TrustRadius
Zoom is an online meeting and video conferencing platform.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/X0/J2/JJQC92U6VWBP.PNGCan't Live Without ZoomZoom is being used across our entire company. It is the primary way our company communicates. Half of our team is remote and it's important for us to have a tool to that helps us lead effective meetings. We value being able to both see and hear our teammates. It also addresses the issue around the amount of people that can join a conference call. Many tools are limited to 10. We need something that could handle 30+.,It's stable. Every video conferencing tool I have ever used has audio or video latency issues. We rarely experience that with Zoom. We've used them for about a year and experienced an issue only once. They quickly fixed it. Our team is spoiled by Zoom. If ever we have to use another tool, everyone immediately wishes we were on Zoom instead. Seriously near flawless audio and video experience. They have stellar customer support. I needed help installing Zoom Rooms and I received helpful and timely responses from the support person assigned my ticket. It's user-friendly. Our team adopted it really quickly and was immediately able to take advantage of the features. Sometimes if you do have audio/video issues - it's due to your internet connection. The tool does a good job of giving you a visual of the strength of your connection. It's super helpful in troubleshooting.,Account Managers can be slow on responses.,10,We have majorly improved the quality and productivity in our meetings. They are 10x better than before. It's easy to connect with remote team members. The team feels more connected and that has had major returns for us in terms of people's engagement and happiness at work. It's so simple and reliable that we are able to get meetings going fast. Never any issues fumbling to get things to work.,Yes. We are very happy with Zoom Rooms. It's changed the way we have meetings. It takes some effort to set up and I wish there was less equipment involved. But once you're up and running, it works really well. The online documentation on how to set it up was really detailed and helpful. It's just a stable and user friendly as the rest of Zoom functionality.,GoToMeeting, Google Hangouts, Skype for Business and WebEx Meetings,Slack, Asana, Dropbox for Business, InVisionZoom me - it's fun!Technology and leadership teams use it to facilitate remote work, reduce travel expense and waste, and for larger cross-site meetings. We're also about to try it for leader-led webinar duty and have been toying with the idea of using a Zoom Room.,Quality is excellent. Fresh, evolving product. Screen sharing and remote control.,We don't like that the app now is 'hidden' in MacOS. Makes it too hard for novice users to turn on and leave on. The pricing tiers for the ability to apply custom branding don't work for us. Frustratingly so. It would be so great if there could be a tie-in between a 'regular' phone number (land or cell) and Zoom. So so great. It would be great to be able to host from a mobile device instead of just participate. Thank you for the Chrome app! Our Chromebook users are thrilled. We would like to see something closer to feature parity, however. :) Screen sharing is wonderful once up and going, but doesn't play very well with Mission Control in MacOS. Leads to a lot of unnecessary window moving when trying to share a specific bit of content from one of ten desktops! Not in love with the chat. Not even sure why. Maybe it seems like too much of an afterthought.,9,Substantially less travel expense, and recouped travel time Thanks to the Chrome OS app, we are using more of them and thrilled to be doing so!,Not yet, but we keep threatening to try it with a Mac Mini we don't use any longer.,WebEx Meetings and GoToMeeting,FileMaker Pro, Google Drive, Google HangoutsA great balance between web conference functionality and affordability.Our legal services company currently uses Zoom to connect law firms via web video conference into depositions both at our offices and at third party locations. Zoom makes it easy and convenient for our clients to access and connect to meetings from many different devices. Attorneys can use their PCs, Macs, tablets, smartphones, and traditional video conference systems to connect to our Zoom Rooms systems at the office. Zoom supports up to 50 users at a time with their pro package, so we don't have to worry about bridging costs associated with traditional video conferences.,Connecting clients to video conference meetings with one click; the system makes it easy for users of any tech experience level to connect. Cost efficiency. Zoom compares reasonably to the functionality of BlueJeans, but the price is significantly lower while providing similar service quality levels. The Zoom Rooms system provides room systems at a fraction of the cost compared to traditional video conference room systems, making it a cost-efficient way to implement video conferencing for other firms.,H323 room system connector functionality with older systems. The software currently does not work well with older video conference systems such as the Polycom VSX 7000. This can create some compatibility issues. Simplified integration with Google Calendar. While this functionality exists, it could be streamlined better as it can be somewhat more complicated than rival software such as GoToMeeting in terms of setting it up for the first time.,10,We've saved costs compared to traditional video conferencing, which would have costed more than twice as much to implement. Clients are put at ease by the simplicity of using it. They don't have to worry about complicated installs or audio issues, as they simply click a link and are provided instructions for setting up computer audio or dial-by-phone audio. The flexibility to work with any number of devices and bridge up to 50 participants makes large meeting planning much simpler compared to traditional video conference bridging.,Yes, Zoom Rooms is a great implementation for any room-level system. We run high definition cameras, microphones, and multiple large-screen TVs in our rooms to provide an immersive video teleconferencing experience. The iPad controller makes it easy for users to adjust camera and audio settings, and joining and scheduling meetings is a breeze with the Google Calendar integration.,Skype,Skype, ScreenConnect, Polycom Open Telepresence ExperienceLaw Office Review of Zoom Cloud MeetingsZoom is used in our law practice to meet with long distance co-counsel, conduct and participate in depositions, potential client interviews, in house and remote focus groups as well as all of our teleconferencing. It has paid for itself many times over since implementing over a year ago. In many instances, it eliminates the need for the attorney to travel out of state for a deposition or to meet with a client and/or co-counsel. We have also used it to allow long distance co-counsel to participate in depositions and focus groups that occur in our office. This saves the client money when the case settles or is resolved in court. In addition, it saves the travel time for our group of busy attorneys.,User interface is simple to download and use. The ability to easily show and annotate documents is great. The ability to record the sessions is vital to what we do. Zoom makes it easy.,Setup in an Exchange environment is difficult with the current instruction set Ability to pin a user on the iPad interface The audio conference telephone numbers sometimes ring busy or say they are not in service,10,Tremendous cost savings Time savings Other firms sometimes come here just to use our setup,Very functional and look impressive,Zoom Past Obstacles of Distance and TimeZoom removes distance as an obstacle for attending a class or meeting. One of my favorite features is the ability to dial into audio so if the person who is remote does not know how to troubleshoot their audio setup and the presenter is unable to hear them, a simple workaround is to dial in using a phone. If internet connectivity issues arise, attendees do not have to be re-invited to the meeting nor does the meeting have to be restarted. Recording can be used in conjunction with screen annotations to create online video content for courses as well.,Record a class and share via Google Drive for students to use as a review tool. All participants can annotate on the shared desktop if desired. Personal Meeting IDs can be set up for instant meeting creation (click to join). Participants can stay engaged in a conversation via raising their hand in Zoom's Chat to indicate they have a question to ask or comment to make.,Needing to click the SSO button vs. logging in can be confusing for some users. Having text explaining that if you use Zoom as part of an institution, click the SSO button to sign in would alleviate obstacles to access (especially when the obstacle is keeping a professor from starting an online class session as they tend to forget these details). The Speaker view and Gallery views buttons are confusing. It would be helpful to have some sort of menu showing what the result will look like, or a preview when hovering over the buttons. Such as, if you choose Gallery view....the screen will look like . I would love to see the ability to add closed captions or subtitles to videos. We currently upload videos to YouTube to take advantage of their captioning features.,10,Cost savings as less instructors are needed when one professor can teach synchronously to two locations. Smaller class sizes at campuses where the class would otherwise have been cancelled due to low enrollment. Zoom allows us to combine classes. Increased weight on faculty digital literacy and a high need for training to occur prior to teaching using what is a new mode to many folks: videoconferencing.,I am not using Zoom Rooms at this time.,,Microsoft Office 2016, Moodle, Google Drive
Windows, Linux, Mac
Zoom
561 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Zoom Reviews

