TrustRadius
Zoom is an online meeting and video conferencing platform.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/X0/J2/JJQC92U6VWBP.PNGZoom is a New World Video PlatformZoom is used by the majority of our support staff, and is starting to be used by our field employees. This includes a few hundred offices, involving around 2500 regular users. Its greatest strengths are ease of use, reasonable cost, powerful encoding technology, end-to-end encryption, and one of the richest feature sets of any video conferencing platform. Notable features include cloud recording, support for legacy equipment, on-prem, and cloud, baked-in virtual backgrounds, polling, breakout rooms, whiteboards, file sharing, and best of all, a fully integrated conference room system. We use it for team meetings, recruiting, telehealth, executive meetings, company webcasts, outreach, chat, and one-on-ones.,Features! See above for its rich feature set. It's so easy to onboard users onto the platform because it's easy to get them excited about all the ways Zoom can help them. My users are buying popup greenscreens left and right because they're so excited about Zoom's Virtual Background feature, for instance. Integration. The best example of which is Zoom's full integration with the Kubi robot. This robot is a tablet mounted on a swiveling stand which can be controlled remotely through Zoom to be able to look all around a room. My company uses it for telehealth purposes, and my team in particular uses the robot for video shoots in which we need a quick and easy remote shot of a crowd or event. We even have someone using Zoom and a Kubi to remotely monitor an empty front desk and greet guests who walk into the building. Few (if any) platforms can boast integration with such pioneering technology. Price. Zoom is very reasonably priced to be sure. Not only are we saving by using it instead of other, more expensive video platforms--we are saving thousands in other, less measurable fields. Since the inception of Zoom at my company, travel costs have dipped significantly (because most managers and directors are more inclined to use the reliable Zoom platform to communicate, as opposed to traveling between offices). We were also able to almost eliminate several costly teleconferencing services. Ironically, full video meetings with high-quality VoIP audio are significantly cheaper than traditional phone-only teleconferences. Lastly, this may be anecdotal, but there is a perceived increase in productivity since Zoom allows more direct team communication than was previously possible.,While very good for what it is, the Zoom Room solution for conference rooms has some flaws. We have just over 30 of these rooms throughout the company, and issues with connectivity are a bit frequent, and this is likely due to the fact that it uses two consumer devices (a PC or Mac plus an iPad) which require a constant connection for the platform to work. Many may find it easier to support a conference room system involving one mini PC running Zoom (reminder, Zoom is available for Linux on PCs as well as Windows and Mac) and a simple wireless keyboard/mouse to control the meeting, instead of using a Wi-Fi connected tablet. I would personally like to see even more cross-platform integrations on the part of Zoom. For instance, Facebook Live is a powerful new outreach platform, and would be even more powerful if it could sync up with Zoom. Imagine starting a Facebook Live broadcast through a Zoom Webinar room and reaching hundreds of followers with full video. Virtual Reality is another growing technology. I actually found it possible to stream a virtual reality video through Zoom by using Zoom's Screen Share feature for Android. By mirroring an Android phone running a VR app, I was able to broadcast a 360 video in a standard Zoom room so that other Android and iPhone users could view through Google Cardboard. But this is more of a workaround than a baked-in feature. Something like a "Go VR" button which converted your video to a stereoscopic mode, or that enabled VR streaming through consumer VR cameras like the Ricoh Theta, would be truly amazing through Zoom. (UPDATE Jan 26, 2017: Zoom recently announced support for Facebook Live),10,I'm more involved in the support aspect of Zoom than the financial, but I can say that it represents significant savings, both because it is more reasonably priced than many competitors, and because its ease of use leads, naturally, to reduced travel cost. Its feature set allows companies to condense multiple platforms into one Zoom subscription. Why continue paying for a costly enterprise teleconference account when Zoom has VoIP audio and baked-in teleconferencing? Reduced support needs is another plus. Supporting Zoom is a breeze compared to supporting other platforms. Having been part of a very small team supporting Zoom companywide for the past two years, I can attest that my job has gotten easier and easier as people quickly got used to the platform. This has allowed me the freedom to take on multiple projects in addition to being the Zoom support grunt. And, it saves the company as less heads are required to scale and support the platform. Zoom has produced a productivity metric which my company has never previously been able to observe. Because it is the standard for communications throughout the company, we can easily draw up a weekly productivity glance by measuring the amount, duration, and purposes of Zoom meetings. Zoom's reporting features are very good, so this is an easy task every week, and the chiefs love seeing it.,We have over 30 Zoom Rooms throughout the company, with plans for many more. I've previously described some of their flaws. Despite those, the Zoom Rooms system is really great, and they do work 90+% of the time. They recently added great features like ultrasonic detection which allows you to share a laptop screen with, literally, one click. They also now have voice control, allowing one to say "Hey Zoom, start a meeting" to start a meeting. And they recently released an Android controller version (in addition to the existing iOS version), so IT folks reluctant to use iOS no longer have to give in. Camera control through the iPad is another big plus. Plus Zoom continually strengthens baked-in remote support for these rooms, so they keep getting better. Sticky features like this, and the fact that they're among the cheapest conference room solutions out there, do add value to the platform. But they still have work to do to make them more solid.,Adobe Connect, BlueJeans, Google Hangouts, GoToMeeting, Join.me, Skype for Business and WebEx Meetings,Skype for Business, Slack, IFTTT,,6,Internal video meetings are the currently most important use case, and I'd imagine this is the case for many other companies Zoom Chat is the most popular company chat platform. Large Zoom webinars are commonly used for internal and external purposes. Zoom is widely used throughout the company as a recording platform, for recording screen shares or video as a shareable .mp4. We have over 30 Zoom Rooms set up throughout the company, with plans for many more.,Virtual Backgrounds are a really innovative baked in feature. No longer do users have to install extra applications like ManyCam or Xsplit--Zoom already includes greenscreen capability. Zoom's integration with the Kubi robot allows for a wide range of use cases, from remote robotic monitoring of an office to more interactive face to face meetings. Zoom's sizeable collection of international numbers allows us to set up calls all around the globe.,Attention tracking is a brand new Zoom feature that our marketing people really seem to be excited about. It lets the host know if participants don't have Zoom as the active window (and therefore aren't paying full attention) during webinars. Zoom will hopefully, in the not too distant future, have support for Virtual and Augmented reality. Zoom's brand new integration with Facebook Live and YouTube live will really expand our outreach abilities. We're planning many big FB Live videos.,10,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product Vendor Reputation Analyst Reports Third-party Reviews,We would not change our process. We got extremely lucky in picking Zoom early-on. We did our due diligence in evaluating other platforms, and were able to find a diamond in the rough.,Implemented in-house,Yes,Change management was a big part of the implementation and was well-handled,None, it was as smooth as could possibly be expected.,10,Self-taught,I was in charge of learning the platform well enough to train others, and it wasn't difficult at all to learn the features just by using Zoom.,7,Take advantage of Zoom's ability to create separate environments. You can make one where none of Zoom's features are enabled, and one where all of them are.,Some - we have done small customizations to the interface,Some - we have added small pieces of custom code,We have used Arduino microcontrollers to run custom macros to get Zoom to do interesting things. For instance, I used an Arduino Micro with microphone sensors embedded in a table which would auto-detect when someone at a certain seat at the table was speaking. It would then use XSplit to switch the camera to focus on that person. Then if the person adjacent to the first speaker starts speaking, the Arduino triggers XSplit to focus on them. The whole setup cost under $30 since Arduinos and components are cheap and XSplit and Zoom are free. Compare that to something like the PolyCom EagleEye which does the same thing but would cost $15,000 just for the auto-focusing cameras. I made another one with photoreceptors so that if someone hovers their hand over a receptor, it triggers AutoHotKey scripts to do stuff like start or stop sharing in Zoom, advance a PowerPoint slide, etc. There are tons of possibilities for making custom setups like this.,10,Yes,When they first released Breakout Rooms, it was missing a few key elements to make it a great experience. I outlined ways in which it could improve, and the rep informed me that most of them were already in the works, and that the rest he already took the liberty of adding to their feature list.,Using video. Zoom's technology allows video to perform well even with poor network strength, which greatly reduces confusion and frustration among users. It's very easy to get into a meeting with video. Zoom's great new features like Polling, Breakout Rooms, and Registration are all easy to use. They're more complex features which do require explanation, but despite their complexity, it's still rather easy to provide training for using these features. Screen sharing is now easier than ever since Zoom added a Screen Share button to its client home screen. Plus instant share in Zoom Rooms is now possible thanks to ultrasonic detection.,Scheduling meetings might benefit from being simplified. The scheduling popup is a bit more complicated