Audition Reviews

52 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-21 of 21)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 09, 2021
Andy Fuller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Audition is a great solution for a beginning podcaster or broadcaster who needs an intuitive platform to edit and adjust their audio files. The interface allows you to mix multiple audio files together, such as interviews, sound effects, voice over, and music. It has all the tools readily available to help you produce a polished product. Like any platform, there are some tips and tricks you have to learn by immersing yourself in the program. For instance, there is often a static sound produced in some tracks that can be removed by adjusting the leveler in a given track. This program may not be useful for someone with literally no computer/tech savvy whatsoever.
Read Andy Fuller's full review
October 27, 2020
Chris Hecox | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Audition is a huge upgrade from a free alternative like Audacity (though I used an older version of Audacity). I recommend podcasters, etc, at least give it a go. For heavy professional use, like mixing, I'd use a higher tier tool like Pro Tools.
Read Chris Hecox's full review
June 02, 2020
Jonah Dempcy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Audition is great for on-location recording, or just recording in general, but especially when you want to be up and running with little fuss. It is also great for audio for film and motion graphics, within the Adobe ecosystem, because of its tight integration with Adobe Premiere. Furthermore, it is well-suited for podcasting and broadcast audio because of its features aimed specifically at podcasters, like auto-ducking of music tracks with voiceover. Audition also has very nice features like Diagnostics, Delete Silence, and Trim Long Silent Pauses, which automatically removes silence in spoken word audio tracks.