Zoom
561 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 564 vetted Zoom reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (151-175 of 212)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Priya Kothari profile photo
January 31, 2017

User Review: "Can't Live Without Zoom"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom is being used across our entire company. It is the primary way our company communicates. Half of our team is remote and it's important for us to have a tool to that helps us lead effective meetings. We value being able to both see and hear our teammates. It also addresses the issue around the amount of people that can join a conference call. Many tools are limited to 10. We need something that could handle 30+.
  • It's stable. Every video conferencing tool I have ever used has audio or video latency issues. We rarely experience that with Zoom. We've used them for about a year and experienced an issue only once. They quickly fixed it. Our team is spoiled by Zoom. If ever we have to use another tool, everyone immediately wishes we were on Zoom instead. Seriously near flawless audio and video experience.
  • They have stellar customer support. I needed help installing Zoom Rooms and I received helpful and timely responses from the support person assigned my ticket.
  • It's user-friendly. Our team adopted it really quickly and was immediately able to take advantage of the features.
  • Sometimes if you do have audio/video issues - it's due to your internet connection. The tool does a good job of giving you a visual of the strength of your connection. It's super helpful in troubleshooting.
  • Account Managers can be slow on responses.
Very well suited for remote teams. It's great for companies relying on visual presentations.
I cannot think of a reason to not use Zoom. It would be my tool of choice for a company of 5 or 5000.
Yes. We are very happy with Zoom Rooms. It's changed the way we have meetings. It takes some effort to set up and I wish there was less equipment involved. But once you're up and running, it works really well. The online documentation on how to set it up was really detailed and helpful. It's just a stable and user friendly as the rest of Zoom functionality.
Read Priya Kothari's full review
Pax Whitfield profile photo
January 31, 2017

