TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/vJ/iG/BC1772P0KCTC.PNGA well packaged solution for smaller non-profit organizationsAbila MIP is used as a comprehensive accounting package for the whole organization. It offers a wealth of services tailored to non-profit organizations and their particular needs. The software provides support for payroll, membership activities, business operations, and more. It offers a number of reporting tools and is fairly easy to use, especially for regular end users.,The interface and operations of Abila MIP Fund are fairly easy to utilize and learn. It offers some excellent tools for managing a non-profit operation. The software makes it easy to streamline operations into one system without dealing with separate departments working with different systems.,Sometimes support can be a bit off and challenging to get by phone. Some of the reporting tools are not as robust as some competing products. Vendor training costs can be high if needed by an organization.,8,The software really helps save money if implemented correctly. If an organization needs extensive training then its costs might be too high. Centralizing the flow of information into one system can help reduce errors. The reporting tools can either be quite timesaving or sometimes too simplistic. An organization will need to do a good requirement's analysis when looking at this product.,AspenONE Asset Performance Management (APM), 4Gov Fund Accounting, Accounting Seed, ALTO Accounts Payable, QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions, QuickBooks Premier and AccountMate,QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions, 4Gov Fund Accounting, AccountMate, Sage One Accounting, Contractor Accounting Software, Microsoft 365 Business, 8x8 Virtual Office Enterprise Suite, Adra Financial Close Management SuiteAbila MIP Fund AccountingWe use Abila MIP Fund Accounting across the whole organization as our primary budget and financial accounting software.,Ease of installation and upgrades. SQL database back end. Makes for easy integration. Easily set up test company for testing new features.,Full active directory group integration. Support for an Application server (file share) on a different server than the database server.,9,Abila MIP Fund Accounting has been the best solution for the money and meets the needs that we have.,Abila MIP Fund Accounting handles all our fund sources for domestic and international,,Planview Enterprise, Cumulus,No,9,No,During one of our earlier years of using Abila MIP Fund Accounting, we had an issue during an upgrade. The support staff went out of their way to help us resolve the issue and get us back up and running in a very timely manner. This happened during an upgrade that we had to make during a peak time of the year.I recomend Abila!Abila MIP Fund accounting is currently being used by the fiscal department and by the executive director. We use it to address business problems such as budget management, payments to vendors including the electronic payment feature, payroll including managing employee information, payroll taxes, direct deposits to employees, accounts receivables and billing, bank reconciliations, and tracking program revenue and expenses.,Abila MIP Fund Accounting has great support, they are always quick to respond and always find a solution or at least an answer. They also have a feature to easily request product enhancements. They give the user the ability to modify reports which is extremely helpful to be able to tailor reports to specific needs. Help and Support! If you are unsure of a feature the system has a great diagram for how the process works, click on a picture in the diagram and it opens up that feature. Once that window is open there is a Help button on just about every screen that, once clicked, takes you to an extensive library of procedures, descriptions, tips and important information. They put on a great annual training.,The Budget Worksheet isn't the simplest to use and understand how the outcome will reflect. It took me some trial and error, and writing my own in-house procedures to feel comfortable with the budget worksheets. There are so many modules that Abila offers that it can be frustrating to learn that in order to obtain a certain feature you have to purchase another module, which may come with way more than you need or want. For example, with the Payroll Module you can select Direct Deposit for an employee but without the Direct Deposit module I can't access the feature to email the pay stub vouchers to those employees with Direct Deposit. There are so many reports available that it can be hard to remember where the report you need is located. Some reports don't include Unposted Transactions and some don't allow the same level of customization.,9,The ROI impact on our business objectives has been saving time. Saving time is saving money and we save time with payroll and tracking employee information, and with budget management and tracking program expenses.,Our agency does have multiple funds from multiple sources and we are able to track and manage them effortlessly. We have an external financial audit done each year and Abila allows me to provide the auditors information quickly with customized expanded general ledger reports. It is also convenient to use the drill down feature on financial reports to see what makes up the figures or to use the Account Balances activity window to search activity by different account filters.,NP Solutions, Inc.,Fund Accounting made Easy!We use Abila MIP fund accounting for our general government and enterprise funds tracking information not only by fund, but department as well. We used to use QuickBooks and switching to Abila enabled us to track shared expenses across funds and the financial reporting ability has been extremely helpful in preparing year end financial statements for our auditors.,Creating disbursement codes to share expenses across departments Ability to create your own financial statement formats for various reports Drill down in reports for easy access to detailed data Awesome customer support is always there to help you,I would love to be able to have my GL codes print in alphabetical order by name in the Profit and Loss report Print GL Codes alphabetically in P&L My only complaint Print GL codes alphabetically in P&L report,9,Accurately paying accounts payables to the correct department making for more accurate budgets Being able to track expenses by department made us realize that our parks department was seriously under funded Using the payroll tax reporting software made filing payroll tax reports a breeze with no errors and no late filing fees,We are currently tracking a general government fund, three enterprise funds and three grant programs.,The best for accounting and administration in your organizationThis is an amazing software for accounting, you can do a lot of things to manage your budget, prices, and more. The interface is awesome and the support has great quality. In our institution, we use Abila to follow and keep the track of our budget and expenses, for example if we work with a community we can set their needs, create and projects, a follow the expenditure in each topic of that project. The software also helps us to have reports quickly about our activities and finances.,Good for accounting, we manage a lot of projects at the same time, and the app help us to keep on track of each one, also we can make reports about the accounting for the communities or government. Excellent budget tools, you can manage the budget with high precision and detail, you can add activities, expenditures, costs, personal involvement in the project and set the budget for each one. A perfect interface, it has a friendly and nice interface, you can create graphics and tables easily, and you can watch in your computer or devices all the information at the same thing, to have a better explanation of the project.,It is a little expensive for small companies, to personal use or startup, because of that many people prefer to use a free software or with GNU license instead of Abila. It demands high professional profile, it is not for any kind of professional, the people who is going to work with the app requires certain level of knowledge in accounting and administration. It can be difficult to use in some cases, especially the ones related to the opinion of the community where the changes happen too fast, so you need to creat all the tables and graphics again and again until the people be agree.,8,The possibility to spread our business in administration and accounting, we could manage a lot of projects simultaneously, because the app allows you to do that, and to create elements of analysis of each whenever you want. A better management of money and budgets, a word for describing this app is precision, you can manage your money with high detail, listing every activity and linking them with the people who work or it is involved in the project, so you can be sure that every penny that you spend will appear well described in your budget. A better relationship with clients and shareholders, this is for use the most important issue, we could create a whole new portfolio of clients and people who want to contribute and participate in our organization. showing them the quality of our projects through the budget, administration and accounting that we develop in Abila.,Prosoft Solutions,PMoney Transaction Platform,CleverAnalytics, Oracle Planning and Budgeting Cloud, Budget Maestro
Windows
MIP Fund Accounting (formerly Abila MIP)
606 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Abila MIP Fund Accounting
606 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 606 vetted Abila MIP Fund Accounting reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 307)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Bruce Emmerling profile photo
January 21, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "A well packaged solution for smaller non-profit organizations"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Abila MIP is used as a comprehensive accounting package for the whole organization. It offers a wealth of services tailored to non-profit organizations and their particular needs. The software provides support for payroll, membership activities, business operations, and more. It offers a number of reporting tools and is fairly easy to use, especially for regular end users.
  • The interface and operations of Abila MIP Fund are fairly easy to utilize and learn.
  • It offers some excellent tools for managing a non-profit operation.
  • The software makes it easy to streamline operations into one system without dealing with separate departments working with different systems.
  • Sometimes support can be a bit off and challenging to get by phone.
  • Some of the reporting tools are not as robust as some competing products.
  • Vendor training costs can be high if needed by an organization.
The product is really well suited for small to medium non-profit organizations and other types of operations. Its features might not be as applicable for commercial businesses or large organizations. Some organizations may want to weight its fees and costs when choosing the product. Overall its features are well integrated and quite useful for organizations that may not need a more complex accounting product.
Read Bruce Emmerling's full review
Bob Jones profile photo
January 18, 2019

