Accruent EMS Software Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
366 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 158)

Mike Kraiman | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

EMS Software Saves Schedulers at the University of Oregon

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The University of Oregon is preparing to use EMS Software for event and class scheduling across our entire campus. Initial users will include the registrar's office, scheduling and event services, our alumni center and our business school; we hope to roll it out to additional departments within the next couple of years. This application and anticipated integration with other software will help aggregate our school's activities in a single source for better communication of information to customers and use by risk management services.
  • The graphic user interface is well-designed and intuitive, which promotes productivity.
  • It provides workflow functionality for schedulers and service providers to efficiently relay event details and status.
  • The user-defined fields add the ability to customize reservation and space records to better meet campus business needs.
  • Bookings contain a limited number of standard time fields (event start, event end, setup time, teardown time); more options here are desirable.
  • Resource records are not as robust as some of the other areas, and could benefit from additional standard and user-defined fields.
  • Applying blackouts to spaces (to prevent bookings during certain times) appears to be a challenge: we believe it can be done, but the process doesn't seem to be straightforward.
Comprehensive event scheduling software is a very specialized entity and there are only a handful of vendors that can deliver such a product. Based on previous experience with a competitor's application, I believe EMS Software is currently the best choice for a higher education environment where academic (class scheduling) and non-academic (event scheduling) departments wish to collaborate and share spaces for efficient use of campus facilities. Because the software is extremely easy to use and intuitive, departments that rely on revolving student workers for information entry will particularly benefit from the minimal training required to perform basic operations.
Again, I want to emphasize we are in the early stages of implementation and I can't really speak to the issue of scalability because of limited experience with this product. I can say EMS Software is designed to fit the needs of pretty much any institution, be it large or small, and feedback from other schools I've talked with indicates the vendor is very proactive in tailoring its product to the customer's needs.
  • We plan to integrate EMS Software with digital signage (through Four Winds) for dynamic display of room schedules; this will enhance patron experience.
  • We plan to integrate EMS Software with Outlook for greater user convenience across our campus.
  • We may integrate EMS Software with Localist (a web-based comprehensive calendar product) for improved promotion of events on and beyond our campus.
  • Future integration with OrgSync/Campus Labs (student organization database) and AMAG (door security devices) is also a possibility.
Read Mike Kraiman's full review
Nicholas Rohde | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2019

EMS Software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for scheduling academic classrooms, and for Event Spaces both for in house and external customer. It is being used across the whole organization. It helps us maximize the use of our space, schedule, track & allows users to book space.
  • Queries. I like the built in choices and the ability to make my own specific queries.
  • Ease of Movement of space. This helps tremendously as we deal with frequenct classroom changes.
  • Communication. Communication both internally and externally is very fluid in the program.
  • I would like more clear notifications when there are conflicts across long standing classes and events.
  • I would like more information about upcoming not definite bookings.
  • More customizable colors and layouts.
It’s great with external and internal bookings and for managing that space. It’s extremely user friendly and has an ease of use in training people new to the software.
It grows as we grow. We haven’t had any growing pains even as our campus expands and gets new additions. We are able to modify and we don’t lose a beat.
  • None
  • At this
  • Time
We have just upgraded to 44.1 and support helped us many times along the way.
Keeps our facility running smoothly!
Read Nicholas Rohde's full review
Dana Mims | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