User Review: "Zoom me - it's fun!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Technology and leadership teams use it to facilitate remote work, reduce travel expense and waste, and for larger cross-site meetings. We're also about to try it for leader-led webinar duty and have been toying with the idea of using a Zoom Room.
  • Quality is excellent.
  • Fresh, evolving product.
  • Screen sharing and remote control.
  • We don't like that the app now is 'hidden' in MacOS. Makes it too hard for novice users to turn on and leave on.
  • The pricing tiers for the ability to apply custom branding don't work for us. Frustratingly so.
  • It would be so great if there could be a tie-in between a 'regular' phone number (land or cell) and Zoom. So so great.
  • It would be great to be able to host from a mobile device instead of just participate.
  • Thank you for the Chrome app! Our Chromebook users are thrilled. We would like to see something closer to feature parity, however. :)
  • Screen sharing is wonderful once up and going, but doesn't play very well with Mission Control in MacOS. Leads to a lot of unnecessary window moving when trying to share a specific bit of content from one of ten desktops!
  • Not in love with the chat. Not even sure why. Maybe it seems like too much of an afterthought.
The quality is great, the support is solid, and we think it simply works better than the old guard in telepresence apps like GoToMeeting and WebEx. It's great for mobile, too, although you can't host from a mobile device, which some executives are hoping for.
Not yet, but we keep threatening to try it with a Mac Mini we don't use any longer.
Read Pax Whitfield's full review
Derek Letellier profile photo
January 27, 2017

Zoom Review: "A great balance between web conference functionality and affordability."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our legal services company currently uses Zoom to connect law firms via web video conference into depositions both at our offices and at third party locations. Zoom makes it easy and convenient for our clients to access and connect to meetings from many different devices. Attorneys can use their PCs, Macs, tablets, smartphones, and traditional video conference systems to connect to our Zoom Rooms systems at the office. Zoom supports up to 50 users at a time with their pro package, so we don't have to worry about bridging costs associated with traditional video conferences.
  • Connecting clients to video conference meetings with one click; the system makes it easy for users of any tech experience level to connect.
  • Cost efficiency. Zoom compares reasonably to the functionality of BlueJeans, but the price is significantly lower while providing similar service quality levels.
  • The Zoom Rooms system provides room systems at a fraction of the cost compared to traditional video conference room systems, making it a cost-efficient way to implement video conferencing for other firms.
  • H323 room system connector functionality with older systems. The software currently does not work well with older video conference systems such as the Polycom VSX 7000. This can create some compatibility issues.
  • Simplified integration with Google Calendar. While this functionality exists, it could be streamlined better as it can be somewhat more complicated than rival software such as GoToMeeting in terms of setting it up for the first time.
Zoom provides a well-balanced approach to web conferencing that is both functional and affordable. The systems are cheaper to implement and run than rival BlueJeans, but this provides significant functionality over similarly-priced programs like Skype and GoToMeeting. Along with the ability to build your own Zoom Rooms system and integrate with traditional video conferencing, the software is a great alternative to the expensive room systems that appear to be on the decline.
Yes, Zoom Rooms is a great implementation for any room-level system. We run high definition cameras, microphones, and multiple large-screen TVs in our rooms to provide an immersive video teleconferencing experience. The iPad controller makes it easy for users to adjust camera and audio settings, and joining and scheduling meetings is a breeze with the Google Calendar integration.
Read Derek Letellier's full review
Charles Justice profile photo
January 26, 2017

"Law Office Review of Zoom Cloud Meetings"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom is used in our law practice to meet with long distance co-counsel, conduct and participate in depositions, potential client interviews, in house and remote focus groups as well as all of our teleconferencing. It has paid for itself many times over since implementing over a year ago. In many instances, it eliminates the need for the attorney to travel out of state for a deposition or to meet with a client and/or co-counsel. We have also used it to allow long distance co-counsel to participate in depositions and focus groups that occur in our office. This saves the client money when the case settles or is resolved in court. In addition, it saves the travel time for our group of busy attorneys.

  • User interface is simple to download and use.
  • The ability to easily show and annotate documents is great.
  • The ability to record the sessions is vital to what we do. Zoom makes it easy.
  • Setup in an Exchange environment is difficult with the current instruction set
  • Ability to pin a user on the iPad interface
  • The audio conference telephone numbers sometimes ring busy or say they are not in service
Not well suited where bandwidth is low
Very functional and look impressive
Read Charles Justice's full review
Christy Mattingly profile photo
January 26, 2017

Review: "Zoom Past Obstacles of Distance and Time"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom removes distance as an obstacle for attending a class or meeting. One of my favorite features is the ability to dial into audio so if the person who is remote does not know how to troubleshoot their audio setup and the presenter is unable to hear them, a simple workaround is to dial in using a phone. If internet connectivity issues arise, attendees do not have to be re-invited to the meeting nor does the meeting have to be restarted. Recording can be used in conjunction with screen annotations to create online video content for courses as well.
  • Record a class and share via Google Drive for students to use as a review tool.
  • All participants can annotate on the shared desktop if desired.
  • Personal Meeting IDs can be set up for instant meeting creation (click to join).
  • Participants can stay engaged in a conversation via raising their hand in Zoom's Chat to indicate they have a question to ask or comment to make.
  • Needing to click the SSO button vs. logging in can be confusing for some users. Having text explaining that if you use Zoom as part of an institution, click the SSO button to sign in would alleviate obstacles to access (especially when the obstacle is keeping a professor from starting an online class session as they tend to forget these details).
  • The Speaker view and Gallery views buttons are confusing. It would be helpful to have some sort of menu showing what the result will look like, or a preview when hovering over the buttons. Such as, if you choose Gallery view....the screen will look like .
  • I would love to see the ability to add closed captions or subtitles to videos. We currently upload videos to YouTube to take advantage of their captioning features.
Zoom is well suited for teaching students located in multiple campuses. Although it can be used to connect all of the students from home, the potential for troubleshooting so many end points would be problematic. It is this reason we try to keep connections to a minimum and ask students to come to a campus location as their point of entry.

