful and makes my life much faster.
  • Very simple and functional navigation
  • Fast collaboration
  • Integration with other applications.
  • Time-consuming Technical Support
  • Increase the capacity for integration
  • The mobile app sometimes takes time to load some views even with fast internet and equipment
Nowadays, it is a very welcome tool because it helps perfectly with team collaboration [and] sending files quickly. [It provides] great availability because it is easy to access from anywhere in the world. Some integration options with some other applications also help. The tools of agenda, tasks and calendars are very useful and easy to use and that today make all the difference when we want agility.
Read Bruno Soares's full review
March 19, 2020
Diego Gamez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zimbra as a messaging solution, not only for its solid operation but also for how scalable it can be, the integration with chats and the agenda to ensure meetings, all the departments of the company access through a super intuitive web portal from any device to use your corporate emails.
  • Intuitive use for users.
  • Easy to manage.
  • Great scalability and integration.
  • The schedules are not yet synchronized for the open version.
  • Video calls not yet supported.
  • Mobile application not yet available for devices.
Zimbra helped us increase storage capacities for new accounts and mailboxes effectively and without disruption. Adding mailbox servers to the Zimbra architecture is very simple and agile - scalability.
It just works very well, solid solution for the deployment of communication, mail and messaging services that are agile and simple to use.
Read Diego Gamez's full review
June 12, 2019
EDUARDO SANDOVAL | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zimbra is our current messaging software, I use it daily to send and receive emails among colleagues, suppliers, and customers. This has turned out to be a very useful and efficient application when communicating within the company. Each employee has their respective corporate mail which is for personal and exclusive use to receive confidential and confidential labor information. The application is easy to use and has a graphical interface similar to others in the same segment, making it easy to become familiar with.
  • Filter emails with specific information required.
  • Very good storage capacity.
  • Has a mobile version and another web.
  • It has a friendly and modern graphic interface.
  • It is compatible with all operating systems.
  • In the mobile version, it is not possible to attach files, it only allows to send messages with text.
  • The mobile version is too basic and lacks functions that if you have the web version.
  • Lacks the facility to communicate with an online chat.
As I mentioned before, Zimbra has two versions - one web and another mobile. The mobile version is ideal for quick and short messages that only contain letters, as they can be read on any cell phone, the web version is ideal for the office where the messages are more careful and complete and should contain more information.

Zimbra is not good to use as an online chat tool.
Read EDUARDO SANDOVAL's full review
January 15, 2019
Eliz Marvic Melicio Carvajal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zimbra as our mail platform, contact management and to share some files within our group of companies. Zimbra supports one of the most important applications, which is our email system. It manages our companies on the same platform. The global and personalized management of contacts has facilitated the management of our users, regardless of the location they are in. Additionally, it gives us different ways of connecting to the mail and to the information, which allows more versatile management options, since our platform is heterogeneous.
  • The management of incremental mail backup. It is very simple, and the administrators of my company recover information quickly.
  • The management of the distribution lists is structured. This allows easy distribution of mass information.
  • The web application is very complete and intuitive.
  • The password change is not activated when you access by IMAP, Pop3 or Exchange sync. You have to know that the password change is required and you must go to the website to do so.
  • The management of mail rules should have more checking options.
  • There should be more applications compatible with Zimbra, the ones that appear in the Zimlets.
It is ideal for companies that wish to have their own control of their mail service and the management of their messages and contacts because it allows a complete administration of these systems. When it comes to a group of companies who want to manage different domains, the ideal is to have your own mail platform. ZImbra is also suited when you have to save costs. Although you pay for licenses, you have the possibility to pay as you go and therefore do not have to invest in this service for a long time. It is also suited for when companies, such as Venezuelan ones that have limitations to make payments or investments in USD or EUR, have a much harder time using expensive cloud systems.


