ActivTrak Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
60 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 42)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 18, 2021
Kelly Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActivTrak is installed on all staff who have computers (approximately 40). It is not disclosed to employees. We use it in many ways: to gauge productivity, to weed out any bad apples, insight into what programs and software are used most in an effort to eliminate what isn't needed or add what may be needed and to look for redundancy.
  • The alarms feature is wonderful. In the past, we have had employees save company files to an external device and we had no idea. Having the ability to trigger an alarm and capture screenshots when this occurs is extremely helpful.
  • The analytics provide a good bit of insight. For example, we have an employee who wasn't getting any work done, because he was constantly evaluating software that would make his job easier. We were easily able to see what he was spending his time on by using reports as well as looking at the dashboard where you are able to view a breakdown of categories.
  • Screen capturing is extremely beneficial. Instead of trying to piece a puzzle together, you can simply view the screenshot.
  • It would be nice to have the ability to print the Live Productivity Report page.
  • If programs and websites could be classified based on an individual, it would be helpful. For example, we have an employee who works on her personal finances all day in addition to completing her online college classes. For these, she uses Excel and Word. While those two applications are classified as productive, in her instance, they are unproductive, so reports aren't accurate.
I don't see where ActivTrak wouldn't be appropriate. Some disclose its use to employees to assist with productivity. Some do not disclose it and use it to get a true sense of employees, their work habits and their workload.
We are an organization with lax rules. We offer flexibility and expect it will not be taken advantage of. We trust what employees tell us. Being able to see with our own eyes what an employee does on a day to day basis has been very eye opening and it has shown us where changes and/or improvements need to be made.
Read Kelly Smith's full review
December 02, 2020
Michael Wright | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have it installed on everyone's computers in the company and it works great. We have used other programs in the past and it was routine to have to reinstall their recorder over and over as antivirus software would tear them apart. With ActivTrak's different approach that never happens here. I install the agent once using their network push utility and then it just works. Couldn't be happier.
  • Tracking when users are productive vs. unproductive.
  • Organizing data so it's easy to follow.
  • It's in the cloud so it's one less server to manage and storage I don't have to pay for internally.
  • I would like the auto categorization to work better.
  • Key logging would be nice but I know that would fall afoul to antivirus.
  • ActivTrak is expensive.
I have recommended free ActivTrak for several people wanting to keep tabs on their kids at home and professionally because [of] how well it scales [is] great. Would recommend it on an older computer or to someone with a very slow or internet connection.
The productivity charts are super helpful in identifying employees that need to be given more [or less] to do.
Fast support every time I've contacted them and they always guided me in the right direction to correct the problem.
It works great. I use it all the time and it helps guide our company's management decisions. What more could you ask for?
Read Michael Wright's full review
November 30, 2020
Alessandro Cacciani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it for the entire company. We have allowed many of our employees the option to work [remotely] during this period of time. We use it as a reactive step in the management process. There are some cases when we need to monitor the productivity of the remote employee.
  • Screenshots are great to verify the work that is worked on.
  • Alarms make monitoring easier.
  • The productivity dashboard, once configured, is a great at-a-glance view of what is going on in the company.
  • When going through the data, it can be overwhelming.
  • I don't really have any other issues I have run into.
Great for when questions arise as to the productivity of an employee. Management can view the Productivity Dashboard and then drill down to screenshots if necessary.
Management understands that most employees do not work every minute of every shift. There is an allowance we make as managers. When we look at staff utilization and realization rates we can now add the productivity report and gain a clearer picture as to what the employees are doing. It also allows management to see when most productivity drops off allowing us to create solutions, such as lunch breaks, relaxing time, and other cultural shifts that work to eliminate these periods.
I chose the middle because I have never had to use support. The program, I find, is very user friendly and easy to figure out. I was able to implement the software throughout IT management software, and then the tracking worked on its own. I am very happy with ActivTrak.
As I mentioned in the prior question, the overall usability is great. Easy implementation and easy follow up. I was able to invite the other management members with ease. Training is also very easy, all members of management picked it up quickly and are now using it regularly. The agent install is silent and is pushed out very easily as well.
Read Alessandro Cacciani's full review
November 26, 2020
Tim Andrist | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use [ActivTrak] across all the PCs in our office. The metrics for productivity are very useful. The 2 features we utilize the most currently are website blocking and Alarms with screenshots. Going into a disciplinary meeting with these screenshots and logs has been an incredibly helpful tool to show someone just how much time is being wasted. Since implementation we have had less and less issues with time wasting on the PCs. This is mostly from our employees knowing the software is in use.