Bucknell University Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is used across our institution. We use it for managing all classes and event spaces. We also use it to communicate needs with service providers - catering, event and classroom tech support, facilities, card services, guest housing, public safety, transportation, and card services.
  • EMS allows us to communicate with our campus partners in a number of ways - via auto reporting, notifications or reminders, depending on the preference of each user/group.
  • The customer service team is always well versed and extremely helpful in knowing the software so they can help us tailor the system to best suit our needs when we have questions.
  • Reporting options are really flexible. Having the option to create queries outside of the canned report options is truly helpful.
  • One area that needs to be better developed or looked into is the Master Calendar. As universities continue to looks for ways to provide one-stop shopping, it would be helpful to have a place that easily streamlines event data and event marketing in one place. Students want to go to one place to see events and plan events. Master Calendar was a good start but it is ancient and very disjointed from EMS.
  • We would love to have the webclient back. We have several users that use an ipad or apple computer and the webclient allowed that functionality.
  • One area for improvement is managing system changes. As the EMS administrator for the university, it would be great to be able to add a new building or category to EMS and add those items to all existing templates, reports, etc in one place.
EMS is a great tool for managing campus space and events. It is also well suited to manage service providers as they relate to events (though there are some restrictions for catering). It is however not the easiest to use to market those events, even though all of the event data is stored there.
I think EMS is a great resource for higher ed institutions, but I am not sure it would be worth the investment for small orgs or one-off departments.
  • Workday - we use the HR Toolkit to pull in faculty/staff and their departments /account number. We use Workday for HR and Finance Operations. We used Banner for these operations previously. We are currently trying to fix a few errors in the transition from Banner to Workday and its effect on the HR Tookit integration.
  • Banner - we still use banner for the academic import of classes into EMS.
  • ModoLabs - we pull events in Modo Labs for faculty/staff/students so they can go to one mobile place to see events for each day.
Since the merger, our team has found that there are a select few of the tech team that can actually support our questions. More often than not, we have already tried the suggestions that they give us and they are either unable to answer our questions and submit them as update suggestions or they have to be sent to supervisor for an answer. Once or twice in the last year we have received bad advice that resulted in system issues.

Prior to last year, the customer support system was at the top of the list of tech support departments that I have ever had to deal with, especially during our upgrade to 4.0.
In general EMS is very user friendly. The system is also flexible in that you can manage events and spaces in numerous ways allowing for flexible and stringent guidelines which can be designated by the expert users.
Read Dana Mims's full review
Khadra Abdulle | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

EMS tells story for those who do not use it every day!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using EMS in the business school at our university. We are also in the midst of bringing it onboard to use it across campus. We use EMS to book rooms, block rooms, upload classroom schedules, hoteling, breakout rooms bookings to host a variety of bookings (workshops, classes, internal meetings etc).
  • EMS has the ability to create reports on room usage and booking rates. This assistance us in justifying expansions in our building.
  • EMS also has the ability to show the rate of bookings, how many bookings are being creating, and by who. This allows us to hire more resouraces based on these stats.
  • EMS can improve on their copy and paste feature. Currently you can not copy and paste on multiple bookings without losing the original content of the copy. I have made a report regarding this.
  • Have more than two contacts on a reservation. For example, if there are three leads on a event, then we can only input 2 contact info
I would recommend EMS for our new nursing building that will be opening up in the next few months. EMS would be great because this nursing building will not only have classes taking place but also housing.
VERY GOOD. That is one of the reasons why we decided to invest into EMS. Was to be able to generate reports and stats so none-user such as executives would be able to understand the big picture and provide funding according.
  • We were able to link EMS on to our digital signage kiosks. NO MORE using easels and blackboards for signs. So much more professional and cleaner. Clients LOVE IT
  • We were also able to link EMS into our master calendar. Client would be able to book space for their event and information would be displayed on our Buinsess campus wide calendar. Great way to advertise your event.
Support is always available and when the EMS support time can not assist then find a solution and get back to us in timely manner.
Fairly easy to use and get use to it. We have people who are in their teens, mid 40's and 60's using this software.
Read Khadra Abdulle's full review
Ana Fernández Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

EMS is very flexible and a very powerful tool if you have a good training-- but not an accounting tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is used across Columbia University. My department is using EMS to manage four different departments, one of them is Catering which doesn't have any building related. I am working in finance, so I have a general view of the behavior of these department business and the final procedures like billing, invoicing, and analysis.
I can see how EMS is very flexible in terms of event management, daily reconciliations and implementing resources and categories for types of uses. However, in terms of analysis there's a certain lack of consistency. We are missing an alternative option to void invoices since we don't want our past revenue to change but rather have the alternative of having a credit invoice instead.
  • I can see how EMS in very flexible in terms of event management, daily reconciliations and implementing resources and categories for types of uses.
  • EMS has a very good tools of utilization analysis tools
  • EMS is so flexible that almost any type of business can use for event/bookings purposes
  • We are missing an alternative option to void invoices since we don't want our past revenue to change but have the alternative of having a credit invoice instead.
  • We would like to have more tax detailed reports
  • Query builder is a great tool but there is some room for improvement in terms of making even more easy to use
For any type of event business, EMS is well suited. Businesses like hotels, university, real state business... EMS can be adapted for those necessities.
However, for businesses which need more focus on accounting than event management, I would recommend other accounting tools like Navision or SAP.

