TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/in/KT/EF3739DTZI65.JPEGAcronis Backup - Well Suited for Mid-Sized BusinessAcronis Backup is being used by the entire division. We use both the onsite storage and cloud storage of backups. This solves our requirement for offsite backup storage. We also backup every workstation, since the software developers have very specific configurations which would take a lot of downtime to get configured the way they prefer.,Image based backups. After the initial backup, the backups happen quite quickly. This allows for multiple backups per day. We have different classes of data which requires different retention policies. Acronis makes that easy to manage. Restoration can be done directly to hardware or to a VM. This makes it easy to migrate a physical server to a VM.,The cloud based backup and the local backup don't talk to each other. I can never get one answer on how much total cloud storage is being used by both the cloud managed endpoints and the locally managed endpoints. Licensing could be easier to manage. Adding new licenses seems a bit manual. Deploying agents doesn't always work from the console. I have to occasionally do a manual installation.,9,I think we spend less time managing backups. We are able to ensure that every computer is backed up. Previously it was more of a manual process for each user. It has helped us meet our compliance needs.,9,Windows Server Linux Windows PC Mac Microsoft Hyper-V, Microsoft Office 365 Amazon EC2 Acronis Cloud Microsoft SQL Server Microsoft SharePoint, Microsoft ActiveDirectory,Datto, StorageCraft Cloud Backup and IDriveSimple Acronis ReviewAcronis is being used by our location as our main means of backing up our data on a daily and bi-weekly basis. We had originally switched for ease of use reasons, after positive peer review, and due to previous usage of and familiarity with Acronis. We are able to ensure timely backups of our data across multiple machines that are easy to access, manage, and store.,Obtaining Data Recovery. The process of recovering any information from a backup is straight forward. There has yet to be any issues with any recovery we've attempted. Setting schedules for incremental and full backup dates/times. We need to run our backups at very specific times and the ability to assign different schedules for backing up various locations is very helpful. User-Friendly. All information is readily accessible in a way the flows nicely. Placement of different option makes sense as you go through the processes of install, setup and everyday usage/maintenance.,There are times when accessing the backup files takes an extended amount of time, as they do not always become usable quickly. It is a small complaint, as they never fail to open after a few minutes. Being able to create backups on removable USB hard drives that are taken away for offsite storage when full could be better. You can make it happen but the process doesn't feel as smooth as the rest of the software. It would be nice to be able to compare the contents of multiple backups at one time in order to be able to more quickly see the difference between them when searching for information changes requested by users.,9,Peace of mind. It is good to know that at any time we can have information restored for our users within minutes. Previous software needed an extended amount of time and failed often. Data backup and recovery have been a breeze. As previously stated, we have had no issues with the process of restoring data, unlike we had with previous software.,9,Windows Server,Symantec Backup Exec,5,5,Full Backups Incremental backups Data recovery on a low end user scale Full server recovery,can easily be used with cloud physical backups to an external drive have been used recovering to a different computer for data forensics,Not sure other than continuing to use it to save our confidential data Using it with a Vault system on a PDM,10,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product,I wouldn't change our evaluation nor selection process. I'd do it exactly the same way as we did before. It works, what works just works. If is isn't broken, don't fix it.,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was minimal,Using Acronis to read our previous backups from Auto Exec Using Acronis to read very old backups from a much earlier version of Acronis Making sure license are used properly among servers.,10,Yes,9,No,Yes! We recently had an entire server crash. This was a non windows OS based server that housed a database. We have had Acronis backing up the mysql