  • Blocking websites
  • Alarming for things like USB Drive connections, File downloads, accessing social media and more. You can setup the alarm to close the page, take a screenshot and email you if you deem them alarm critical enough.
  • Productivity tracking
  • I don’t have any complaints currently. The software has received critical updates over the years and it is a solid platform.
Offices and businesses where employee workstations are constantly online seem to be the best fit. Some places that it would be less appropriate are for mobile technicians or where workstations are not online all the time.
Productivity logging by user and service has been very helpful. Without ActivTrak we did not have access to these metrics.
The few times I needed support, the team was incredibly responsive and helpful.
Once you go through the system, things are laid out very well. Navigation is easy and clearly displays the options.
Read Tim Andrist's full review
November 26, 2020
Andy Schreiber | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActivTrak allows us to monitor productivity of users in-office and remote. It has helped us on several occasions with performance evaluations. ActivTrak also sends a helpful weekly report showing productivity levels for our top users. I like that I can dial down to an individual user and see screenshots of their actions at any workstation via Active Directory login. Our managers love the customized reports for their separate departments. It's a great tool for any organization.
  • Visual proof
  • Detailed reports
  • Customizable
  • Screenshot searching
  • User settings
  • Page load times
ActivTrak is well suited for us in our call centers, billing department, scheduling, medical records and reception. It allows us to monitor a users' session that could be involved in a patient complaint and check productivity from remote users. The software is an insurance policy providing screenshots and videos of user-patient interaction.
Employees are more aware of ActivTrak monitoring so they consistently perform at higher levels. We are able to see this performance and apply the reported data towards yearly employee evaluations. This helps both the employee and the manager understand work expectations on a one-on-one basis. This was a longer process to achieve before ActivTrak.
Support is top notch. We get responses from our account representative in a timely manner.
ActivTrak is a great program but it takes some getting used to while navigating all the menus and dialing down to a specific employee and sometimes the data doesn't appear like you'd hope. It can take a while to remember how to do something if you don't use it consistently. No single person manages our program so sometimes we need a refresher when accessing data after a few months but that usually applies to most applications.
Read Andy Schreiber's full review
November 24, 2020
Matt Koveleski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ActivTrak to monitor the daily use of laptops and desktops. Since COVID as well, a lot of employees now have the ability to work from home so we need this platform to monitor the hours and activity time they're working. ActivTrak has helped us become a better company overall.
  • Working hours.
  • Data of what applications and websites users go on.
  • Makes managing users easy and organized.
  • Live screen.
  • Remote sessions.
  • Screen share.
We have numerous situations where an employee is not meeting expectations and we need to gather more information. ActivTrak allows us to come on the system and look to see what the employee is doing with company equipment. At that time, it helps us understand more information about the employee and their work ethic.
Before we never knew what websites the users were on. We never knew how long they were actually working on a project or task. Now we have that ability with ActivTrak which is why every year we renew our services with this company. Best part about it is, they're cloud based.
Customer support is an 8/10 for me. It's usually very good, but I wish sometimes I [could] call in and get someone from support instead of emailing first and having someone contact me back. Other than that, it works as expected. Support is definitely above average here and that is a great thing.
I find this platform very easy to use and organized. I didn't need any tutorials on how to use it. This platform allows me to use everything we need as a company to keep our employees in check and to make sure they're doing their work. Our CEO loves the product and requires it on everyone's system. This is going to be in our company for the long haul.
Read Matt Koveleski's full review
November 23, 2020
Joshua Long | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ActivTrak in a lot of different ways. We use it to track production between employees. With us going remote, it was a way to keep tabs on all of our employees. We like the fact it helps us know if an employee is productive or not, and that it breaks down the different divisions and access for managers to those divisions. We like the different graphs and being able to use the data in Tableau. We like the auto-classification feature to help us cut down on managing the system. We use it for reviews and also for the termination of employees. We use it to also reward and bonus hard-working employees. We also use the tool to help gain insight if we need to hire another employee in a department. It is used as a safety feature to protect us from potential threats from outside and inside the organization. We like the capability to be able to screen shot so its not our word against theirs, and also like the alarms that we can alert of a potential issue, or prompts on new employees who are not quite sure of our policy.
  • User management.
  • User productivity.
  • Potential security issues.
  • Department breakdown.
  • Screen Shots.
  • Integration with Tableau.
  • Auto classification.
  • Great Support.
  • Issues with Macs/Apple.
  • Minor bugs and fixes.
  • More reports.
  • More tools.
Remote employees, larger corporations wanting to be able to see if employees are actually working, for managers that don't have time to micromanage employees. Just about business.