Here at the conference I can see how other type of business are using same tools for a lot of purposes and in many different ways
  • We haven't integrated EMS yet
Read Ana Fernández Silva's full review
Trish Lofton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

EMS - it truly is a one size fits all software!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EMS on a department level for room scheduling in our student center. In addition to scheduling, we can provide room usage reports to upper university management.
  • Invoicing
  • Reports
  • Scheduling
  • Make it easier to select multiple rooms on a reservation
  • Create a common list of reports
  • Easier every day user interface
EMS is the perfect solution for room scheduling. There is no worry about double-booking a room, which is a costly mistake for any business. The software is capable of running so many reports for day-to-day usage as well as future projections in income.
This software efficiently manages any size of building for room scheduling.
  • Digital signage through Visix
Our organization has had very little issues with the EMS support team. No matter the size of the issue, technical support has been wonderful.
Overall, this software provides all of the features needed to manage a reservation system. There are several different plans that are available for larger companies/universities.
Read Trish Lofton's full review
Shalom Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

I could not do my job without EMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is being used to manage space and services in our Student Union Building. It addresses the the high volume of space requests, and inventory tracking. We use it to push a master calendar, bill for our event services as well as provide comprehensive space utilization reporting. With a 5 tier rat structure and varying access to different group EMS is the best tool for our job.
  • It has excellent stock and customization reports. We have a responsibility to communicate the activity in the building to multiple stakeholders (dining, custodial etc) EMS allows us to create a custom report and automate it to send so we never miss a communication
  • It has a robust amount of tools to assist you in both space and service management. The way the Process Templates (web intake forms) have been designed allow us to use logic based reasoning so that one form can handle complex events all the way down to a simple boardroom reservation.
  • It has numerous integrations available to help make a seamless event management process including connections to 7pointOps and Campus Labs Engage which we use for our Student Organizations
  • We desperately wish there was a simpler way to do invoicing notifications to our clients rather than the manual email process
  • It would be excellent to simplify the rate schedule and pricing plan process. There are almost too many ways to change pricing. The ability to import an excel document of new pricing would make our lives much easier.
EMS is a great tool for anyone looking to streamline their space booking and service delivery process. There are many products to schedule space however, EMS is a true event management software that building in the ability to notify the various vendors for an event of service deliver changes and requests
It is designed to scale as large or small as you need it. I truly have never run into an issue of it not being able to handle what I have asked of it. In my dream world I would be able to rebuild our database with all of the many upgrades in mind. EMS truly can be used for basic room scheduling or the large scale production of a welcome back week on a college campus
  • 7Point Solutions- This manages all of our operations staff workflow. It pushes event information and diagrams out of ems and allows our students access to it via mobile.
  • Digital signage. This allows us to control what is displayed in the building in real time and we are not locked to updating schedules via paper any time a change is made.
The support platforms and avenues I have tried to utilize have not furnished results. I get the best support asking colleagues or my account manager. If it is a big change I want to implement a I look to attend the conference
You can’t please everyone- EMS has given users a high degree of customization with that comes complexity for admin users updating things like pricing plans
Read Shalom Murphy's full review
Brian Pollitt | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 04, 2019