than many expect, and since we use Outlook companywide, it takes an extra step to get an invite to open in Outlook and send it from there. There is a way to schedule so that it goes right to Outlook, but it requires the user to go to "Meetings" first, and then click on a Schedule dropdown and select "Outlook". Nobody knows about this. So, I wish we could configure Zoom so that the Schedule button on the Home Screen automatically goes to Outlook if Outlook is detected. Difficulties with logging in is probably the most common support call we get. This is because we use Zoom's SSO feature. The feature is just fine, but it's just the nature of the beast that logging in with SSO takes more steps. Zoom's back end might need some work. For instance, there are advanced user features like Virtual Background, Breakout Rooms, Automatic Recording, etc. Currently, the only way to enable these features for users is by individually clicking through each user and checking each checkbox. So, I've had to write scripts to turn features on or off companywide as they're released. Either that, or we use an intern to do all of the clickwork. Zoom needs a way to turn a feature on or off simultaneously for all users or a group.,Yes,10,10,10,10,Facebook Live Kubi Robot Zapier,IFTTT/Zapier--IFTTT integration would be appreciated in addition to Zapier. But besides that, I'm pretty sure there are loads more useful recipes besides just scheduling meetings and adding webinar registrants. VR--Virtual Reality support and integration with any of the various VR platforms would be a huge selling point for us. Imagine integration with the Ricoh Theta camera or the Daydream headset Google Home/Alexa/Siri/Cortana--Zoom just got started with Siri support, but if there were scores of phrases to use with voice platforms like this, Zoom would be amazing. Imagine saying "OK Google, invite John Doe and Jane Doe to a meeting". Augmented Reality--Zoom's Virtual Backdrops feature is great, but it would be a lot of fun if it could overlay customize-able bits of useful information in a video feed.,File import/export,10,Don't be afraid to go to support.zoom.us and submit a feature request.,10,10,There were not any special conditions. However, we are grandfathered into their earlier pricing model, having been early adopters.,Nothing is necessary, they're already very easy to work with.,Yes,The latest update we did happened to be the 4.x update, which has all kinds of improvements like Facebook Live integration, improvements to Breakout rooms, voice integration, multiple screen sharing capabilities, multiple co-hosts, etc There are always minor process update--Zoom continually improves the flow of their platform I've heard people say, when other companies release updates, it's like "oh geez, now I have to update again." But when Zoom updates, it's like opening a pile of great presents.,Lots more great new features Minor updates to improve useability Possibly changing some UI elements,YesCan't Live Without ZoomZoom is being used across our entire company. It is the primary way our company communicates. Half of our team is remote and it's important for us to have a tool to that helps us lead effective meetings. We value being able to both see and hear our teammates. It also addresses the issue around the amount of people that can join a conference call. Many tools are limited to 10. We need something that could handle 30+.,It's stable. Every video conferencing tool I have ever used has audio or video latency issues. We rarely experience that with Zoom. We've used them for about a year and experienced an issue only once. They quickly fixed it. Our team is spoiled by Zoom. If ever we have to use another tool, everyone immediately wishes we were on Zoom instead. Seriously near flawless audio and video experience. They have stellar customer support. I needed help installing Zoom Rooms and I received helpful and timely responses from the support person assigned my ticket. It's user-friendly. Our team adopted it really quickly and was immediately able to take advantage of the features. Sometimes if you do have audio/video issues - it's due to your internet connection. The tool does a good job of giving you a visual of the strength of your connection. It's super helpful in troubleshooting.,Account Managers can be slow on responses.,10,We have majorly improved the quality and productivity in our meetings. They are 10x better than before. It's easy to connect with remote team members. The team feels more connected and that has had major returns for us in terms of people's engagement and happiness at work. It's so simple and reliable that we are able to get meetings going fast. Never any issues fumbling to get things to work.,Yes. We are very happy with Zoom Rooms. It's changed the way we have meetings. It takes some effort to set up and I wish there was less equipment involved. But once you're up and running, it works really well. The online documentation on how to set it up was really detailed and helpful. It's just a stable and user friendly as the rest of Zoom functionality.,GoToMeeting, Google Hangouts, Skype for Business and WebEx Meetings,Slack, Asana, Dropbox for Business, InVisionZoom me - it's fun!Technology and leadership teams use it to facilitate remote work, reduce travel expense and waste, and for larger cross-site meetings. We're also about to try it for leader-led webinar duty and have been toying with the idea of using a Zoom Room.,Quality is excellent. Fresh, evolving product. Screen sharing and remote control.,We don't like that the app now is 'hidden' in MacOS. Makes it too hard for novice users to turn on and leave on. The pricing tiers for the ability to apply custom branding don't work for us. Frustratingly so. It would be so great if there could be a tie-in between a 'regular' phone number (land or cell) and Zoom. So so great. It would be great to be able to host from a mobile device instead of just participate. Thank you for the Chrome app! Our Chromebook users are thrilled. We would like to see something closer to feature parity, however. :) Screen sharing is wonderful once up and going, but doesn't play very well with Mission Control in MacOS. Leads to a lot of unnecessary window moving when trying to share a specific bit of content from one of ten desktops! Not in love with the chat. Not even sure why. Maybe it seems like too much of an afterthought.,9,Substantially less travel expense, and recouped travel time Thanks to the Chrome OS app, we are using more of them and thrilled to be doing so!,Not yet, but we keep threatening to try it with a Mac Mini we don't use any longer.,WebEx Meetings and GoToMeeting,FileMaker Pro, Google Drive, Google HangoutsA great balance between web conference functionality and affordability.Our legal services company currently uses Zoom to connect law firms via web video conference into depositions both at our offices and at third party locations. Zoom makes it easy and convenient for our clients to access and connect to meetings from many different devices. Attorneys can use their PCs, Macs, tablets, smartphones, and traditional video conference systems to connect to our Zoom Rooms systems at the office. Zoom supports up to 50 users at a time with their pro package, so we don't have to worry about bridging costs associated with traditional video conferences.,Connecting clients to video conference meetings with one click; the system makes it easy for users of any tech experience level to connect. Cost efficiency. Zoom compares reasonably to the functionality of BlueJeans, but the price is significantly lower while providing similar service quality levels. The Zoom Rooms system provides room systems at a fraction of the cost compared to traditional video conference room systems, making it a cost-efficient way to implement video conferencing for other firms.,H323 room system connector functionality with older systems. The software currently does not work well with older video conference systems such as the Polycom VSX 7000. This can create some compatibility issues. Simplified integration with Google Calendar. While this functionality exists, it could be streamlined better as it can be somewhat more complicated than rival software such as GoToMeeting in terms of setting it up for the first time.,10,We've saved costs compared to traditional video conferencing, which would have costed more than twice as much to implement. Clients are put at ease by the simplicity of using it. They don't have to worry about complicated installs or audio issues, as they simply click a link and are provided instructions for setting up computer audio or dial-by-phone audio. The flexibility to work with any number of devices and bridge up to 50 participants makes large meeting planning much simpler compared to traditional video conference bridging.,Yes, Zoom Rooms is a great implementation for any room-level system. We run high definition cameras, microphones, and multiple large-screen TVs in our rooms to provide an immersive video teleconferencing experience. The iPad controller makes it easy for users to adjust camera and audio settings, and joining and scheduling meetings is a breeze with the Google Calendar integration.,Skype,Skype, ScreenConnect, Polycom Open Telepresence ExperienceLaw Office Review of Zoom Cloud MeetingsZoom is used in our law practice to meet with long distance co-counsel, conduct and participate in depositions, potential client interviews, in house and remote focus groups as well as all of our teleconferencing. It has paid for itself many times over since implementing over a year ago. In many instances, it eliminates the need for the attorney to travel out of state for a deposition or to meet with a client and/or co-counsel. We have also used it to allow long distance co-counsel to participate in depositions and focus groups that occur in our office. This saves the client money when the case settles or is resolved in court. In addition, it saves the travel time for our group of busy attorneys.,User interface is simple to download and use. The ability to easily show and annotate documents is great. The ability to record the sessions is vital to what we do. Zoom makes it easy.,Setup in an Exchange environment is difficult with the current instruction set Ability to pin a user on the iPad interface The audio conference telephone numbers sometimes ring busy or say they are not in service,10,Tremendous cost savings Time savings Other firms sometimes come here just to use our setup,Very functional and look impressive,
Windows, Linux, Mac
Zoom
645 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Zoom Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Zoom
645 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 646 vetted Zoom reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (201-225 of 247)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Stefan Scherbik profile photo
February 01, 2017