User Review: "Abila MIP Fund Accounting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Abila MIP Fund Accounting across the whole organization as our primary budget and financial accounting software.
  • Ease of installation and upgrades.
  • SQL database back end. Makes for easy integration.
  • Easily set up test company for testing new features.
  • Full active directory group integration.
  • Support for an Application server (file share) on a different server than the database server.
From a technical perspective, we are very happy with Abila MIP Fund Accounting. We would prefer support for having the file share on a different server than the database server for security and best practice reasons.
Read Bob Jones's full review
Kayla Klinger profile photo
January 15, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "I recomend Abila!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Abila MIP Fund accounting is currently being used by the fiscal department and by the executive director. We use it to address business problems such as budget management, payments to vendors including the electronic payment feature, payroll including managing employee information, payroll taxes, direct deposits to employees, accounts receivables and billing, bank reconciliations, and tracking program revenue and expenses.
  • Abila MIP Fund Accounting has great support, they are always quick to respond and always find a solution or at least an answer. They also have a feature to easily request product enhancements.
  • They give the user the ability to modify reports which is extremely helpful to be able to tailor reports to specific needs.
  • Help and Support! If you are unsure of a feature the system has a great diagram for how the process works, click on a picture in the diagram and it opens up that feature. Once that window is open there is a Help button on just about every screen that, once clicked, takes you to an extensive library of procedures, descriptions, tips and important information.
  • They put on a great annual training.
  • The Budget Worksheet isn't the simplest to use and understand how the outcome will reflect. It took me some trial and error, and writing my own in-house procedures to feel comfortable with the budget worksheets.
  • There are so many modules that Abila offers that it can be frustrating to learn that in order to obtain a certain feature you have to purchase another module, which may come with way more than you need or want. For example, with the Payroll Module you can select Direct Deposit for an employee but without the Direct Deposit module I can't access the feature to email the pay stub vouchers to those employees with Direct Deposit.
  • There are so many reports available that it can be hard to remember where the report you need is located. Some reports don't include Unposted Transactions and some don't allow the same level of customization.
We are a small company with around 30 employees, some full-time and some part-time, with funding from multiple sources but mostly government grants. It works great for our needs. It would be well suited for a company with less employees and less programs that do their own payroll and program management. It would be well suited for a company with more employees and more programs that also do everything in-house. Companies could forgo the Payroll module and still get good use out of it with the A/R and A/P and Budget modules. I cannot think of a scenario where Abila is less appropriate.
Read Kayla Klinger's full review
Diane Angell profile photo
January 23, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "Fund Accounting made Easy!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Abila MIP fund accounting for our general government and enterprise funds tracking information not only by fund, but department as well. We used to use QuickBooks and switching to Abila enabled us to track shared expenses across funds and the financial reporting ability has been extremely helpful in preparing year end financial statements for our auditors.
  • Creating disbursement codes to share expenses across departments
  • Ability to create your own financial statement formats for various reports
  • Drill down in reports for easy access to detailed data
  • Awesome customer support is always there to help you
  • I would love to be able to have my GL codes print in alphabetical order by name in the Profit and Loss report
  • Print GL Codes alphabetically in P&L
  • My only complaint Print GL codes alphabetically in P&L report
Switching from QuickBooks to Abila fund accounting made it so much easier to truly do my job. [We are] able to have one company with separate funds and departments. Being able to create the accounting code segments to suit your personal needs was nice. The only downside is make sure you are truly satisfied with your accounting code setup because you can't change this after you are using the software. In my case I added an activity code that I don't use.
Read Diane Angell's full review
Cesar A Siso L profile photo
January 22, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "The best for accounting and administration in your organization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is an amazing software for accounting, you can do a lot of things to manage your budget, prices, and more. The interface is awesome and the support has great quality. In our institution, we use Abila to follow and keep the track of our budget and expenses, for example if we work with a community we can set their needs, create and projects, a follow the expenditure in each topic of that project. The software also helps us to have reports quickly about our activities and finances.
  • Good for accounting, we manage a lot of projects at the same time, and the app help us to keep on track of each one, also we can make reports about the accounting for the communities or government.
  • Excellent budget tools, you can manage the budget with high precision and detail, you can add activities, expenditures, costs, personal involvement in the project and set the budget for each one.