backup. Luckily we did this as we lost the mysql backups at the same time as the total server failure. It was an electrical failure so all was lost. In rebuilding we used the backup provided by Acronis to save the day.,Recovery of backups from an external drive. Recovery of backups through a NAS system. Setting schedules for backups for both full and incremental. Getting notifications on a regular basis of backup start times, completion, any issues that may come up.,Initial setup takes a little time, but no more than any other backup utility that I've used in the past I haven't had any issues with it being over bearing or cumbersome,Yes, but I don't use it,9Acronis Backup, the backup solution for you!Currently, we are using Acronis to backup our VMware hosts as well as the VMs living on the hosts. When I first came on board with our company there was no cloud backup happening.,Automated backups to both cloud and local sources. The recovery process is incredibly well implemented. The have some very good support.,I wish there was a better way to backup the contents of a NAS, currently I have to do a "Machine" backup and then point to the NAS folder/s from there.,9,I've not had to use the recovery process yet, but I feel comfortable having my company's data in the cloud.,10,Windows Server Linux VMware vSphere Acronis Cloud Microsoft SQL Server Microsoft ActiveDirectory,Unitrends Recovery Series Backup Appliance,1,1,Worry Free Backups Cloud and Local Storage Options Easy Recovery Quick Updates to support VMware,I'm using it to backup my primary NAS to the Cloud Also using it to backup my Primary NAS to an offsite NAS!,Recovery is always something you'd want going forward.,10Acronis - imaging your data without concernAcronis Backup is used as the primary solution for data backup and recovery. It is a software-only solution so media to write to is up to the customer to bring to the table. Acronis works by creating images of servers that can be mounted or restored and works as a bare-metal recovery option for most servers if the need arises.,An image-based backup solution for small to medium businesses Easy to mount and restore small or large amounts of data Scalable as backup needs change over time,Partial backup solution, still requires bring-your-own-media Full image backups take longer than incremental-based solutions,7,Great, easy to use backup solution for small to medium businesses Can be cumbersome for management with complex deployments Requires physical interaction to swap media and obtain offsite backups (unless sending data offsite is an option),6,Windows Server Windows Server Essentials Windows PC Mac VMware vSphere Microsoft Hyper-V, Citrix XenServer RedHat Virtualization Linux KVM Microsoft Office 365 Microsoft Azure Microsoft Exchange Server Microsoft SQL Server Microsoft SharePoint, Microsoft ActiveDirectory,Carbonite Server Backup, Veeam Backup & Replication and Veritas Backup ExecAcronis BackupAs a Service Provider, we have completed over 500+ implementation which is more than 5000+ Workstations, 1000+ Servers and many more. As a suite, Acronis offers business continuity, sort of Data Archiving, and a complete backup. It eliminates the use of multiple products to create a secured data loss pattern.,One suite or one console for heterogeneous environments. Administrator can get alerts, notifications and complete control of backup and data management. As an implementer, backup installation and configuration is very easy. Backup schedule management is super easy. User can create backup policies as per company instructions or user patterns.,Real time backup has more demand now. If Acronis can implement snapshots with a real time feature, it will be a game changer. Acronis support needs a lot of improvement. Response from the sales team is not that good. Acronis should revise the pricing as well.,8,Data recovery from a loss is not a problem when you have Acronis. One click strategy to recover any files/folders. Eliminates the need for multiple products, multiple consoles. Support of virtual platforms covers part of Disaster Recovery (Cold DR),7,Windows Server Windows Server Essentials Linux Windows PC Mac VMware vSphere Microsoft Hyper-V, RedHat Virtualization Linux KVM Microsoft Office 365 Microsoft Azure Amazon EC2 Acronis Cloud Microsoft Exchange Server Microsoft SQL Server Microsoft SharePoint, Microsoft ActiveDirectory,Carbonite and Veeam Backup & Replication
Windows, Linux, Mac
Acronis Backup
73 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Acronis Backup Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

