Zuora Reviews

260 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (51-75 of 135)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 24, 2016
RINKU SINGH | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used in the accounts receivable department for payment processing and generating daily reports.
  • It is a helpful tool for processing payments and refunds in some cases.
  • It helps us to pull all sort of data related to aging.
  • It is helpful for marketing as well.
  • In my opinion it should have more detailed tabs.
  • Analytics.
  • Financial reporting.
Yes earlier we were using Phoenix which was not as clear as Zuora is.
  • Online training
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
Zuora has helped me a lot in my business.
Yes - it was smooth and reliable.
Read RINKU SINGH's full review
March 23, 2016
Vivek Chaturvedi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used by the finance department for products like Audicy and AAPC Coder for renewal and periodic payments received. The AAPC website is linked to online payment by credit cards through Zuora.
  • Zuora has capability for analysis of financial data and provides managerial reports for decision making.
  • Zuora has automated renewal of payments automatically.
  • Once card details and payment frequency [are[ updated the AR part is made easy.
  • Report for Aging giving date wise
Zuora is well suited for automation purposes.
We have moved some products and we are working to improve our business needs.
Fully Automated system
Read Vivek Chaturvedi's full review
March 18, 2016
Bryan Feng | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is used by the revenue and general ledger accounting departments. It theoretically allows for easier subscription management for my company.
  • Web interface is designed pretty well, easy to navigate
  • Easy to create customized reports
  • Integration with other platforms
  • setup was a pain
  • ur system does not allow for a real AR aging that ties to a credit balance on each account
Zuora is well suited for smaller scale businesses.
Read Bryan Feng's full review
March 18, 2016
Arif Muhammad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zuora for our enterprise billing and revenue recognition.
  • Subscription based billing is handled very well.
  • Product catalog is very flexible.
  • Discounting features.
  • Billing adjustments
  • Invoicing templates
Zuora is well suited for standard subscription based products where no special revenue handling is needed.
Read Arif Muhammad's full review
March 18, 2016
Mohit Tiwari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used across organization. It helps in financial reporting, sales reporting and customer management.
  • Zora is best in reporting and it gives the flexibility to change the kind of reporting as per the user and his requirements . any report can be added by the users himself .
  • If I talk about the finance point of view, it should add the functionality to search for the specific check number.
  • zuora has not been able to add the name of the products to the invoices.
We have been using this functionality by making the desired products with the prices we want.
It's not that quick.
Read Mohit Tiwari's full review
March 12, 2016
Nam Ngo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used for billing mostly. It can't be used as a GL. The revenue detail module is not set up properly.
  • Clean UI. The color is green/teal.
  • Billing and payment cycles.
  • Data pulls are nice.
  • Setting up zuora to be used as a general ledger.
Zuora is great for subscription billing. One time billing items are a little bit tricky.
Read Nam Ngo's full review
January 09, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Zuora for billing our customers. The billing department uses it to automate billing, send billing email notifications, and update our CRM with billing information. Zuora is a robust tool that allows us to provide certain billing information like renewal dates in our CRM so that our renewals team can make sure our customers have a smooth renewal experience.
  • Zuora integrates well with our CRM
  • Zuora is built to allow customization which is a must for our products.
  • Zuora allows us to send email notifications to our customers before their renewal date so they are reminded they are up for renewal.
  • While Zuora allows for billing notifications, the ability to segment who those emails go to is limited. We need to able to breakdown notifications by state/province, language, country, and other traits, but right now those breakdowns are limited to just country.
  • It's nice that Zuora is robust and has so many features, but that also makes it challenging to train new users.
Zuora is a great tool for subscription businesses to be able to bill their customers. We have a global business and bill in many currencies and need to notify our customers in many languages. Zuora allows us to be able to bill at different rates and in different currencies. The one challenge we have is we need to be able to break down communications based on specific detailed traits and Zuora is limited in how detailed you can get in segmenting your billing notices.
Zuora has allowed us to bill customers all over the world with custom invoices, billing messages, and pricing.
Read this authenticated review
March 07, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole organization is using Zuora from sales to fulfillment. It allows us to effectively bill on a recurring basis.
  • Products are easy to use and create with Zuora
  • Much customization from email templates to billing to products.
  • Recurring billing and reporting.
  • They don't have very many out of the box payment plan options so that takes a lot of work to set up.
  • Back end functions and making billing/subscription modifications are complicated.
  • No list price field for products, at least with how we are using it so we had to build a workaround to have a visible list price.
If you do a lot of recurring billing with little customization then Zuora would probably be a good fit.
We have achieved the flexibility with pricing and packaging but it was quite a big hurdle in our implementation because we do things differently and a lot of our pricing options required a lot of work to set up and get them functioning.
Read this authenticated review
February 06, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora for managing our SaaS-based subscriptions and billing. All departments that interact with the customer have some interaction with Zuora, including Sales, Finance, Accounting, Customer Success, and Information Systems.
  • Zuora is great for providing structure to subscription management.
  • Zuora is integrated with Salesforce.com, which we use as our CRM.
  • Zuora is great at tracking changes made to a subscription.
  • The user interface is behind the times.
  • Making change to a subscription is very painful.
  • Finding the information you need can be difficult.
Zuora was difficult for us to implement, because we already had a history of SaaS, so we had a moving target in getting up and running. I would recommend having a strong focus on getting it up and running as quickly as possible, as time only makes it more difficult.
The flexibility within the quoting process is a strong reason we went with Zuora, and it has accomplished that.
Read this authenticated review
June 06, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zuora for our monthly invoicing as well as revenue reporting. We leverage the Zuora for Salesforce functionality so that our sales people build Zuora quotes within Salesforce which sync to Zuora automatically once a customer becomes billable.

