ActiveCollab Reviews

30 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Nancy Ross | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Great option for small businesses

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCollab is used by the client services department for communication with clients regarding their projects. Having a centralized platform for reviews allows all parties to be included in discussions and questions about their services.
  • Easily add clients as guests and control the amount of access.
  • Clients can start discussions and respond to existing discussions via email.
  • Discussions have good formatting options to allow for improved readability.
  • Individual comments cannot be linked to. This makes it more difficult to reference a comment or question.
  • Unnecessary features cannot be turned off. Since we use it primarily for communication, it would be ideal to turn off tasks etc. that are not needed or be able to move discussions as the first screen.
  • There isn't an easy way to set up different projects under the same client.
ActiveCollab is more suited for people looking for project management software since the tasks and project management tools are the primary focus. The time tracking and invoicing components are valuable for this. It is less useful as a communication portal as the project management features actually get in the way and hamper the usability.
Read Nancy Ross's full review
Mike Muller | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Strong project management tool that provides a great set of features

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCollab is being used in our company as a project management tool. We utilize it for our traditional and digital services. For our digital services, we use it to manage agile workflows along with timeline and task management. It's used by our entire organization and feeds our billing department as well.
  • Simple interface.
  • Flexible setup of tags and categories.
  • Handles agile and waterfall type workflows well.
  • Could use more flexibility in setting up categories.
  • It would be nice to have multiple Kanban boards inside a project.
  • The search functionality could be improved.
ActiveCollab is well suited for small to medium-sized organizations that want strong project management tools at an affordable cost. It's nice that we can use the self-hosted version to help control costs and utilize the current hosting infrastructure. It's not as appropriate for very large organizations or organizations requiring many different task categories.
Read Mike Muller's full review
Joshua VanMeter | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

ActiveCollab or Actively looking for another solution?

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our support team utilizes ActiveCollab to manage projects that are specific to their department. Overall, it's a fine enough system, but there are some quirks and challenges that need to be addressed before the system can be utilized fluently. We're still working through these challenges, but the system seems to be working as expected.
  • Simple project management
  • Organized task lists
  • Solid user management tools
  • Uninspired design
  • Very basic text editing features, minimal support for screenshots (you get 1 per task/message update)
This is a system built by engineers for engineer-minded people. Nothing fancy, but it does do exactly what you expect it to.
Read Joshua VanMeter's full review
Julia Romanchenko | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2019

ActiveCollab has a simple interface and helps manage tasks easily, though design and some finctionality could be improved

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCollab is used across the whole organization to manage tasks of design, development, and marketing.
  • Activity log to see the general picture.
  • Ability to manage different projects.
  • Daily email report on things discussed the previous day.
  • Subtasks cannot be managed as full tasks, with comments.
  • No ability to make several assignees.
When you manage a project or a task it is convenient to assign it to the appropriate colleague and track its status. ActiveCollab's user interface and design are a bit unusual after using Wrike for several years.
Read Julia Romanchenko's full review
Ali Zakeri | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2018

ActiveCollab - Powerful, Simple & Reliable!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCollab is used at my company as the main ticketing system. We rely on ActiveCollab for:

  • Tracking internal tasks
  • Projecting progress
  • Client requests
  • Internal and external communications
It helps to keep on top of things and ensure nothing slips through the cracks.
  • Project Management - Makes it very efficient to manage projects using Gantt Charts, daily email reports and custom reports!
  • Collaboration - Allows to collaborate with team members, tag them in tasks, send files/attachments.
  • Task delegation - With just 2 clicks you can delegate tasks to other team members/users.
  • Search functionality - The search functionality is not so promising and I'm unable to find the tasks/items that I need even though I use the keywords that are in the ticket/comments -- Definitely something that needs to be improved.
  • No snooze functionality for tasks - If you work on multiple projects and deal with large number of tasks/tickets then things can get messy in your "workspace." An easy feature that can resolve this is to add snooze functionality. That way users can snooze tasks and optimize their workspace until when they really need to work on the task.
  • No ability to color code tasks - I'm a visual person and deal with a large number of tasks on ActiveCollab. Seeing my huge pile of tasks in the same color makes me lose track of things and slows me down. It would be very helpful for me if task color coding was added to Active Collab -- I'm sure there are others out there who benefit from this feature, too!
Overall, ActiveCollab is a great project management tool. If you're looking for a platform for your team to track their tasks, communicate with one another, share files, etc., then ActiveCollab is the exact right choice. It even allows you to invite external users to collaborate with (such as clients) and lets you set up custom visibility for them.
Read Ali Zakeri's full review
Chris Lesner | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2018