  • A perfect interface, it has a friendly and nice interface, you can create graphics and tables easily, and you can watch in your computer or devices all the information at the same thing, to have a better explanation of the project.
  • It is a little expensive for small companies, to personal use or startup, because of that many people prefer to use a free software or with GNU license instead of Abila.
  • It demands high professional profile, it is not for any kind of professional, the people who is going to work with the app requires certain level of knowledge in accounting and administration.
  • It can be difficult to use in some cases, especially the ones related to the opinion of the community where the changes happen too fast, so you need to creat all the tables and graphics again and again until the people be agree.
If you need a tool to manage the budget, accounting and administration of your business, then Abila is for you. This software goes beyond, because you can handle a lot of things simultaneously, you can manage and track your budget, administration and accounting with a great interface and even in your devices. Unfortunately, it is an administration software and if you work in a project that is going to be changing continuously the app can be a little useless, because every change you do will demand a lot of time and that is not very useful.
Read Cesar A Siso L's full review
David Gerber profile photo
January 21, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "Abila is a great system for non-profits"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We migrated to Abila over 6 years ago from a COBOL mainframe system. We have been extremely happy with the transition. We generate over 100 separate financial statements on a monthly basis. The system is easy to use and everything is integrated. Our managers have up to date access to financial information which is a great benefit. We are able to generate many reports that allow us to track our financial information. The only con is having to use Drill Reports to have a more robust reporting system. Drill Reports is very expensive for only getting one developer license.
  • Abila is extremely easy to use and migrate through the system.
  • We are able to create separate financial statements to match each grant's reporting requirements.
  • End users have real-time access to information.
  • I would like to see a grand total at the end of page breaks. Currently you are able get a total on each page break but you need to manually add each one for a grand total.
  • On the 990 reporting it is not required for a segment to be restricted. We should be able to identify a program or gl code within a segment if something is restricted.
  • Enhance reporting to allow all end users to adjust reports unlike Drill Reports where only one user has the ability to create reports.
Abila is fully integrated and allows us to have access to real-time data. It is easy to use and navigate. We are able to create many financial statement report formats that allow us to match a grant for reporting. I would love to see a grand total at the end of a report when you use page breaks. That would be extremely helpful.
Read David Gerber's full review
John Petty profile photo
January 18, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "MIP in the Open"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Abila MIP Fund Accounting is used by the whole organization for department and overall reporting as well as compliance reporting. It was purchased to allow for reporting by cost allocation to multiple cost centers, including both internal departments and grants.
  • Cost allocation. Allows great flexibility in the setup of cost pools and receipient centers.
  • Multiple dimension coding structure. Allows complex accounting setups for multi-faceted organizations.
  • Reporting. Allows many different report configurations.
  • Exporting. Ease of exporting reports to PDF and Excel formats.
  • Bank reconciliation. Exceptionally outdated and inefficient process for clearing checks.
  • Accounts payable. New vendor setup process could be so much easier, especially for vendors who are already employees.
  • Credit card puchases. Badly needs improved functionality in the posting of transactions to actual vendors.
Do you need a lot of cost centers and coding dimensions? Abila MIP Fund Accounting does this well.
Read John Petty's full review
Joan A. Cox, CMA CPA profile photo
January 18, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "MIP Saved The Day!!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Abila MIP Fund Accounting is being used by the finance department and the purchasing department only. All general accounting and financial reporting is performed via MIP. In addition, the purchasing department uses MIP to enter encumbrances to track open purchase orders. Use of MIP has fostered collaboration amongst various departments whose responsibilities impact financial reporting and monitoring of budgets. MIP makes producing financial reports very easy and the ability to quickly modify any report is very helpful.
  • MIP export to MS Excel functionality is so easy to use and helps us to quickly begin research and/or analysis.
  • The reporting features allow us to pick and choose which columns/fields we would like to see on reports.
  • The option to include or exclude unposted transactions provides a good mechanism for what-if scenarios as it relates to financial statement amounts.
  • The year-end adjustment feature is new for us however it saves valuable time when reviewing transactions/reporting in preparation for our annual audit.
  • I'd like a better way to forecast expense that allows me to use a different multiplier or factors to augment individual line items.
  • I would like the ability to develop the budget within the software so it would be easier for variance analysis between current budget and new budget or current actuals vs proposed budget