User Review: "Zoom is a New World Video Platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom is used by the majority of our support staff, and is starting to be used by our field employees. This includes a few hundred offices, involving around 2500 regular users. Its greatest strengths are ease of use, reasonable cost, powerful encoding technology, end-to-end encryption, and one of the richest feature sets of any video conferencing platform. Notable features include cloud recording, support for legacy equipment, on-prem, and cloud, baked-in virtual backgrounds, polling, breakout rooms, whiteboards, file sharing, and best of all, a fully integrated conference room system. We use it for team meetings, recruiting, telehealth, executive meetings, company webcasts, outreach, chat, and one-on-ones.
  • Features! See above for its rich feature set. It's so easy to onboard users onto the platform because it's easy to get them excited about all the ways Zoom can help them. My users are buying popup greenscreens left and right because they're so excited about Zoom's Virtual Background feature, for instance.
  • Integration. The best example of which is Zoom's full integration with the Kubi robot. This robot is a tablet mounted on a swiveling stand which can be controlled remotely through Zoom to be able to look all around a room. My company uses it for telehealth purposes, and my team in particular uses the robot for video shoots in which we need a quick and easy remote shot of a crowd or event. We even have someone using Zoom and a Kubi to remotely monitor an empty front desk and greet guests who walk into the building. Few (if any) platforms can boast integration with such pioneering technology.
  • Price. Zoom is very reasonably priced to be sure. Not only are we saving by using it instead of other, more expensive video platforms--we are saving thousands in other, less measurable fields. Since the inception of Zoom at my company, travel costs have dipped significantly (because most managers and directors are more inclined to use the reliable Zoom platform to communicate, as opposed to traveling between offices). We were also able to almost eliminate several costly teleconferencing services. Ironically, full video meetings with high-quality VoIP audio are significantly cheaper than traditional phone-only teleconferences. Lastly, this may be anecdotal, but there is a perceived increase in productivity since Zoom allows more direct team communication than was previously possible.
  • While very good for what it is, the Zoom Room solution for conference rooms has some flaws. We have just over 30 of these rooms throughout the company, and issues with connectivity are a bit frequent, and this is likely due to the fact that it uses two consumer devices (a PC or Mac plus an iPad) which require a constant connection for the platform to work. Many may find it easier to support a conference room system involving one mini PC running Zoom (reminder, Zoom is available for Linux on PCs as well as Windows and Mac) and a simple wireless keyboard/mouse to control the meeting, instead of using a Wi-Fi connected tablet.
  • I would personally like to see even more cross-platform integrations on the part of Zoom. For instance, Facebook Live is a powerful new outreach platform, and would be even more powerful if it could sync up with Zoom. Imagine starting a Facebook Live broadcast through a Zoom Webinar room and reaching hundreds of followers with full video. Virtual Reality is another growing technology. I actually found it possible to stream a virtual reality video through Zoom by using Zoom's Screen Share feature for Android. By mirroring an Android phone running a VR app, I was able to broadcast a 360 video in a standard Zoom room so that other Android and iPhone users could view through Google Cardboard. But this is more of a workaround than a baked-in feature. Something like a "Go VR" button which converted your video to a stereoscopic mode, or that enabled VR streaming through consumer VR cameras like the Ricoh Theta, would be truly amazing through Zoom. (UPDATE Jan 26, 2017: Zoom recently announced support for Facebook Live)
I believe I've made clear so far the situations in which my company has found Zoom useful. We had evaluated many platforms before arriving at Zoom, and two years ago they were a fraction of the platform they are now. Since they've added features like breakout rooms and whiteboarding, we were able to get our company trainers off of the unintuitive, expensive Adobe Connect platform and onto Zoom. So whether it's training, outreach, recruiting, telehealth, team meetings, webinars, etc., Zoom is robust enough to be well suited for whatever you can throw at it.
We have over 30 Zoom Rooms throughout the company, with plans for many more. I've previously described some of their flaws. Despite those, the Zoom Rooms system is really great, and they do work 90+% of the time. They recently added great features like ultrasonic detection which allows you to share a laptop screen with, literally, one click. They also now have voice control, allowing one to say "Hey Zoom, start a meeting" to start a meeting. And they recently released an Android controller version (in addition to the existing iOS version), so IT folks reluctant to use iOS no longer have to give in. Camera control through the iPad is another big plus. Plus Zoom continually strengthens baked-in remote support for these rooms, so they keep getting better.