ActivTrak helped us weed out bad employees that spend more time not trying to work than work. Helped us with workflow. Helped us with figuring out an employee's weaknesses and strengths. It helped us look at departments and see if we needed help in that department. It allowed us to really look at an employee's work and see if they were busy not working or actually working. It helped us make decisions faster on termination. It helps keep us safe from internal or external threats.
It is effective, just a little cumbersome. We like the chat function. We had some issues with Macs but don't have a lot of [them] in our organization so it wasn't that big of an issue. They did fix the issues with the Macs. Tickets did take longer than expected, but they have done a pretty good job overall.
There is a lot to it and it seems ActivTrak is adding more each day. [They] do offer some training. Maybe more of an onboarding process for managers. It is very easy to use from both the manager and admin experience, but some of the advanced systems and breaking down of the data could be explored more at the beginning. The more a person uses a system the more I think they are likely to keep it.
Read Joshua Long's full review
February 17, 2021
Eric Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With the pandemic and our employees working remotely for the first time ever, we needed some more visibility into how our employees getting their jobs done throughout a typical work week. We use ActivTrak across our whole company to look for opportunities to help our employees work more efficiently. We are also utilizing ActivTrak to identify opportunities where work needs to be spread out more so that we do not have employees that are working 14 hours a day and some employees that are working 5 hours a day.
  • Internet usage including if the employee is searching how to accomplish something. This gives the supervisor insight into which employees might needs some more coaching or training.
  • Use of cloud storage by employees.
  • What programs and websites are being utilized the most across the company.
  • Times and durations of when employees work. It helps management see how much time our employees put in to get their jobs done.
  • The USB tracking seems to be lacking. We set up an alarm for USB usage and received a lot of false positives.
  • ActivTrak is still perceived as a negative with our employees. It is hard to make a positive spin on this.
Activtrak is well suited to provide an accurate picture of how employees are working and what programs they are utilizing. It is hard to get around what the employees think when they hear that they are being tracked. It makes it seem that the company does not trust them.
Total visibility into what the employee is doing on their corporate computers.
Read Eric Allen's full review
December 12, 2020
Bill Nash | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to monitor for productivity and for new hires to assist in training.
  • Ability to categorize for granular reporting
  • comparing user data to others
  • Ease of deployment
  • Better ability to auto categorize apps and webpages
Allows you to keep track of the remote employees and gauge their productivity to others.
It gives us a complete view of our business without the opinion of the employees. It allows us to track software and asset utilization. This will allow us to better manage our people and our money spent on useless equipment and software. It also allows us to tailor our training program to best suit the employees.
Read Bill Nash's full review
December 01, 2020
Renee McDonald | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize ActivTrak for our home-based employees. It is helpful to keep track of their productivity as well as ensuring the safety of our systems by blocking specific websites and areas that our employees should not be visiting.
  • Realtime screenshots that make it easy to see what employees are working on.
  • Weekly reports that consolidate information into one email.
  • Ease of knowing our employees are not on unauthorized websites.
  • I can't think of anything, this product is great!
This is a great program for work-based employees. The employer can block specific websites and programs. This product allows the employer to track productivity as well as monitor use of unauthorized websites.
We have been able to consolidate two positions into one because employees are more productive knowing their online movements are being tracked. This product has saved us a tremendous amount of wasted time and money. Our employees perform better knowing their computer is being monitored and it has cut down on visits to unauthorized websites. I am very pleased with ActivTrak!
The entire team has been very responsive when I have chatted in for assistance. The customer service team is top notch and very promptly assists with challenges.
Very user friendly system!
Read Renee McDonald's full review
November 23, 2020
Robin Schroyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActivTrak is used across the whole company. Tool monitors employee activity and performance.
  • Monitors Employees Productivity.
  • Compares employees and departments for productivity.
  • Can see screenshots - used to assist when employees are struggling with assignments
  • Have found times where the data is inaccurate, random, and then corrects itself, but later.
  • Productivity Ratio includes unproductive numbers and shouldn't, should display separately - it used to.
  • Would like videos on just certain parts of ActivTrak, i.e. all reports. Most videos seem to be an overall demo, once you become an experienced user, need more training.
We purchased this prior to the pandemic, but it was a great tool to prove to other executives that employees were productive working at home. In the cases that were not, managers addressed the issues.
Employees aware, so they are more productive. We have addressed or eliminated poor performers. It also validated those employees that are high performers.
We had some questions and issues in the implementation, and everything was addressed promptly.
It's easy to use, self explanatory, and there are some videos to help.
Read Robin Schroyer's full review
November 26, 2020
David Johnstone | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use active track to monitor work activity scanning for both information being stolen from the company and employee productivity. We have already caught one employee trying to [steal] marketing data.