MIP is well suited for organizations with multiple funding sources, multi-year and cross-year reporting, and numerous cost centers/expense charge codes. The common chart of accounts helps with consistency in reporting across an organization and to external users. Consolidation of different grants is easy to complete and reporting can be performed on any time period.

I don't [think] it is appropriate for smaller organizations that do not have complex accounting or reporting requirements. Many nonprofits have a small staff which might find MIP more structured than they may need to their reporting.

Read Joan A. Cox, CMA CPA's full review
Arthur Knowles profile photo
January 15, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "Abila MIP just works"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Abila MIP is used by the finance, procurement, and payroll departments. It is used to track all company expenditures and grant - both public and private - reconciliation.
  • Abila MIP provides detailed customization to fit your organization rather than force you to use an out of the box configuration that may not suit your needs.
  • Abila MIP is easy to set up and uses industry standard SQL Server back-end so backups and restores are easy.
  • Abila MIP has good reporting options with simple customizations.
  • Abila MIP support is always available.
  • More customized reporting so data exports to products like GrantVantage could be accomplished by the end-user rather than Database administrator.
  • Official support for application virtualization like Microsoft App-V or VMware Thin-App so deployment is easier.
  • MSI packaging for installation and updates through group policy.
  • No local administrator access to install or configure application.
  • Integration with Active Directory.
Well suited for Tribal government.
Read Arthur Knowles's full review
Louise Johnson profile photo
January 15, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "Track like a Pro"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it primarily in our fiscal department, but provide information from the system to all departments.
  • Reporting is a great asset.
  • Cost allocation to different funds through payroll is a breeze with this system.
  • I like that you can choose who can perform different functions, and restrict access on an as needed basis.
  • I would like to be able to pick and choose which entries to post within a batch.
It is a great tool for an agency that has multiple funding sources, providing reporting and tracking of all expenses and income for each program, as well as within divisions.
Read Louise Johnson's full review
Jon Dize, CFRE profile photo
March 15, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "We're OK with MIP; it was our only option."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MIP is our accounting and scholarship system. We keep track of all donations, scholarship distributions, and write all invoices and checks from MIP as well. Our accountant then uses it for reconciliation and adjustments/Journal Entries.
  • The Interface is easy to understand. It is a typical accounting system. Not as intuitive as I would want, but the accountant loves it better than Quickbooks.
  • As far as accounting software, it appears to be a powerful solution. Yes, it does. Again, the accountant loves it.
  • In our area, it is widely used. Lots of MIP users, yes.
  • Creating reports is not easy. Not the best with reports. Not intuitive.
  • Integration with sister product FR50 is horrible. They may be owned by the same company, but the interfaces, reports, etc. are not at all similar.
  • How we use it for scholarship management is less than desirable. We had to "make it work".
Good for accounting. Not great for scholarship management.
Read Jon Dize, CFRE's full review
Joselito Perez profile photo
September 26, 2018

Review: "An Accountant Perpective of Abila MIP Fund Accounting"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Abila MIP Fund Accounting is our main GL accounting system in which we use the GL, cash, AP, and fixed asset modules. One of the great things of Abila MIP is the flexibility with accounts and reports variations. We also take advantage of the upload capabilities to upload journal entries and invoices that have multiple lines such as the one allocated across our funding.
  • The AP system has invoice control to avoid duplicate invoices.
  • Abilia MIP also has the flexibility to print 1099 statements for subcontractors.
  • As with any other Fund Accounting software Abilia MIP can track all the funds in separate trial balance
  • Entering budgets is relatively easy
  • Although Abilia MIP has strong reports, there a few that can improve, i.e. cost center report in Proforma, P &L report by funding Proforma.
  • Abila MIP has recently added the features to handle credit memos but it still needs improvement, as there are some aspects where an invoice is entered against a credit and there is another entry created not in the payment register.
Abila MIP is suitable for non-for-profit companies that need to manage different funds and track activity individually by funding. Because of the cost associated with Abila MIP, I would not recommended for small non-for-profit organizations or companies that do not have extensive funds to track separate.
Read Joselito Perez's full review
Jean KOLESZAR profile photo
January 18, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "Abila MIP, is it for you?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Abila MIP is used by our agency mainly by the accounting department. Our directors of the grant programs use the software for report purposes only. The accounting department uses the accounts payable and accounts receivable daily. We do not at this time use the payroll module. The reports are easy to filter in order to provide the information you need to review, file or provide for meetings. Our company had used MIP for 12 years and it has met our needs.
  • reports - easy to filter information
  • easy to enter data into the software
  • great technical support
  • instructions for added features that are available are not clear, ie attaching invoices to AP entry
The software allows us to create distribution codes for different allocations that are necessary for our agency.
Read Jean KOLESZAR's full review
Kelli King profile photo
January 16, 2019

