Zuora

Zuora

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 6.9 out of 100
Zuora

Overview

Recent Reviews

Invest in Zuora

8 out of 10
February 23, 2021
[Zuora] is being used by the finance, sales, and success teams. It addresses the problem of not being able to have visibility into billing …
Continue reading

Zuora Review

1 out of 10
January 18, 2021
Redgate currently use Zuora to manage their customer subscriptions, and create quotations for making amendments/adding new products. The …
Continue reading

Sage Intacct

5 out of 10
May 18, 2019
Zuroa is being used by one department in our business to support a small e-commerce side of our business. We use it also for customers who …
Continue reading

Zuora Review

10 out of 10
May 10, 2019
At our organization, we use Zuora on our finance and business operations team -- primarily for invoicing customers and keeping track of …
Continue reading

Zuora Does A Lot

7 out of 10
March 07, 2018
Our whole organization is using Zuora from sales to fulfillment. It allows us to effectively bill on a recurring basis.
Continue reading

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Zuora, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Zuora?

Zuora is one of the best-known subscription billing platforms. Zuora is an enterprise-level product and, as such, provides comprehensive metrics, tax automation, and support for multiple currencies. It also offers Salesforce and NetSuite integration out-of the-box. It often replaces cumbersome ERP…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

20 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Chargebee?

ChargeBee is an all in one subscription billing solution designed to handle all the complexity of recurring billing. The product integrates with a range of other SaaS applications including SalesForce, accounting, and order fulfillment systems. Some key features include: Managed Subscription…

What is Recurly?

Recurly is a subscription billing platform and manages customer communications via email, business performance monitoring, and account changes. A merchant bank account is required to work with Recurly. A payment gateway is part of the product but it integrates with other gateways, such as PayPal, to…

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Zuora?

Zuora is software for subscription businesses. The software is designed to provide an end-to-end subscription management solution that includes billing, finance, commerce and insights, helping users establish a subscription business model and establish, nurture, and monetize recurring customer relationships.

Zuora spans across commerce, billing, collections, revenue recognition, and analytics. The vendor says their products aim to help users:

  1. Go to market with their subscription offerings, then grow and retain their customer base across multiple channels
  2. Automate billing, collections, and revenue recognition to scale their business and support their go-to-market strategies
  3. Deeply understand their subscribers and the health of their business at all times

Zuora is headquartered in Foster City, CA with 11 offices around the world. The company services over 800 clients, including HP, Dell, Financial Times, Box, YP.com, Vivint, Hubspot, and Schneider Electric.

Zuora Features

  • Supported: Product Catalog
  • Supported: Subscriptions & Amendments
  • Supported: Zuora for Salesforce
  • Supported: Billing & AR Settlement
  • Supported: Payment Processing
  • Supported: Revenue Recognition
  • Supported: GL Integration

Zuora Video

Overview of Zuora: The world’s only subscription order-to-cash platform.

Zuora Integrations

Zuora Competitors

Zuora Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Zuora?

Zuora is one of the best-known subscription billing platforms. Zuora is an enterprise-level product and, as such, provides comprehensive metrics, tax automation, and support for multiple currencies. It also offers Salesforce and NetSuite integration out-of the-box. It often replaces cumbersome ERP (enterprise resource planning) systems that does not focus exclusively on billing.

What is Zuora's best feature?

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 9.7.

Who uses Zuora?

