3CX Reviews

34 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using 3CX for our whole organization. As the system is VOIP based, it's very flexible and has helped our day-to-day operation to a great extent. What I like most about the system are its mobile and Windows apps. My clients can call my office and I can answer even if I am not at office. Last year I traveled internationally but was in touch with my clients through the mobile app.
  • Mobile and windows app
  • Automated transcript of voicemail
  • Flexible phone system management
  • The pricing is very affordable
  • It can include outgoing fax functionality
  • Voice quality appears to suffer greatly with weak Internet signal
  • Setting up conference calls could be made simpler
  • Can include texting capability
3CX is a very affordable and dynamic phone system. It is very suitable in a heavy volume call situation, as ring groups are very adjustable. It is also suitable for a remote work condition. It's less appropriate when Internet quality is not very strong and outgoing fax service is required.
Read this authenticated review
October 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as the main phone system in our organization. We have a big support team (150+ employees) that are on the phone all the time doing 250,000 minimum monthly phone calls. We also have multiple offices (that were other companies we acquired). They have a local 3CX system for their product phone support but also are connected to our HQ 3CX servers in bridges. Overall we have around 500 physical phones connected to the system.
  • Call queues
  • Call dashboards
  • Ring groups
  • Easy to setup IVR
  • Logs - They give you general or really high-level info but you can't really drill down to specifics of what happened and who did what
  • Better segregation of roles or implementation of RBAC - sometimes you provide permissions to manager to be able to manage queue or ring group and they have way more permissions that are needed but no way to scale them down
It's a nice PBS system that can really compete with the big names in the industry. It's very easy to be setup, just a software that needs to be installed on Windows or Linux machine, everything is web-based. A really cost-effective solution. It has advanced call features, dashboards etc, everything you need to run a serious call centre. Can also be used for small deployment in remote offices. Can be run on google cloud as well.
Support is not the greatest. Usually, we always rely on our own technician to figure out things or have better luck checking the 3CX forum. Had few issues in the past and working with their support is not the best experience compared to other vendors' support. Now have to be honest, most of the time the software just works, so there were not many times we needed to use their support.
Read this authenticated review
March 15, 2020
Laura Steinbrink | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My entire school district uses the 3CX Phone System. It has allowed us to have a phone in each room, facilitating private conversations with a specific teacher, now the building or district office can not only talk privately with individual teachers, but teachers can also contact parents in a more convenient place and time. Switching to 3CX Phone System has also slashed the phone bill by two thirds. Anything that can save the school district some money is a great product, and that savings alone paid for the phones that were purchased for each classroom. It also allowed us to remove the intercom cables too, as it replaced our intercom old system as well.
  • The 3CX Phone System has a really nice auto-provision feature that works with plug and play phones, so then all that's needed is for each to have an extension assigned to them.
  • The 3CX Phone System web portal is exceptional. I love how I can keep it open during the day and quickly see who is busy on the phone and which lines are available. I can also call quickly by a simple click of the mouse.
  • The app that accompanies this allows me to provision my cellphone via the app to my classroom extension so that if I am out of my classroom and someone calls my phone, it also rings on my cell phone. I can also call via the app and it appears as if I am calling from my classroom extension.
  • The webmeeting function is clumsy compared to Zoom or Google Meets (Hangouts).
  • There is no support offered without paying for it, but the web forum that is offered for free does allow you to throw out questions and have them answered by someone in the community of 3CX user administrators.
The 3CX Phone System is perfectly suited for schools or businesses that want a reliable phone system and a reduced phone bill. It functions on traditional phones, the web, and on cell phones via the app, making it flexible enough to suit today's business or educational institution needs. The installation can be done with some basic knowledge also, without needing to hire anyone or pay 3CX for assistance.
The 3CX Phone System is only a five because while they provide set-up/how-to/Q and A documents to help your district or company get started, they do not offer support for free. The documents provided, though, are good enough for you to get you up and running. We also found a good source of help through a sip trunk provider, which was a 3CX reseller provider.
Read Laura Steinbrink's full review
March 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the phone system throughout our organization. The phone system is very intuitive and user-friendly. I really like the seamless integration between the desktop portal and mobile app.
  • Easy-to-use.
  • User-friendly online portal.
  • Seamless integration.
  • Update the app with a new design.
  • Add option to add more people in conference.
  • Add the video call feature.
The system is very helpful in organizing phone calls. It is easy to manage. I personally like the email notifications for voicemail and the portability from the portal to the phone system.
Read this authenticated review
July 31, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use 3CX for our phone system. It handles all incoming and outgoing phone calls and all internal phone calls between departments. It works with our toll-free number for customers. We switched from 8x8, Inc. because we wanted a less expensive option as well as an easier to easy and manage system. We worked with a 3CX reseller to set up and install the system which involves a 3CX phone server and the web-based control panel. The actual set up was pretty simple. We were able to reprogram all of our current phones and didn't need to buy any new phones. We are running the 3CX over a fiber-optic ATT line with 50 Mbps and use the 3CX plan with 16 calls. The plan costs us around $800 a year (which does not include the ATT line) verses the almost $800 a month we were paying 8x8, Inc. so quite a savings for us. We have had no major issues with 3CX. We did have to tweak some settings after we went live but the adjustments were easy to make on the web cpanel. 3CX also has a very nice app for cell phones.