Review from a Guy "Behind the Scenes"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EMS Software primarily for room scheduling across our campus. Our courses are imported into EMS, which gives department heads the ability to see how their rooms are utilized. They can use this information to determine if more sections to a course can be added. It also allows other users across campus to search for and book a room without the worry of conflicting with a course. We started using EMS due to our old method of keeping track of room utilization becoming obsolete and no longer being supported.
  • Being able to import our courses from our SIS system makes it really easy to see which rooms are getting used the most.
  • The Virtual EMS component makes it really easy for anyone to search for and book a room on campus.
  • When setting up new users, there is an option to allow Single Sign-On, which means users have one less password to remember (and log ins are faster).
  • A few years ago, the automatic synchronization between EMS and our SIS system stopped working after an update. Support couldn't figure out the problem, so we were forced to use flat files, which is better than nothing but still a little annoying.
  • If I recall correctly, you can't really delete bookings in EMS. That may be a good thing in terms of keeping track of room utilization and such, but it'd be nice to be able to delete bookings that are either several years old or were used for testing.
EMS is great at showing a calendar of sorts for each room or building, and for seeing room utilization. Since I don't use EMS on a daily basis, it's difficult for me to really go into details.
Our College and user-base hasn't changed much since we first implemented EMS, so we haven't had to "scale" EMS either up nor down to meet our requirements.
  • We know that there is the ability to integrate with digital signage, but we haven't explored that option yet nor determined if it's even worth looking into.
I haven't had any interactions with EMS support for several years. However, we are in the process of migrating our installation from a physical server to a virtual server, and I contacted support for assistance. They responded quickly and gave me an outline of the upgrade/migration process. With their help, it seems like the migration will be smooth and painless.
Most new users would greatly benefit from (or possibly require) at least some training on how to use EMS, but the training doesn't need to be extensive for the users to get comfortable with it. Most functions are easy and straightforward, so users tend to not have many issues with it.
Read Brian Pollitt's full review
Cheryl Choat-Cobb | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2019

EMS - Easy Maintenance System for your reservation needs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using EMS for a little over a year now and have found it to be efficient and easy to use for both desktop and web based clients. We have very few issues and when we have, we have had a positive response to our questions. We are not yet using it campus wide, but hope to incorporate other buildings in the future. Right now our student union buildings and visitor's center are the only buildings that use EMS.
  • Easy scheduling
  • Convenient to look at what is taking place on campus
  • Multi-level information; seems endless on the amount of information you can track.
  • Knowing the scope of what can be accomplished before configuration process
  • Have had a few instances when the system was extremely slow.
  • Would like the capability of better separating features between the individual buildings
EMS is much easier to use than our previous reservation system. Even though only two departments are currently using this program, it can easily be modified to accommodate others on campus. It is user friendly on both the Desktop and Web-based clients. We now have the ability to view calendars for other buildings which makes it easier to help visitor's locate where their events are taking place.
Ease of use!
Read Cheryl Choat-Cobb's full review
Krysti Carlson Goering | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2019

EMS Saves Money and Time

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EMS across our whole university. We use it to schedule academic courses as well as events.
  • Scheduling rooms and controlling traffic in the rooms.
  • It is very helpful for resource providers to schedule their services in reservations within the system.
  • It helps with safety and security by providing transparency of all the events happening on campus so that the university police department can see what’s happening.
  • EMS does not provide a useful tool for scheduling people.
  • Billing multiple clients is difficult for one event.
EMS is extremely useful in scheduling and planning events on campus. One limitation is it t is difficult to schedule and bill multiple organizations/groups that are responsible for one event.
We have used EMS to schedule equipment check out to students as well as faculty and staff. We’ve also used it to schedule our mascot costume checkout. This has saved us in purchasing other software to schedule these items.
  • Digital signage open Scala.
  • EMS for Outlook.
  • EMS Room Sign App.
Sometimes support is slow to answer questions and generally our issues need to be escalated to an upper level tier of support because we need that knowledge.
Read Krysti Carlson Goering's full review
Brennan Carter | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2019

EMS: Event planning made easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize EMS at our student center to help manage and schedule all of our event spaces on campus. It used by our department and our department alone. The registrar's office utilizes 25Live. EMS helps us keep track of our events in a nice organized fashion and helps make life easy as an event planner, especially with the automated reports.
  • EMS Software is very easy to read if you're trying to get a quick scope of what is going on in your facilities.
  • The system is super easy to use, manage and customize.
  • Teaching others to utilize EMS is easy as user.
  • There are a lot of underutilized features I wish I knew were apart of the software from the beginning.
  • The book interface could be cleaner.
  • Other than that I enjoy using EMS.
EMS is the perfect software for planning events on a college campus. It is easy to book all spaces whether academic, outdoor or venue spaces.
This software is easy to utilize and expand on our campus.
  • We have not integrated EMS into any other softwares.
Read Brennan Carter's full review
Corrie Svehla | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 25, 2019