The most common users of Zuora are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 136)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an Essential data platform company in Fintech. All our products are subscriptions based on one or other type. We employ Zuora within our workflow to manage the subscription of all our products. We have a very wide variety of offerings and we have integrated Zuora along with other billing software to streamline subscription management along with Billing. It has helped us streamline billing and subscriptions simultaneously, which is a huge cost saver to the overall financial cycle.
  • Generating Subscription for all type of sales. New sale, renewals and trials.
  • Keeping the billing simple. Especially the Credit/Debit memo generation is the most effective.
  • 'search' in Zuora is very well structured and having multiple options to reach the same result makes it easier for the end-user to use.
  • The overall UI is very user-friendly and adaptable. Thus a new user can quickly find his/her path, and may at times, even do not require a formal walkthrough of the tool. Even though we do have the training, yet, the UI is simple enough for anyone to use.
  • The 'edit' option on pages where fields can be modified by the user is clubbed per page. Instead, if this is made to be a field-level feature it could help save time for the end-user.
  • Integrations with CRM and other billing software wherever required can be more effective as the batch jobs if made in real-time could be a game-changer.
  • The subscription page could be made more compact to cover more details limiting the scrolling on the page.
  • Dashboard configuration is still not there for Production Data analytics and exporting data could always have its own flaws depending on the analytics tool used. Having an in-house analytics dashboard could make it more feasible to use from a Data analytics perspective.
My personal knowledge and experience with Zuora are limited to Client Billing and Subscription management, thus my comments are only for these two areas primarily. When it comes to Subscription management I would say Zuora is in the top three available tools. Period. However, when it comes to billing there are a few grey areas that customization solves depending on the requirement of course, yet the overall billing experience and lack of in-house data analytics dashboard capabilities is the reason why I have given an 8 out of 10. I would thus recommend if the scenario is billing heavy then it would be less appropriate to employ Zuora. But, if Subscription management is what you are looking for, Zuora sure is among the best in the market.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora for all billing-related tasks. It is also where we track how long a subscription is, how many users, and customs pricing if needed. It is very useful to be able to bill in multiple currencies, as we are a global company. The entire Sales team uses Zuora for all quote-to-cash processes.
  • Billing in multiple currencies.
  • One stop source of truth for subscriptions.
  • Easy to refund if necessary.
  • Would like to see a credit card capture link on each account.
  • Very slow load times.
  • user interface not friendly.
Zuora is very well suited for handling thousands of subscriptions. Some of the rules we have in place could be improved upon such as canceling a customer if they do not pay within 90 days. This completely shuts them off when, in some cases, the lack of payment may not be their fault. The fact that Zuora still charges a credit card even though a subscription has been canceled in the past is a major problem.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is used to manage Subscriptions of our SaaS offerings. It is used by our Sales, Accounting, Finance & Accounting, and Collections Department. Zuora helps manage our subscriptions and have a lot of features to make management of these subscriptions easy. It integrates well with our SalesForce platform and allows us to make changes to subscriptions with a user-friendly UI. There is an audit log to show the different versions of a subscription.
  • The implementation of Zuora is very helpful. Their interactive training guides are one of the best I've used. It is very thorough and any salesperson can learn how to use it very quickly.
  • Their subscription management offers many ways to sell a subscription. These subscriptions can be evergreen (renewing every month) or termed subscriptions. The subscriptions can be amended to add/remove products very easily.
  • The ability to quickly pass through large amounts of usage data for our clients is allowing us to perform billing in a time-effective manner. Once usage data is loaded, a few clicks and all of the invoices for our client base can be generated. Invoices are clean and detailed which help us maintain a good customer experience even with our somewhat complex billing model. The reporting is extremely helpful in calculating the end of month commissions, recognizing and deferring revenue, and overall bookkeeping.
  • Zuora's revenue recognition is no longer in compliance with GAAP ASC606 if you plan on using Zuora to do revenue recognition. They acquired RevPro in which RevPro will be compliant with the new accounting standard. However, RevPro is a separate software and will cost money. To my knowledge, it is not in Zuora's roadmap to configure Zuora's revenue recognition features to be compliant with the new revenue accounting standard.
  • Zuora's reporting needs some improvement to help measure churn. Several reports need to be run and manipulated in excel to see which clients canceled their subscriptions, turned their auto-renew off, or removed a product from their subscription. To us, all of that is considered churn and there is no way for Zuora to measure all 3 in a single report.
  • There are also many clicks I have to make to accomplish a small task. Of all the software I have used for work, it is easily the one that took the most training. I still don't have it figured out a few months in.
If your company processes a large volume of transactions, Zuora is well-suited for you. In addition, if you need to make changes to subscriptions to your customers frequently or track usage in order to bill clients, Zuora has the capability to do so. If your company goes through any kind of audits, Zuora's audit log may come in handy. Zuora does cost quite a bit so if your company doesn't process a large volume of transactions or make many changes to subscriptions, it may not be worth the investment.
February 23, 2021