Audition is less suited for extensive audio editing where you want to, for instance, listen to a 2-hour interview at double speed and add markers in at all the gaps which need to be edited more precisely than the automated silence trimming can handle. In that case, I prefer an application like Sound Forge which allows me to rapidly mark and navigate through the markers, all using the keyboard. Audition does have marker support (also called cues) and perhaps if I were more familiar with the hotkeys, I would find it just as easy to use. However, given the choice, I prefer editing in Sound Forge or WaveLab.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review
April 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I give Adobe Audition an "8" because there are free tools out there (like Audacity) that do the job as well. As most know, Adobe Audition is part of Adobe's Creative Cloud license which means there are significant monetary barriers. This product is well suited for an audio and video professional looking to get the best out of their audio output.
Read this authenticated review
March 11, 2020
Tom Mulhern | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Audition is very well suited for someone who is familiar with the standard Adobe interface and needs a comprehensive tool for editing or repairing audio. It has all of the effects, plugins, and tools to create professional and high quality audio projects. It has an intuitive interface if you have used any of the other Adobe products before.
Read Tom Mulhern's full review
February 24, 2020
Vinny Hebert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Audition is a powerhouse. If you are only doing simple audio editing, maybe this is not for you. But if you like having the option of multi-track editing, many filters, and the control over your sound, then Audition is your choice. I deal with vintage radio programs that some were transferred from tapes to a digital form, and sometimes you get the whine, like a squeaky wheel. To have the ability to see the audio in a frequency GUI and isolate frequencies is just amazing.
Read Vinny Hebert's full review
February 14, 2020
Walter Aho | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For basic recordings, or use in video and animations, Audition has been great. Where I could see it breaking down would be in a music production setting. The interface doesn't seem to lend itself well to working across devices, DAWs and controllers very well. That being said, while other options are more "typical" for those applications, Audition would still create a fantastic end result.
Read Walter Aho's full review
February 12, 2020
Kevin O'Grady | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you can afford it, go for Adobe Audition over the available free tools. The free audio programs are great, but when the time comes in your personal or business life when you need to go pro, then Adobe Audition is the best choice. We left it late to embrace the full functionality of Adobe Audition and found out the hard way that we should have just dived in. Our podcasts and online courses have benefitted so much from having switched to Adobe Audition 8 years ago, and now we will not go back.
Read Kevin O'Grady's full review
January 21, 2020
Nathan Morimitsu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Being able to incorporate/integrates Audition with Premiere makes adding audio to video projects easy. Premiere allows you to edit the original audio file in Audition, and it will automatically update in your video project without having to delete the original file and import the new file. This saves an enormous amount of time and makes editing on the fly super easy and intuitive.
Read Nathan Morimitsu's full review
January 09, 2020
Michael Whatley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Audition is well suited for detailed audio production and manipulation. There are many options, tools, and effects that can be easily added within Audition that are missing from other programs such as Audacity. With Audacity, you get a very straight-forward interface with limited options and capabilities. It's great for beginners to learn the process of audio production. Once you master Audacity, then it becomes much easier to work with Adobe Audition. The range of options within Audition far outmeasure those in Audacity and provide for a much cleaner output.
Read Michael Whatley's full review
November 14, 2019
Jonathan Cantu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We use it for fine-tuning audio in most regards--especially if the audio quality is poor. I wouldn't necessarily take audio outside of Adobe Premiere or other video editing software unless it needs serious treatment in quality. But when it is needed it most definitely delivers. One example we have was an interview that had a constant humming sound (possibly electronic interference). In order to remove this very distracting sound, we isolated the frequency in Adobe Audition and removed it entirely. There aren't many programs that can do that.
Read Jonathan Cantu's full review
November 05, 2019
Lochan Kalicharan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Audition is perfect for converting audio between formats especially if your project requires a specific or obscure format. Files that need to be digitally cleaned of noise are also perfect candidates for the audition treatment. My staff has also used it to create and shorten audio files to overlay on video files in Premiere.
Read Lochan Kalicharan's full review
January 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For complex, multi-track editing, Adobe Audition is very well suited. Its environment for mixing the tracks works well and can make editing audio very efficient. If you're looking for something for just making a few simple edits in a single track recording, Adobe Audition might be overkill for you and could seem very overwhelming.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I especially like using Adobe for more complicated EQ or audio cleanup. Some of the videos we produce are shot on a webcam and the audio can be...well...less than premium. And the cleanup in FCPX isn't quite enough to get it to a very presentable state. I also like to use it for more robust EQing of a file for certain use cases.
Read this authenticated review
December 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Audition is very well suited not just for audio engineers, but anyone on the audio/video production business with a complete set of tools is required for creating, repair and remix sound files to later integrate with video projects. Also great for those looking to create valued audio content such as podcasts, etc.
Read this authenticated review
July 11, 2019
Nathan Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If all you want to accomplish is shortening a track, Audition is overkill. There are likely more approachable products for basic sound editing. If you already have the Adobe Creative Suite, however, or have a need for a product with a seemingly endless array of tools, features, and effects, Audition is for you. As a plus, it plays well with other Creative Suite apps, such as After Effects. The more I use it, the more I fall in love with it. While my prior editing solution worked well, you would find me kicking and screaming if you pulled me away from Audition. If you are still unsure, Adobe offers a seven-day trial so you can test it for yourself and see if it meets your needs. I recommend you already have a track in mind you want to edit before you begin the trial, instead of just downloading it to "play." You'll have a much better appreciation of its scope and power with real-world use.
Read Nathan Roberts's full review
August 21, 2019
Todd Dodge | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Audition is best suited for say, a band or musician editing their audio tracks and being able to fine-tune very specific elements of each track and sound and anything else captured during the recording process. For our instances, it's a little too complicated for what we use it for, but Adobe Spark or Adobe Rush don't have enough features, so there is no in-between.
Read Todd Dodge's full review
April 24, 2019
Joshua Hipp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Audition is the must-have software for audio producers and creators of any kind. Whether it be radio, film, podcasting, or any other application where audio editing or production is needed, Adobe Audition has features and abilities that make it extremely efficient. Producing a radio drama, editing a podcast or syncing and editing Audio for film are amazing abilities of the software, and that's just scratching the surface.
Read Joshua Hipp's full review
August 01, 2019
Bryan Crowe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It really does a nice job of manipulating audio. I would like to see more presets that get the "ball rolling" in a manner of speaking. A good starting point to alter audio. For example, noise reduction, or pinpointing how to identify noise and remove it.
Read Bryan Crowe's full review
June 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Audition is well suited for smaller scale audio projects, and for projects that need significant integration with Premiere. It is fantastic at recording audio, and has quite a few useful plug-ins that can really benefit the end user. Where it lacks is for larger scale projects, and for projects where a significant amount of reversions are made. You need to ensure that you always have a backup because Audition will overwrite your original files with the revisions you make. I find that it also doesn't have the capabilities to support larger-scale projects such as a full band recording with live plug-ins. For video/audio podcasts, YouTube videos, quick audio fixes, it is fantastic and can be very intuitive.
Read this authenticated review

What is Audition?

Adobe offers Audition as part of the Creative Cloud suite, a sound and audio editing and creation application.
Categories:  Audio Editing

Audition Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Audition - Individuals$31.49per month
Single App - Business$33.99per month

Audition Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Audition?

Adobe offers Audition as part of the Creative Cloud suite, a sound and audio editing and creation application.

What is Audition's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 7.7.

Who uses Audition?

The most common users of Audition are Small Businesses from the Internet industry.