Zuora allows us to automate our billing process as well as provides flexibility to adjust our products and prices, which was much more limited using out of the box Salesforce opportunity products previously.
  • The sync with Salesforce. The ability for Zuora and Salesforce to sync eliminates manual transfer of data and areas of human error.
  • Flexibility of setup. With all the various types of products and different revenue recognition rules, Zuora allows us to set up the rules we need to fit our business model.
  • Ease of use. Creating and posting bill runs is simple and straight forward. With a few clicks of a button you are able to create and post invoices for all customers.
  • The service team. I have had a great experience working alongside the Zuora consultant team. They have been easy to work with and have the ability to suggest effective solutions to ensure Zuora meets our business requirements.
  • The new reporting module is definitely a step in the right direction, but the reporting module could still be better. Mirroring the drag and drop functionality of Salesforce would be great with the ability to create custom dashboards from the data. The 'run detail' vs 'run summary' reporting is a bit confusing. The 'Hide details' functionality in Salesforce would be better. Also, the fact that you can not provide a link directly to a Zuora report is pretty frustrating.
  • Ability to bulk import quotes from the SF side that integrates with Zuora. During our Zuora setup we were very surprised that the ability to bulk create Zuora quotes that sync to Zuora was not possible. This caused a real headache for our setup and it would be great if Zuora allowed for this.
Zuora is made for SaaS. I believe for companies using Salesforce it is highly suitable as it allows integration between sales and finance, which is at other times a black hole. We are still moving forward to use another tool for our general ledger system.
We are growing quickly and therefore also changing quickly. We have leveraged the flexibility to price and product changes since using Zuora and have found it really helpful. Previously, using Salesforce opportunity products and a separate financial system, changes were very complicated and time-consuming.