Invest in Zuora

Chloe Sayers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Zuora] is being used by the finance, sales, and success teams. It addresses the problem of not being able to have visibility into billing internally or externally. It also saved us from the issue of having no real "order" object in our system to track changes to subscriptions. The RevOps team has also been heavily involved.
  • Subscription Management
  • Revenue Recognition
  • Invoicing
  • Multi-year deals
  • Very custom payment plans
  • Hosted payment pages
Zuroa is very well-suited for B2B businesses that primarily have a subscription stream of revenue. It is less appropriate for B2C and retail, if you are only selling one-time products or services, this tool would be overkill and confusing instead of helpful. However, if you need to recognize revenue from subscriptions over the service period, Zuora is a lifesaver.
January 18, 2021

Zuora Review

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redgate currently use Zuora to manage their customer subscriptions, and create quotations for making amendments/adding new products. The whole sales team have adopted this solution since we migrated away from an in-house designed solution.
  • Handles simples subscriptions
  • It isn't flexible at all, at the sign of something complex or slightly abnormal it becomes a nightmare. Such a restrictive piece of Software.
  • Using Zuora has tripled the amount of time our Sales team spend on creating quotes
  • Zuora is damaging the relationship between our customers with it's inflexibility
If you have very simple subscriptions, this will work for you. But do not touch this software if you have anything complex in your use case, or if you sell perpetual licensing alongside subscription.
November 03, 2020

Use at your peril

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is the center of our billing system and subscription management solution.
  • Distributed calls our fast
  • Finance love its reporting
  • Very buggy
  • Alerts often only appear after we report the issue to them - no apparent automatic monitoring of systems
  • Support is very variable and often just try to get rid of you
  • Ridiculously overpriced
  • Use customers as testers
  • Have secret or hard to find limits
It's well suited to a company with a very, very simple set up who don't need flexibility or reliability. One that sells few subscriptions for a large amount of money and don't mind giving Zuora a good slice of that revenue.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being across our entire organization for everything from annual subscription renewals and one-time purchases to issuing refunds and credits. Since we are a SaaS company, it is the perfect billing solution for us to be able to easily create quotes, invoices, and perform other billing-related functions. The solution for our company is not having to manually run/create billing items or manage multiple platforms for our billing and subscription-related needs.
  • Integrations - We have a deep integration with Salesforce that allows you to easily update quotes/contacts/billing information in Salesforce and have it reflect in Zuora.
  • Ease of use - Very easy to manage and figure out where to navigate to.
  • Automation - There are many features/functions in Zuora in which you can automate, which will save a ton of time performing otherwise manual and repetitive tasks.
  • The UI could use an update or refresh and layout seems like it can be condensed.
  • Areas that are not currently automated take some time to adjust and figure out. Issuing refunds, credits, amendments to subscriptions from a basic user perspective isn't always super easy in the beginning.
  • More reporting capabilities from the view of a CSM / account manger. Sortable dashboard.
Perfect for any SaaS company with recurring billing, subscription and renewals needs. It's easy to get using and there is a lot you can automate within your billing, subscription and renewal processes. Whether you are in sales, customer service or billing, it's a powerful tool that you can use to manage your product catalog and customers' billing needs.
May 18, 2019

Sage Intacct

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuroa is being used by one department in our business to support a small e-commerce side of our business. We use it also for customers who want to auto-renew.
  • Fast
  • Open API
  • Plenty of plugins/integrations
  • Not easy to use.
  • Cannot consume products from CRM or ERP.
  • Integration with Salesforce is not seamless.
Zuora is great if you have a team to manage it and focus solely on that application. We tried to build an out of the box integration but we quickly realized we would need to build something custom to handle our use case. Zuora rep continues to push products without understanding our business or helping provide full solutions.
May 10, 2019