We tried everything and Active Collab is above all.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCollab helps us run the day to day operations for our company and our clients. Our whole team uses ActiveCollab in order to keep everything moving in the right direction. It helps us keep track of everything we do and where any project as at in its timeline.
  • They give you the source code to use on your own server.
  • It is easy to sort clients and campaigns.
  • The email notifications work perfectly when tagging and talking to people. They allow you to subscribe to tasks as well to keep in the loop on what is going on.
  • They don' do Gantt charts well
  • Integrations aren't awesome yet
  • They don't have task dependencies
We have a marketing company. If you are an agency of any size and work with clients, it's easy to give your clients full access to whatever you want them to see. We allow our clients to see how their projects/tasks are going, but there is even a hidden from clients button on any task that allows you to give full visibility into any task for any and all clients.
Read Chris Lesner's full review
Daniel Pacheco | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Wonderful solution when managing projects and personnel. Recommendable.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActiveCollab is used throughout the company to manage projects and manage company resources. Each idea, plan, execution, project, management, acquisition, new tool. They discuss, talk, repair ActiveCollab.
It is the ideal platform for the current IT industry, it gives us a great comfort to establish meetings, dictate tasks and supervise the activities delegated to the assigned team, according to the project.
  • Very nice interface for all user roles in the system.
  • Effective notification of pending tasks and optimal management of the equipment.
  • Organized work flow, productive tasks and correct execution.
  • Creation of filters to better locate artifacts for daily use.
  • It is confusing when a review is made, before buying the product.
  • It lacks animation and pleasant forms for the user.
  • Does not allow effective communication when activities are reported. Since it does not provide a direct message chat.
  • The reports that are generated are basic, they do not have personalization characteristics.
Intuitive and flexible to use all kinds of extension components. Simple and pleasant, it has amazing features and is highly secure.
When they lack animation and explosiveness at the user level, it expires due to the rich user experiences offered by today's website.
ActiveCollab is a safe investment when talking about dynamics and production in projects, also in the management of the fair of the working group.
Read Daniel Pacheco's full review
Sourav Singla ,Safe Agilist, CSP,  ICP-ACC, CSM, CSPO, SSM, LSSG | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2018

ActiveCollab a boon for T&M projects

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

For two teams Active Collab is being used in my organization as project management tool after our customer decided to move to agile scrum framework from waterfall. Earlier these teams were using HP ALM.

Since project moved from fixed capacity to T&M, Active Collab was very helpful since its billing & invoice features allows you generate the invoices easily.

Here cost can be easily assigned to each team member, Team members can start the timer after they start their work, then allows you to export the time records of team members making it easy to complete the billing.

It tells us precisely how much budget you've spent, who is working on what with how much capacity available and how deadlines and responsibilities overlap across multiple projects.

Thus AC served as excellent tool providing a great snapshot of team work at any given point to customer.