  • Employee time monitoring
  • Verifying work from home
  • Data theft protection
  • Automatically log start and end time of the day
  • More detailed reports on time usage
We used it to catch an employee stealing marketing data
One big diffence is department managers don't need to ask me to check an account. I can assign users to admins.
Never had a issue that could not be explained by them
[ActivTrak] is the best product I have found.
Read David Johnstone's full review
November 26, 2020
Steven Nemchek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActivTrak is being used across the organization for different departments due to Pandemic to assist managers with remote workforce staffing.
  • Implementation
  • Success Account Managers
  • Metrics
  • When making external web changes notify your client base.
  • Email Support should integrate with web portal support
Staffing.
Managerial Assistance.
Security.
Amazing implementation specialist. The company cares and could deliver.
The product itself is not entirely simple, but with the support staff it is great
Read Steven Nemchek's full review
February 18, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[ActivTrak] is being used by [the operations] department. I utilize it to track work productivity
  • Great resources for tracking productivity by category
  • Provide great reports
  • Constant updates for improved features
  • I like the idea of data connect, it should be included in basic pricing
  • They've improved the passive time but I believe it could be improved better
[ActivTrak is] great for determining productive versus non productive time, great for detailing where you spend most of your time using the categories. The alarms and security feature are awesome as well
[ActivTrak] allowed us to see where most of our time was being spent so we could streamline our processes to make time for the important task we provide
Read this authenticated review
November 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT department uses ActivTrak as part of a suite of services to prevent and address cyber threats. In addition, the HR team uses ActivTrak for employee behavior monitoring.
  • Real-time data for all of our users
  • Screenshots of activity
  • Easy reporting
  • Simple user interface
  • Nothing really comes to mind. I have no complaints
Very effective for monitoring IT/cyber threats and employee/user activity. When we believe an employee has violated company policy in either of these areas, we can easily review their activity and confirm. Having the screenshots that show exactly what was done is also extremely helpful in building a case against an employee for their misconduct.
We do not currently use the employee productivity features of ActivTrak, other than to look at overall activity patterns when we suspect that an employee is stealing from the clock or otherwise avoiding work.
I have not needed support but my understanding is that our IT team has received very good support when they reached out for it.
Very easy to use - simple interface, clear organization, logical structure and labeling
Read this authenticated review
November 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActivTrak is being used by the entire organization however access to the data is only available to select members of the HR department and the IT department for troubleshooting and license management.
The organization was looking for a more modern approach to Employee Productivity Monitoring and ActivTrak was the best fit for us.
  • Being able to focus on a particular employee
  • Searching a particular time frame is very intutive
  • Creating custom rules based on certain criteria which trigger an increase in data collection
  • We do not appear to receive alerts when pushing up on our licensing limit
  • Sometimes it can be slow to load all data due to our have user count
I am very likely to recommend ActivTrak if asked. It offered the best feature package for what our organization was looking for an in a price range that suited us as well.
ActivTrak hasn't been used in an attempt to improve productivity at this point. Its major use has been data collection for HR.
Outside of our initial rollout we have not had to engage support as everything has run smoothly and we have been able to figure out how to use the product with relative ease.
Activtrak is very easy to learn and intuitive to navigate.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use ActivTrak to monitor all users working from home. It is mainly used to monitor that our remote users are working as expected and to minimize the amount of non productive apps and websites visited, that way we try to boost productivity as much as possible.
It has helped a lot during the pandemic time especially since more users are working from home now than what we were used to. Also the support help center is always ready to help whenever any issue arises , so overall we're happy with the service we are getting.
  • Keep track of a user's app and website usage.
  • Visually represent overall productivity of all users that are being tracked.
  • Easy ways to manage what would be considered as productive or unproductive activities.
  • Agent sometimes stops reporting for no apparent reason, causing discrepancies of data.
  • There is no information about software limitations or restrictions, we found out that the agent doesn't work on older versions of MAC OS.
  • Uninstalling agent from a machine sometimes does not cause it to stop showing as a user on the list, it just stops it from reporting data
It is best suited for companies that don't have a established workflow yet or that think their current process can be improved by monitoring their employees to find out where their lacking in productivity. It would also be great for companies that have a lot of remote employees since they would be able to monitor what they do and could make sure they don't stay away from work for too long since there is no one close to monitor what they do.
We can view what our employees are doing constantly which allows us to give our employees reviews on what they're doing to ensure they improve their work and also ensure they won't be using apps or visiting sites that are not considered as productive by the company.