Zuora Review

Andy Chu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our organization, we use Zuora on our finance and business operations team -- primarily for invoicing customers and keeping track of accounts receivables. We also use Zuora a lot for some of our financial reporting. It is also very helpful during our standard audits, as they'll request a lot of information that is already stored in Zuora.
  • Invoices.
  • Reports.
  • For the capacity that I use Zuora in, I have no complaints.
When I need to know whether a customer has paid or not, I refer to Zuora for the payment status. It's great to have a single source of truth to go to and determine the history of an account (when they were signed, when they were first invoiced, when they first paid, how they pay, etc.).
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Zuora for billing our customers. The billing department uses it to automate billing, send billing email notifications, and update our CRM with billing information. Zuora is a robust tool that allows us to provide certain billing information like renewal dates in our CRM so that our renewals team can make sure our customers have a smooth renewal experience.
  • Zuora integrates well with our CRM
  • Zuora is built to allow customization which is a must for our products.
  • Zuora allows us to send email notifications to our customers before their renewal date so they are reminded they are up for renewal.
  • While Zuora allows for billing notifications, the ability to segment who those emails go to is limited. We need to able to breakdown notifications by state/province, language, country, and other traits, but right now those breakdowns are limited to just country.
  • It's nice that Zuora is robust and has so many features, but that also makes it challenging to train new users.
Zuora is a great tool for subscription businesses to be able to bill their customers. We have a global business and bill in many currencies and need to notify our customers in many languages. Zuora allows us to be able to bill at different rates and in different currencies. The one challenge we have is we need to be able to break down communications based on specific detailed traits and Zuora is limited in how detailed you can get in segmenting your billing notices.
Dirk Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is used as our complete end to end billing, payment, and sub-ledger and is currently in one of our regions with the view to expand this product to all regions around the world in a staged rollout. Zuora allows us to focus on building products and solutions for our customers and team by providing a product that is flexible and scalable to meet our needs. Zuora's ability to quickly build products for our customers and release into production allows us to stay relevant in today's business world.
  • Flexibility with the product catalog. Once you understand the product catalog and its capabilities, the possibilities are endless. You are able to spin up new products quickly and test new ideas with minimal development time.
  • API focus. Zuora API focus allows us to step away from the Zuora UI and build our own platform over the top of Zuora reducing ambiguity for our customers and team
  • Constant upgrades - Zuora is continually adding to its product and listening to its customers to build a product that is leading the way in the subscription economy
  • User Interface - Zuora's UI is still a weak point, however, this is negated through the use of its API's. Zuora has done a lot of work in releasing new products to limit its UI experience and the addition of Orders allows for more functionality to reduce the UI issue.
  • Complex system - This is both a pro and a con, but in this instance, it is a con because we may not have taken the time to truly understand the implications of all the options that were available. the Flexibility is great however if you do not take the time to understand the product and what problem you are trying to solve, you can make life difficult for yourself later down the track. Take the time to map out your approach end to end and ensure your assumptions at the start are robust.
  • Reporting - reporting is weak as such we have moved away to our own reporting data warehouse.
In terms of managing a subscription business, there is nothing better. For more complex businesses, with multiple locations and multiple products, Zuora can still fit your needs, however, please give consideration to setting up your product catalog first before progressing. This will save you time and money and will allow you to get the most out of Zuora. Zuora has a large amount of flexibility once you understand the product and a sound understanding of the product catalog is crucial to the success of your business. Zuora pushes you to simplify your business and focus on what matters for your customers.
Joshua Henke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is a point solution for subscription billing. That's all it does, but that makes it a critical part of our business, managing our complex deals with customers, generating and delivering invoices and credits to them.
  • Consolidated invoicing
  • High-volume, complex subscription management
  • The user interface is a disaster. There are many things that make no sense, such as clicking on a hyperlinked Subscription number that takes you to an invoice instead of the subscription.
  • Extremely limited customization capability to improve poor UI
  • Searching/reporting is very weak and difficult to use. The format of exported data is at least different than what many other systems tend to use. I find it unintuitive and difficult to manipulate or perform tasks such as vlookups and filtering; perhaps it's really smart and I just don't get it
  • The concept of a credit memo does not exist...yet. They keep promising it but have not delivered. Their solution has been Invoice Adjustments and Invoice Item Adjustments, which at least don't make sense for my business.
Zuora is a subscription tool. It is very focused and should probably stay that way. I think there is a good reason many businesses are choosing Zuora, but I think they'll be in for a disappointment in many areas, those I've listed in the Cons section of this review. If they make some drastic improvements to the UI, my users will be much more pleased, like removing a little rock out of your shoe.