Acronis Backup
73 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 73 vetted Acronis Backup reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 34)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Kevin Cooper profile photo
August 23, 2018

Review: "Acronis Backup - Well Suited for Mid-Sized Business"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Acronis Backup is being used by the entire division. We use both the onsite storage and cloud storage of backups. This solves our requirement for offsite backup storage. We also backup every workstation, since the software developers have very specific configurations which would take a lot of downtime to get configured the way they prefer.
  • Image based backups. After the initial backup, the backups happen quite quickly. This allows for multiple backups per day.
  • We have different classes of data which requires different retention policies. Acronis makes that easy to manage.
  • Restoration can be done directly to hardware or to a VM. This makes it easy to migrate a physical server to a VM.
  • The cloud based backup and the local backup don't talk to each other. I can never get one answer on how much total cloud storage is being used by both the cloud managed endpoints and the locally managed endpoints.
  • Licensing could be easier to manage. Adding new licenses seems a bit manual.
  • Deploying agents doesn't always work from the console. I have to occasionally do a manual installation.
I actually think that it works great for most scenarios.
Read Kevin Cooper's full review
Ethan Nick profile photo
August 22, 2018

Acronis Backup: "Simple Acronis Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Acronis is being used by our location as our main means of backing up our data on a daily and bi-weekly basis. We had originally switched for ease of use reasons, after positive peer review, and due to previous usage of and familiarity with Acronis. We are able to ensure timely backups of our data across multiple machines that are easy to access, manage, and store.
  • Obtaining Data Recovery. The process of recovering any information from a backup is straight forward. There has yet to be any issues with any recovery we've attempted.
  • Setting schedules for incremental and full backup dates/times. We need to run our backups at very specific times and the ability to assign different schedules for backing up various locations is very helpful.
  • User-Friendly. All information is readily accessible in a way the flows nicely. Placement of different option makes sense as you go through the processes of install, setup and everyday usage/maintenance.
  • There are times when accessing the backup files takes an extended amount of time, as they do not always become usable quickly. It is a small complaint, as they never fail to open after a few minutes.
  • Being able to create backups on removable USB hard drives that are taken away for offsite storage when full could be better. You can make it happen but the process doesn't feel as smooth as the rest of the software.
  • It would be nice to be able to compare the contents of multiple backups at one time in order to be able to more quickly see the difference between them when searching for information changes requested by users.
I don't see why this software would be 'less suited' for usage when compared to other software for the purpose of backing up your data. It does what it is meant to do in a way that is easy to understand. The user interface is intuitive overall, setup feels standard without anything that feels out of the ordinary, and we have not had any problems with restoring information as needed.
Read Ethan Nick's full review
Mitch Hubbell profile photo
August 14, 2018

Review: "Acronis Backup, the backup solution for you!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we are using Acronis to backup our VMware hosts as well as the VMs living on the hosts. When I first came on board with our company there was no cloud backup happening.
  • Automated backups to both cloud and local sources.
  • The recovery process is incredibly well implemented.
  • The have some very good support.
  • I wish there was a better way to backup the contents of a NAS, currently I have to do a "Machine" backup and then point to the NAS folder/s from there.
It's a well-rounded software package for backing up virtual machines, I've not used it for physical machines yet but I'd bet it works just as well. I would however like improvements to be made in the backup process of NAS folders.
Read Mitch Hubbell's full review
Derek Schroeder profile photo
July 16, 2018

Acronis Backup Review: "Acronis - imaging your data without concern"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Acronis Backup is used as the primary solution for data backup and recovery. It is a software-only solution so media to write to is up to the customer to bring to the table. Acronis works by creating images of servers that can be mounted or restored and works as a bare-metal recovery option for most servers if the need arises.
  • An image-based backup solution for small to medium businesses
  • Easy to mount and restore small or large amounts of data
  • Scalable as backup needs change over time
  • Partial backup solution, still requires bring-your-own-media
  • Full image backups take longer than incremental-based solutions
Small to medium businesses will greatly appreciate the price-point and ease of use as a backup solution. May not be the best solution for long-term retention, but that is based on the company and their media.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review
Rishan Ahmed profile photo
October 01, 2018

User Review: "Acronis Backup"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As a Service Provider, we have completed over 500+ implementation which is more than 5000+ Workstations, 1000+ Servers and many more. As a suite, Acronis offers business continuity, sort of Data Archiving, and a complete backup. It eliminates the use of multiple products to create a secured data loss pattern.
  • One suite or one console for heterogeneous environments. Administrator can get alerts, notifications and complete control of backup and data management.
  • As an implementer, backup installation and configuration is very easy.
  • Backup schedule management is super easy. User can create backup policies as per company instructions or user patterns.
  • Real time backup has more demand now. If Acronis can implement snapshots with a real time feature, it will be a game changer.
  • Acronis support needs a lot of improvement.
  • Response from the sales team is not that good. Acronis should revise the pricing as well.
Acronis is well fitted in SMBs/Medium Enterprises who have a heterogeneous environment. When it comes to high end systems like Mainframes, Oracle Backup etc. Acronis cannot perform. It also doesn't have a good support agent.
Read Rishan Ahmed's full review
Richard N. Silverstein, M.D. profile photo
August 16, 2018

Acronis Backup Review: "The best back up system and support system that I have ever experienced since using personal computers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used every day for local and cloud backups. It provides our company with bulletproof data security.
  • Reliable on site back up
  • Reliable cloud back up
  • After having to use this product for many years I cannot think of any necessary improvements. It performs flawlessly and has rescued my data numerous times over the years with speed and precision.
In my medical practice I handle a large volume of data and I have found this product to perform flawlessly. The support is the best that I have experienced anywhere.
Read Richard N. Silverstein, M.D.'s full review
Steve Redman profile photo
August 14, 2018