Sticky features like this, and the fact that they're among the cheapest conference room solutions out there, do add value to the platform. But they still have work to do to make them more solid.
Read Stefan Scherbik's full review
Priya Kothari profile photo
January 31, 2017

User Review: "Can't Live Without Zoom"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom is being used across our entire company. It is the primary way our company communicates. Half of our team is remote and it's important for us to have a tool to that helps us lead effective meetings. We value being able to both see and hear our teammates. It also addresses the issue around the amount of people that can join a conference call. Many tools are limited to 10. We need something that could handle 30+.
  • It's stable. Every video conferencing tool I have ever used has audio or video latency issues. We rarely experience that with Zoom. We've used them for about a year and experienced an issue only once. They quickly fixed it. Our team is spoiled by Zoom. If ever we have to use another tool, everyone immediately wishes we were on Zoom instead. Seriously near flawless audio and video experience.
  • They have stellar customer support. I needed help installing Zoom Rooms and I received helpful and timely responses from the support person assigned my ticket.
  • It's user-friendly. Our team adopted it really quickly and was immediately able to take advantage of the features.
  • Sometimes if you do have audio/video issues - it's due to your internet connection. The tool does a good job of giving you a visual of the strength of your connection. It's super helpful in troubleshooting.
  • Account Managers can be slow on responses.
Very well suited for remote teams. It's great for companies relying on visual presentations.
I cannot think of a reason to not use Zoom. It would be my tool of choice for a company of 5 or 5000.
Yes. We are very happy with Zoom Rooms. It's changed the way we have meetings. It takes some effort to set up and I wish there was less equipment involved. But once you're up and running, it works really well. The online documentation on how to set it up was really detailed and helpful. It's just a stable and user friendly as the rest of Zoom functionality.
Read Priya Kothari's full review
Pax Whitfield profile photo
January 31, 2017

User Review: "Zoom me - it's fun!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Technology and leadership teams use it to facilitate remote work, reduce travel expense and waste, and for larger cross-site meetings. We're also about to try it for leader-led webinar duty and have been toying with the idea of using a Zoom Room.
  • Quality is excellent.
  • Fresh, evolving product.
  • Screen sharing and remote control.
  • We don't like that the app now is 'hidden' in MacOS. Makes it too hard for novice users to turn on and leave on.
  • The pricing tiers for the ability to apply custom branding don't work for us. Frustratingly so.
  • It would be so great if there could be a tie-in between a 'regular' phone number (land or cell) and Zoom. So so great.
  • It would be great to be able to host from a mobile device instead of just participate.
  • Thank you for the Chrome app! Our Chromebook users are thrilled. We would like to see something closer to feature parity, however. :)
  • Screen sharing is wonderful once up and going, but doesn't play very well with Mission Control in MacOS. Leads to a lot of unnecessary window moving when trying to share a specific bit of content from one of ten desktops!
  • Not in love with the chat. Not even sure why. Maybe it seems like too much of an afterthought.
The quality is great, the support is solid, and we think it simply works better than the old guard in telepresence apps like GoToMeeting and WebEx. It's great for mobile, too, although you can't host from a mobile device, which some executives are hoping for.
Not yet, but we keep threatening to try it with a Mac Mini we don't use any longer.
Read Pax Whitfield's full review
Derek Letellier profile photo
January 27, 2017

Zoom Review: "A great balance between web conference functionality and affordability."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our legal services company currently uses Zoom to connect law firms via web video conference into depositions both at our offices and at third party locations. Zoom makes it easy and convenient for our clients to access and connect to meetings from many different devices. Attorneys can use their PCs, Macs, tablets, smartphones, and traditional video conference systems to connect to our Zoom Rooms systems at the office. Zoom supports up to 50 users at a time with their pro package, so we don't have to worry about bridging costs associated with traditional video conferences.
  • Connecting clients to video conference meetings with one click; the system makes it easy for users of any tech experience level to connect.
  • Cost efficiency. Zoom compares reasonably to the functionality of BlueJeans, but the price is significantly lower while providing similar service quality levels.
  • The Zoom Rooms system provides room systems at a fraction of the cost compared to traditional video conference room systems, making it a cost-efficient way to implement video conferencing for other firms.
  • H323 room system connector functionality with older systems. The software currently does not work well with older video conference systems such as the Polycom VSX 7000. This can create some compatibility issues.
  • Simplified integration with Google Calendar. While this functionality exists, it could be streamlined better as it can be somewhat more complicated than rival software such as GoToMeeting in terms of setting it up for the first time.
Zoom provides a well-balanced approach to web conferencing that is both functional and affordable. The systems are cheaper to implement and run than rival BlueJeans, but this provides significant functionality over similarly-priced programs like Skype and GoToMeeting. Along with the ability to build your own Zoom Rooms system and integrate with traditional video conferencing, the software is a great alternative to the expensive room systems that appear to be on the decline.
Yes, Zoom Rooms is a great implementation for any room-level system. We run high definition cameras, microphones, and multiple large-screen TVs in our rooms to provide an immersive video teleconferencing experience. The iPad controller makes it easy for users to adjust camera and audio settings, and joining and scheduling meetings is a breeze with the Google Calendar integration.
Read Derek Letellier's full review
Charles Justice profile photo
January 26, 2017

"Law Office Review of Zoom Cloud Meetings"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom is used in our law practice to meet with long distance co-counsel, conduct and participate in depositions, potential client interviews, in house and remote focus groups as well as all of our teleconferencing. It has paid for itself many times over since implementing over a year ago. In many instances, it eliminates the need for the attorney to travel out of state for a deposition or to meet with a client and/or co-counsel. We have also used it to allow long distance co-counsel to participate in depositions and focus groups that occur in our office. This saves the client money when the case settles or is resolved in court. In addition, it saves the travel time for our group of busy attorneys.