Zoom is less appropriate for teaching in groups if only one student is connecting remotely to a class. Depending on the setup of a classroom, there is a certain amount of choreography needed to engage the student in a conversation with a small group of students who are present in a course. We use online chats in our Moodle LMS to help with those types of discussions. Otherwise, all of the students in the group would have to connect to the Zoom session to use its Chat feature. This would also cause their video to appear which would need to be turned off and their participant window minimized by the instructor/presenter.
I am not using Zoom Rooms at this time.
Read Christy Mattingly's full review
Geoff Perlman profile photo
January 26, 2017

Review: "Zoom is the best video conferencing software there is, hands down."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a distributed workforce with everyone working from home. Thus we conduct every meeting with Zoom from informal 3 minute meetings to answer a question all the way to all-hands meetings that last an hour or more. We also use The Zoom for our webinars now as well. We tried everything out there (Skype, GoToMeeting, Google Hangouts and more) and Zoom is by far the best overall solution. Getting connected to another user is simple. Screen sharing is easy, the pricing model is simple and the service has been very reliable. I wouldn't use anything else.
  • Starting up a video chat, either on the fly or a scheduled one is really easy. It's obvious which users are currently available and which are not.
  • When video chatting with multiple people, Zoom can highlight the speaker to make it easy to know who is talking.
  • We use screen-sharing a LOT and Zoom makes it easy to not just share your screen but only share a particular window on your screen. This keeps the other attendees focused and protects my privacy because I'm not exposing them to my entire screen.
  • We currently use Slack for text chat because Zoom's text chatting features are not as strong as Slack. Having said that, it wouldn't take much to get Zoom to the point where it would do what we need for text chatting. I hope they do as I'd rather have one app instead of two.
  • If two people try to start a video chat with each other at the same time, Zoom thinks that both are busy and rejects the connection rather than figuring out what is really going on and connecting the two people together. I'm sure they know about this and will fix it at some point.
  • When users sign off, they disappear from the list and the list resorts itself. If you happen to be about to click the Meet button for a user and the list sorts, you may accidentally start a video chat with the wrong person. I have mentioned to them that they should not resort the list while the mouse is within the list. They are extremely responsive to suggestions and bug reports FWIW.
it's well-suited if you have a list of people that you video chat with regularly be they co-workers, colleagues, customers, vendors or even family. It's not so good for the one-time video chat.
Read Geoff Perlman's full review
Jerry Brower profile photo
January 26, 2017

User Review: "Zoom will take you over the moon."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an educational/research organization, spread across multiple continents, that lives by collaboration. At one point, we had over 50 Polycom units to support. The growing trend toward cloud-based collaboration left many meetings with someone's laptop in the middle of the conference table, next to the Polycom mic, running Skype or GoToMeeting. This kind of duct tape solution was unsustainable. We found Zoom googling for something that could connect Polycoms, but with GoToMeeting like invites for outside collaborators. Now we are "all in" with Zoom having converted 23 Polycom conference rooms to ZoomRoom and installing Zoom clients on just about every staff computer, whether it is Windows, Mac, Linux, or tablet.
  • Collaboration has never been easier with individuals, outside collaborators, and conference rooms all connecting seamlessly without IT assistance.
  • ZoomRooms are simple to operate with a touch tablet instead of complicated remote control.
  • Zoom is constantly improving and adding features. Pretty much everything I have put on my feature request list with Zoom has made it into an update. This is an innovative company with a product growing stronger with every release.
  • Rarely, bugs are introduced in a version, so test updates on non-production systems before updating! (but that should be standard IT practice anyway)
  • ZoomRooms are run by regular computers (either Mac or Windows), so unlike dedicated hardware like Polycom, it is up to you to properly secure and update this platform. It would be easy to forget that and let this PC become a security vulnerability.
  • ZoomRoom is not a single vendor solution. Zoom recommends hardware, but when issues occure, you could have to deal with multiple vendors tech support/warranty to get the issue resolved.
Zoom solutions scale well from a single person office that wants to collaborate professionally like the big guys, to large corporations with many conference rooms and employees spread across the globe.
I have already addressed Zoom Rooms with my other comments, but in short, we are very pleased with functionality and reliability of our conference rooms.
Read Jerry Brower's full review
Aleia Walker profile photo
May 18, 2017

User Review: "Zoom is great for teams!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom is used to conduct office hours with students and for very large team meetings. It is primarily used by members of the class team but also by marketing to record webinars. It's also used for the monthly team meeting of 30+ attendees.