We are now able to work in a more agile manner to address a changing market.
I have been very impressed with the support received from Zuora. No only are the response times quick, they are also well-informed and thoughtful. There are times when multiple use cases need to be provided in order to pinpoint to answer I am looking for, but overall I am able to depend on useful assistance via the email support channel.
Read this authenticated review
May 10, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora to manage billing and subscription for our products and services for the whole company. It controls the subscription level of each customer which in turn drives how much we bill and what features we make available. We also use Zuora for credit card capture for our self-service subscriptions.
  • Credit card capture. Very easy to integrate with our web portal; we've had zero issues with it.
  • Notification of issues on the Zuora side. The team is very proactive about any problems they're encountering; I feel like I always know what's going on.
  • API access. The Zuora API is relatively easy to use and we have notifications integrated into our product.
  • The API can be a little obtuse. Customization of fields sent during a notification would be nice. As it stands, we get a notification that something has changed and then we call back into Zuora to get the specifics. It'd be nice to avoid that second call.
We've really had very few problems with Zuora. I can't actually think of one offhand that caused us any real strife. Most of the integration issues were on our side. We have integrated Zuora with Salesforce where our sales team manages their process. Once they make a sale, they generate an order from the quote and that gets sent to Zuora via the Zuora SalesForce connector, which works well. Can't really think of a situation where it's not suited for use within this business flow.
We have done this. In our product we have plans. Each plan has a set of features. These features control what is available to our customers. The plan is associated with the subscription. So when we get a subscription, we get notification of that from Zuora and we map the customer to the appropriate plan and feature set. We are doing the plan / feature set mapping on our side, not controlling that from Zuora. We set all this up 4 years ago, so I'm not sure if Zuora had the capability back then to manage it. In any case, adding a new plan, with a distinct set of features, is pretty easy for us: we create the plan and feature set and create a subscription type of the same name in Zuora, with the associated pricing.
Read this authenticated review
August 20, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora to manage customer accounts so we can have in one place all the information about account details, billing, invoicing, refunds, payments, cancellations, and discounts. It makes easy for customer support to investigate an account. You can search for customer account information, process cancellations, refunds and make any kind of adjustments.
  • You can manage subscriptions, for instance, really easily and keep your customer updated on any change thanks to the automatic notifications system.
  • Any change done on accounts is updated in real time.
  • It gives a lot of possible inputs to use in order to look for the required information.
  • Probably a nicer graphic layout.
In our specific case, payments, and subscriptions done in the mobile platform cannot be managed in Zuora. In thess cases, you cannot perform everything in Zuora. It is really fine when you can finish all your tasks in Zuora and be sure that it is all clearly recorded and trackable. This is at least in our case.
Since I do not work in that sector of the company I might not have first source information. We can see for sure any promotion, codes, past adjustments, and future amendments that take place in the accounts. The department is able to properly target promotions and apply them to the right cluster of accounts.
Read this authenticated review
July 28, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used as our CMS for invoicing and billing customers. Our billing and finance departments are the main users of zuora, however, we utilize the reporting capabilities across the entire organization. Zuora has a robust reports section that allows us to drill down to the product line-item so we can understand the usage of our customers.
  • Reporting is of great use to determine what products a customer is utilizing.
  • Being able to automatically generate invoices and send them out to clients is a main feature we use.
  • Zuora allows us to manage and maintain all aspects of our customer and their usage through a single interface.
  • While reporting is great, generating the reports you need could be a little easier.
  • Invoices can be quite long and confusing based on the services a client is utilizing.
  • Hard to read invoices.
Zuora is well suited if you need to integrate data into SalesForce or do not have many product SKU's. If you have too many product sku's, it can make it more difficult to understand the invoices from the client perspective.

If you need to understand what products your customers are utilizing, the reporting is great. It may just take you a while to get the right report.
We have been able to import our entire product sku list into Zuora so customers have an understanding of what they are paying for. It also allows our finance teams to be able to determine revenues, churn and determine if a customer may grow, shrink or stay consistent with services we offer.
Read this authenticated review
July 27, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora in a cloud-based environment to process online-payments. In the B2C field we support credit cards and PayPal, in B2B also wire transfers can be processed. It is primarily used to collect payments, issue refunds, send invoices and cancel or amend subscriptions. We also use it to search for payments when customers or companies report uncertain transactions.
  • Very good overview on customer-accounts startpage. All relevant information at first sight.
  • Convenient search for payments and customer-accounts.
  • Stable server availability.
  • We have synchronization issues with our database causing delays in payment and subscription statuses.
  • Some processes need to be confirmed too often. I don't want to be asked three times if I want to process a refund. Could save some clicks.
  • We have one annoying unresolved bug that allows Zuora to create more than one active subscription. This causes double-payments.
I'm not sure if it is the best solution for a subscription-based business. Single payments seem to be fine but reoccurring charges seem to cause problems. The search for a credit card by the last numbers, which is often the only information we get, is quite slow.

Overall I'm satisfied with the interface and daily operations.
For subscriptions, it is quite elaborate to make changes or adjust prices. I'm not a developer but I feel the user-friendliness has space for improvement.