It has also allowed us to view and prevent employee burnout since we can see how much a person is working, that way we can prevent low morale in the company which in turn increases productivity even more
Support is always fast and the agents are ready at all times to help when an issue arises, if the tier 1 agent isn't able to provide a solution to the issue they're asked about they quickly escalate the issue to tier 2 or 3 to ensure that the appropriate support is given to the issue at hand to have it quickly solved. No issue we've had so far has taken more than two days to be solved.
It's the best way for the company to monitor and make sure that our employees are being productive. Since we are a property management company it is really important that our customer service department is at all times active to attend any kind of issue our tenants may have so that they're more willing to rent with us and recommend us. This makes ActivTrak key in our operation to keep our tenants happy.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ActivTrak to track and report on what our users are doing online. It tells us and them when a website is unproductive vs. actual work. It gets smarter every day and we use this data to create a reward system for actual work. We get to see where users are spending their time.
  • User activity monitoring.
  • Screenshot redactions.
  • When on boarding, plan to spend additional time to categorize your users' applications.
  • The data is available via flat file as soon as the next day. If you want to process your data in real time be prepared to invest addition time and costs.
ActivTrak works great when users are in charge of what they work on next. When users drive the workflow, they sometimes dive down a rabbit hole that provides little to no return. Like when you get lost researching on Wikipedia and keep opening tabs. ActivTrak is flexible enough to remind users that what they are doing isn't permitted or that they've had a few minutes already and are getting off in the weeds.
We knew some users would check a personal email or similar. We did not realize how much users would all be attracted to news sites for updates of current events.
The data also highlights how long specific applications are used and the difference between average and top performance was borne out from this data. It corroborated that we have great employees and the things we ask them to do are the things that our office needs them to do.
Support is very easy. Live chat or a ticketing system. The support is helpful and kind.
They are experts in their software and with the Employee Activity Tracking space; they know how to make it do what you want it to do and they'll help you do it. We've used their support sparingly. We've found that the software is powerful and feature rich; but also, has great documentation and support is there when we still are needing a nudge.
The IT department manages the classifications of sites and applications as well as installing the software and keeping track of licensed user count.
We set up managers to use this data, get reports, and stay out of the way of those management conversations with their direct reports.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the customer service departments in our organization. It helps us measure who is staying on task during the work day and how productive they are. ActivTrak also allows us mitigate cyber threats related to internet browsing and application usage on company devices.
  • It details web browsing activities of employees which keeps them on task and away from harmful sites.
  • ActivTrak shows us when remote employees start and end their day when working remotely or in the office.
  • They provide easy to use reporting that allows us to quantify the staff hours needed to complete the workload on hand.
  • Getting over the initial hurdle of telling your staff why you are implementing it.
It is very well suited to managing productivity for all employees. It also tells us if the workload is adequate for a particular employee.
It allows us to see the amount of time they spend on productive tasks each day and how that time corresponds to the completion of their workload.
I have not had to use the support very much, but they are prompt when I have requested help.
It is very easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
December 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using ActivTrak for all of our employees in our back office. We do not use it for the whole company as our brokers are 1099 contractors. We implemented this tool as we have multiple employees that work from home across the US. It has been very insightful to discover who was productive with their time and who was not. It allowed us to see that some employees were really only productive for half of the day which allowed us to make personnel adjustments.
  • It is clear to see the productivity throughout the day/week
  • It is a great way to segment productivity by team as well
  • I feel the new way to categorize websites and applications as productive/unproductive was a lot easier prior to the new redesign
I personally am obsessed with ActivTrak, just because I am a competitive person. We decided to put ActivTrak on all of our employee computers regardless of title for full transparency. We did not want our employees to think we were big brothering them. It has allowed us to see employees productivity because we have a lot of people that work from home. We were then able to make personnel adjustments after the program was installed for a couple months.