  • Its billing & invoice feature worked pretty well for T&M teams. ActiveCollab version 5, the current version, allows you to directly track time to tasks using the Timer app and later create invoices based on those time entries. Their statuses will change through phases, as you are pending payment, or after they are set as paid.
  • Here cost can be easily assigned to each team member, Team members can start the timer after they start their work, then allows you to export the time records of team members making it easy to complete the billing.
  • File sharing feature is very useful for distributed teams as we can we can easily share files, screenshots.
  • Also ActiveCollab ability to connect to Google docs, attach images and link to web pages make it unique from other project management tools.
  • AC easily allows you to track your daily tasks & serves reminder if miss on the targets defined by giving daily / weekly reminders regarding tasks and any that have gone over due dates.
  • ActiveCollab is quite easy to use. With just a few clicks, you can create a new project.
  • The dashboard and options are easy to see and it is well laid out.
  • Here user have an opportunity to select the number of emails they receive from ActiveCollab and for some email providers, such as Gmail grouping is enabled. So rather than getting multiple mails, it send you a summary of all the daily notifications in one mail.
  • It allows users to upload several files at once on task comments, and if you are set with the owner role, or have the member role but are a project leader, you have a Batch Edit option available on project level. This allows you to edit multiple tasks at once and change all the details on them, such as assignee, due dates, labels, importance, and more.
  • It does not provide support to scaled agile frameworks like SAfe which is there for Rally & AgileCraft.
Scenarios where ActiveCollab works well
1) ActiveCollab works well for small teams specifically T&M teams.Its invoicing feature is unique & can make your life easy.
2) It is very easy to use & posses good range of filters like on the task list, we can drag/drop tasks, Filter by assignee's,
tasks lists, due dates, or completed tasks.
3) It has some simple but awesome features like when you're in
the middle of writing something i.e a comment on story and get interrupted,
it retains what you wrote.
4) It allows you to tag team members in threads of comments to grab their attention, its really needed when teams are distributed. Thus helping team members to collaborate easily & stay on same page.
5) It integrates pretty well with other web apps like quickbooks , Slack, Trello, HubSpot, Zapier etc

Scenarios where ActiveCollab did not work well
1) Tasks can not have multiple assignee's here so if two members are working on same task it did not allow you to reflect that.
2) Sorting capability is not their under invoicing
3) It did not work well for larger teams
4) Search option is not very detailed & you may end up wasting lot of time searching one particular bug or issue.












Read Sourav Singla ,Safe Agilist, CSP, ICP-ACC, CSM, CSPO, SSM, LSSG's full review
Иван Шайхисламов | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2018

Excellent solution for project management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use this service for project management. It helps to correctly process the workflow so that all tasks are completed on time and the project has been handed over to the client. For this, I use the chart of the gantt, calendar and other functions of my service.
  • Daily notifications to the mail about upcoming tasks and expired, if any.
  • Preparation of financial reports and tasks for specific projects. You can form for individual tasks, employees and other criteria.
  • The availability of the gantt chart greatly simplifies the process of building the project, as it is an effective tool that helps to see the order of tasks to be performed.
  • I would like to supplement the mobile application with the functionality that the service has in the desktop version, for more efficient work.
  • Sorting projects and tasks is not always convenient, I would like to customize it for myself.
ActiveCollab is great for planning and running projects, as well as for accounting for project costs and the company as a whole. Built-in tools perfectly solve these tasks. Also, the service is very convenient both for team work and for work itself. Control of the performance of specific tasks and subtasks is convenient.
Read Иван Шайхисламов's full review
Jorden Beatty | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 02, 2016

Easy, Straightforward Web-Based Project Management Tool for Small to Mid-size Agencies

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Active Collab as our primary project management system and workflow tool. The agency as a whole uses the platform as a way to manage our projects both onsite and off, and even on mobile, as needed. It serves its purpose as a project management platform with a plethora of add-ons, plugins and key features that help us get the most from our project management needs.
  • Great for project and task assignments, project workflow and communications.
  • Solid web-based platform that doesn't require software downloads, also includes great mobile platform.
  • Great reporting tools for managing billing, estimating, project workflow and other essential project details.
  • Allows for both the agency and its clients to interact on a single platform using role-specific permissions.
  • As a web-based platform, sometimes things go down on their end and we lose access to our project management tool to the ire of all.
  • Project searching can be hit or miss, and filtered search often leaves out projects that should have shown.
  • Email alerts are often not as helpful as they seem.
Active Collab is great for small teams who want a web-based project management platform to help them on their day-to-day workflow tasks, billing, estimations, vendor assignments and even client communications. It is also great for agencies with users who are sometimes remotely working. Active Collab starts to show shortcomings when you have an immense amount of projects in the system (1000+), and, being a web-based platform, can sometimes experience downtime.
Read Jorden Beatty's full review
Kevin Horler | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 02, 2016