Read this authenticated review
July 18, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[We use Zuora to] Capture credit card, select subscription level, integrate with salesforce, create invoices.
  • Integrates well with Salesforce CRM.
  • Allows high levels of flexibility for different payment schedules.
  • zuora is not "fast" and thus not a good solution for transactional sales processes like ours.
  • zuora is hard to understand for its average user, typically an accountant, outsourced cfo, etc.
  • zuora customer support is slow to respond when instant reply is typically desired.
  • zuora reporting is not on par with other start ups in the space and requires considerable learning and customization, leads to poor understanding of data trends.
Less appropriate: smb, transactional sales
More appropriate: enterprise, long cycle sales process that requires a lot of documentation
  • Helpful for managing our multi-channel sales process.
  • Very expensive to get to an "MVP" implementation and initial set-up.
Read this authenticated review
January 20, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is used by finance to provide billing and accounting support. When integrated with Salesforce, it allows tracking of campaigns based on invoiced totals. It addresses subscription and usage based customer invoicing needs. Additionally, the new reporting interface, allows for more personalized reports that can be used on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis.
  • Subscription modifications through amendments. Allows for tracking the life of a campaign and changes through each amendment
  • Reporting. The new reporting interface allows to build out custom reports that meets the needs of different departments.
  • Ease of account/subscription set up. Its fairly easy to create and set up accounts as needed in order to keep up with new business.
  • Usage based subscriptions for advertising is particularly difficult to navigate as there is minimal flexibility.
  • No statement of account reporting, which would be highly valuable in order to provide detailed list of transactions to customers YTD.
  • Credit memos/debit memos would be helpful, as the revision process is extremely time consuming. Especially, when involving salesforce integrations.
Zuora is well suited for basic flat fee subscriptions that are 1x or reoccurring. Usage subscriptions with multiple line items and integrations, such as with billing for advertising- impression data etc., is less suited for Zuora because the subscriptions aren't flexible to meet the needs of our billing structure for these customers.
For some of our products, billing in Zuora is flawless. For others, there are more complications and needs, that make billing through Zuora a more difficult task. I think that it depends on what your company is billing for- if its a truly a subscription business then Zuora is a great option. If your business is usage based, then subscription based billing is not an ideal set up.
Read this authenticated review
January 18, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for our billing and order management teams in sync with NetSuite and Salesforce. One of the problems it has addressed for us is that it has the ability to support complex pricing plans, and multiple pricing plans easily over the course of a customer's subscription. Our billing teams have the ability to update individual subscriptions to assist with service upgrades, trial extensions, or other changes without involving anyone else in different parts of the organization.
  • Pricing changes are driven by the UI, which is relatively easy, and can go into effect quickly without operations or development getting involved. We even have the ability to update our prices in real time because of the way we integrated with Salesforce.
  • For what we do, Salesforce and Zuora has been an integral integration for our business. Creating reports in SFDC that tie into Zuora is painless, but there are some small limitations to this integration most likely due to the API. Creating dashboards can be a pain in Salesforce due to the limitations of the integration with Zuora.
  • The revenue calculations are automated and require no manual touch (which is nice when dealing with a large volume of orders). It is also beneficial that the subscriptions tie in with all of the booking information in SFDC allowing us to perform a quick validation before activating a subscription. The turnaround time to invoice after activating subscriptions is almost immediate.
  • The reporting is a bit difficult to work with for those of us who don't use Zuora as a primary means of reporting. There are a large number of fields that you can pull into a report but it is pretty much overkill and some fields are unnecessary to be included with certain reports. The billing can be frustrating when the system does not align with the rev rec schedule so requires manual touch at the end of the month.
  • Selling through channel partners can be somewhat of a pain. We've made it work, but now that we are expanding our channel sales we're running into a slew of problems with certain hierarchy's and invoicing.
  • Experience some technical difficulties with Z-Quote integration in Salesforce that requires me to manually set up an account or subscription which wastes valuable time when dealing with a large quantity of orders in a given day.
Zuora has a lot of capabilities when it comes to billing and invoicing. But you definitely have to think in advance about how you need to structure non-standard billing whether it is a quarterly model, a per month model, or a non-standard time model.
Adding new SKUs and products to Zuora is relatively painless. So when implementing a new product into our price lists, adding it to Zuora is seamless and straight-forward. Zuora allows us to use tier pricing for certain reseller customers that are incentivized to sell more licenses in order to get the unit price down. However, blended rates would be a nice feature to implement as that is not a capability Zuora can currently handle.
Read this authenticated review
November 07, 2013
Rob Sherman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Salesforce integration is key here with the ability to have sales people build out product quotes with flexible rate plans pushing new subscriptions into Zuora and have those Zuora subscriptions and financials visible within Salesforce to further empower sales.
  • Zuora is a solid subscription billing & management platform that is constantly evolving with new releases & fixes - many of which are derived from direct customer feedback. The platform is flexible enough to allow for different kinds of subscription models
  • Support, Support & Support. Zuora has grown their support staff and added additional account managers which helps enormously in the first year of operating on Zuora.
  • Zuora's API endpoints affords outstanding development opportunity to integrate. We've used it for provisioning internally, mixed reporting & admin controls. It's very flexible.
  • Marketing! Zuora does an outstanding job on marketing themselves and their solution. This can be a really helpful thing if you believe in the solution and need to sell the solution internally both upstream and across functional silos.
  • What I believe is also a strength is unifying your business so you can focus on your core. If your core business is not subscription management, CPQ (cost-price-quote) and the financial aspects that go with it you can streamline your business down to your core. This is not something Zuora promotes but it's a happy side-effect.
  • User adoption and training in my opinion is one area where Zuora can improve. They have a Zuora University program which I think is essential for people that will be users. However, the system changes often and many times users can't remember how to accomplish something. It's a challenging learning curve for finance people that may have to live in this system on a day-to-day basis, but the UI is easy to learn.
  • Account management can use a little improvement. We had virtually none when we first started but a lot has changed internally with Zuora since then and we've since been assigned an account manager. I'd like to see more frequent touching from the account manager to check and make sure things are working and not just with IT but finance people, end-users.
  • Reporting. The reporting in Zuora is pretty good and in my opinion better in some ways than Salesforce. Having said that, there is definitely room for improvement. They do make frequent releases to the product that helps the UI including reporting, but they seem like small changes to me. I'd like to see more advanced reporting features and a more robust system to accomplish that. For 80%+ of Zuora users, the reports and engine will be fine for you.