For a simple subscription business, Zuora is a great tool. If you get into multi-year subscriptions (known to be multi-year from inception), there are challenges, particularly related to revenue recognition, amendments, and, especially, future-dated amendments.
March 07, 2018

Zuora Does A Lot

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole organization is using Zuora from sales to fulfillment. It allows us to effectively bill on a recurring basis.
  • Products are easy to use and create with Zuora
  • Much customization from email templates to billing to products.
  • Recurring billing and reporting.
  • They don't have very many out of the box payment plan options so that takes a lot of work to set up.
  • Back end functions and making billing/subscription modifications are complicated.
  • No list price field for products, at least with how we are using it so we had to build a workaround to have a visible list price.
If you do a lot of recurring billing with little customization then Zuora would probably be a good fit.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora for managing our SaaS-based subscriptions and billing. All departments that interact with the customer have some interaction with Zuora, including Sales, Finance, Accounting, Customer Success, and Information Systems.
  • Zuora is great for providing structure to subscription management.
  • Zuora is integrated with Salesforce.com, which we use as our CRM.
  • Zuora is great at tracking changes made to a subscription.
  • The user interface is behind the times.
  • Making change to a subscription is very painful.
  • Finding the information you need can be difficult.
Zuora was difficult for us to implement, because we already had a history of SaaS, so we had a moving target in getting up and running. I would recommend having a strong focus on getting it up and running as quickly as possible, as time only makes it more difficult.
Anthony Hewitt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a SaaS business and use Zuora to manage all our subscriptions. From original quotes in Salesforce, to regular invoicing and payment collections, to feeding back subscription and customer information back to Salesforce to enable our customer success, support and billing departments to have all the information they need to hand. The great thing is once the original subscription is created from the quote input is minimal and it just does its job. Invoices and payment collections just work automatically in the background and we only get involved when there are exceptions to deal with. Its great to know you can rely on it and have your focus on other areas of the business. Recent changes have helped improve the way we use Zuora with multi-currency, CPQ and the Insights reporting being the standout areas. Software is not everything and the team at Zuora are always open and willing to help when change comes around and the annual Subscribed event is a MUST for anyone in the subscription economy. I am always happy to recommend Zuora as its years ahead of any competition.
  • The CPQ quote engine makes our quoting much simpler and allows us to configure quotes quickly. The added advantage is it allows to turn the quotes in to subscriptions at the click of a button when the business is won.
  • One of the great things is the one you least think about. It simply sits in the background and does its job. Each subscription is configured to be invoiced and payments collected on daily schedules. We only know when things aren't right - which is rare.
  • Having the subscription information in Salesforce is a godsend. We have used the power of Salesforce workflows, formulas, reporting etc to make this data work for our customer-facing teams.
  • My only con at this point is the speed of the support in the UK - needs to be quicker.
  • In the past reporting has been an issue but with the Insights addition, that challenge has now gone away.
Any business that has a need to manage subscriptions needs Zuora. Whether they are a start-up subscription business or an existing business looking to change their product or service to a subscription model then Zuora is the one to look at.
Andrew Keith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ClearCare uses Zuora for our entire quote-to-cash process. We use Z-Quotes for our SalesForce quoting integration, which allows our sales reps to book their orders in SalesForce, and send the subscription to Zuora for invoicing and collection. We also use Zuora for our month-end reporting. Last year we also implemented usage records feeding directly from our API into Zuora, which allows us to bill much easier.