  • Good sound quality
  • Solid uptime (may depend on your Internet connection)
  • Easy to use web-based control panel
  • Nice app for cell phones.
  • No real complaints
The 3CX system is a well-thought out phone system with many features and options. The plan pricing is very affordable and flexible depending on your business needs. However, the key to having a solid, well-performing system with 3CX is the quality of your Internet connection. You may want to discuss your Internet connection type and speeds with a 3CX reseller before deciding on a 3CX system.
Read this authenticated review
September 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We replaced our old office phone system (Cisco Call Manager) with a cloud-based 3CX platform across our organization. Our office location was moved to a new building so it was the perfect time to replace it. As we also moved to a cloud-first strategy, we opted for a hosted 3CX platform. Although it as more features than the old system, I am afraid only the basic features are mostly used.
  • Call quality is good, better than our old system. Though technology-wise you can't compare, quality is better than I expected.
  • Having softphone and mobile apps available is a good feature.
  • Configuration for the user is relatively easy.
  • Mobile app is a bit dull to look at. Could be more modern looking
  • Softphone functionalty is ok, but not great
A good replacement for your basic phone system. If you like mobile apps and softphone, this is also a system to have a very good look at. 3CX is a good competitor in the field but I strongly suggest to compare all the options. If you replace a legacy system you should inform your users of all the new features a system like 3CX offers.
I didn't have to use support personally but I have talked to the administrators of the system and they confirm that any issue is dealt with quickly. As we haven't had big issues I can't talk about priority 1 incidents which require immediate attention, but normal issues are answered fairly quickly and accurately.
Read this authenticated review
June 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use 3CX to manage phones through our entire company across many locations and multiple states. All phones are able to be managed by a single 3CX controller, which simplifies management and support while offering features and flexibility to users. Many users have a traditional desk phone, some use only the 3CX smartphone app, others use both. Each extension can be used with any of these options.
  • Simplicity: Using a single 3CX interface we can manage every phone and extension used throughout our company.
  • Flexibility: There are a wide variety of options to configure each extension and phone. Changing anything after the hardware is deployed is very easy.
  • Portability: Phones with 3CX can be easily moved or repurposed within an office or at remote locations, including users' homes. The mobile app allows users to use their office extension anywhere without exposing their cell number.
  • Experience or support required: SIP is complicated and nuanced by nature, with any phone system. If you don't have experience with this, support from a local integrator is all but required.
  • Adding call flow apps is very complicated: 3CX can be extended with custom developed call flow apps, which is great to meet a specific business need. However, this is very complicated by its nature and requires custom software to be developed.
  • Failover somewhat limited: Setting up failover is relatively complicated and somewhat limited in performance.
I would strongly recommend the 3CX phone platform over any hardware based PBX system. 3CX scales very smoothly since it can be run on anything from a pretty basic computer to a powerful server to a cloud VM. This means getting started can be very inexpensive, and migrating can be much lower cost than moving to a hardware PBX. As with any phone system, experience or support is needed, but 3CX is well designed for usability. There is a decently sized community with users who can help out and share ideas.
Read this authenticated review
June 06, 2018
Mike McCloskey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
3CX is the VoIP system in place for our municipal offices. We currently service about 30 users. It gives VoIP functionality via Linux, Mac, or even Windows. It was initially set up on a Win Server. It handles all voice communications for the office and transfers off-site as needed. It is very flexible, allowing for future changes.
  • Multi-platform support.
  • Available in free an in value-added tiers.
  • Stable
  • Mature product
  • Stability under Windows
The biggest advantage of 3CX is Windows operability. While it makes much more sense to use some flavor of Unix; there are situations where deploying in a Won environment makes sense. Once established, it can later be migrated to an inherently stable Unix environment. There are situations where an organization needs to be compatible with other installs, likely using Asterisk. That would be a strong consideration against 3CX.
Read Mike McCloskey's full review
March 14, 2018
Artur Bittencourt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
3CX is our corporate phone system, we use it across the organization for all the landline needs, ACD, auto attendant and voicemail. We are planning on exploring all the unified communication options the system has to offer. We currently have about 200 users on the system, running on a virtual server and Yealink phones.
  • Flexible. 3CX can run on a Windows Server, Linux or as an appliance. It can also run on the Public Cloud.
  • Simple. 3CX is very simple to configure and easy to upgrade.
  • Management Interface. Easy to read and intuitive to find what you need.
  • Soft Client Interface. Not the best, not very intuitive with lots of room for improvement.
  • Mobile Client. Even though the mobile client works well (good voice quality and you can answer the calls on your lock screen) there is a lot of room for improvement on the UI.
Small to medium company sizes are a great fit for 3CX Phone System for sure. It has all the major functionalities you need and it works very well with very low maintenance. I am not sure if the 3CX system would be a good fit for a large enterprise with multiple offices across the globe.
Read Artur Bittencourt's full review