The best project management tool that you didn't know about

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Active Collab to manage all projects within our web design/digital marketing business. Having tried many other project management options, we found Active Collab to be the only one that offered all the features that we need at a sensible price point. Using it has enabled all of our team, including freelancers to keep up to date with all projects they are involved in whilst giving myself and my fellow directors an instant view of which stage each job is at.
  • The time tracking desktop app is great, giving both a list of assigned tasks and allowing time spent on them to be recorded quickly and easily.
  • Xero integration means that all time tracked can be used to create invoices within our chosen accounting package with the minimum of fuss.
  • Project templates ensure that each new project is quick and easy to set up and that all internal processes are included within each project.
  • Notification emails would benefit from being able to set up schedules for reminders when tasks are due for completion.
  • A time tracking app for Linus would be a welcome addition.
For me, Active Collab is the ideal project management tool for a busy digital agency.
Read Kevin Horler's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (10)
8.2
Resource Management (7)
6.9
Gantt Charts (6)
7.2
Scheduling (10)
6.3
Workflow Automation (1)
7
Team Collaboration (11)
7.5
Support for Agile Methodology (6)
8.2
Support for Waterfall Methodology (1)
7
Document Management (7)
7.9
Email integration (8)
8.3
Mobile Access (8)
8.0
Timesheet Tracking (8)
9.3
Change request and Case Management (7)
6.9
Budget and Expense Management (6)
6.1
Quotes/estimates (7)
5.9
Invoicing (6)
5.9
Project & financial reporting (6)
8.3
Integration with accounting software (4)
6.4

About ActiveCollab

ActiveCollab is a project management software designed to give users complete control over work. The tool is equipped with features to help users organize work and keep free from distractions, even when working remote: workload management, time tracking, project profitability, task dependencies, invoicing, collaborative options, third-party integrations, etc.

The vendor states that ActiveCollab will give companies a boost and an enjoyable transition towards remote work, with their 90-day trial offer.

They further state that ActiveCollab is used by teams of all backgrounds - from large teams in international corporations to small startups, and everything in between.

ActiveCollab Features

Project Management Features
Has featureTask Management
Has featureResource Management
Has featureGantt Charts
Has featureScheduling
Does not have featureWorkflow Automation
Has featureTeam Collaboration
Has featureSupport for Agile Methodology
Does not have featureSupport for Waterfall Methodology
Has featureDocument Management
Has featureEmail integration
Has featureMobile Access
Has featureTimesheet Tracking
Has featureChange request and Case Management
Does not have featureBudget and Expense Management
Professional Services Automation Features
Has featureQuotes/estimates
Has featureInvoicing
Has featureProject & financial reporting
Has featureIntegration with accounting software
Additional Features
Has featureTime Tracking
Has featureTask Dependencies
Has featureDiscussion Boards
Has featureGroup Calendars
Has featureProject Management
Has featureIT Project Management
Has featurePercent-Complete Tracking
Has featureProject Planning
Has featureTime & Expense Tracking

ActiveCollab Screenshots

ActiveCollab Integrations

ActiveCollab Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Self-Hosted Plan$999license
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Member annually6.25per member, per month, annual billing
Addition - Get Paid Bundle Annually$3per member, per month, annual billing
Addition - Get Paid Bundle Monthly$4per member, per month, monthly billing
Member monthly$7per member, per month, monthly billing

ActiveCollab Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

ActiveCollab Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:All Countries
Supported Languages: Brazilian Portuguese, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Dutch, English, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Lithuanian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Spanish, Swedish, or Turkish.