Zuora is used solely by the Finance department. Zuora addresses the problem of manual processes in the finance department. We've been able to automate nearly everything, which saves us a lot of time to work on other priorities. Thank you Zuora!
  • Quote-to-cash
  • Automated billing and payment runs
  • Allows information to feed directly from API integration
  • Payment gateways, payment method updater, etc.
  • Insights are way too expensive. Should not have to spend $250,000/year for dashboard metrics.
  • Add-on products are all too expensive.
  • The platform itself is too expensive. We nearly did not renew last year solely due to the cost.
If your company bills based on subscriptions and/or usage, you should use Zuora. It allows your client data to feed directly from your back-end into Zuora's tiered subscriptions.
August 20, 2017

All in your hands!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora to manage customer accounts so we can have in one place all the information about account details, billing, invoicing, refunds, payments, cancellations, and discounts. It makes easy for customer support to investigate an account. You can search for customer account information, process cancellations, refunds and make any kind of adjustments.
  • You can manage subscriptions, for instance, really easily and keep your customer updated on any change thanks to the automatic notifications system.
  • Any change done on accounts is updated in real time.
  • It gives a lot of possible inputs to use in order to look for the required information.
  • Probably a nicer graphic layout.
In our specific case, payments, and subscriptions done in the mobile platform cannot be managed in Zuora. In thess cases, you cannot perform everything in Zuora. It is really fine when you can finish all your tasks in Zuora and be sure that it is all clearly recorded and trackable. This is at least in our case.
Daniela Scarpa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have now implemented ZUORA across the globe for our mulit national company.
Good to see the new multi entity option now introduced.
  • ZUORA is brilliant at batch invoicing allowing you to perform an invoice to run for many customers at the one time.
  • ZUORA does not handle corrections/CNs so well and this is often a manual task that could improve.
ZUORA works brilliantly for us where we charge customers based on different usage each month.
Yuri Anischenko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used by the billing department. It addresses subscription domain related problems: recurring payments, prorations, subscription solution, discounts on subscription, credits, invoicing, and reporting.
  • Zuora customer support and professional consulting support is really great. They are focused to solve customers problems.
  • Very reliable; they meet SLAs. We had quite a few problems in production and Zuora support was on top of the things during short outage times.
  • Subscription domain model is well designed. REST API is quite easy to understand because of that.
  • Reporting is very UI intensive. There is no way to export a report to some maintainable format.
  • Ability to export/import configurations and product catalog. We maintained multiple zuora environments: DEV, QA, TEST, STAGE, PRODUCTION. Each environment required very UI intensive error-prone manual configuration. It caused us many issues.
  • It was quite painful to incorporate legacy tax engine that wasn't supported by zuora out of the box.
If you need to handle recurring payments and zuora already supports your desired tax and customer support provider then pick zuora as your subscription solution.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used as our CMS for invoicing and billing customers. Our billing and finance departments are the main users of zuora, however, we utilize the reporting capabilities across the entire organization. Zuora has a robust reports section that allows us to drill down to the product line-item so we can understand the usage of our customers.
  • Reporting is of great use to determine what products a customer is utilizing.
  • Being able to automatically generate invoices and send them out to clients is a main feature we use.
  • Zuora allows us to manage and maintain all aspects of our customer and their usage through a single interface.
  • While reporting is great, generating the reports you need could be a little easier.
  • Invoices can be quite long and confusing based on the services a client is utilizing.
  • Hard to read invoices.
Zuora is well suited if you need to integrate data into SalesForce or do not have many product SKU's. If you have too many product sku's, it can make it more difficult to understand the invoices from the client perspective.

If you need to understand what products your customers are utilizing, the reporting is great. It may just take you a while to get the right report.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora in a cloud-based environment to process online-payments. In the B2C field we support credit cards and PayPal, in B2B also wire transfers can be processed. It is primarily used to collect payments, issue refunds, send invoices and cancel or amend subscriptions. We also use it to search for payments when customers or companies report uncertain transactions.
  • Very good overview on customer-accounts startpage. All relevant information at first sight.
  • Convenient search for payments and customer-accounts.
  • Stable server availability.
  • We have synchronization issues with our database causing delays in payment and subscription statuses.
  • Some processes need to be confirmed too often. I don't want to be asked three times if I want to process a refund. Could save some clicks.
  • We have one annoying unresolved bug that allows Zuora to create more than one active subscription. This causes double-payments.
I'm not sure if it is the best solution for a subscription-based business. Single payments seem to be fine but reoccurring charges seem to cause problems. The search for a credit card by the last numbers, which is often the only information we get, is quite slow.