What is 3CX?

3CX is an open standards communications system suitable for any business size or industry. 3CX is an integrated phone system with call queues, built-in video calls and video conferencing. In addition, users can integrate website live chat, Facebook and text messages. The vendor states its features are remote-friendly, meaning teams can use them from anywhere via mobile and browser apps. It’s also an open-platform and compatible with popular IP phones and SIP trunks.

3CX is designed to make installation, management, and maintenance of PBX easy, so that the user can effortlessly manage it, whether on an appliance or server on-premises or in the cloud.


Categories:  Contact Center,  Live Chat,  IP PBX

3CX Features

Has featureEasy admin and installation
Has featureSlash telco costs by 80%
Has featureAdvanced call center features
Has featureVideo conferencing
Has featureLive chat
Has featureAndroid and iOS App
Has featureFacebook integration
Has featureBusiness text messages

3CX Screenshots

3CX Video

Watch Training Courses

3CX Downloadables

3CX Integrations

amoCRM, Bitrix24, Freshdesk, Freshworks CRM (formerly Freshsales), HubSpot Marketing Hub, MongoDB, MySQL, PostgreSQL, Nutshell, Vtiger, Zendesk, Microsoft 365 (formerly Office 365), 1C (Russian), ConnectWise, Datev (Plugin), EveryoneAPI, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Microsoft Outlook (Plugin), MS Exchange (Plugin), MS SQL Server, Salesforce, Zoho

3CX Competitors

RingCentral, 8x8, Avaya

3CX Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
StandardFree
Pro1.08per user/per month
Enterprise1.31per user/per month

Price displayed is based on 25 users. 3CX pricing is based on the number of simultaneous calls your business requires or in other words, how many calls your system needs to support at once. Unlike other PBX vendors there is no per extension cost.

3CX Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

3CX Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English, French, Spanish, Italian, German