  • User interface is simple to download and use.
  • The ability to easily show and annotate documents is great.
  • The ability to record the sessions is vital to what we do. Zoom makes it easy.
  • Setup in an Exchange environment is difficult with the current instruction set
  • Ability to pin a user on the iPad interface
  • The audio conference telephone numbers sometimes ring busy or say they are not in service
Not well suited where bandwidth is low
Very functional and look impressive
Read Charles Justice's full review
Christy Mattingly profile photo
January 26, 2017

Review: "Zoom Past Obstacles of Distance and Time"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom removes distance as an obstacle for attending a class or meeting. One of my favorite features is the ability to dial into audio so if the person who is remote does not know how to troubleshoot their audio setup and the presenter is unable to hear them, a simple workaround is to dial in using a phone. If internet connectivity issues arise, attendees do not have to be re-invited to the meeting nor does the meeting have to be restarted. Recording can be used in conjunction with screen annotations to create online video content for courses as well.
  • Record a class and share via Google Drive for students to use as a review tool.
  • All participants can annotate on the shared desktop if desired.
  • Personal Meeting IDs can be set up for instant meeting creation (click to join).
  • Participants can stay engaged in a conversation via raising their hand in Zoom's Chat to indicate they have a question to ask or comment to make.
  • Needing to click the SSO button vs. logging in can be confusing for some users. Having text explaining that if you use Zoom as part of an institution, click the SSO button to sign in would alleviate obstacles to access (especially when the obstacle is keeping a professor from starting an online class session as they tend to forget these details).
  • The Speaker view and Gallery views buttons are confusing. It would be helpful to have some sort of menu showing what the result will look like, or a preview when hovering over the buttons. Such as, if you choose Gallery view....the screen will look like .
  • I would love to see the ability to add closed captions or subtitles to videos. We currently upload videos to YouTube to take advantage of their captioning features.
Zoom is well suited for teaching students located in multiple campuses. Although it can be used to connect all of the students from home, the potential for troubleshooting so many end points would be problematic. It is this reason we try to keep connections to a minimum and ask students to come to a campus location as their point of entry.

Zoom is less appropriate for teaching in groups if only one student is connecting remotely to a class. Depending on the setup of a classroom, there is a certain amount of choreography needed to engage the student in a conversation with a small group of students who are present in a course. We use online chats in our Moodle LMS to help with those types of discussions. Otherwise, all of the students in the group would have to connect to the Zoom session to use its Chat feature. This would also cause their video to appear which would need to be turned off and their participant window minimized by the instructor/presenter.
I am not using Zoom Rooms at this time.
Read Christy Mattingly's full review
Geoff Perlman profile photo
January 26, 2017

Review: "Zoom is the best video conferencing software there is, hands down."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a distributed workforce with everyone working from home. Thus we conduct every meeting with Zoom from informal 3 minute meetings to answer a question all the way to all-hands meetings that last an hour or more. We also use The Zoom for our webinars now as well. We tried everything out there (Skype, GoToMeeting, Google Hangouts and more) and Zoom is by far the best overall solution. Getting connected to another user is simple. Screen sharing is easy, the pricing model is simple and the service has been very reliable. I wouldn't use anything else.
  • Starting up a video chat, either on the fly or a scheduled one is really easy. It's obvious which users are currently available and which are not.
  • When video chatting with multiple people, Zoom can highlight the speaker to make it easy to know who is talking.
  • We use screen-sharing a LOT and Zoom makes it easy to not just share your screen but only share a particular window on your screen. This keeps the other attendees focused and protects my privacy because I'm not exposing them to my entire screen.
  • We currently use Slack for text chat because Zoom's text chatting features are not as strong as Slack. Having said that, it wouldn't take much to get Zoom to the point where it would do what we need for text chatting. I hope they do as I'd rather have one app instead of two.
  • If two people try to start a video chat with each other at the same time, Zoom thinks that both are busy and rejects the connection rather than figuring out what is really going on and connecting the two people together. I'm sure they know about this and will fix it at some point.
  • When users sign off, they disappear from the list and the list resorts itself. If you happen to be about to click the Meet button for a user and the list sorts, you may accidentally start a video chat with the wrong person. I have mentioned to them that they should not resort the list while the mouse is within the list. They are extremely responsive to suggestions and bug reports FWIW.
it's well-suited if you have a list of people that you video chat with regularly be they co-workers, colleagues, customers, vendors or even family. It's not so good for the one-time video chat.
Read Geoff Perlman's full review
Jerry Brower profile photo
January 26, 2017

User Review: "Zoom will take you over the moon."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an educational/research organization, spread across multiple continents, that lives by collaboration. At one point, we had over 50 Polycom units to support. The growing trend toward cloud-based collaboration left many meetings with someone's laptop in the middle of the conference table, next to the Polycom mic, running Skype or GoToMeeting. This kind of duct tape solution was unsustainable. We found Zoom googling for something that could connect Polycoms, but with GoToMeeting like invites for outside collaborators. Now we are "all in" with Zoom having converted 23 Polycom conference rooms to ZoomRoom and installing Zoom clients on just about every staff computer, whether it is Windows, Mac, Linux, or tablet.
  • Collaboration has never been easier with individuals, outside collaborators, and conference rooms all connecting seamlessly without IT assistance.
  • ZoomRooms are simple to operate with a touch tablet instead of complicated remote control.
  • Zoom is constantly improving and adding features. Pretty much everything I have put on my feature request list with Zoom has made it into an update. This is an innovative company with a product growing stronger with every release.
  • Rarely, bugs are introduced in a version, so test updates on non-production systems before updating! (but that should be standard IT practice anyway)
  • ZoomRooms are run by regular computers (either Mac or Windows), so unlike dedicated hardware like Polycom, it is up to you to properly secure and update this platform. It would be easy to forget that and let this PC become a security vulnerability.
  • ZoomRoom is not a single vendor solution. Zoom recommends hardware, but when issues occure, you could have to deal with multiple vendors tech support/warranty to get the issue resolved.
Zoom solutions scale well from a single person office that wants to collaborate professionally like the big guys, to large corporations with many conference rooms and employees spread across the globe.
I have already addressed Zoom Rooms with my other comments, but in short, we are very pleased with functionality and reliability of our conference rooms.
Read Jerry Brower's full review
Derek A. Lackey profile photo
February 17, 2017

Zoom Review: "Great Video-Centric Meeting Solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1.Internal meetings across multiple locations. We have reduced our meeting time by allowing people to eliminate travel time and expense. The can take :45 minutes for a :45 minute meeting.
2. Client meetings without traveling to their offices. We would spend 2 - 3 hours of traveling to have a one hour meeting. Now we use ZOOM and only spend the one hour (no travel time)
3. Qualifying prospects - initial contact. An online call can answer many basic questions to determine whether a prospect is ready for an in person sales call.
4. Webinars (ZOOM Webinar) - we run our weekly webinar series through ZOOM.
  • Stable
  • Visual - you can see people's facial expressions and reactions - just like being there in person.
  • Product support has been quick and simple
  • Audio defaults to mute and some clients have trouble with speakers and microphone settings
  • More communication about how others are using ZOOM to improve productivity
  • Increase overall awareness so people are less hesitant about 'learning a new tool'
More time meeting and moving issues forward. Less time traveling from place to place. Our team gets far more done in a day. They have much less of the opening chit chat that happens when meeting in person. Other solutions have added video feeds as a feature but they are not at the centre of the solution like they are with ZOOM.
Our staff is not yet used to this feature but I like it. If I am at my desk I am available to any team member.
Read Derek A. Lackey's full review
Rachel Hudish profile photo
February 09, 2017

