Act-On Reviews

370 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 215)

Megan Collins | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

one woman show

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Act-On is well suited for companies that have a small marketing department. Everything is easily accessible and easy to use. The scheduling of email content can be a large task but with easy flow templates and the ability to schedule a month in advance it makes a daunting task manageable.
Read Megan Collins's full review
Christi Moses | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

Act-On review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We loved that the reporting features are built-in and so easily accessed and understood. We also love that our usage level is based on the number of addresses we email to, not by the number of emails we send. This is a key point when you are segmenting your customers into smaller focused areas of focus. I like that we can schedule an email at any time and can schedule them in advance.
Read Christi Moses's full review
Karissa Gregor | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

We like ACT but it is for smaller companies

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited: helps us see what other team members have made notes. Ability to each have our own layout to mold to our specific needs. Less appropriate: It becomes harder to sort when people enter multiple answers for multiple fields. Can't group by multiple fields at once, which I would like for our team.
Read Karissa Gregor's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2019

Easy Automation at a Great Price!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Act-On is great for email sends and automation. It's very intuitive and easy to use. Setting up forms is a breeze and plugging in social aspects is easy as well. It's not well suited as an all-in-one. For example, if you are trying to use it for building landing pages you will be very disappointed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2019

Act-On is User-Friendly for Marketers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Act-On is great, especially for those focused on an inbound marketing strategy. I would recommend Act-On to anyone using a CRM, first of all, and who wants to boost brand awareness, build credibility in their industry, have a safe place to store content, and more. Overall, I'm pleased with the user interface and resources provided to me that make it easier to use.
Read this authenticated review
Kyle Moloo | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2019

Affordable Marketing Automation that gets the job done adequately

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Act-On is well suited for your business if you have a lot of contacts and are averse to the pay by the contact model of competing marketing automation software. Act-On charges by emails sent, not by how many contacts are in the database, so it makes it a great place to store everything, even if you aren't engaging with some of those contacts.
Read Kyle Moloo's full review
Danielle Armour | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2019

Act-On is Time Efficiency

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Act-On is a great program for organizations who are on the smaller end. The system is easy to navigate and teach to others, which is crucial to the success of an organization that values time and efficiency. Each of the platforms are important in the success of marketing campaigns and gathering information to then succeed down the line. Act-On was able to sync with our database giving us information on multiple layers.
Read Danielle Armour's full review
Dave Moll | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2019

Act-On Keeps Up with the Big Guys of Marketing Automation

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Act-On is great for companies who have multiple people managing marketing and sales programs. Each person will get their own log in and access to certain (or all) areas of the software. Alerts can be created when prospects reach certain stages of programs which means marketers don't need to constantly monitor lead scores or anything like that. Also, designers can log in and create landing pages, copywriters can login in and upload content and managers can login and build programs. There's no stepping on each other's work either. Team management is very good. Act-On is also great if you have multiple customer profiles. Act-On allows you to create programs designed to capture many leads across your customer profile.

Act-On would be overkill for the small B2C client. A small business that uses email to manage newsletters and product announcements will find Act-On to be much, much more than they need. Act-On can certainly do these things but so can MailChimp at a much lower price point. There would be many features in Act-On that this client simply would never use.

If your company uses a custom CRM, Act-On won't be the best fit. I imagine you would need to hire a developer (or commit an in-house developer) to a large project of integrating your CRM with Act-On. Otherwise, you'll be importing and exporting list data on a regular basis.
Read Dave Moll's full review
Dana Hursey | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2019

Act-On is a powerful information delivery platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For anyone who has a generous audience, this platform really is great for obtaining valuable information about how and when your audience interacts with virtually all aspects of your website. If your audience is small then I am unsure as to whether the cost is worth it. I will say that the information is addictive.
Read Dana Hursey's full review
Nate Casimiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2019

Powerful platform that has transformed workflows in our department.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Marketing automation via Act-On is helping our organization reach more targeted audiences during the windows of the customer journey. It has also allowed our organization to be more strategic with our media and communications and better illustrate Marketing's process to Sales.
Read Nate Casimiro's full review
Yosa Addiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2019