Read Eliz Marvic Melicio Carvajal's full review
December 22, 2018
Alexander Palma Ibarra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using the Zimbra email service throughout the company. Zimbra allows us to efficiently manage our email server with a number of open source technologies, with built-in anti-spam, shared calendars and shared address books. We are able to easily collaborate, invite to meetings, and conference at the touch of a button. It stores all of our contacts and shows us who is busy and when we can seamlessly integrate new meetings and conferences. We have definitely achieved significant savings in the time required to manage IMAP, webmail, etc.
  • Zimbra offers advanced functionalities, beyond the IMAP protocol and better performance compared to similar mail services.
  • Zimbra offers the option to work from anywhere and device, with a very nice interface, from a desktop, mobile or tablet, compared to other similar services that are more complex to use.
  • Zimbra has the possibility of modifying the source code to customize its functions and services, an added value that other platforms do not have.
  • You can optimize the module to create and share content on the web to improve the publishing interface.
  • Zimbra must improve the management of user groups for different machines within a domain.
  • The password manager is sometimes complicated and requires the creation of new passwords.
One of the most outstanding capabilities of Zimbra is the low cost in the administration and implementation of the system. Zimbra creates a copy of the email and attachments per server, instead of an email per user. It supports anti-spam and existing infrastructures, has an efficient text comprehension system in emails, can review the content from any computer, at any time and with a web interface is very easy to operate.
Read Alexander Palma Ibarra's full review
August 27, 2018
Sam Massanopoli, RHIT Superstar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zimbra is being used across our whole organization. It solves the problem of communication. At a moment's notice I can communicate with my entire team. They can receive my mail on their phones, tablets, laptops and desk tops, no matter where they are in the building. I also use it for getting paper records to essential team members by scanning them to their email.
  • One example of something that Zimbra does particularly well is the capacity available to attach large files, up to 25MB. For me, this is a strength as it allows me to email medical records files instead of printing them. This saves my department the cost of ink, paper and shipping.
  • The calendar sharing feature of Zimbra is also a strength because with it, the IDT team are all on the same page. This is critical for maintaining compliance with CMS regulations regarding MDS assessments. I utilize our shared calendar to perform quarterly audits of the IDT team.
  • I particularly like the auto search when entering the contact who will be receiving an email, this saves key strokes and time.
  • I am quite satisfied with the features that I currently use. I am an advanced user, not an expert.
Zimbra is well suited as a communication tool. I also use it for data storage and data sharing. It is easy to create distribution groups and make changes to the signature line. I'm hard pressed to come up with any scenarios where it is less appropriate.
Read Sam Massanopoli, RHIT Superstar's full review
March 31, 2017
Vinicius Lima | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zimbra to increase collaboration using e-mail communication, file sharing, task control, invitation for events, etc, for everybody in our company using multi domains and several dedicated servers. We have distinct user types and with Zimbra we can address specific necessities of each one.

We use Zimbra in an University and email are fundamental here. Zimbra allowed us a way to increase the collaboration between teachers, students, and even our workers, allowing them to share files, their agenda, and any information to improve their work.
  • You can share your mail folders, contact and task lists, work together on a text file, all that defining what kind of level of share a person can have, from view to full control of it.
  • Great search engine that allows you to search even inside some types of archives (pdf, txt, etc). And in the paid version, you have a working backup system.
  • Supports external connectivity like IMAP/POP.
  • Multi language support and possibility to expand it using plugins are also available.
  • Supports several platforms and you can use the one that you are most familiar like Ubuntu, Red Hat, CentOS, Suse, etc.
  • Support external authentication (LDAP).
  • User web interface could be more friendly, but it is enough for daily use. It could be renewed and has to consider some usability concerns. Improving usability would significantly improve users' satisfaction.
  • Message backup recovery is not a simple activity.
  • As an administrator, some of the features work better using the command-line interface.
  • The webclient uses ajax requests in almost every event. Because of that you may need a fast internet connection to have a good experience. You can switch to HTML version but it will limit what you can do.
Zimbra is well suited to environments that need a collaboration suite to improve users' and teams' integration and productivity. You can rely on Zimbra Collaboration Suite features to work together in different projects without messing things up. Keeping everything organized is very important in these situations.

If you have a large environment you will probably feel that Zimbra administration can be difficult. You have to use a lot of command-line integration to configure it properly and to maintain routines. So be prepared to do that. If you want more friendly administrative tools Zimbra may not be totally suitable to your needs.
Read Vinicius Lima's full review
July 29, 2016
Paul Chauvet | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zimbra for all faculty/staff email accounts. We use it for individual email accounts as well as a large number of shared email accounts for departments or programs. We find the shared accounts to be especially useful for how we do business. We primarily use the web interface instead of a desktop client like Outlook. Most employees that use mobile access on their devices access Zimbra with the iOS or Android built-in Exchange/ActiveSync clients.
  • Zimbra's web interface is second to none. It is better for most than even thick clients like Outlook. It provides a consistent experience across platforms so we don't have to worry about Mac vs. PC for how it works.
  • It is relatively easy to maintain and administer, and far less complex than other locally hosted environments like Exchange.
  • It has a powerful scripting interface, and a RESTful API that makes it easy to write scripts to manage accounts.
  • Zimbra needs to get their act together with their multi-server environment. It is long past when they initially announced their "Project Always On", which would allow accounts to be hosted on multiple mailbox servers at a time for high availability.
  • The need to work on their bugs. The product releases have been significantly buggier since the 7.x era. Upgrading from 7.x to 8.0.9 introduced a lot of problems. Later releases fixed some, but caused others.
  • Our experience with technical support staff from Zimbra is not what it used to be. They used to have one of the best technical support groups, but our experiences with them in the past two years haven't been as positive.
Zimbra is great for an email system for a medium or large organization with appropriate IT staffing. The system is easy to use for end-users, and has a fantastic web interface. Unfortunately, it is overly complex, when considering staffing requirements and price, when compared with Office 365 or Google Apps for smaller organizations. For other education customers, it is hard to compete with Microsoft and Google providing their services for "Free" now though.
Read Paul Chauvet's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (7)
8.1
Gantt Charts (4)
8.0
Scheduling (6)
9.0
Workflow Automation (4)
7.9
Mobile Access (7)
10.0
Search (7)
10.0
Visual planning tools (4)
8.1
Chat (6)
9.0
Notifications (6)
9.0
Discussions (6)
9.0
Surveys (3)
7.1
Internal knowledgebase (4)
8.8
Integrates with GoToMeeting (4)
8.0
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (4)
8.3
Integrates with Outlook (4)
8.8
Versioning (7)
9.0
Video files (7)
8.6
Audio files (7)
8.6
Document collaboration (7)
9.6
Access control (6)
8.1
Advanced security features (7)
8.1
Integrates with Google Drive (3)
8.7
Device sync (5)
8.6