The class team started using it for students when Google Hangouts failed and the class team will switch to using Zoom for team meetings in the near future.
  • Reliable connection.
  • Easy to get started. Host shows up and attendees join via link provided.
  • Great that you can share your screen and still have your face visible for attendees.
  • It's very cumbersome that you have to download an app in order to use Zoom.
  • It's hard to switch between multiple Zoom accounts
Zoom works well for large groups. It does not work well for people who have older machines or are not extremely patient with tech.
Read Aleia Walker's full review
Rob Di Toro profile photo
May 04, 2017

Zoom Review: "It doesn't get much better than this."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are primarily using Zoom for meeting clients and partners outside of the organisation, but all of our internal meetings (which are fewer than our external) are hosted using the Zoom platform.
Zoom makes it simple to have high quality video conferencing on any device, without having to train the end user on how to use the platform – since it is so easy to use.
  • High Quality of Video, Audio, and Screen Sharing
  • Ease of use by end users
  • Ease of Implementation by IT
  • Clean and simple UI and UX
  • Would be great if they had the ability to securely sign documents within their platform
Suitable for teams of all sizes, in all use cases that we've come across. I cannot think of any deployment scenario or end-user experience where Zoom wouldn't be leading amongst the available options – it is easy to use, intuitive, and of excellent quality.
Yes – they are simple to use and have a very intuitive and basic UI. Even the most 'technophobic' users feel comfortable using the platform and find it easy to share content in rooms wirelessly without even requiring you to start a meeting beforehand. The quality is great, and having a dedicated Zoom Room as a conference room platform adds wireless presentation abilities to guests and other members without requiring their own Zoom user account, or relying on third party collaboration software.
Read Rob Di Toro's full review
Joshua Goldberg profile photo
April 13, 2017

User Review: "Zoom helps streamline sales"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom is being used in 2 different capacities for NumberCruncher.com. The first is for our daily product demo's of all orders, where new users are able to register and attend any of our 4 different live product demo's. Each demo is of the same software, but focused on a specific industry. The other avenue it's being used for is our weekly training Q & A Webinars, where current users can login with our trainer and ask any questions they may have on the All Orders software
  • Connection Speed
  • Usability
  • Support
  • Reporting
  • Webinar controls
Well suited for product demos & webinars, not good for screen share support
Read Joshua Goldberg's full review
Christine Conforti profile photo
March 28, 2017

Review: "Zoom is the ultimate private coaching office."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom is the ultimate virtual office. I love having customized "meeting rooms" for each client. It makes scheduling and management smooth and structured. The audio recording feature gives my coaching business an extra element of lifetime value.
  • Private meeting room links
  • Audio recording of sessions
  • Up to 50 participants
  • Recording management - I would love the ability to only download audio and save space. Right now I have to do this manually each session and it is unnecessarily time-consuming.
Very appropriate for confidential client sessions. The recording feature is key. I also love how I can take a session easily from my phone via the app. As a digital nomad, this flexibility is a must to accommodate my travel.
Read Christine Conforti's full review
Alex Engel profile photo
March 23, 2017

User Review: "Zoom helps us zoom to the solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom is being used by some of our consultants to run screen sharing services for our clients. We use it to address the challenge that all of our clients are remote.
  • Easy set up, meeting sharing, and call-in.
  • Easy participant/host management.
  • Fast.
  • Good recording capabilities.
  • Screen sharing toolbar is bulky and obtrusive.
  • Defaulting meetings to have the camera on can be surprising for clients and hosts.
  • Would appreciate a web-only interface for participants.
Zoom is very well suited to small and quick screen sharing sessions or web conferences. Zoom could be less appropriate for large conferences where hosts poll the audience or collect questions.
Read Alex Engel's full review
Tammy Bjelland profile photo
March 22, 2017

Review: "I looked for the perfect virtual meeting/webinar solution for years... I found it with Zoom"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zoom to hold meetings, conference calls, and webinars. We are moving towards using Zoom almost exclusively (we sometimes use Skype as well, but it does not meet our needs at the same price point that Zoom does). We're able to meet anytime, with many people, and it's very easy to use and reliable.
  • Teaching tools: you can share your screen, annotate, and engage your audience
  • Encryption available for added security (a must in many industries!)
  • Easy to use (despite having to download software)
  • Some settings are not easy to find (I feel they should be in settings but they are found elsewhere)
Zoom is well suited for almost any situation -- individuals who want to communicate virtually with others, online teachers, small businesses, larger businesses... the list goes on and on. I would say that this is a user-friendly option for organizations of all sizes and industries. Because of the security options available, I can't think of any industry this would not work well for.
Read Tammy Bjelland's full review
Ted Bennett profile photo
March 20, 2017