Acronis Backup Review: "Simple, scalable, reliable and speedy - nothing comes close to its peace of mind."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to backup all City servers in every department. It addresses the need to recover without installing Windows first. Very easy to recover data and much quicker than the competition.
  • Rapid backup and restore
  • No need to load OS prior to restore
  • Easy to use
  • Ransomware protection
  • Backups to multiple locations at the same time
Due to its comprehensive backup method, I would never consider other options. No other product comes close to the speed and ease of protection.
Read Steve Redman's full review
No photo available
August 05, 2018

Acronis Backup Review: "Backup and restore with ease"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Acronis to backup a handful of our clients' servers. We use this to backup data in the event that we need to restore their information. We can back up their information using a schedule and we can manage how long we keep that particular backup. Acronis gives us the option to back up selective files or the entire machine.
  • User-friendly interface makes it easy to manage.
  • Easy to restore files/systems.
  • Acronis supports mobile devices such as Android and Apple.
  • Not a lot of information about the reports unless you want them emailed.
  • Adding more to their knowledge base would be helpful.
  • The cost can be expensive if you have a lot of customers.
If you don't have to manage your client's email and their email archiver Acronis works very well. If you're looking for just a backup service for what's on a particular computer then Acronis is perfect. It is easy to use, so newcomers are not overwhelmed with features.It does not include as robust features as Barracuda and Cloudberry, but it does work well as just a backup.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 19, 2018

Acronis Backup Review: "Fast and Easy Image Backup Software"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Acronis Backup to backup all of our physical workstations and servers daily for the entire organization. It is a perfect backup solution. You can schedule backups to any day of the week and any week of the month with a specific time. You get notifications via email for completed and failed backups.
  • Image backup and restore are very quick
  • Recover files and folders directly from File Explorer
  • Easy and Quick Installation
  • The web interface is slow and can kick you off from time to time
  • I do find that the error messages are hard to decipher if/when a backup is unsuccessful. However, support is very good in helping out the solution
  • The user interface is not intuitive enough to find failures in backups or track logs with alerts or errors
We have used this to recover a folder that was accidentally deleted by a user. Brilliant and works fast too.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 08, 2018

"Acronis Backup - Keeping your Corporate Family Safe"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Acronis Backup is used throughout our organization, but it is primarily utilized in the Information Technology sections. It addresses the business problems of keeping our data reliably and transparently backed up. Some solutions are more complicated and difficult to implement, while others do not have the rich functionality that Acronis gives to our team.
  • Multiple platform support
  • Ease of management
  • Helps with ransomware protection
  • Great backup speeds
  • RTO lags a little bit behind the speeds that are claimed in the literature
  • Remote management could be better
  • Cloud storage should be included
  • Lack of popular 3rd-party cloud backup targets
It is well-suited for enterprise use, even when multiple platforms are being utilized. You need to have a reliable network and a competent IT staff (which most are). It is less appropriate for very small companies or companies that have disparate locations across the globe. Acronis Backup Standard might be more suited for smaller companies.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 26, 2018

Acronis Backup Review: "Acronis is a dream!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Acronis Backup to easily manage all of our local backups. It is very much easy to use and configure. Anytime we have needed to recover from backup, it has been a piece of cake. As you know, this is crucial when something needs to be restored. I have complete faith in Acronis and appreciate it coming through in the clutch when needed.
  • This software is really easy to implement. You are up and running within a day.
  • Restores are extremely easy to implement.
  • When you do need to contact support they are really helpful.
  • It can be a little expensive.
  • You have to install an agent on your servers.
  • I did not have great luck with it backing up Linux servers.
If you are on a Windows environment and you want to implement a super easy backup solution, Acronis will do the trick. There are other pricier backup solutions out there, but if your environment is small and you only need to backup locally, it works like a dream. I was always pleased whenever I had to restore a backup.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