We had some employees that worked from home/remotely. It allowed us to see their productivity and realize that there was some dead weight. While we were under the impression that employees were busy, it was not nearly what ActivTrak showed. We ended up getting rid of more than half our employees and replacing them.
Always super helpful and responsive
I liked the older version of determining websites and applications that are productive/unproductive. The new way is a little harder.
Read this authenticated review
November 27, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is a very useful tool in our effectiveness to produce activity reports for each of our end users. We are able to determine and find the value each team member contributes as well as their effectiveness in their work. We started at random user targeting, but have moved beyond individuals and began focusing on separate departments.
  • Productivity.
  • Performance.
  • Efficiency.
  • Some users have more than one workstation. Need to tie multiple stations to one user.
  • When classifying productive or nonproductive, [you] have to switch screens too many times.
It is unfortunate that sometimes in the workforce employees abuse computer internet usage. Reports of these activities really help retrain employees and help them focus on their work. We [would] rather review these activities with employees and help them redefine their roles with our company than to loose a good employee for some petty computer abuse. We can retrain employees, make them aware of their work flow, and help make them a more successful part of the company.
Overall we had a handful of employees in the beginning suspected of abusing internet on their computers. It was ravaging once we began collecting reports and data. We were able to monitor, mentor, and retrain very good employees. This was a bit of a battle at first but employees now have began to shift their focus in a more productive nature that produces a great work flow.
I have only needed support two times in three years of using ActivTrak and the support received was well above expected. The technicians also followed up with alternative solutions. On one nature there were no immediate solutions, but the technicians professionally followed up with a good answer and solution to my request.
It is a very effective program that keeps production reports steady and streaming. I enjoy receiving the weekly summary reports which define the overall work flow and progress of all of users. Once you have successfully managed all of your departments it becomes easier to manage the target areas instead of individuals.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActivTrak is being used in the simplest form to track productivity hours for our engineering department. This information is then used to assist with resource and capacity planning.
  • Tracks computer activity at the application level.
  • Tracks computer activity by website.
  • Easy to configure and utilize basic reports.
  • The ActivTrak Accounts Receivable Department often has difficulty processing and tracking transactions.
  • Common system programs and processes should be automatically classified. If we are tracking websites, then you shouldn't have to categorize / classify the browser is being used to access the websites.
ActivTrak works for basic user tracking and monitoring.
The basic features are adequate and can be intuited through the interface.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently using ActivTrak across the organization as a tool to assist in controlling potentially dangerous web access. Being able to monitor in real time and control the access to such sites gave us a very valuable tool for protecting our network environment. Before we implemented this tool, we would have a too many resources wasted in doing these tasks manually.
  • Real time tracking of visited sites.
  • Real time screen views.
  • Reporting tools.
  • A little bit of refinement on the user interface.
  • More customizable reporting tools.
This is a tool that anyone needing to protect their network environment from potential dangerous web site access should look into.
By automatically keeping access blocked to unauthorized sites, we have reduced the network traffic, [and] kept users away from introducing web threats.
Never had to use customer support.
Very simple to use and set up.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ActivTrak is being used across our whole organization. Every employee that receives a company issued device has ActivTrak installed. We use ActivTrak to track the productivity of our users and watch for any security issues or conserns that may arise.
  • Screenshots.
  • Reporting.
  • Great dashboard.
  • Slow loading sometimes.
  • When over the limit maybe email the admin. Do not shutdown the dashboard until resolved.
ActivTrak has been a great tool for us as a company to see who is abusing their hours at work with unproductive surfing of the web or playing video games. We have been able to address these issues with documented proof to address the abusers.
Yes, Activtrak has improved productivity due to the fact our employees know upper management can see what they do on a daily basis. It eliminates all excuses of being too busy to complete their tasks and makes the employee accountable.
Overall, it is a great tool to add to your collection to get a better understanding on how your employees work.
Dashboard is easy to use and find what you need.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as a general tool to monitor security concerns across our remote workforce. It also can be used as a training needs analysis tool as we can see behaviors across the workforce.