Review: "Small Organization Use of Abila MIP Fund Accounting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Abila MIP Fund Accounting is used by our small public television station as our accounting software program.
  • Creates reports with ease.
  • Easy to use to track grants we receive.
  • You can not just delete or edit an incorrect journal entry. You have to actually reverse the entry and re-enter the correct journal entry.
Abila MIP Fund Accounting works very well to track grant income and expenses that our organization receives.
Read Kelli King's full review
Chanette Oeser profile photo
January 15, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "Abila - One Stop Shop"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our agency uses MIP Fund Accounting for our Financial, Accounting, Payroll, and Human Resource operations. Our entire organization uses EWS for time and attendance, our HR Department uses the HR Manager and Payroll modules, and our Accounting Department uses all remaining aspects of Fund Accounting with the exception of Forms Designer and DrillPoint.
  • The modules work well together making all necessary information available in one place.
  • The Payroll module interacts with our Accounting module making financial information much quicker to analyze.
  • The financial reports are easy to create and use.
  • The reporting available in the HR Module is substandard compared to the Accounting modules.
  • All fields are not available for all reports, causing the need to export information to combine certain fields.
  • The formatting of reports is cumbersome and not user friendly.
Having worked in the same industry for over 25 years it is difficult to speak to industries where Abila is less appropriate. It works well in the Non-Profit industry. The chat support is exceptional and very helpful in times of trouble.
Read Chanette Oeser's full review
No photo available
January 29, 2019

Review: "What You Should Know About Abila MIP Fund Accounting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by the accounting department. We use it to maintain our general ledger, process accounts payable and produce financial statements. We produce financial statements for the board of directors, departmental reports for managers, and revenue and expense analyses for upper management. We use the budgeting module, but mostly as a reporting tool - we do the actual nitty gritty budgeting work using Excel. We also use MIP almost as a job cost accounting system. We're a public broadcasting organization with 7 different stations. We have to allocate expenses not only between funds but between stations, departments, activities and restrictions, and MIP gives us the flexibility to do all of that.
  • As I just mentioned, the flexibility to allocate revenue and expenses in multiple ways is probably the biggest strength.
  • Very user friendly - I was able to learn the system without any formal training.
  • Very stable - never have any performance issues, even with our less than cutting edge technology!
  • I would like to see a way to manage prepaid expenses. Microsoft Dynamics has a module that handles deferred expenses - you tell it where to charge the expense and over what period, and it sets up the batch. Then you just review the batch and post it. Saves a ton of data entry!
  • Would like to have the option to select Unposted Transactions on all financial statements. Right now it's only available on some.
  • There should be an Insert Line capability in the input screens, such as the Accounts Payable Invoice entry or Journal Voucher entry. Right now the only way that I know of to insert a line is to enter it at the bottom and move it up to where you want it, and that's very awkward. You should be able to highlight the line below where you want to insert, right click and have an option to insert, similar to what you do in Excel
MIP is well suited for small nonprofit organizations who need to allocate expenses between multiple variables. That's the only experience I have with it, so that's all I can comment on.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 18, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting: "Newbie's Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MIP strictly in the finance department. We use it for all internal accounting. Most of us are relatively new users (less than 3 years), so we're constantly finding new ways to use the program. At year-end, it makes our 1099 generation process much simpler. For my purposes (accounts payable) now that I've worked with the program for a while, it's really quite easy to find just about anything I need (even going back several years).
  • Accounts can be customized just about any way you want; if you prefer using strictly numbering, or names either can be used as you like.
  • Accounts receivable entries are quick and easy to input.
  • Searching for information in the program is usually very easy.
  • For the AP module, I have found that it would be nice to be able to change an account name. When a vendor has a name change, the only options are to enter a new account or leave it as is and try to remember what the name is in the system when an invoice comes with the new name. This also applies to our employee accounts - when someone has a name change, we can't just change the account name.
I primarily work with the AP section of the program. One of the biggest issues we've encountered is the difficulty in fixing entry errors after posting. We've had a couple of incidents where an incorrect entry should have been simple to fix, but wasn't. When reversing an entry error, the number of steps needed is too much (get the session id, the doc number, enter a new session, reverse the entry, exit, new session, enter the corrected doc) - it would be nice if this could all be done in one screen (like within Vendor Balances).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 18, 2019