EMS the Easy Way

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EMS to schedule all our classes in our NU System and State Colleges; we are utilizing Academic and event scheduling. We have also spread our use to individual departments and all colleges at each of our campuses. Some of our areas are still slowly growing into it but will be fully utilizing it within the next year.
  • Academic Scheduling works really well with the Sync and Publish tools
  • Event Scheduling and the ability to leverage templates to the specific user groups
  • Workflows in the 44.1 version have improved greatly and help with the automated reporting is a great feature.
  • A deeper workflow would be great to help with a few of our more complex issues
  • Integrations of O365 to work more seamlessly with EMS web
The original need to expand EMS was to help with our need of Students to schedule study spaces without intervention from a person and we found that EMS did what we needed very well. We were able to build a template for our students to jump online and schedule the specific room and time they wanted their study space.
EMS scales overall very well, we have had some issues with the database after expanding to a state wide operation so some of our areas are having issues opening and accessing data.
  • Fourwinds digital signs
  • Outlook
  • Visix
Read Corrie Svehla's full review
Paul Tedder | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

EMS - our former room management system

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used EMS software to help manage our use of our facilities. As a church, it is critically important that we have a reliable way to reserve different rooms as well as communicate between our various teams about room usage (facilities, hospitality, event organizer, etc.).
  • EMS is extremely powerful, can fit most organizations needs, and has several different offerings based on use
  • EMS is a recognized industry leader and therefore integrates well with many third party packages
  • EMS provides phone support
  • It is hard to be all things to all people, over time we saw more focus on their larger clients in the design decisions they made.
  • Their back end structure and support of their software was stellar; best in class - however in recent years I have seen that drop off.
Well suited in school environments or churches like us. We just found a tool that was less cumbersome; met our needs and had a much better price point.
Read Paul Tedder's full review
Amy Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Thoughts on EMS from someone who "lives" in this software.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS software is used by our registrar's office as well as other departments across campus. In my department, Notre Dame Studios, we use EMS to schedule services, resources, and space. It has helped us manage all of our resources in one place.
  • EMS allows us to schedule our staff, equipment and rooms that are needed to complete our services.
  • EMS process templates allow flexibility in scheduling among different types of users across the University.
  • The book view in EMS allows the staff to view the day ahead in a glance.
  • When using the calculations option in pricing, it is almost impossible to report on those amounts. We currently have to run several reports to get the details needed. It can be very tedious pulling the data together.
  • When entering payments it would be ideal to allow a batch of reservations to be shown as paid, rather then entering each reservation number individually.
  • When processing invoices, it would be ideal if the invoices could be emailed as a mail merge instead of one invoice at a time.
The % calculation function is difficult to report on. The software is great for scheduling events and adding various resources to the event.
I am concerned about the softwares ability to handle higher traffic as more users start implementing the software. The system does already seem to have slow periods where there is some increased lag time.
  • We are using it with 7 points to communicate to staff regarding events.
  • We hope to get the financial piece integrated with our journal voucher tool kit process on campus for accurate money transfers.
  • We would love to have Google calendar implemented but not as the user or room requester but as a manager of all events.
I am not usually the one who makes large change requests but I would say my questions do get addressed.
A lot of the time it works well for us but it can be very challenging
Read Amy Williams's full review
Holly Hermanas | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

Rating EMS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use EMS to book rooms in our conference center and it is also used throughout the whole organization to book rooms in other parts of the office.

Helps us book rooms more efficiently.
  • We rarely run in to any conflicts while using EMS which is great for an organization that uses conference rooms regularly.
  • There are numerous reports you can run to keep organized. Reports for catering, AV equipment needed, more tables, chairs, etc...
  • Adrienne at EMS is always quick at responding and helping us troubleshoot any issues we may run in to.
  • Although the reports can be very detailed, sometimes we need them to be more simple for quick and easy reading.
  • We had issues with our panels with people checking in and it kicking them out of the room regardless.
Well-suited for a large conference center area with many requests from users. It would be great to 2-way sync in Outlook and EMS. I could see that being an issue in some companies.
This tool is working well for the types of events we book and use our conference center for.
  • The web app will be rolling out soon and I think it will be great for people to check in to rooms or book rooms through the app.
  • Outlook 2-way sync is something we would like to use in the future. Being able to cancel meetings through Outlook would benefit our company.
Read Holly Hermanas's full review
Ralston Kwan | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