Review: "Zoom ups the ante on video conferencing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Zoom across an organization when I worked remotely. It was used for all of our virtual meetings. Now, I use Zoom individually across an organization, but it is not the primary video conferencing tool.
  • Multiple video streams.
  • Easy desktop sharing.
  • Mobile accessibility.
  • Uses high amounts of bandwidth with video.
  • A breakout room function similar to Adobe Connect would be nice.
  • Polling within Zoom would be nice.
Zoom is appropriate for interviews and video conferencing for small group meetings. We would use it for our company meetings and when done in a large conference room, it can be difficult to hear and see presentations.
I did not use this functionality.
Read Rachel Hudish's full review
Jason Leo profile photo
February 08, 2017

Zoom Review: "Empower your users - They will thank you for it"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom was implemented to replace WebEx company wide. For the users, Webex was confusing to use. They always call in IT in a standby mode just in case they have issues with Webex.
  • Interface is extremely clean and easy to navigate
  • Support is amazing
  • Very quick turnarounds for product updates that address current issues
  • Audio quality sometimes missing the mark
  • Need to have integration partners who can help set up system in bigger conference rooms (ceiling mic, speakers, cameras, etc)
Suitable for conferences for few users.
We love the Zoom Room experience. Starting a meeting with one touch is great! Audio quality sometimes is not as great as the video.
Read Jason Leo's full review
Kathy Earls profile photo
February 08, 2017

User Review: "Anyone can use Zoom!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zoom three to four times a week for meetings. We have remote Development Officers who Zoom in to various meetings each week. Or if staff are traveling or working from home they can Zoom into meetings. Our media center also uses Zoom, but I'm not sure how often, etc. They have their own account.
  • It is easy to schedule and start meetings. The product is user friendly for all, even for those who find technology to be a challenge.
  • The picture clarity is great, as is the volume.
  • We have never experienced a technical issue with Zoom.
  • The cost of the system is more than reasonable.
  • None.
It works perfectly for us. We can use it in our small conference room and video conference using the camera on a laptop or we can use it for larger meetings of 30+ people by hooking it up to a webcam.
Not yet.
Read Kathy Earls's full review
Rob Butterworth profile photo
February 02, 2017

User Review: "Zoom Meetings"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zoom for many regular internal company meetings, individual meetings, presentations from potential portfolio companies, and more. We have moved on from room-based systems and replaced them with PCs. Zoom frees us from the cost of traditional video conferencing systems and brings their excellent quality video and screen sharing to the desktop.
  • Dual screen streaming - the last time I checked, Zoom was the only company who did this well. Allows us to have video on one screen and shared content on another, making a huge difference to the utility of video conferencing in our meeting rooms.
  • International dial-in bridge. Some competitors have this, but not many.
  • Recording - the recording is simple, east and works.
  • It would be nice to have a cut-down WebRTC interface for quick connection without having to download the client. I understand the issues with this route, but still, it would be nice on occasion.
  • The desktop client has on occasion gotten confused when someone has it running but not logged in, then clicks on a Zoom URL. Not seen for some time, but a small worry.
  • It would be better if the Zoom Room product could allow the use of the hosting PC for windows apps that could then be shared - the lack of this stops us using it, we stick with the standard Zoom product.
  • A pay-as-you-use model for the H.323 bridge would be preferable to the subscription - we pay for it every month, but use it about 3 times a year.
Great for flexible meeting room set up, great for desktop and mobile meetings.
Read Rob Butterworth's full review
Elizabeth Dodge profile photo
January 31, 2017

Review: "Love, love, love Zoom - an Affordable and Reliable Web-conferencing Application"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work from home and use Zoom for NEARLY all my meetings with clients and partners. I also use it to record "tutorials" and trainings and make the recordings available to my clients, post them on my website, and post them to YouTube. Zoom makes it much easier to communicate complex information quickly and easily. It's much easier for my clients to understand an issue or how to do something when they can SEE if for themselves. I often record meetings as well if they want to review the information later or if someone was unable to attend.
  • Excellent audio and video quality.
  • Meetings start very quickly; sending invitations is fast and easy.
  • I wish that I could schedule a Zoom meeting from within Outlook. The way it works now is that you use Zoom to create an Outlook appointment. I'd rather create an appointment and then add Zoom. Why? Just what I'm used to, I guess.
Great for meetings, making recordings.
Read Elizabeth Dodge's full review
Erik Segerstolpe profile photo
January 30, 2017

Zoom Review: "Great and versatile audio and video communication platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We wanted to reduce our costs and improve the way we could support our customers in implementing, presenting and demoing our solution. We use Zoom Pro for all users in multiple departments: sales for general demos, professional services for remote quick starts and high-level support and also [an] academy for webinars. Everyone in the company also has a basic account to make shorter 40-minute meetings so we can have company-wide meetings and Zoom rooms.
  • Stability and quality of the calls and client + having a bespoke join-page with our branding
  • Zoom room concept & functionality
  • Very simple administration with a lot of functionality
  • Screensharing of iOS devices on WiFi
  • Great and smooth enterprise-user management (SAML, Google, domain signup)
  • A backup meeting client without local install (like hangouts)
  • Better two-way calendar integration and seeing upcoming Zoom meetings you are invited to in the Zoom client
  • Better UX structure and flow for meeting invites (really missing a list of previous invites from others so you can "re-join")
  • More options for recording a meeting (speaker view, switch recorded angles etc.)
  • Be able to hide the chat or get the chat more Slack-like
[It is well suited for] inviting customers to demos and for hands-on support.
Yes, we have a couple of rooms and they work very well and are stable. [It was] especially good when they removed the 40-minute limitation of a basic account used in a room.
Read Erik Segerstolpe's full review
Jonathan Herlin profile photo
January 27, 2017

Zoom Review: "Zomm helps us save cost and increase productivity"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Whole organisation, we use it mostly for internal meetings with the static Zoom Rooms we have on each office. But we also use that for communicating with the rest of the company as well as third parties.
  • Very responsive when sharing screen compared to other software.
  • Clear audio and video.
  • Support for all platforms (Linux, Windows, Mac).
  • Zoom rooms are very affordable compared to a classic conference system.
  • Support, were fast to respond for simple task but very slow to reply for more advanced issue (more periodic status updates would be welcomed).
  • Being able to request recording permissions would be good.
I would say Zoom fits for almost all scenarios. We don't use the chat functionality because we already have two tools for that. But video and screen sharing are the features we use the most.
Very good and affordable. We love Zoom Rooms and that's what we use the most. It has increased productivity a lot as well as reduced cost.
Read Jonathan Herlin's full review
Kristi Burch profile photo
January 27, 2017