Review: "Acronis Backup Advanced gets the job done!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Acronis Backup advanced is used in my organization to handle all user workstation backups. It is used across the organization as a backup solution. It addresses all of our workstation backups in order to secure recovery in the event of a workstation failure.
  • Acronis backup allows you to set up several backups at once to different locations for redundancy.
  • It allows you to easily search the local network to find backup locations.
  • It allows you to set up several different time frames for backups ie: weekly, monthly, daily etc
  • You can find local resources but you cannot search the network globally. You have to input an IP/DNS name to search. Whereas in the previous version 11.7, you could search and find locations without having to use these references.
  • The interface is somewhat slow to load
  • The licensing is very difficult to navigate if you are using Acronis in different locations because you have to have a controller on different subnets and you can't sync the licensing across the network
  • Also, keeping track of what the computer is using what license if you have not added to the management controller is difficult.
  • My biggest issue with Acronis Backup Advanced 12.5 is if the hard drive on your machine starts to fail you cannot run the software to back up the machine. I spent a lot of time with support with just this issue and they could do nothing until I replaced the hard drive but at that point, I could not run a backup so I had to use the oldest backup I had.
Acronis is great if you have a workstation failure and need a quick recovery. As long as you are recovering to a like machine the recovery is fairly easy.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

Acronis Backup Review: "One man team. Always works"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Acronis Backup to backup all of our physical hosts, virtual machines, and 30+ workstations for our key users. All of our critical VM's are backed up every 15mins incrementally 24/7 into our local NAS unit.
  • Automatic backup deletion based on the age of backup
  • Ability to restore a VM to a host in minutes
  • Ability to check back up integrity after a backup completes.
  • When active protection detects a file that it deems malicious but it isn't, there should be an easier way to whitelist it for your entire company.
  • Support, if ever needed, takes a very long time to respond. We pay for the maintenance and expect speedy service so sometimes it is frustrating.
Acronis backup works really well with being able to back up a physical host and the VM's that reside in it with one license. A lot of other vendors were on a per client bases.
Read this authenticated review
Wagner Dias profile photo
December 15, 2017

Acronis Backup Review: "Acronis@work"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's been used for image and other application backups that are replicated to multiple vaults in different locations.
  • Full image backups
  • Full restores
  • Full backups of GPT disks
  • Better reporting capabilities
  • Support assistance would benefit from more training
  • Increased support team size
  • Support team doesn't always get back to you in a timely fashion or as agreed
If properly configured it can work well. However, issues aren't normally easy to fix.
Read Wagner Dias's full review
No photo available
February 20, 2018

Acronis Backup Review: "Acronis is one of my most important software packages to my business."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Acronis backup to image our work PCs and hard drives of our clients. We use it primarily to image existing hard drives to a new larger traditional hard drive or a smaller SSD hard drive.
  • Image failing hard drives
  • Move existing hard drives to new SSD
  • Local backup of existing workstations
  • The UI can be hard to navigate for new users
  • Acronis sometimes does not show progress during a clone so it's hard to tell the status
A shop needing to clone hard drives in an efficient way to clone hard drives.
Read this authenticated review
Paul Uslan profile photo
December 08, 2017

Acronis Backup Review: "Backup for Drs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Acronis Backup to backup my entire computer with all my patients' information and records.
  • It does incremental backups so I do not need to worry about not having enough space on my backup drive
  • It schedules when the office is closed so does not tie up the computer during the day.
  • Advises if backup was successful and if not, where the error lies.
  • I had a hard drive error previously on my computer and the backup corrects and does not bring forward any corrupted files.
  • Easier set up for people not very computer savy, and unable to express backup path correctly in computer terms. Program finds all it needs for set up.
Perfect for internal backup without having to use cloud base solutions. I don't like have patient data sitting out there.
Read Paul Uslan's full review
Robert A. Cambridge, M.D., M.B.A. profile photo
December 06, 2017

Acronis Backup Review: "Excellent software for my needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clinic server backup to RDX media. Addresses the need for complete restoration of patient medical charts in a very short period of time in the case of a system crash.
  • Backs up entire server.
  • Easy to install, easy to configure.
  • Flexible with types of media it uses to backup.
  • Does not recognize/individually backup MySQL Server software. Therefore, with my server if the database goes bad the entire server has to be restored. Apparently, Acronis only recognizes name-brand products.
  • Interface seems to be web-based. If the internet is down, the server cannot be restored.
If MySQL Server database crashes, the whole server has to be restored rather the just the database. It would seem that if the internet is down, the server cannot be restored due to a web-based interface.
Read Robert A. Cambridge, M.D., M.B.A.'s full review
Boon Hian Lim profile photo
December 06, 2017