Zoom Review: "Solid screensharing tool - improving dramatically!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom is used across our team and has been a super simple solution to complex support issues and virtual meetings. It is easy to use, forces all users to download the applet so passing presenter role, etc., is really easy. There is a permanent link you can send to all your meeting attendees every time.
  • Video stream
  • Passing presenter role
  • Recognition of poor connection
  • Making it easy to share screens
  • Making the meeting link personal like zoom.com/yourname/meeting
  • Knowing which screen is actively being used
  • Local RAM usage
Where zoom is well suited:
- Support calls/demos where it is important for all involved parties to share screens
- Ability to easily

Where zoom is less appropriate:
- large scale meetings with 50+ attendees. The bandwidth discrepancies can cause serious lag depending on who is screensharing. I've had connection issues a couple times with large groups.

No, I do not use Zoom rooms. I would be interested in learning more though!
Read Ted Bennett's full review
Tom Davies profile photo
February 23, 2017

Zoom Review: "Big step up for GoToMeeting and UberConference"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zoom for all of our customer facing conferencing interactions. It is used by all members of our business development team from the CEO down to the SDRs. We interact with customers dozens of times a day, and having a reliable conferencing tool that is flexible enough for different rooms, lines, countries etc., is important.
  • Good connection
  • Easy to log in
  • Customers seem to enjoy using it
  • Have to install software on computer first time
  • Would be useful to have more than one personal room link
  • Can't set things like 'no video'
It's great if you interact with a number of different customers and need a private 'room' for each. With conference lines you run the risk of someone calling in while you are using it. With Zoom this doesn't happen so you can rest assured only those invited will have access to the conference.
Read Tom Davies's full review
Derek A. Lackey profile photo
February 17, 2017

Zoom Review: "Great Video-Centric Meeting Solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1.Internal meetings across multiple locations. We have reduced our meeting time by allowing people to eliminate travel time and expense. The can take :45 minutes for a :45 minute meeting.
2. Client meetings without traveling to their offices. We would spend 2 - 3 hours of traveling to have a one hour meeting. Now we use ZOOM and only spend the one hour (no travel time)
3. Qualifying prospects - initial contact. An online call can answer many basic questions to determine whether a prospect is ready for an in person sales call.
4. Webinars (ZOOM Webinar) - we run our weekly webinar series through ZOOM.
  • Stable
  • Visual - you can see people's facial expressions and reactions - just like being there in person.
  • Product support has been quick and simple
  • Audio defaults to mute and some clients have trouble with speakers and microphone settings
  • More communication about how others are using ZOOM to improve productivity
  • Increase overall awareness so people are less hesitant about 'learning a new tool'
More time meeting and moving issues forward. Less time traveling from place to place. Our team gets far more done in a day. They have much less of the opening chit chat that happens when meeting in person. Other solutions have added video feeds as a feature but they are not at the centre of the solution like they are with ZOOM.
Our staff is not yet used to this feature but I like it. If I am at my desk I am available to any team member.
Read Derek A. Lackey's full review
Rachel Hudish profile photo
February 09, 2017

Review: "Zoom ups the ante on video conferencing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Zoom across an organization when I worked remotely. It was used for all of our virtual meetings. Now, I use Zoom individually across an organization, but it is not the primary video conferencing tool.
  • Multiple video streams.
  • Easy desktop sharing.
  • Mobile accessibility.
  • Uses high amounts of bandwidth with video.
  • A breakout room function similar to Adobe Connect would be nice.
  • Polling within Zoom would be nice.
Zoom is appropriate for interviews and video conferencing for small group meetings. We would use it for our company meetings and when done in a large conference room, it can be difficult to hear and see presentations.
I did not use this functionality.
Read Rachel Hudish's full review
Jason Leo profile photo
February 08, 2017

Zoom Review: "Empower your users - They will thank you for it"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom was implemented to replace WebEx company wide. For the users, Webex was confusing to use. They always call in IT in a standby mode just in case they have issues with Webex.
  • Interface is extremely clean and easy to navigate
  • Support is amazing
  • Very quick turnarounds for product updates that address current issues
  • Audio quality sometimes missing the mark
  • Need to have integration partners who can help set up system in bigger conference rooms (ceiling mic, speakers, cameras, etc)
Suitable for conferences for few users.
We love the Zoom Room experience. Starting a meeting with one touch is great! Audio quality sometimes is not as great as the video.
Read Jason Leo's full review
Kathy Earls profile photo
February 08, 2017

User Review: "Anyone can use Zoom!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zoom three to four times a week for meetings. We have remote Development Officers who Zoom in to various meetings each week. Or if staff are traveling or working from home they can Zoom into meetings. Our media center also uses Zoom, but I'm not sure how often, etc. They have their own account.
  • It is easy to schedule and start meetings. The product is user friendly for all, even for those who find technology to be a challenge.
  • The picture clarity is great, as is the volume.
  • We have never experienced a technical issue with Zoom.
  • The cost of the system is more than reasonable.
  • None.
It works perfectly for us. We can use it in our small conference room and video conference using the camera on a laptop or we can use it for larger meetings of 30+ people by hooking it up to a webcam.
Not yet.
Read Kathy Earls's full review
Rob Butterworth profile photo
February 02, 2017