User Review: "Zoom over here to see how we love it"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom is used across the entire organization. Faculty, staff, and students use Zoom in various ways. Faculty use Zoom to connect with colleagues at other institutions or to bring in guest speakers. Faculty have also used Zoom to record their classes for the purposes of lecture capture, course review, assessment, and for students unable to make it to class. In a few instances, faculty used Zoom to hold class virtually when they couldn't make it class due to poor weather. Staff use Zoom for interviews and to conduct career chats with students through our Center for Career and Professional Development. Students have used Zoom to record presentations and to connect with professors or speakers who are off-campus. Zoom allows us to connect with others, share content, resources, and experiences without the additional cost of travel and other factors such as not cancelling classes simply because a faculty member is in Guatemala for a conference. Students don't lose the contact time and interaction, and in fact, they gain an increased awareness of the use of technology, global citizenship, and responsibility.
  • Audio and Video quality and connection are suburb
  • Sharing a screen is super easy
  • Recording classes and events makes life really easy for archival purposes and review at a later date.
  • Possibly increased space for cloud storage for recordings
  • It would be great if users could have full functionality through the webpage instead of having to download the app, but I understand the limitations of the technology.
  • As an administrator, I'd love to be able to see a record of meetings started and held when not a scheduled meeting.
Zoom is wonderful and well-suited for the classroom, for interviews, for meetings.
It might be less appropriate for outside meetings or where there is a lot of background noise.
Read Kristi Burch's full review
Tim Grant profile photo
January 27, 2017

User Review: "Got more boom with zoom"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're essentially a consulting firm. As such, relationships are key to what we maintain for successful engagements. Zoom allows us to see our clients face-to-face, even though they are thousands of miles away, and keep up those relationships. Since we're able to communicate easily, and show how the software we support works directly with them, as we're talking to them, the client gets a comfortable, human interaction for a very low cost. It helps that the software is easy to use for the end client as well, as we can avoid the technical mishaps that occur using other programs.
  • Great technology. People can log in easily, and we've never had a technical issue that stopped us from having a session. So I guess reliability.
  • Access. We have the desktop control, as well as the link in Outlook. And, of course, the browser.
  • Integration with Outlook.
  • Can't think of anything. It does everything we need it to do.
For IT workers, it's great for remote control of computers when you're trying to fix a problem or explain how a process works.
Read Tim Grant's full review
Kraig DeMatteis profile photo
January 27, 2017

User Review: "Zoom Just Works!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zoom is an easy-to-use video conferencing tool that addressed several problems around student engagement with Fordham's Online Masters in Social Work program, a top-ranked, nationally-recognized completely asynchronous degree program. First, students could start their own small-group video sessions and record them, which they could then post online in the Blackboard or Brightspace Learning Management System (LMS). The video recorded as a .mp4 so the video will play in the browser when clicked (no plug-ins). Activities such as these are useful for role plays and practicing social work and leadership skills. Zoom also addressed our need to build community online, so an instructor or our admissions department could easily set up a meeting, share their screens or a video, and hold small, breakout discussions. A tool link in the LMS provided a single sign-on with our internal systems, but a Zoom link will just work, which is so satisfying!
  • It works with a click of the link, just download a small plug-in one time. A host can download software to make scheduling easier, and it comes with an online chat feature to boot. We were able to provide academic or technical office hours with chat.
  • Screen sharing is very robust and easy.
  • Videos record to your computer, so finding files is easy. Files record in mp4 format, which play in a modern browser.
  • Some functionality in the back end to group users into departments or programs could use some updating, but in the time I have used the software I have seen constant updates.
For a university, letting students record and host their own videos could be problematic; but, for a masters or doctorate program where role plays, assessment of interpersonal skills or applications of leadership qualities must be demonstrated asynchronously, Zoom is very easy to use, has online help and copious documentation.
We do not use them. Added cost, and we were not sure how applicable they would be for our use.
Read Kraig DeMatteis's full review
Rodrigo Garcia profile photo
January 27, 2017

Zoom Review: "Great collab and webinar tool!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole org, as a remote collab tool for remote staff. We're also using it for a a few months as our main webinar solution.
We also have 5 Zoom Rooms deployed across our remote locations.
  • Quality of voice and video
  • Simplicity, especially for external users
  • Upgrading the client is sometimes troublesome. Often the client tells me it's updated while it isn't.
  • A few of our customers have IT policies denying the use of remote collab tools other than WEBEX. Maybe a wide campaign to make Zoom well known and, at least, allowed at those orgs would be nice...
I believe that when there is need for remote collaboration, Zoom is a nice candidate. I fail to see a scenario where it's not suited.
Great feature, way cheaper than traditional VC.
We love it, especially after adoption Logitech POP + Harmony to automate room startup.
Read Rodrigo Garcia's full review
Timothy Nicholson profile photo
January 27, 2017

User Review: "My company zooms with Zoom!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Zoom for remote company meetings, sales demos, and product support. We were previous users of GoToMeeting, but the significant cost savings to switch to Zoom was a no-brainer. We have had a few issues with the product, but all-in-all we are very satisfied with Zoom. I especially like the integration with my Outlook calendar, so I can schedule or start a meeting directly from Outlook. I also like the fact that the organizer doesn't have to make someone a presenter in order for them to share their screen.
  • Cost savings over comparable tools is significant
  • Quality of service is on par or better than GoToMeeting and WebEx.
  • The ability to start or schedule meetings directly in Outlook
  • Easily switch screen sharing between participants.
  • We have experienced some audio issues, where the attendees joined the meeting prior to the organizer, and for some reason, none of the participants could hear the others. The organizer had to join to the audio portion first. This isn't a consistent issue, but does happen on occasion.
Zoom is, in my honest opinion, a great tool for small to medium sized remote meetings. Zoom also offers a webinar feature that allows for larger audiences (comparable with GoToWebinar), but we do not utilize that. It is also a good tool for product support, except it isn't suited for transferring files easily or controlling administrator-level windows (e.g. Windows Services - you see them but you can't control them). For support, I was using GoToAssist at one time, but I could get 3 Zoom licenses for what I was paying for 1 GoToAssist license.
Read Timothy Nicholson's full review
Brent Zweifel profile photo
January 27, 2017

User Review: "Educators will rejoice with Zoom"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it with my online course that I teach. Each week, I have a Zoom meeting with my students. This gives them an opportunity to ask questions about that week's assignments. I believe what it is also doing is bridging that gap between isolation and classroom interaction. For some students when they take an online course they feel isolated, even though there might be discussion boards to do and they will read other classmates' posts but it doesn't give students that same connection as if they were in a physical classroom. Since I started using Zoom, I have noticed that students who participate in the Zoom meetings that they earn higher grades compared to the students not participating.