User Review: "Acronis Backup Advance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Acronis Backup is being used in our department to back up the main servers in our infrastructure to onsite and offsite backup as part of our DR solution. The solution was chosen due to its entire image backup solution which makes it easy to recover from file level to entire server restoration.
  • Simple Backup Plan setup
  • Easy restoration
  • High Compression level
  • Dashboard that clearly provides necessary information
  • Provide extract of data from the cloud instead of transmitting through internet during data recovery (DR)
Acronis backup has perfect restoration across hardware where the success rate is so high. We had successfully migrated our database server using acronis backup advance with their universal restore function which allowed us to bypass the reconfiguration process. Upon a complete restore, the database server is up and running without further configuration.
Read Boon Hian Lim's full review
Andre' Forbes profile photo
November 30, 2017

"Acronis Backup Literature Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Acronis in our IT department. I utilize Acronis to backup my server and main company files. In addition, I am backing up to the cloud for redundancy. The business problem that Acronis addresses is disaster recovery. If there is a hard drive crash on the server, Active Directory is backed up and also the server operating system. If there is a fire there is an additional backup to the cloud.
  • Acronis emails the administrator update every day on critical errors, warnings, and failures.
  • The backup is smooth and quick.
  • Very little processing resources are used from the operating system.
  • The 24 hour support is great!
  • All the technicians are very knowledgeable about the use of the Acronis product.
  • I would like to see Acronis provide virtual server operations in the product. In other words, every aspect of the Acronis product is cloud-based.
  • Supply the customer with full virtual backup, bring all functions to the cloud. No onsite hardware.
Acronis is well suited when an organization is trying to be cost-effective and more automatic. If your company is a more manual operating company Acronis is probably less appropriate for your business.
Read Andre' Forbes's full review
Dean Eumenidi profile photo
November 30, 2017

Acronis Backup: "Server Essentials Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Acronis to backup my entire server for the entire business. I do this a few times a week. I also use Acronis to backup workstations so if something happens, I can restore a new hard drive in a matter of minutes instead of taking a whole day of reloading a new hard drive from scratch.
  • Mirror image of storage device/hard drive to an external source
  • Ease of loading the backup to restore a hard drive from the external source
  • A "must Have" for any business that uses computer technology for business
  • A little explanation or help topics on setting up server backups
Well suited for backup of servers or personal computers with multiple hard drives. I only use this program for what it is intended to do....backup information you do not want to lose, so to answer a less appropriate scenario, I can not answer.
Read Dean Eumenidi's full review
Paul Heihn profile photo
November 30, 2017

Acronis Backup Review: "Very happy user."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Acronis to backup data locally and in the cloud. Acronis has provided one solution to backup data in several locations.
  • Acronis works everyday and reports every success or failure. We can count on it performing.
  • The setup was difficult for a small business with limited IT skills. However, one call to customer service resolved the issue completely.
Acronis is well suited to being one platform for all of our data backup needs.
Read Paul Heihn's full review
No photo available
December 08, 2017

Acronis Backup: "A real Acronis review in a mission critical environment."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Acronis because it scans for encrypted files. This was a huge problem for our clients because the new variants of the crypto bugs now go after the backups. Acronis has been amazing at preventing bad data from being backed up, we are now rolling it out to all of our clients.
  • We love the daily status updates. It’s very simple and easy to use.
  • It’s super fast, better than anything we have used in the past.
  • Honestly it was very easy to use, if I had any recommendations it would be to make the recovery process a little more intuitive. We still love the product.
Any areas where mission critical data needs to be backed up. I no longer worry about our clients' backups. They simply work.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 08, 2017