User Review: "Zoom Meetings"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zoom for many regular internal company meetings, individual meetings, presentations from potential portfolio companies, and more. We have moved on from room-based systems and replaced them with PCs. Zoom frees us from the cost of traditional video conferencing systems and brings their excellent quality video and screen sharing to the desktop.
  • Dual screen streaming - the last time I checked, Zoom was the only company who did this well. Allows us to have video on one screen and shared content on another, making a huge difference to the utility of video conferencing in our meeting rooms.
  • International dial-in bridge. Some competitors have this, but not many.
  • Recording - the recording is simple, east and works.
  • It would be nice to have a cut-down WebRTC interface for quick connection without having to download the client. I understand the issues with this route, but still, it would be nice on occasion.
  • The desktop client has on occasion gotten confused when someone has it running but not logged in, then clicks on a Zoom URL. Not seen for some time, but a small worry.
  • It would be better if the Zoom Room product could allow the use of the hosting PC for windows apps that could then be shared - the lack of this stops us using it, we stick with the standard Zoom product.
  • A pay-as-you-use model for the H.323 bridge would be preferable to the subscription - we pay for it every month, but use it about 3 times a year.
Great for flexible meeting room set up, great for desktop and mobile meetings.
Read Rob Butterworth's full review
Elizabeth Dodge profile photo
January 31, 2017

Review: "Love, love, love Zoom - an Affordable and Reliable Web-conferencing Application"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work from home and use Zoom for NEARLY all my meetings with clients and partners. I also use it to record "tutorials" and trainings and make the recordings available to my clients, post them on my website, and post them to YouTube. Zoom makes it much easier to communicate complex information quickly and easily. It's much easier for my clients to understand an issue or how to do something when they can SEE if for themselves. I often record meetings as well if they want to review the information later or if someone was unable to attend.
  • Excellent audio and video quality.
  • Meetings start very quickly; sending invitations is fast and easy.
  • I wish that I could schedule a Zoom meeting from within Outlook. The way it works now is that you use Zoom to create an Outlook appointment. I'd rather create an appointment and then add Zoom. Why? Just what I'm used to, I guess.
Great for meetings, making recordings.
Read Elizabeth Dodge's full review
Erik Segerstolpe profile photo
January 30, 2017

Zoom Review: "Great and versatile audio and video communication platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We wanted to reduce our costs and improve the way we could support our customers in implementing, presenting and demoing our solution. We use Zoom Pro for all users in multiple departments: sales for general demos, professional services for remote quick starts and high-level support and also [an] academy for webinars. Everyone in the company also has a basic account to make shorter 40-minute meetings so we can have company-wide meetings and Zoom rooms.
  • Stability and quality of the calls and client + having a bespoke join-page with our branding
  • Zoom room concept & functionality
  • Very simple administration with a lot of functionality
  • Screensharing of iOS devices on WiFi
  • Great and smooth enterprise-user management (SAML, Google, domain signup)
  • A backup meeting client without local install (like hangouts)
  • Better two-way calendar integration and seeing upcoming Zoom meetings you are invited to in the Zoom client
  • Better UX structure and flow for meeting invites (really missing a list of previous invites from others so you can "re-join")
  • More options for recording a meeting (speaker view, switch recorded angles etc.)
  • Be able to hide the chat or get the chat more Slack-like
[It is well suited for] inviting customers to demos and for hands-on support.
Yes, we have a couple of rooms and they work very well and are stable. [It was] especially good when they removed the 40-minute limitation of a basic account used in a room.
Read Erik Segerstolpe's full review
Jonathan Herlin profile photo
January 27, 2017

Zoom Review: "Zomm helps us save cost and increase productivity"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Whole organisation, we use it mostly for internal meetings with the static Zoom Rooms we have on each office. But we also use that for communicating with the rest of the company as well as third parties.
  • Very responsive when sharing screen compared to other software.
  • Clear audio and video.
  • Support for all platforms (Linux, Windows, Mac).
  • Zoom rooms are very affordable compared to a classic conference system.
  • Support, were fast to respond for simple task but very slow to reply for more advanced issue (more periodic status updates would be welcomed).
  • Being able to request recording permissions would be good.
I would say Zoom fits for almost all scenarios. We don't use the chat functionality because we already have two tools for that. But video and screen sharing are the features we use the most.
Very good and affordable. We love Zoom Rooms and that's what we use the most. It has increased productivity a lot as well as reduced cost.
Read Jonathan Herlin's full review
Kristi Burch profile photo
January 27, 2017