A Review from a Canadian Post-Secondary Institution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is used to manage bookings from various room owners for different rooms such as classrooms, boardrooms, computer labs, and multipurpose rooms. Student group leaders use Virtual EMS to request bookings. EMS Web Client is utilized for users that are using Macs or a wireless connection.
  • Transparency for all bookings
  • Easy to view details of all rooms
  • Minimizes double bookings
  • Pushing events to a public calendar events
  • EMS web client is slow and clunky
EMS is perfect for a higher education institution for 1 database to book all events and classes while preserving room ownership for the various departments
The product is robust with platform services and the many API calls resulting in many different integrations such as teleconference, check-in, Google calendar, room signage, kiosks, and many more.
  • Digital signage vs Master Calendar RSS feeds
Read Ralston Kwan's full review
Brian White | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

I love EMS and think you should too

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our college has primarily used this to schedule all events and catering in campus. It primarily ran non athletic events, and we are now implementing the EMS course scheduling for the optimizations. A few specific departments really use it, primarily performing arts, and catering. Everyone else on campus uses it but not to its fullest extent and not if they can manage to not use it (no services or publicity required). The Grant and community outreach folks have finally discovered its usefulness for their reporting by principal investigators and for auditing purposes.
  • Room optimization
  • Parity for all users
  • Reporting
  • HVAC integration
  • Support (recent not past)
  • Customization of reports ( crystal or similar)
  • I sometimes feel like it would be interesting to get sandboxed versions of other users' really well implemented environments for others to look at. And probe into.
I feel like the key is to have the top admin. Higher education support without it a full implementation with all of the features is almost dead on arrival. User acceptance is the biggest hurdle in my mind, it lends itself to being used in many different ways if you are willing to think outside the box and let it manage your resources.
It will control anything you want, you just need to take the time to program it
EMS provides an open ended software solution to manage resources that is robust and has some flexibility. The end users must be willing to try things out and have buy in from their constituents to really make the most of the system. Yes it can be used to track anything you can think of, but will everyone know and remember to use the system if it is not accepted or enforced?
Read Brian White's full review
Jeris Creasey | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Users about to incorporate optimizing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EMS for bookings for events and meetings and exporting academic schedules to the academic book. We will be implementing the automatic room scheduling for the academic book very soon.
  • Virtual web-version for all --even non-users
  • Campus planning site easy to use
  • Great customization on our web reservations
  • Web-app that gives option to view events or academic classes
  • Virtual EMS web version shows academic class bookings as blocked out. Would be nice to see details of the booking.
This is excellent for room requests that are not a regularly scheduled semester class.
I have heard, but not actually yet seen the product deliver according to our need areas
  • We have not yet
Read Jeris Creasey's full review
Kellie Pnacek-Carter | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 21, 2019

EMS! Look No Further!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is an integral part of the management of space on both the Allendale campus and our downtown Grand Rapids campus. It is used to manage equipment inventory, event specifics, internal record-keeping, and much more.
  • Data collection and ability to access the data quickly
  • EMS does an excellent job of responding to and considering feedback as they continue to make their product better and better
  • The ability to use 7PointOps and Social Tables with EMS have been an invaluable to our operations
  • We have connectivity issues at times. I am not certain this is due to hardware on our end or software issues.
  • Regional customer groups are a good idea for us to take part in. This would allow us access to best practices of others
EMS can be utilized in many different ways by multiple partners on campus. It’s easy for me to illustrate this to our campus partners and training is not difficult.
We are able to use EMS for multiple room types successfully. It is also used by our Conference and Event Planning, Records and Registration and Athletics and Recreation departments.
  • 7PointOps
  • CVent
Over the past 1-1 1/2 years, it has taken a long time to get problems resolved
Read Kellie Pnacek-Carter's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