Overall I'm satisfied with the interface and daily operations.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zuora for billing and it is used by various departments including: Finance/Accounting, Billing Support, Customer Support, Sales, and Product Dev. We switched from a home grown billing system to Zuora to improve invoicing, revenue recognition and the communication between our provisioning team and billing.
  • Bookings and Churn Reporting
  • Invoicing
  • Subscription tracking by customer
  • Reporting capability - user friendly building of reports
  • Improving invoicing for usage base recurring revenue
Well suited for a recurring revenue business with a large sales force supporting many dynamic customers.
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[We use Zuora to] Capture credit card, select subscription level, integrate with salesforce, create invoices.
  • Integrates well with Salesforce CRM.
  • Allows high levels of flexibility for different payment schedules.
  • zuora is not "fast" and thus not a good solution for transactional sales processes like ours.
  • zuora is hard to understand for its average user, typically an accountant, outsourced cfo, etc.
  • zuora customer support is slow to respond when instant reply is typically desired.
  • zuora reporting is not on par with other start ups in the space and requires considerable learning and customization, leads to poor understanding of data trends.
Less appropriate: smb, transactional sales
More appropriate: enterprise, long cycle sales process that requires a lot of documentation
July 18, 2017

Tha aura of zuora

Debashis Jena | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zuora is being used as our core billing system by the whole organization.
  • Excellent subscription system
  • Data quality
  • Payment Options - Cash/Credit Balance
  • Integration with Salesforce needs to be improved a little bit. The zuora to SFDC sync has issues all the time.
  • Few key objects do not get synced to salesforce, example: Invoice Item Adjustment, Credit Balance Adjustment
  • Handling installment payments with single invoice. We had to do custom coding for that.
[Zuora is well suited for] Subscriptions.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zuora for our monthly invoicing as well as revenue reporting. We leverage the Zuora for Salesforce functionality so that our sales people build Zuora quotes within Salesforce which sync to Zuora automatically once a customer becomes billable.

Zuora allows us to automate our billing process as well as provides flexibility to adjust our products and prices, which was much more limited using out of the box Salesforce opportunity products previously.
  • The sync with Salesforce. The ability for Zuora and Salesforce to sync eliminates manual transfer of data and areas of human error.
  • Flexibility of setup. With all the various types of products and different revenue recognition rules, Zuora allows us to set up the rules we need to fit our business model.
  • Ease of use. Creating and posting bill runs is simple and straight forward. With a few clicks of a button you are able to create and post invoices for all customers.
  • The service team. I have had a great experience working alongside the Zuora consultant team. They have been easy to work with and have the ability to suggest effective solutions to ensure Zuora meets our business requirements.
  • The new reporting module is definitely a step in the right direction, but the reporting module could still be better. Mirroring the drag and drop functionality of Salesforce would be great with the ability to create custom dashboards from the data. The 'run detail' vs 'run summary' reporting is a bit confusing. The 'Hide details' functionality in Salesforce would be better. Also, the fact that you can not provide a link directly to a Zuora report is pretty frustrating.
  • Ability to bulk import quotes from the SF side that integrates with Zuora. During our Zuora setup we were very surprised that the ability to bulk create Zuora quotes that sync to Zuora was not possible. This caused a real headache for our setup and it would be great if Zuora allowed for this.
Zuora is made for SaaS. I believe for companies using Salesforce it is highly suitable as it allows integration between sales and finance, which is at other times a black hole. We are still moving forward to use another tool for our general ledger system.
I have been very impressed with the support received from Zuora. No only are the response times quick, they are also well-informed and thoughtful. There are times when multiple use cases need to be provided in order to pinpoint to answer I am looking for, but overall I am able to depend on useful assistance via the email support channel.