Review: "Abila MIP Fund Accounting is worth a try for any non-profit business!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Abila is being used by our finance and accounting team. We use the Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable, Budgeting and Fixed Assets modules. It addresses all of our business needs and it is very user friendly in terms of use and ability to learn the tasks. The Report Manager feature is also very intuitive and customization is easy and efficient.
  • Budgeting - provides the ability to work across fiscal years as we have many federal, state and local grants that require different time periods. Once it is set up, then it works seamlessly.
  • Fixed Assets - This module tracks assets and depreciation based on your input and ties this information to the GL in an effective and efficient manner.
  • Report Manager - reporting is very easy as you have many canned reports that can be easily customized to your preferences. You also have the ability to segregate your reports, by name, and store in a file for your easy retrieval and use.
  • Inputting the budget information can be cumbersome and difficult to understand. It took me a while to get the functionality correct.
  • Understanding which input module to use for what purpose can be a little confusing. For instance Accounts Receivable has areas to input credits, receipts or manual invoices. This can be confusing at first.
  • Setting up codes for new employees or clients can be confusing also as you must input this information into two different setup screens.
It is well suited for any size company as it has all of the functionalities that is needed to run an effective accounting/finance office. Most of the modules are very easy to use and complete all the tasks needed to get the desired result. I can't see any scenario where it is not appropriate to have the fund accounting system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 19, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "Very user-friendly and great online support"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the Accounting department only. We use the AP module and partial AR module for budgeting purposes and we distribute financial reports to other departments and our Board of Directors Committee.
  • Customizing reports makes it easier to meet the needs of the reviewers before posting.
  • Submitting a 1099 is very user-friendly.
  • The AP module is very easy to navigate. Easy vendor set up. Cutting checks is very easy as well.
  • Running AP/AR aged reports are not able to pick unposted transactions which can be time-consuming at times to wait for an AP batch to be posted.
  • Reviewing and printing from the vendor/customer activity screen is painful—you have two option print a summary, that is easy but not detailed and once you choose the detailed option and you highlight the entries, it doesn't pick them all.
  • Printing preferences are sometimes a pain to set up, we recently hired a new employee and we had to contact the MIP support line because none of the obvious settings were not helping her printing reports in landscape or every time she turned off her PC, the settings will be changed again.
MIP has a great variety of options. You can customize the system reports and you can save and lock them so other users can not mess them up. This is extremely useful when you need reports once a year for audit purposes and you can run them with a click of a button. I wish all reports can include unposted transactions. MIP is great and easy to navigate and has great chat support, as well as a university website and forum groups where users can share their experience and recommendations. MIP listens to its users and upgrades and streamlines very often.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 05, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "An A/P Accountant Perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MIP is being used across the finance department. It is being used for financial reporting purposes. It is intended to track payment information for orders placed by the purchasing department. The budget department creates entries that set aside funds for particular purchases, in which the budget officer enters the estimated funds needed along with the fund coding information. It is also used as a user-friendly option for accountants to enter payment/funding information so that the data can be turned into a static file and transmitted to the uniform standard accounting system used by the State of Texas Comptroller's office among all state agencies. The MIP interface is more user friendly to the accountant and the data fields required for particular categories of purchases/payments are easier to view because of the one-line, white space table. Also MIP allows shortcuts to address the problem of multiple or even hundreds of coding lines that need to be copied for a particular category of payments, allowing for saving time and resources in order to record a payment.
  • MIP is user-friendly and enables efficient data entry. For example, as an accountant, I often see purchases that need to be paid with multiple lines of code. Often the amount of coding lines reaches over 100 lines of code. For these purchases, the budget department does not code the purchase and as an accountant with many bills to pay, I appreciate that MIP provides shortcuts like F6 to copy a whole line under the one above or F5 which allows me to copy down only one field if needed. It saves me a lot of time to copy data versus having to re-key information.
  • MIP provides options to run quick reports on orders and purchases. With few clicks of a button, I can run a report on the encumbrance status (i.e. the funds set aside for purchases) and see if an encumbrance has been previously used up whenever I am unsure that an invoice has been paid. I can also run reports on past years funding information to see how a particular contract or purchase has been paid years prior when old staff used old processes.
  • MIP offers an "Excel export" and "PDF export" option for payment reports. This option often saves a lot of time, particularly when I have to make an entry for a transaction that has 100 lines of funding code and I am looking for where I made an error in my entry of debits. I am often off by only a few pennies in my entries and the ability to export my file into excel allows me to run a pivot table and find my error easily. This way, I save time and work smarter.
  • The MIP software often freezes in the middle of my line entries or it will freeze up when I run a report. That said, I often deal with documents that have over a hundred lines of code and this may be the reason why the software takes a minute or two to load properly.
MIP would be well suited for a small company with small average data entry lines for one transaction. It would be a terrible idea for a company that has more documents which require 100 lines of code or more. The reason being because as an accounts payable accountant, the MIP software freezes often whenever I need to enter transactions of 100 lines of code or more.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 22, 2019

Review: "My experience with Abila MIP Fund Accounting."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Abila MIP Fund Accounting is used by our HR, Accounting, and IT departments to manage employee, payroll, benefit, and budget data across the entire organization. In my experience the chief problem it addresses and the reason for continued use is it is an accounting system designed directly for non-profits.
  • Managing employees is a breeze.
  • Payroll and direct deposit is very easy to implement using MIP.
  • Plenty of canned reports and the option to build custom reports.
  • MIP was originally designed as various modules. Even with the current unified UI, it still feels like you are navigating between modules.
  • Their sales team can be frustrating to work with, it seems the resources they have to give to potential customers are limited.
In a non-profit entity, I have not seen a product as well conceived as MIP Fund Accounting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 16, 2019