User Review: "Acronis Backup 12.5 - Our Story"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We adopted Acronis Backup V12.5 when we upgraded our VMWare environment. We needed a solution to backup all of the VMs and then replicate the image to an off-site location. It is managed by the IT department and we hope to replace the Symantec BackupExec system that is/was being used.
  • You can administer all of your backups from a single browser-based GUI. No matter what the instance of Acronis is - local agent install on a physical device .... a VM on a host or even an Apple device. Alerts can be set for errors or warnings for admins to act upon if necessary.
  • Restores can be undertaken in a number of ways which is really useful. You can restore a whole VM to the same host or a new one. You can convert physical machines to a VM and a very useful feature is the ability to dive into the backup file and pluck individual files and thus restore single files quickly - good for file servers etc.
  • One of the requirements was to have the ability to replicate the backup files to an off-site location - This can be set up easily within the backup plan eliminating the need (for us at least) for tape-based solutions.
  • Stability - Although we have seen improvements in the recent later releases, we did experience stability issues in the not too distant past.
  • We have seen regular warning messages whilst attempting VM backups - "An error occurred while quiescing the virtual machine".
  • Upon contacting Acronis support - we were told this is a VMware issue...not much help. The resolution? Install the Acronis agent on the VM locally.
  • This creates a non-standard rollout across your estate. I do not know why this happens to one VM over another but it would be good to get this resolved.
  • We have a Linux appliance based Acronis solution. We have needed to contact Acronis support on a number of occasions for some support and the Acronis 1st level support teams are very much Windows based. They do not have much experience on the Linux appliance version of their system.
  • If you do go down the Linux platform with your Acronis - make sure you have sufficient in house Linux skills to maintain and perform upgrades.
Especially well suited to a VMware environment - a single cost-effective VM host license covers all of the VMs on that host without the need to install local agents onto each machine. This was a massive positive for us and the Symantec system we were currently using.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 01, 2017

Acronis Backup Review: "Backup Solution for Simulator Platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Acronis to backup a simulator platform.
  • The user interface is intuitive and user-friendly.
  • The program allows for backup of PC and server-class machines, including those running Oracle.
  • The web-based interface is helpful for me to check backup statuses at remote locations.
  • It took some research to know which versions were required for our server-class machines
  • Servers using Oracle need special configuration, which did take some time to understand
  • Procuring Acronis through distributors added another layer of complexity in the purchase process.
Acronis works well in our setting, backing up a small network of machines onto a network hard drives.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 07, 2017

Acronis Backup Review: "Why Acronis will Back You Up!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Acronis is used across the organization but it is used by the information technology department. We have over 300 PCs and many servers in different locations. We use it to create an image and deploy them as well as backup each machine. Many C level executives see IT as a cost center. So I think having a product that can cut costs is always a great idea. It addresses the never ending strain on IT's support time on machine issues caused by virus, malware or software issues. It helps defend the IT department in the cost center arena. Acronis is a robust product that is easy and simple to use.
  • Hardware agnostic restore is huge. A lot of imaging and restore products have to be one for one on hardware. Acronis is great because it doesn't.
  • Granular recovery of files like shadow copy so you don't have to restore a whole drive for one missing item. This has saved our bacon more than once.
  • Deduplication really helped us save our storage (which we are limited on).
  • Some of the setup is not intuitive.
  • Updates for the software could be done in a better manner.
  • Cloud storage restore is slow.
In small to medium sized businesses I feel like Acronis Backup & Recovery easily hits a long home run. For companies who don't like Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager or cannot afford its hefty price tag, this product is well suited for you. I think it can be used by multiple levels of helpdesk users within an IT organization or department.
Read this authenticated review

About Acronis Backup

Acronis Backup aims to be most reliable and easy-to-use backup for businesses of all sizes, whether it is located on-premises, in remote systems, in private and public clouds, or on mobile devices.

Acronis promises to help IT keep the business running. Businesses can be at risk of losing important data. Lost data leads to costly downtime, customer dissatisfaction, regulatory fines, and lost revenue. As a result, the IT pros must meet extremely high expectations. You need to keep the company running 24-hours a day.

According to the vendor, key benefits of Acronis Backup include:
  • Full Availability, No Downtime
  • Complete Protection, Now and Forever
  • Fast Backup, Non-Stop Business
  • Proactively eliminate attacks
  • Restore VMs in seconds
  • Reduce outages with the best RTO
  • 21 platforms protected
  • Easy scalability with data growth
  • Mobile data protection
  • Instant protection with 3 clicks
  • Multi-tier deduplication
  • Off-host backup operations
  • Spend Less, Best ROI and TCO
  • Minimal upfront costs with simple licensing options
  • Simplified, automated administration
  • Flexible storage capabilities

Acronis Backup Features

Has featureComplete Business Protection
Has featureFlexible Storage Options
Has featureIntuitive, Scalable Management
Has featureInnovative Data Protection
Has featureWorld’s Fastest Recovery

Acronis Backup Competitors

Acronis Backup Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Acronis Backup Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:North America, Latin America, Europe, Asia
Supported Languages: English, Français, Español, Deutsch, Italiano, Polski, Ceština, 简体中文, 繁體中文, 한국어, 日本語