What is Zimbra Email & Collaboration?

Zimbra is an email and collaboration platform and productivity suite that includes contacts, calendar, tasks, chat and file sharing, plus videoconferencing, document editing, and file storage. Built on an open source core, it features a modern interface, pre-integrations with popular third-party apps like Zoom, Slack and Dropbox, and can be deployed in the cloud or in on-prem and hybrid environments. Enterprises, governments, financial institutions, service providers and remote teams around the world rely on Zimbra to support complex privacy, data sovereignty and security requirements. The vendor states Zimbra powers hundreds of millions of mailboxes on desktop and mobile devices in more than 140 countries, and is offered by more than 500 BSPs and 2,000 channel partners. Also available now for small and medium-sized business is Zimbra Cloud, starting at $2.95 per month for 30 GB of storage.

Zimbra Email & Collaboration Features

Project Management Features

Has featureFile tracking
Has featureIntegrates with other Project Management Tools

Communication Features

Has featureChat
Has featureNotifications
Has featureDiscussions
Has featureUser directory and online status
Has featureSharing and privacy
Has featureIntegrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts

File Sharing & Management Features

Has featureVersioning
Has featureDocument files
Has featureImage files
Has featureVideo files
Has featureAudio files
Has featureDocument collaboration
Has featureShared folders

Zimbra Email & Collaboration Screenshots

Zimbra Email & Collaboration Video

Zimbra 9’s modern UX + dependable server infrastructure = security, privacy and data sovereignty Zimbra customers expect. Try it now: https://www.zimbra.com/try/zimbra-collaboration-9/ Zimbra 9’s superpowers are flexibility and extensibility. Chat, video, doc sharing and file storage are built in! Rather use 3rd party tools like Slack, Dropbox, Zoom +++? You can do that too! In this video, you will see Zimbra 9's superpowers, presented with Zimbra Partner DC Data. Zimbra powers small businesses, enterprises, governments and service providers … 100s of millions of mailboxes in over 140 countries. Find out why! https://www.zimbra.com/business-email... Zimbra 9 features: • Modern, Responsive User interface • 3rd Party Integrations for Extensibility with Zoom, Slack, Dropbox, WebEx, Google Drive and more! • New Zimlet Framework for Customization • Zimbra Server Infrastructure for Security, Privacy & Data Sovereignty • Classic UI for Easy Adoption • Easy Upgrade, No Migration Needed • Anytime, anywhere, any device • Deploy on-prem, public or private cloud Our extensible framework allows you to easily customize Zimbra for geographic or industry specific requirements. Need an open source option? Open source is in our DNA, and customers with a Zimbra 9 license can access the source code. 🤔 Why consider Zimbra when Google and Microsoft are available? We’re glad you asked! Google and Microsoft are so big and powerful that they can: • Overcharge • Read your email • Sell your info • Keep raising your prices • Force you to use tools you don’t like • Charge you for tools you don’t use See why Zimbra is the best alternative to Gmail, Office 365 / Microsoft 365, Outlook, Yahoo, ProtonMail, FastMail, Hotmail, Zoho, Hey, Superhuman, AOL, Thunderbird and more! 🌐 Our website: https://www.zimbra.com 📧 Subscribe to our monthly newsletter: https://www.zimbra.com/#footer

Zimbra Email & Collaboration Competitors

Zimbra Email & Collaboration Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Zimbra Email & Collaboration Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Zimbra Email & Collaboration Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Zimbra Email & Collaboration?

Zimbra offers social collaboration software.

What is Zimbra Email & Collaboration's best feature?

Reviewers rate Mobile Access and Search highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses Zimbra Email & Collaboration?

The most common users of Zimbra Email & Collaboration are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.