Being the Director of Distance Learning, I use Zoom to host monthly meetings with our site coordinators. Before Zoom, there would be annual meetings happening on the main campus. Being able to do monthly meetings, I was able to keep them updated with the latest happening on campus plus I was able to do extensive training on the software that we use every day on the main campus.
  • 3 levels of broadcast. This is a fabulous feature that I have not seen on any other video conferencing software. If a participant is on a poor internet service, they will receive a smaller broadcast of the session. Unlike other video conference software, if you don't have good internet connection then you are out of luck.
  • Screen Sharing +. So as a host you can share your screen with the audience. I know, "Big Deal, the others can do that", but Zoom expanded it. The audience members can share their screen with everyone or you can give mouse control of your shared screen with an audience member. Which is great for teaching!!!
  • Customer Service/Plans. These guys have the best customer service team. You email a question, you get a response within a few hours, not days. Plus if you are an educator or education institution, they have some of the best deals for you.
  • There is one thing. I want to have a button in my online class that would let students know that I am available or not for them to communicate with me through Zoom and they would click on the button and it would open up a Zoom meeting. That might already exist, but I just haven't had the time to research it.
It is a great tool for teaching distance courses. It gives students that connection to their classmates that is found in the courses that are taught in a brick and mortar classroom.

I wouldn't do meetings when the person attending is less than 15 feet away from you. Bad feedback noise.
Read Brent Zweifel's full review
Larry Murray profile photo
January 27, 2017

User Review: "ZOOM & COURT REPORTING"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We are a court reporting firm and use ZOOM for Video Depositions - Recorded and not Recorded.

We also use ZOOM for video conferencing linking either point to point or multi locations.

The use of ZOOM allows us to expand our business across the country and worldwide and allows our clients improved efficiency cutting down on travel and time whether across town, across country, or to foreign countries.

  • We have conducted video linked depositions from our home base in Florida to California, Canada, many states and even as far away as Dubai.
  • We can record in HD-MP4 format and provide immediate copies of the recorded deposition to our clients.
  • We link the recorded meetings/depositions to our cloud storage giving access either electronic or DVD to our clients.
  • In the last few months ZOOM has added a pause feature to the record function which allows us to interrupt a recording without ending - thus we can resume when ready on the same file.....BUT we need a time and date stamp on the recording to make it fully functional. We have been asking for this for almost two years now with no results.
Read Larry Murray's full review
Randall Sansom profile photo
January 26, 2017

Zoom Review: "The best video conferencing program out there today!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zoom for both internal meetings across campuses and as a platform for teaching our online students. It allows seamless connection with remote employees and students from all around the world.
  • Zoom is easy enough to use that even our most technologically challenged users never have a problem downloading and joining a meeting
  • The video is always high quality with very little distortion.
  • The features that give me the ability to monitor and control users is fantastic. Students sometimes struggle to realize that their background noise can be distracting to other students.
  • There are still a few audio issues from time to time such as echoing and reverb. I know that's a user issue, but it does cause confusion from time to time.
Zoom is well suited for both meetings and face to face communication with individual students and student groups. We even have a zoom room set up for students to just pop into like a student commons. The room is setup to auto record and store recordings for 72 hours so that students can report any issues with fellow classmates.
Read Randall Sansom's full review
Andrew Claes profile photo
January 26, 2017

User Review: "Educational access improved with Zoom"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Zoom on a weekly basis to communicate with other Special Education Directors across the state. We are able to conduct board business, facilitate meetings, reduce travel time and time out of the office. We use Zoom to communicate with remote office locations and facilitate committee work groups.
  • Zoom is a reliable platform for communication and sharing screen images.
  • Zoom is easy to schedule and initiate or log on to.
  • Zoom is easy for new members to acces
  • Zoom might consider a chat or notes page for record keeping or facilitating an agenda.
Zoom is well suited for routine update meetings, providing input on a concept or topic, facilitating a meeting agenda, and structured meetings. It is less suited for longer, meetings where group facilitation activities are conducted. Zoom is less ideal in situation where a few members are coming together with a larger group with multiple conversations. Zoom works really well when one person talks a a time.
I have not had an opportunity to use Zoom rooms. I am not familiar with this feature.
Read Andrew Claes's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (245)
8.9
High quality video (245)
9.0
Low bandwidth requirements (206)
8.0
Desktop sharing (241)
9.3
Whiteboards (137)
8.5
Calendar integration (206)
8.7
Meeting initiation (235)
8.7
Integrates with social media (85)
7.5
Record meetings / events (223)
8.9
Slideshows (146)
8.8
Live chat (210)
8.5
Audience polling (106)
8.5
Q&A (125)
8.4
User authentication (148)
8.7
Participant roles & permissions (176)
8.7
Confidential attendee list (114)
8.7

About Zoom

Zoom is an online meeting and video conferencing platform.
Categories:  Web Conferencing

Zoom Features

Performance & Compatibility of Online Events Software Features
Has featureHigh quality audio
Has featureHigh quality video
Has featureLow bandwidth requirements
Has featureChrome compatible
Has featureFirefox compatible
Has featureSafari compatible
Has featureIE compatible
Has featureAvailable for Linux
Has featureAvailable for OS X
Has featureAvailable for Windows
Does not have featureMobile support
Screen Sharing Features
Has featureDesktop sharing
Has featureDocument/File sharing
Has featureApplication sharing
Has featureWhiteboards
Online Meetings / Events Features
Has featureScheduling
Has featureCalendar integration
Has featureMeeting initiation
Has featureEnd meetings
Has featureIntegrates with social media
Has featureRecord meetings / events
Has featureDial-in attendance
Has featureOnline attendance
Has featureMute
Has featureSlideshows
Has featureMedia
Has featureInternational calling
Has featureMultiple webcam streams
Online Events Collaboration Features
Has featureLive chat
Has featureAudience polling
Has featureQ&A
Has featureMeeting space storage
Has featureAnnotation
Has featureRemote support features
Online Events Security Features
Has featureUser authentication
Has featureParticipant roles & permissions
Has featureParticipant list
Has featureConfidential attendee list
Has featureSecure file sharing
Additional Features
Has featureMobile Screen Sharing
Has featureVideo Breakout Rooms
Has featureScreen share video with audio

Zoom Video

Zoom Product Overview Video -- Zoom is revolutionizing the ways teams collaborate. Whether you're connecting multiple conference rooms or adding remote attendees. Meeting face-to-face is as simple as a single touch.

Zoom Integrations

Slack, Salesforce.com, Marketo, Google Drive, Box, Dropbox, Pardot, Zapier, Skype for Business (formerly Lync), Microsoft One Drive, Microsoft Outlook, Google Calendar, Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, LTI Canvas, LTI Blackboard, LTI Moodle, LTI Desire2Learn, Kubi

Zoom Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Virtual H.323/SIP Room Connector49/month
Business19.99/month
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Basic$0
Pro14.99/month
Business19.99/month
Zoom Room Conference Room49/month
Webinar54.99/month

Zoom Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Zoom Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:North America, South America, Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia
Supported Languages: English