User Review: "Zoom over here to see how we love it"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom is used across the entire organization. Faculty, staff, and students use Zoom in various ways. Faculty use Zoom to connect with colleagues at other institutions or to bring in guest speakers. Faculty have also used Zoom to record their classes for the purposes of lecture capture, course review, assessment, and for students unable to make it to class. In a few instances, faculty used Zoom to hold class virtually when they couldn't make it class due to poor weather. Staff use Zoom for interviews and to conduct career chats with students through our Center for Career and Professional Development. Students have used Zoom to record presentations and to connect with professors or speakers who are off-campus. Zoom allows us to connect with others, share content, resources, and experiences without the additional cost of travel and other factors such as not cancelling classes simply because a faculty member is in Guatemala for a conference. Students don't lose the contact time and interaction, and in fact, they gain an increased awareness of the use of technology, global citizenship, and responsibility.
  • Audio and Video quality and connection are suburb
  • Sharing a screen is super easy
  • Recording classes and events makes life really easy for archival purposes and review at a later date.
  • Possibly increased space for cloud storage for recordings
  • It would be great if users could have full functionality through the webpage instead of having to download the app, but I understand the limitations of the technology.
  • As an administrator, I'd love to be able to see a record of meetings started and held when not a scheduled meeting.
Zoom is wonderful and well-suited for the classroom, for interviews, for meetings.
It might be less appropriate for outside meetings or where there is a lot of background noise.
Read Kristi Burch's full review
Tim Grant profile photo
January 27, 2017

User Review: "Got more boom with zoom"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're essentially a consulting firm. As such, relationships are key to what we maintain for successful engagements. Zoom allows us to see our clients face-to-face, even though they are thousands of miles away, and keep up those relationships. Since we're able to communicate easily, and show how the software we support works directly with them, as we're talking to them, the client gets a comfortable, human interaction for a very low cost. It helps that the software is easy to use for the end client as well, as we can avoid the technical mishaps that occur using other programs.
  • Great technology. People can log in easily, and we've never had a technical issue that stopped us from having a session. So I guess reliability.
  • Access. We have the desktop control, as well as the link in Outlook. And, of course, the browser.
  • Integration with Outlook.
  • Can't think of anything. It does everything we need it to do.
For IT workers, it's great for remote control of computers when you're trying to fix a problem or explain how a process works.
Read Tim Grant's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (210)
8.9
High quality video (211)
9.0
Low bandwidth requirements (179)
7.9
Desktop sharing (206)
9.3
Whiteboards (121)
8.6
Calendar integration (176)
8.7
Meeting initiation (201)
8.7
Integrates with social media (71)
7.8
Record meetings / events (192)
9.0
Slideshows (125)
8.8
Live chat (179)
8.5
Audience polling (89)
8.7
Q&A (106)
8.6
User authentication (125)
8.6
Participant roles & permissions (149)
8.7
Confidential attendee list (96)
8.7

About Zoom

Zoom is an online meeting and video conferencing platform.
Categories:  Web Conferencing

Zoom Features

Performance & Compatibility of Online Events Software Features
Has featureHigh quality audio
Has featureHigh quality video
Has featureLow bandwidth requirements
Has featureChrome compatible
Has featureFirefox compatible
Has featureSafari compatible
Has featureIE compatible
Has featureAvailable for Linux
Has featureAvailable for OS X
Has featureAvailable for Windows
Does not have featureMobile support
Screen Sharing Features
Has featureDesktop sharing
Has featureDocument/File sharing
Has featureApplication sharing
Has featureWhiteboards
Online Meetings / Events Features
Has featureScheduling
Has featureCalendar integration
Has featureMeeting initiation
Has featureEnd meetings
Has featureIntegrates with social media
Has featureRecord meetings / events
Has featureDial-in attendance
Has featureOnline attendance
Has featureMute
Has featureSlideshows
Has featureMedia
Has featureInternational calling
Has featureMultiple webcam streams
Online Events Collaboration Features
Has featureLive chat
Has featureAudience polling
Has featureQ&A
Has featureMeeting space storage
Has featureAnnotation
Has featureRemote support features
Online Events Security Features
Has featureUser authentication
Has featureParticipant roles & permissions
Has featureParticipant list
Has featureConfidential attendee list
Has featureSecure file sharing
Additional Features
Has featureMobile Screen Sharing
Has featureVideo Breakout Rooms
Has featureScreen share video with audio

Zoom Video

Zoom Product Overview Video -- Zoom is revolutionizing the ways teams collaborate. Whether you're connecting multiple conference rooms or adding remote attendees. Meeting face-to-face is as simple as a single touch.

Zoom Integrations

Slack, Salesforce.com, Marketo, Skype for Business (formerly Lync), Google Drive, Box, Dropbox, Pardot, Zapier, Microsoft One Drive, Microsoft Outlook, Google Calendar, Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, LTI Canvas, LTI Blackboard, LTI Moodle, LTI Desire2Learn, Kubi

Zoom Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Virtual H.323/SIP Room Connector49/month
Business19.99/month
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Basic$0
Pro14.99/month
Business19.99/month
Zoom Room Conference Room49/month
Webinar54.99/month

Zoom Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Zoom Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:North America, South America, Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia
Supported Languages: English