Act-On Marketing Automation is great for small businesses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

One of the best features of Act-On is that their sales features and marketing automation data is available on a sales dashboard without needing a company to use a connected CRM. This is unique for ABM and MAP software. Our company selected Act-On over Marketo because of this differentiator. We are in the process of converting to a new CRM, but until that is ready we still have access to the activity and lead scores of each salesperson's leads. Act-On is particularly suited to a business that has salespeople with assigned leads or territories.
Read Yosa Addiss's full review
Jenny Christensen | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2019

Plays nicely with CRM and never lets data get dirty!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Act-On is great for outbound email and landing pages, but less useful for social media marketing and event management. It's great for newsletters, product introductions, and promotions. The forms are easy to integrate into a website, and form fills are easy to monitor and report on from Act-On results. It also helps us manage GDPR and opt-outs effectively.
Read Jenny Christensen's full review
Chris Lesner | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2019

Act-On has great service!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's great for big teams that need to manage a large email list. We use the email automation features and they work like a charm. Most competitors already have good campaign solutions (as does Act-On), however, the drip campaign process is much easier with Act-On and you have a dedicated account manager who will help make sure you succeed.
Read Chris Lesner's full review
Rick Juby | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2019

Act-On will take your marketing to the next level!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

You will find Act-On suitable for many agent communications that are both targeted and broad reaching. It gives you the flexibility to create high-quality emails and surveys that allow for quick engagement from your targeted prospect or customer base. Act-On is good for quizzes right now but my guess is that they will build this functionality down the road.
Read Rick Juby's full review
Fedor Paretsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

Great for special use-cases!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have an existing CRM system, like Microsoft 365, you can integrate campaign automation with Act-On, and then it is worth most of the time it takes to get less-experienced employees on-boarded. In other cases that require more minimal use, the on-boarding may be too lengthy. In that case, it may be better-suited to choose a different SaaS that tracks campaign, ROI, lead scoring, etc.
Read Fedor Paretsky's full review
Maria Carver | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

Integrated Marketing Platform at its best

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Automating workflows to target an audience, or in receiving feedback is a big time saver. Helps to increase efficiency and saves time for more productive work. Report generation is very helpful when sharing with the top management to help them analyze and take business decisions driven by data. Automation takes quite some effort and time to be put in place.
Read Maria Carver's full review
Christian Banach | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

Marketing Automation For Advanced Users and Needs

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Act-On is well suited for activating complex automated email programs but requires a significant investment of time to learn the platform. Act-On is not well-suited for basic email campaigns since the set-up process and capabilities are complex.
Read Christian Banach's full review
Brittney Collier | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2018

Act-On has endless features and one of the easiest interfaces!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would definitely use Act-On if you’re a marketing team that supports a sales team and does a lot of client sales/up-selling. The platform does a great job at engaging a currently existing set of customers and prospects. However, I wouldn’t recommend this for companies seeking to expand their customer base. You would be better off using SEO tools to attract people to your website.
Read Brittney Collier's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2019

Act-On tries its best, you get your money's worth, but it's not truly the best out there.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

There are so many ways it could improve with just smoother functionality and UI/UX, mostly in the ways I said it needed improvement that are quite major. But overall I think it has the right ideas and tries to offer a lot of options for marketing tasks and a solid system for working with a marketing funnel.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2019

All in one marketing automation tool.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited for lead integration and lead intelligence. You can connect multiple CRM systems and it has the ability to show the top priority leads. Well suited when you would need an easy to use marketing automation tool and when you want the deployment to be faster compared to other tools. Not well suited for a smaller organization who is looking for a cost-effective marketing automation tool. If you are looking for a marketing automation tool with great social media integrations.





Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2019

Good tool for someone ready to take the next step with email marketing

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I like Act-On and I think it's a good program for someone that is starting out in email marketing or has some experience with it. I feel like this is the intermediate solution for email marketing. It's great for setting up simple email marketing/automation campaigns with basic reporting needs. If you want super customizable or really advanced list features, you'll want to look at a different tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

A great marketing tool

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Act-On is a great marketing tool. I would recommend Act-On to marketing professionals, but not so much sales. I like a lot of the marketing functions, I just wish they were more compatible with a sales outreach workflow.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2019

Happy Long-Time User (with some thoughts on room for improvement)

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have a mid-size to large marketing team who will take the time to figure out how to use all of the features and integrate everything carefully with other tools like Salesforce and Webex, etc. then Act-On could be right for you. It's been a good tool for us for integrated email nurture campaigns, customer retention campaigns, and events. I do not know how strong a tool it is for inbound marketing campaigns -- at least, we haven't had much success here.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (108)
7.4
Dynamic content (88)
7.0
Ability to test dynamic content (88)
7.1
Landing pages (104)
7.5
A/B testing (91)
7.2
Mobile optimization (99)
8.0
Email deliverability reporting (108)
8.0
List management (107)
8.4
Triggered drip sequences (84)
8.3
Lead nurturing (100)
8.3
Lead scoring and grading (100)
8.1
Data quality management (99)
7.1
Automated sales alerts and tasks (91)
7.7
Calendaring (8)
6.8
Event/webinar marketing (72)
8.2
Social sharing and campaigns (66)
6.6
Social profile integration (60)
6.1
Dashboards (105)
7.1
Standard reports (108)
7.3
Custom reports (80)
6.3
API (63)
7.0
Role-based workflow & approvals (67)
7.6
Customizability (85)
7.1
Integration with Salesforce.com (62)
8.3
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (32)
8.4
Integration with SugarCRM (26)
8.8

About Act-On

Act-On is an adaptive marketing platform that drives personal and purposeful multi-channel marketing. We spark better inbound and outbound marketing, enable a tighter alignment with sales, and turn your data into substance you can act-on.

Our customers range from start-ups and fast-growing young companies to well-established enterprise institutions; from marketing teams in small and medium-sized businesses, to independent teams in large enterprise corporations. They use Act-On in many different ways to realize their marketing objectives. What’s the one common denominator? The success they achieve with Act-On.

Categories:  Marketing Automation

Act-On Features

Email & Online Marketing Features
Has featureWYSIWYG email editor
Has featureDynamic content
Has featureAbility to test dynamic content
Has featureLanding pages
Has featureA/B testing
Has featureMobile optimization
Has featureEmail deliverability reporting
Has featureList management
Has featureTriggered drip sequences
Lead Management Features
Has featureLead nurturing
Has featureLead scoring and grading
Has featureData quality management
Has featureAutomated sales alerts and tasks
Campaign Management Features
Does not have featureCalendaring
Has featureEvent/webinar marketing
Social Media Marketing Features
Has featureSocial sharing and campaigns
Has featureSocial profile integration
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Has featureAPI
Has featureRole-based workflow & approvals
Has featureCustomizability
Has featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Has featureIntegration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM
Has featureIntegration with SugarCRM
Additional Features
Has featureEmail Marketing
Has featureLead Scoring
Has featureWebsite Visitor Tracking
Has featureAutomated Programs (Trigger & Drip Campaigns)
Has featureSocial Publishing
Has featureReporting & Analytics
Has featureSEO
Has featureForms
Has featureEvents & Webinars

Act-On Screenshots

Act-On Integrations

Act-On Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Professional$900per month (starts at 2,500 active contacts)
Enterprise$2,000per month ( starts at 2,500 active contacts)

The Professional package starts at 2,500 active contacts, 3 marketing users, 50 sales users and 30,000 API calls per day. The Enterprise package starts at 2,500 active contacts, 6 marketing users, 100 sales users and 30,000 API calls per day. Annual contract required.

Act-On Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
29%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
67%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
4%

Act-On Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Act-On Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Available Internationally
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Danish, Swedish, Norwegian, Finnish, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Hindi, Thai, Arabic, Hebrew