EMS 44.1 has major perks!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is used across the FDA organization for meeting room reservations and hoteling. By using EMS, users are able to confidently reserve a space for private meetings with colleagues, business officials and reserve temporary workspace for themselves with confidence that the space will be available for them when they show up at the reserved time.
  • EMS makes is very simple to find rooms for multiple dates in a recurring meeting. Since users at our organization tend to book rooms far in advance, the same room isn't always available for the complete duration of a recurrence and with EMS conflict resolution it allows the users to find an alternate room for an unavailable date with a few simple clicks without having to leave the current reservation.
  • EMS notifications are great for our users to remind them that they have spaced reserved. It's that extra reminder sometimes that pushes the user to cancel any reserved rooms that they no longer need. This enables the room to be reserved by others which is very valuable at the FDA.
  • The new ability to select and reserve a room from Browse Locations in 44.1 is a time saver and is very valuable to our users. Often times people need a last minute room which can be hard to find at the FDA, so to provide them with a schedule view of all rooms and find an opening and select it is very convenient and makes the process less time consuming.
  • EMS for Outlook 44.1 now has the ability to resolve any conflicts right from the add-in. This is the greatest benefit and improvement that has happened to the add-in. It very greatly reduces the number of conflicts created by users and helps prevent users from showing up to a room they think they have, but actually don’t.
  • I do wish that EMS Room Sign App had some simpler ways to authenticate users. We would love to have the End Now button activated on our Signs, but do not feel confident that other users won't use it inappropriately. If there was a simple way to authenticate without RFID or a card reader that would be a huge help. Perhaps an authentication code attached to the meeting reservation?
EMS Web App and EMS for Outlook are great with conflict resolution so that the users can always be confident that the room they are booking will not have any conflicts. Furthermore, when making a recurring reservation the users can find alternate rooms on dates that are unavailable at the same time as making the initial reservation.
It seems as though we can make most of the necessary changes to better suit our organization and users. Settings allow us to turn on and off some functionality that is or is not beneficial to our users. The multiple applications such as kiosk, mobile, web app, EMS for Outlook, room sign app, etc. ensure we are able to streamline and make the room reservation system as simple as possible for users with all ranges of technological knowledge.
  • The FDA uses EMS for Outlook and with the improvements made in 44.1, we really love the fast and convenient functionality offered through this add-in. Most of our users live and die by their Outlook calendars and so by having the capability to book a room at the same time as creating their meeting invite, it streamlines the process for them and ensures they always have a room, even if the date or time of the meeting changes.
  • We are also using EMS room sign app. We started with iPads and are now in the middle of making the switch to the Crestron tablets as these are much more suited for our needs with EMS and will provide a better experience for our users
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Easy to use; problems with customer service exist.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EMS across our campus to satisfy a number of different departments. The Events office uses it to reserve spaces and automobiles for each department on campus. The academic side reserves rooms for classes, review sessions, thesis defenses and study groups for a number of different department and student organizations.
  • We haven't had an issue with double bookings.
  • The ease of requesting a room for a certain time/date is said to be an easy process for the external users.
  • For the internal user, it's quite easy to reserve a space and send confirmation off to the requester.
  • Customer service has been an issue for us over the past year.
  • The ease of using it as a mobile device hasn't been something which I've found yet.
EMS Software is a major upgrade over the system which we've used in the past (Resource 25). It's easy to use. No need to worry about double bookings. The process of publishing is an easy task. Just the way we use EMS works for us. Every once in a while, I'll come across an issue (running reports, a class doesn't synch into a building, or what have you) - those problems I come across every now and then. I receive help from EMS. Those are problems which I wish didn't happen but they do.
I believe EMS stacks up well against other software because over the last 8-9 years - we've seen EMS change in appearance (to keep up with other software) and they've found a way to make it easier to use. From the day we first used it - it's changed for the better.
  • I haven't integrated any other tools with EMS at this point
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

IT is a scheduling option

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS is a technological solution to centralize academic scheduling at WSU. We also use for event scheduling.
  • It works well with scheduling events and has many features to execute events on campus
  • EMS provides a central location to see all academic events and nonacademic events happening on campus
  • EMS has a robust report tool
  • It is difficult to implement and learn how to use the system. The user interface could be improved.
  • It only optimizes location, which is only part of developing an academic schedule. I would like to see it optimize time as well.
It is well suited for event scheduling but struggles with the academic scheduling. There is a much simpler system that could be used to schedule academics.
The product has created more work for our academic departments rather than less work. Going back and forth between EMS and the database system is time-consuming and frustrating. There is no predictive analytics to help departments schedule courses. Academic scheduling if far more complex than just optimizing on location.
  • We have not integrated with any of the suggested products.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