I strongly recommend Zuora, but I also realize that Zuora may not be for everyone and every business. Are you planning on using Salesforce and integrating? Do you need customized quotes, quote templates and invoices? Do you need a strong SOAP/REST API? Do you need a company with strong support in place that can free up your IT instead of burden them? Do you want to use a company that is well funded that will be around in a few years and much longer? Zuora is a positive choice for all these questions.
Read Rob Sherman's full review
December 15, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora every day mainly for our billing. The system also help us keep track of sales, AR projections, current/cancelled clients, etc. It's very friendly in terms of receivables, saves me a lot of time as it automatically sends emails to my clients with past due unpaid invoices, expired credit cards, or invalid bank account information. It's very accurate and you can customize it as you wish.
  • The automatic emails are definitely one of the things I love about Zuora. I don't have to worry about manually sending emails to clients with past due invoices, in fact all I see is their reply with the solution. Saves a ton of time.
  • Zuora keeps my clients credit card or banking information safe. Not even the people in my company with access to Zuora can see my clients' payment info.
  • One of the things find more useful is the "Bill runs" and "Payment runs." It allows me to automatically send invoices and payment confirmation emails to all my clients in seconds.
  • I would like to be able to edit the invoices and subscriptions after posted or saved, sometimes my clients want to change the products after receiving an invoice and because I can't edit it I have to create a new invoice with a different number and It leaves a lot of room for confusion plus it takes more time and work.
  • Reporting from Zuora was not very friendly at the beginning but it has improved a lot lately.
  • I would love to be able to search payments by reference, when a client tells me they paid something by cheque It's impossible for me to find out if the cheque was applied to a different invoice or client. I put the cheque number as "Reference ID" in the payment but I can't search by reference ID.
If you have numerous clients and need to sand many invoices Zuora is the way to go, specially if you want your clients set up for Pre-authorized payments, as you can charge their bank accounts and credit cards automatically. It takes seconds to create thousands of invoices, it automatically sends them to your clients and gives you a summary of the number of invoices you sent. Same thing with the payments, you now almost immediately how much money you will receive in your bank as well as what payments were declined.
Zuora also allows us to design pricing and packaging for our products and we definitely take advantage of this as our products and pricing change a lot from client to client. It helps us to give our company a more professional look. We keep trying to use every benefit Zuora gives us as we notice it makes our job much easier.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is currently being implemented via API calls to replace our current internally-build billing system. We're a company that requires subscription management for year-long terms. The way we currently have our billing software set up in our internal admin system is not sufficient to handle the large user-base or the amount of revenue flowing through our system. We're implementing this third-party subscription management system in order to improve reporting and conversion rates, and to improve our future a la carte add-on items.
  • Manages subscription services specifically.
  • Can be altered to fit your particular business needs.
  • Their User Interface and User Experience is absolutely garbage.
  • They could benefit from more extensive user research and feedback. I feel like they've never had any communication with their users about the ease of using their products.
  • Make simpler ways to complete tasks. This could be done if they hired a UI/UX Designer. I am convinced they've never thought of hiring one.
Subscription Management for Subscription Based Service companies. If they improved their user experience and product usability, they'd be in a much better position for me to recommend their product to other companies. [Zuora is less appropriate for] Really any company that needs an easily understood/simple implementation product to manage subscription based services. If you are not technically savvy, or if you don't have 25 hours per week to keep up maintenance in Zuora, then it's not the product for you. I would personally not recommend this product to anyone or any company.
I believe it has the potential to, and we're working to make it fit with our needs. The issues we do come across, though, are not quickly resolved or responded to via Zuora's support team or the designated implementation-aids that Zuora "provided" us while first building into our system. I wonder who came up with the Zuora subscription structure and design very often because of how difficult it is to learn, maintain, understand, and resolve issues.
A support request is emailed to their support team, then an automated response is sent to you in a couple hours saying "Hey, someone will take a look at your support request soon". Then somewhere around 12-18 hours later, an actual support member responds with "Have you checked out our tutorials? Here's one that sounds like it might help you". I don't want a tutorial given to me that I've already read through that only exists because of the terrible user design of Zuora's user interface.
Read this authenticated review
November 30, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is used mainly by our finance and accounting departments to manage invoicing and our product catalog. Previously, we used our accounting software, so invoicing and creating quotes was cumbersome. Implementing Zuora cut down the time it would take to process the bill run and has also allowed us to manage our AR aging much more effectively but automating the past-due notification on aging accounts. The system, implemented alongside Salesforce, has also decreased the number of errors in quotes generated by our sales team. Because the quotes are now being generated in Salesforce with ZQuotes, our quotes are now consistent and have very few errors, if any.
  • Before implementing Zuora, managing the deferred revenue required us to maintain a spreadsheet and reconcile it monthly against our accounting system. After implementing Zuora, our deferred revenue is now managed by Z-Finance and has greatly decreased the closing process. It has allowed our staff to focus on other areas, rather than spending a couple hours making sure that all deferred revenue has been posted properly.
  • Before implementing Zuora, we had to manually create invoices for clients based on the information the sales team generated in an Excel spreadsheet. This spreadsheet was our old way of presenting quotes to clients. However, this would often produce many errors in the calculations, etc. After implementing Zuora, we were able to control the pricing and presentation of quotes in the backend, while the sales team only had to focus on getting the sale. This has allowed us to focus more time on making sure that more opportunities are being won, rather than worrying if the numbers are correct.
  • Accepting payments from our customers wasn't too bad when it came to methods other than credit cards. However, anytime a customer would like to make a credit card payment, the process was always time-consuming and required multiple forms. Now with Zuora, I can enter the credit card information pretty quickly and Zuora stores the information safely, allowing the customer to just send us a notification that we can process their payment, rather than having them fill out multiple forms every time.
  • I wish there was a more straight-forward way of processing write-offs. I've had to change our method a few times because of how the transactions were affecting our revenues. I've had to create my own way, outside of the knowledge center, that now works for us. However, this took some experience and testing to finally figure out.
  • I would like to see Zuora set up the product catalog to allow for physical items that are sold. This way, I don't have to create a "rate plan" for a printer. I realize that Zuora is used mainly for cloud-based and subscription services, however, I feel that there are enough companies that might provide a physical item along with a service/software.
  • I wish the invoice and email templates were a little more visual (without the need for only HTML or Text.) Word mailmerge for designing templates is very cumbersome that requires testing for multiple use cases to make sure the generated invoice/PDF will display correctly.
We sell hardware and other physical products outside of our cloud services. I feel that Zuora isn't well suited for physical products due to the way the product catalog and rate plans are set up. Plus, the terminology confuses our sales teams since adding the "rate plan for a printer" doesn't make much sense.