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "Abila MIP Fund - A useful tool!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Abila MIP Fund Accounting is used by a couple of departments in the organization that focus on fund accounting. It helps us understand the sources of funding as well as generally keep things organized. It is really helpful as well because it matches compliance standards so we never had a worry in bringing them on as sometimes fundraising is risky.
  • Compliance Standards
  • Prepping for audits
  • Reporting capabilities
  • Interface
  • A bit hard to onboard
  • Sometimes it just takes a little longer to load
I think that Abila MIP Fund Accounting is well suited to helping nonprofits raise funds in an efficient, trackable, and compliant manner. It is relatively easy to understand and interact with the interface and I think that its display, in general, is pretty user-friendly. Another thing that we have used its product for is prepping for audits!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 15, 2019

"Abila MIP Fund Accounting review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Abila MIP Fund Accounting is used by a client of my company in a specific department for basic accounting.
  • Budget transaction is simple to use
  • Journal entry is intuitive
  • Check writing feature is very user-friendly
  • Increased Windows 10 support
  • Easier installation and upgrading features
Abila MIP Fund Accounting is well suited for the non-profit clients.
Read this authenticated review
Ryan Husbands, MBA, CPA profile photo
April 16, 2018

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "Abila MIP - Not my first choice"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Abila MIP is the accounting software we use for our organization's general financial needs. We maintain all accounting, for both operating finances and charitable endeavors, with this system. It's use is restricted to the Finance Department in our relatively small organization, but the reports we produce using this software is used by all members of our extended staff. All reporting to our Board of Directors is also used with Abila reports that we have developed ourselves over time.
  • Abila MIP Fund accounting is functional and robust. In terms of it's efficiency, it can provide the flexibility you'd want in regards to customizing it's functionality. But I do admit that I sometimes find it unwieldy to learn, and perhaps not the most intuitive software that I've ever come across.
  • We found the pricing to be competitive when compared to other softwares, and it has improved over the years we've used it, but at times the support could be better. I've noticed a big difference in ability between customer reps in the times I've called them.
  • I find that Abila MIP is not at all robust when compared to its competitors. I find a lot of the functionality limited when compared to other similar software suites, like Microsoft AX for example.
  • There are glitches with Abila MIP. Our auditors noticed that the bank reconciliation reports did not match the financial statements. When I called Abila customer support to find out why this was, he was evasive when I asked him whether this was a glitch or not. He finally admitted this was "a problem that had to be remedied".
Abila MIP gets the job done, but there are so many improvements that could be done to it. Also, I find that the waiting time to talk to Abila customer support could be improved...I often wait over 30 minutes to speak to someone.

I think that it's commensurate to the needs of any small to medium sized organization, but I wonder as to how competitive it would be for large scale entities.
Read Ryan Husbands, MBA, CPA's full review
Erich Koch profile photo
February 26, 2018