EMS great for conference center space

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EMS organization-wide. We have a small conference center plus internal meeting rooms and conference bridge lines that we book through EMS. We have different price structures for internal and external clients and use various resources including AV, catering, and facilities.
  • Flexibility. We can easily have different rate plans for our internal departments and for our external clients.
  • The new web app is extremely intuitive and makes it super easy for general staff to reserve space.
  • We can’t automatically associate an additional resource with external reservations. We charge a facilities set up fee for every room and currently have to add it manually to every booking.
  • There’s no “rapid entry” of resources. Example, our event coordinators enter an agenda for every meeting but can’t do it all at once—they have to go back and enter another line for each different agenda item.
I can’t speak for other industries, but for us as an event-based [company] it works well. We can easily view and book space, add AV/catering, etc., and all appropriate parties can get notified.
There are very few things we want to do with EMS and can’t.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2019

EMS Easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our firm has been using EMS software for the last 20 years. The software has streamlined our conference room booking and catering/hospitality services. We use many of the reports and email confirmation service.
  • Automated Reporting
  • Sign
  • Mobile App
  • Installing Signs for each conference room showing availability and on the fly reservations.
  • Streamline reports
  • Implementing mobile app in the future.
  • Currently all of the features are meeting our requirements.
Incorporate the Sign App in our space to simplify requesting the space. This will save valuable time for our lawyers not having to make several calls to reserve the space.
Easy to use and easy to upgrade to newest version.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2019

Pretty decent product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMS Software has been great in helping several areas within our university schedule events as well as complete course classroom assignments which would otherwise be incredibly cumbersome.
  • Easily assign rooms
  • Find appropriate rooms for events
  • Everyday use intuitive
  • Multiple features to suit a variety of needs.
  • It would be nice to have little information boxes for different fields/options that explained a bit about what that feature does and how it is important
  • It can be daunting to try to explore possibilities of features that are currently not in use. It would be nice to have an option for a help section that easily allowed you to see how you might fully take advantage of the features you already have access to for learning/ exploring purposes.
  • I can't open another window within EMS (activity book for example) without finishing my room assignment or reservation task. However, sometimes I really need to see two things at once and end up having to open another EMS entirely on a different monitor to be able to accomplish what I need to do (for example I may have two back to back classes that need to be in the same room or close, so I need to be able to see options for each class side by side.)
EMS has a wide range of features that can be well adapted for a large variety of needs. For the most part, it is very appropriate for most instances, but much smaller companies/institutions may find all the features unnecessary/overwhelming.
I don't understand the question
  • Not yet using
I have never used it.
Things can always be improved
Read this authenticated review

About Accruent EMS Software

Accruent's EMS Software connects people with the right spaces, resources, and technology, solving today’s workspace and scheduling challenges and enabling organizations to get the most from their modern work and learning environments.

Employees want the flexibility to work from anywhere and to collaborate using their preferred technologies in a safe and social environment. At the same time, leaders need to drive value for their businesses by making the best possible use of their real estate footprint. Multi-use spaces, hoteling or hot desking, and open floor plans can provide efficiencies, but not when burdened with redundant, outdated tools, and processes disconnected from the rest of a business.

So EMS Software is provided as an intelligent, enterprise-class scheduling and resource management software platform, configured and integrated to a unique office environment. The vendor describes it as a management tool that offers the flexibility employees demand, while providing users the visibility, control and insights needed to drive value for the organization.The vendor further boasts deep industry expertise, with over 35 years in the business .

Accruent EMS Software Features

Has featureSelf-Service Meeting Booking
Has featureDesk Hoteling
Has featureDigital Signage
Has featureVideo Conferencing Integration
Has featureWeb-Based Booking
Has featureManaged Space and Events Approval Workflow
Has featureInvoicing and Billing
Has featureUtilization Reporting and Custom Queries
Has featureCatering Management
Has featureAcademic Planning and Optimization

Accruent EMS Software Integrations

Microsoft Teams, G Suite, Workday Student, Microsoft Outlook, Crestron Room Signs, IAdea Room Signs, Embrava Desk Signs, Envoy Visitor Mangement, Zoom Video Conferencing

Accruent EMS Software Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Accruent EMS Software Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Forum/Community

Accruent EMS Software Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web