However, for managing different configurations of our software products, Zuora works well. It allows for the sales team to be consistent, while also allowing us to customize different bundles for all possible selling situations.
Zuora has definitely allowed us to create packages and bundles for a range of selling possibilities. Our goal was to remain consistent, no matter who was selling the products, and implementing Zuora has brought that consistency we desired. Previously, quotes were created in an excel spreadsheet or word document, so the templates were sometimes different or had different information from our sales reps. We also did not like that the sales teams had no limitations on their quote creating process when it came to discounts, or if the quotes they created were submitted with errors. After implementing Zuora, the finance and accounting departments had more control over the pricing and presentation of these quote, allowing us prevent additional losses due to broken formulas, etc.
Read this authenticated review
November 30, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Zuora for a subset of our business, but are in the process of rolling it out for the remainder of our core business. It solves the need for a more flexible subscription billing platform that can accurately calculate prorations and tiered pricing while integrating with our tax service and financial ERP.
  • Zuora is highly flexible in what can be done through the rest API. Our business builds a lot of custom apps that integrate with Zuora, giving us the flexibility of setting up subscriptions how we want without needing to worry about the complex calculations that are done behind the scenes.
  • Zuora, as a company, is incredibly receptive to feedback and have developed new features specifically for our business because of the value they saw it could bring to other customers.
  • Zuora does a great job at keeping our team in the loop on upcoming releases. Many times we're able to beta features to give our feedback and help them create an overall better product which is key in any partnership.
  • Zuora's integration with our financial ERP is lacking a lot of flexibility that our business was looking for (taxation and discounts on same line level, customer field syncing, etc.). Over the past few months, though, they've made an effort to gather our feedback and start building a revamped version.
  • Having a separate product rate plan charge for discounts makes it difficult to give a cohesive experience to the end user. As a business we think about discounts as being an attribute of the initial product rate plan charge, not an entirely separate line item.
  • Searching in Zuora (for specific customers, invoices, etc.) is very slow and often fails while trying to search.
Zuora is a great option for a flexible subscription billing platform, especially when you want to integrate custom applications into the platform using their rest APIs. The platform as a whole still has some work to do in terms of simplifying how rate plans and rate plan charges work so that a user can know what is happening at first glance without needing deep domain knowledge of the Zuora infrastructure.
Zuora has proven to be very flexible in designing how a subscription should be configured. Our business model allows for several upgrades and downgrades during a term of a customer, so we needed a solution that would easily calculate prorates as well as back out revenue for any downgrades. We've had to work around things such as Zuora generating multiple Invoice Item Adjustments for each tax and discount line and how that syncs down to our financial ERP, but as a whole we've been able to fulfill the needs of the business.
Read this authenticated review
July 19, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora for billing and it is used by various departments including: Finance/Accounting, Billing Support, Customer Support, Sales, and Product Dev. We switched from a home grown billing system to Zuora to improve invoicing, revenue recognition and the communication between our provisioning team and billing.
  • Bookings and Churn Reporting
  • Invoicing
  • Subscription tracking by customer
  • Reporting capability - user friendly building of reports
  • Improving invoicing for usage base recurring revenue
Well suited for a recurring revenue business with a large sales force supporting many dynamic customers.
I do not believe we have utilized this capability. Our product team will be better suited to answer this question.
Read this authenticated review
November 16, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora's solution is being used for ownership of all billing related matters within our company. Zuora removes the complexities of recurring billing and makes the process of billing our customers much more efficient. The solution integrates with our online marketplace, which allows us to easily manage subscriptions and bill our customers with a minimal overhead of work - compared to a manual billing process that we previously used.