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Review: "MIP Good for use in FQHC's"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) and use MIP to keep track of all our financial accounting information. We use MIP to properly track our various grants via revenue/fund codes, and we also use MIP to scan in invoices and contracts so we can have everything stored digitally which makes finding and retrieving historical information easier. MIP is also used to keep track of our fixed assets, and we use MIP to track our various departments so individual financial statements can be produced for these areas with ease.
MIP is a good product if you understand its capabilities and are willing to invest the time to set up its many robust features. When I first used MIP I did not like the program due to never using it before. Once I started using it though, and began to understand its various features, I learned to love this program because it allows for finance professionals working in FQHCs to capture data in ways to satisfy federal reporting requirements for things like the UDS and Medicare Cost Report more easily. Also if you set it up correctly, you may not need as many people in the accounting department to get the work done thanks to distribution tables, stored ability to retrieve and use old JE entries, and being able to upload large amounts of data like a payroll.
We are looking to expand our use of MIP via the payroll module which we feel would eliminate having to import 3 entries that we have to do through ADP. MIP is a really good product provided it is set up correctly from day one and you take the time to learn how to use it's features properly.
  • It allows you to create folders in which you can scan invoices, business associate contracts, and contracts in general by vendor. This allows us to keep everything in one place digitally. The good thing about this is that it speeds up finding old invoices, and allows you to send audit selections to the auditor faster due to the items selected already being scanned in digitally.
  • MIP allows for the creation of distribution codes. These are nice as they allow you to charge out common costs to multiple departments in a quick manner. Without this feature, one has to key in manually many line items into the system each and every month. Plus this feature allows for consistency, and elimination of keying errors.
  • If you have the Chart of Accounts set up properly, this system allows you to better track items by departments, Revenue/Fund codes, Location, and by GL. This is important as it allows for better analysis, tracking and reporting.
  • As for the budgeting module, this is also nice as you have the ability to upload your budget via a CSV file or you can manually cut and paste your numbers from excel into the system as well. The key thing though is setting up your budget template to match the format in MIP when cutting and pasting.
  • They need to better explain how to create definition files so end users can learn how to upload large amounts of data into the system. As of right now, most end users have to contact a consultant to create the definition file and pay literally thousands of dollars in order to do uploads.
  • The financial statement reports could be better. When I created the income statement, the profit is shown as a credit, while a loss is shown as a debit which makes it look funny for presentation purposes. I now have to key everything into Excel so it doesn't do this. The reports could be better if it allowed a way to add statistics to the report. Most FQHCs present stats like visits, Days Cash on Hand and so on. It would be nice to be able to have these stats shown in the financial statements.
  • MIP needs to allow for easier copying and pasting items into the fields. In the Budget module, you can't right click and paste. You need to select the "Edit" and then paste from the drop down menu.
Because I work in the FQHC world, I would recommend this product specifically for any business or end user within that field. This product allows people in this field to comply with federal reporting requirements, makes it easier to track grants, and allows for the slicing and dicing of financial statements in many ways which is important in this field. This product is good for most day to day accounting functions and is pretty robust as well for an FQHC. This product is probably less appropriate for large healthcare systems where you want to keep track of statistics which this product cannot currently do.
Read Erich Koch's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (120)
8.7
Benefit plan administration (85)
7.1
Direct deposit files (101)
8.6
Salary revision and increment management (91)
7.0
Reimbursement management (70)
6.6
API for custom integration (74)
8.0
Plug-ins (47)
8.3
Single sign-on capability (218)
8.5
Role-based user permissions (261)
8.6
Dashboards (148)
6.8
Standard reports (281)
7.9
Custom reports (274)
7.9
Accounts payable (293)
8.5
Accounts receivable (205)
8.2
Cash management (188)
8.1
Bank reconciliation (261)
8.5
Expense management (209)
8.2
Time tracking (77)
6.9
Fixed asset management (126)
7.7
Multi-currency support (30)
7.3
Multi-division support (115)
8.4
Regulations compliance (87)
8.2
Electronic tax filing (139)
7.8
Self-service portal (88)
6.8
Standardized Processes (10)
7.2
Inventory tracking (1)
7.3
Automatic reordering (1)
1
Location management (2)
7.7
Manufacturing module (1)
1
Pricing (49)
6.7
Order entry (50)
7.2
Credit card processing (2)
2.5
Cost of goods sold (2)
2.7
Client data roll-up capabilities (42)
7.9
Configurable alerts (45)
7.7
Billing bypass (28)
7.1
Client template cloning (33)
7.1
Single sign-on (1)
4.5
Industry-specific versioning (34)
8.0
Legacy system data migration (40)
7.5

About Abila MIP Fund Accounting

MIP Fund Accounting™ is a configurable fund accounting solution that allows you to report and track information that is most important to you, your board and your supporters. According to the vendor, the solution can change and grow with you through your most difficult of fund accounting, human capital management and payroll decisions alike.

MIP Fund Accounting™ exclusively serves the financial management and fund accounting needs for thousands of nonprofits and government agencies. MIP™ has received the Campbell Award for several years in a row. The company focuses on your long-term needs, and allows you to custom design your system to enable you to manage effectively, get timely information, streamline processes and provide strong controls.

MIP™ is a fully integrated system with comprehensive functionality including fund accounting, procurement, budgeting, payroll, human resources, timekeeping, fixed asset management, grant management, dashboards, and more. The flexible structure enables you to manage and report on multiple cost centers at the general ledger level including multiple organizations, funds, projects, grants, programs, departments, locations, etc. The product can be deployed on-premise, in the cloud or self-hosted. Separately, you choose whether you would like to purchase/own the system or if you would like to pay by subscription.

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Features

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting Features
Has featureAccounts payable
Has featureAccounts receivable
Has featureCash management
Has featureBank reconciliation
Has featureExpense management
Has featureTime tracking
Has featureFixed asset management
Has featureMulti-currency support
Has featureMulti-division support
Has featureRegulations compliance
Has featureElectronic tax filing
Has featureSelf-service portal
Does not have featureGlobal Financial Support
Does not have featurePrimary and Secondary Ledgers
Does not have featureIntercompany Accounting
Does not have featureLocalizations
Does not have featureJournals and Reconciliations
Does not have featureEnterprise Accounting
Does not have featureConfigurable Accounting
Does not have featureCentralized Rules Framework
Has featureStandardized Processes
Inventory Management Features
Does not have featureInventory tracking
Does not have featureAutomatic reordering
Does not have featureLocation management
Does not have featureManufacturing module
Order Management Features
Has featurePricing
Has featureOrder entry
Does not have featureCredit card processing
Does not have featureCost of goods sold
Does not have featureOrder Orchestration
Does not have featureEnd-to-end order visibility
Does not have featureOrder exception Resolution
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Customization Features
Has featureAPI for custom integration
Has featurePlug-ins
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureSingle sign-on capability
Does not have featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Accounting Firm BPO Features Features
Does not have featureBranded client dashboards
Has featureClient data roll-up capabilities
Does not have featureClient data consolidation for benchmarking
Has featureConfigurable alerts
Has featureBilling bypass
Has featureClient template cloning
Does not have featureSingle sign-on
Does not have featureConfigurable client onboarding questions
Does not have featureCross-client workflow management
Has featureIndustry-specific versioning
Has featureLegacy system data migration

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Screenshots

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Competitors

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Abila MIP Fund Accounting Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No