Audition Reviews

52 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-20 of 20)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 02, 2020
Jonah Dempcy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Audition works great for recording and doing moderate audio production work as for a podcast or an advertisement. I use it whenever I need to set up a quick recording session and throw a few basic effects, or do some rudimentary audio editing and splicing for a small task like a voice over for a software demo. Sound Forge, WaveLab, and Audacity all have their own strengths. Sound Forge is great for its batch processor with automated file conversion and export. WaveLab is great for its realtime effects chains. And, Audacity is great for its accessibility, and the fact that it is free and open source. Each has its place, and I prefer Adobe Audition for smaller tasks and ad-hoc recording sessions.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review
April 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Audacity is free, but with fewer features. So it depends what you're trying to do. If you want simple audio editing, don't need to do a lot, and are freelancing, then Audacity is probably better suited for you. If you're a business and need to do a lot of audio editing, then Adobe Audition is probably better suited for you.
Read this authenticated review
March 11, 2020
Tom Mulhern | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There are many different options available for audio editing tools in a variety of costs, from free (Audacity and GarageBand) to paid (Logic Pro X). Adobe Audition offers significantly more tools and effects processing than the free options and a better, cross platform, experience than Logic Pro.
Read Tom Mulhern's full review
February 24, 2020
Vinny Hebert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Audacity is a simple editor that most people will only ever need, especially if you are on a budget. But for more advanced control of your audio, Adobe Audition is a better choice. The reason I have said that I've used Adobe Audition for over 20 years (it hasn't been out that long under its current name) is because I used its predecessor, Cool Edit Pro. I used the program in my job for years and was happy that when Adobe purchased it, they didn't ruin it, but improved it.
Read Vinny Hebert's full review
February 14, 2020
Walter Aho | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Audition's interface is much better than other, free/shareware programs. The ease of use with interfaces and USB mics makes production a breeze. I began using Audition simply because it's included in the Creative Cloud suite, but have continued because of its reliability ad ease of use. The powerful tools like using a "noise print" for noise reduction is another reason I keep using it.
Read Walter Aho's full review
February 12, 2020
Kevin O'Grady | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Audition was designed as a professional tool and has maintained that caliber of professionalism ever since. Other audio tools try to emulate Audition but never reach the standard set by Adobe. While all the audio tools on the market can be regarded as a competition, we believe none of them can stand up against Adobe Audition. It outranks them in speed, functionality, ease of use, and professionalism.
Read Kevin O'Grady's full review
January 21, 2020
Nathan Morimitsu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It has been a few years since I used it, but Audacity is limited in scope compared to Audition, and doesn't integrate seamlessly with Premier. Audition's filtering tools are superior, and allow for cleaner audio with less hands on work. Audition is also platform independent, and works the same whether you are on PC or Mac, whereas Audacity works on both platforms, it is very much like having two different programs, both in UI and in capability.
Read Nathan Morimitsu's full review
January 09, 2020
Michael Whatley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Audacity is a great tool for beginners. It's free and provides a lot of user-created options and templates to choose from that help produce consistently quality audio. Adobe Audition is for those who are looking for more control in how they can produce audio. Adobe Audition provides users a seemingly endless array of tools, effects, enhancements, and more that can be applied to audio of many different formats. It's an incredible software platform that allows anyone with the knowledge and experience to produce quality audio from a less than ideal source file.
Read Michael Whatley's full review
November 14, 2019
Jonathan Cantu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Audition definitely holds its own against Logic Pro. They are fairly similar in usability, support, tools, etc. My choice on either would largely depend on the video editing software I'm using. If I were using Final Cut Pro X I would most likely utilize Logic Pro. It's the same with Adobe Premiere and Adobe Audition.
Read Jonathan Cantu's full review
November 05, 2019
Lochan Kalicharan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Audition is jam-packed with features that allow you to do almost anything with audio files. The interface is a little daunting but it is very easy to learn. The software compared to Audacity is very far along as far as technology for sound editing goes.
Read Lochan Kalicharan's full review
January 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Audition is the middle ground between Audacity and Pro Tools. It has many more features then Audacity, but Audacity is free, so that's to be expected. And it's not quite as robust as Pro Tools, but also doesn't have the costs involved, especially since it's already included in an Adobe CC subscription.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Again, while I use FCPX for all my video editing (and much of my audio editing), Audition provides a much richer feature set. I know that I've only dipped my big toe into the Audition waters and could learn a lot more if I spent the time in it but my work doesn't currently allow for or necessitate further exploration.
Read this authenticated review
December 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When putting features side by side and cost, Adobe Audition is by far one of the most complete solutions in the market for audio authoring - at least in the consumer market, not referring to full studio professional solutions.
Read this authenticated review
July 11, 2019
Nathan Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I mentioned earlier that I used software from Sony before moving to Audition. I really liked the Sony solution, but when I moved to Audition I found a lot more power and surprisingly, an easier-to-use solution. Working with the timeline in Audition is more intuitive for me. Audition has more effects than the Sony product had and the interface is better organized. Plus, Audition's workspace can be customized in ways I never figured out how to do in the Sony product.
Read Nathan Roberts's full review
August 21, 2019
Todd Dodge | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Audition is definitely the way to go for your audio needs versus Adobe Premiere Pro. But, you can actually open the audio you're working on in Premiere Pro in Adobe Audition and edit it directly without needing to save the audio separately and importing it. You can make live changes in Audition and it updates in Premiere.
Read Todd Dodge's full review
April 24, 2019
Joshua Hipp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Audition is an amazing, well-rounded software. Compared to the much simpler audio editing software Audacity, it is leaps and bounds above. Audacity is a free software that's good for a quick edit here or there. Compared to Audition, though, it's a pretty weak offering. Audition has huge capability when it comes to editing and effects, and Audacity has the bare minimum in these categories. Comparing Audition to Pro Tools is a little different. Pro Tools is the go-to software for music production. Although it can accomplish many of the same things as Audition, its workflow is better suited for music production specifically.
Read Joshua Hipp's full review
June 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Audition is not as intuitive as ProTools, but the fact that it is part of the Adobe Creative Suite makes it far more cost efficient for smaller to medium businesses. It is far superior than Audacity and GarageBand with far more capabilities. We've selected Adobe Audition as our primary audio editing software because of it's capabilities with Premiere Pro and the fact that we generally use it for audio recording and minor edits- nothing that would need 30+ audio tracks and multiple custom plug ins, which I would prefer to use ProTools on.
Read this authenticated review

What is Audition?

Adobe offers Audition as part of the Creative Cloud suite, a sound and audio editing and creation application.
Categories:  Audio Editing

Audition Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Audition - Individuals$31.49per month
Single App - Business$33.99per month

Audition Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Audition?

Adobe offers Audition as part of the Creative Cloud suite, a sound and audio editing and creation application.

What is Audition's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 7.7.

Who uses Audition?

The most common users of Audition are Small Businesses from the Internet industry.