Zuora is predominantly used by our finance, sales and product management teams. General tasks across the business include: billing, pro-rations, credits and a wide range of other tasks.
  • Pricing changes are UI driven, easy, and can go into effect immediately without operations or development involvement. As a product manager, I could even update our prices on the website in real time because of the way we integrated.
  • Sales people (depending on privileges) can update individual subscriptions to accommodate upgrades, discounts, credit notes, or other modifications without involving anyone else.
  • The integration and flexibility of zuora to intuitively adopt our multiple subscription and product platform is integral to a seamless order to cash process.
  • Zuora makes invoicing quick and easy. This allows us to combine one-time, recurring and usage charges on a single invoice.
  • The majority of features needed are not out of the box, this took some time to configure and implement the solution. The API is not very well documented and this caused our development team some hassle when on-boarding the solution.
  • Subscription Management Workflows. Once you have a subscription set up and for example, needed to make two changes, you have to do two separate T&C amendments. You cannot simply hit amend and make both changes at once. So what you thought would be only a couple of clicks on the mouse, turns into several clicks.
  • When cancelling a subscription the system generates a pro-rated invoice that has caused confusion with our customers, where they think it's a credit note.
Zuora is well suited for our environment as a SaaS company, it allows our finance team to send invoices at the push of a button. This suits our vision of a growing company delivering the best customer experience possible.