We have some employees who request us to block certain websites to help with their productivity, and this tool is able to do that.
  • Quick and easy snapshot of the overall level of activity across the business.
  • Ability for deep dive when needed.
  • The way we use the tool triggered some duplicate accounts to be created, ActivTrak helped us resolve the issue and provided a solution for our case.
We are a 100% remote workforce. It is great for us to have a snap shot of our entire workforce.
We use the tool to monitor the productivity levels in generic terms. The ability to identify trends and issues and take corrective actions is great.
Team is super friendly and in my 5 years of using the tool, they always answer the phone or message back instantly!
The interface could be slightly better, however on the whole it's easy to use and in a logical format.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated data collection (40)
8.0
Data analysis (39)
7.7
Benchmarking (24)
7.1
Pre-built content (35)
7.3
Data management (35)
7.5
Self-service insights (32)
7.2

What is ActivTrak?

ActivTrak helps companies unlock productivity potential. Their workforce analytics and productivity management software provides data and expert insights to empower people, optimize processes, and maximize technology.

Boasting more than 8,500 customers and 250,000 users, ActivTrak aims to help companies around the world embrace and embody the future of work.


ActivTrak Features

Workforce Analytics Features

Has featureAutomated data collection
Has featureData analysis
Has featureBenchmarking
Has featurePre-built content
Has featureData management
Has featureSelf-service insights

ActivTrak Screenshots

ActivTrak Videos (5)

ActivTrak Downloadables

ActivTrak Integrations

ActivTrak Competitors

ActivTrak Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Freemium$0.00per month
Advanced$7.20per user/per month

ActivTrak Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

ActivTrak Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No