The solution allows us to make quick and easy amendments to subscriptions, raise credit notes at the click of a button and meet the demands of all billing models.
Zuora offers flexibility, but this is not straight out of the box - it requires effort/work from the business to implement. Once configured, it suits our needs to perfection. It allows us to combine one-time, recurring and usage charges on a single invoice, whilst dealing with partial months, with pro-rations and credits.
Read this authenticated review
November 04, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a subscription based SaaS company that uses Zuora for our billing within the accounting department. It allows us to send 10s of thousands of invoices with a push of a button.
  • The way the system is structured allows our business to bill just about any way with minimal back-end support
  • The quickness by which Zuora can process invoices is huge for our company as we bill 10s of thousands of customers monthly within one day.
  • The Zuora support team sometimes takes more than one iteration to understand what the problem that needs to be addressed is
  • The revenue recognition software could use a little polishing to ensure that the intricacies are included
It is a fantastic invoicing tool for our company. We have massive amounts of data that gets pushed into Zuora and we can accurately invoice each month.
Zuora is extremely flexible however, our company has not realized the full potential as we would need to update internal systems to allow for the flexibility.
Read this authenticated review

What is Zuora?

Zuora is software for subscription businesses. The software is designed to provide an end-to-end subscription management solution that includes billing, finance, commerce and insights, helping users establish a subscription business model and establish, nurture, and monetize recurring customer relationships.

Zuora spans across commerce, billing, collections, revenue recognition, and analytics. The vendor says their products aim to help users:

  1. Go to market with their subscription offerings, then grow and retain their customer base across multiple channels
  2. Automate billing, collections, and revenue recognition to scale their business and support their go-to-market strategies
  3. Deeply understand their subscribers and the health of their business at all times

Zuora is headquartered in Foster City, CA with 11 offices around the world. The company services over 800 clients, including HP, Dell, Financial Times, Box, YP.com, Vivint, Hubspot, and Schneider Electric.

Zuora Features

Has featureProduct Catalog
Has featureSubscriptions & Amendments
Has featureZuora for Salesforce
Has featureBilling & AR Settlement
Has featurePayment Processing
Has featureRevenue Recognition
Has featureGL Integration

Zuora Video

Overview of Zuora: The world’s only subscription order-to-cash platform.

Zuora Integrations

Zuora Competitors

Zuora Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Zuora?

Zuora is one of the best-known subscription billing platforms. Zuora is an enterprise-level product and, as such, provides comprehensive metrics, tax automation, and support for multiple currencies. It also offers Salesforce and NetSuite integration out-of the-box. It often replaces cumbersome ERP (enterprise resource planning) systems that does not focus exclusively on billing.

What is Zuora's best feature?

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 9.7.

Who uses Zuora?

The most common users of Zuora are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.