Adobe Business Catalyst (Discontinued) Reviews

61 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-20 of 20)

Richard Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 26, 2018

If only Adobe BC accounts could stop charging for unwanted services - Be careful No BC Refund Policy Exisits !

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We do'nt have to worry about the website uptime and maintainence which means 100% avalibility to our customer to improvove our ROI
  • We only want to pay for services that we use and the problem with bundled package services is that you can end up paying for more servicves than you need or use. whats wrong with given customers a service tick box and then providing them a price for what they are going to use rather than lots of unused services that reduce ROI
  • We could have improved our ROI 7 months ago had we know about BC SSL certification upgrade, which improves SEO to improve our internet search results
Read Richard Taylor's full review
John Reitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2017

Adobe Business Catalyst, A Solid Mid-Level hosted CMS

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • As someone who uses it on behalf of other clients, our ROI with BC is definitely positive. We needed a mid-range CMS without huge licensing costs to satisfy mid-range clients who have some dynamic needs but doesn't need the expense or liability of enterprise level products. Without it we would have lost possible customers or taken bigger hits on projects because of the costs involved with satisfying their mid-level needs
  • Our clients are all usually very positive about the BC platform and are able to use it themselves which lessens our Support time/cost.
  • To use the Web App element,. which we do on almost every site, you need to pay for the highest plan. This brings along with it many features most of our clients would never use. A more basic plan with that Web App capability would be a big improvement on our costs.
Read John Reitz's full review
Jonathan Hodak | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2016

Adobe Business Catalyst and why it is the solution for most small businesses

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Adobe Business Catalyst really allowed the marketing company that I worked for to help manage a fair number of websites for different clients easily. The platform took some time to get up and running and get used to, but after that it was very nice to manage everything in one place, so it definitely increased efficiency and speed of website building.
  • Adobe Business Catalyst also has good support as well as having a lot of white-label training videos to help train non-technical users how to access their website and get data such as analytics and even edit parts of their website without needing to constantly ask someone else to do it for them.
  • Adobe Business Catalyst is a little less popular than other options like Drupal, WordPress and Joomla, therefore getting into it and getting started can be a bit of a learning curve.
  • Adobe Business Catalyst allows you to charge your clients for their websites from inside the managing tools, and allows you to set your own prices and white label everything which is extremely nice!
Read Jonathan Hodak's full review
Dan Butler | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2016

Business Catalyst: The Chemistry Between Designer and Client

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The biggest returns I have seen come from using BC as an individual product in my offerings. I see that it is also growing as a product and Adobe is growing it as a lead generation platform.
  • The second biggest positive impact to my business comes from the time saved in development. My target demographic is small to medium sized businesses and BC is perfect for marketing to this demographic.
  • My biggest complaint is that there is a lack of server side customization. When clients ask me if a certain type of website or application can be done I automatically know that I cannot put that site on the BC platform.
Read Dan Butler's full review
Jeff French | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2015

From Business Catalyst to our own branded ZebraCatalyst

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Surprisingly enough and despite having a second, less expensive hosting solution, a majority of our clients prefer to use the Adobe Business Catalyst solution. We are then able to enjoy the commissions that are returned as we sign up new customers for annual contracts.
  • Being able to store and utilize data that comes from web form submissions has been very helpful in customer retention since we became a partner in 2011. Since that time, we have only lost two clients. That's 3 times better than our other hosting solution.
  • Our largest negative impact has come from having only one choice in SSLs. For example, we had a great client in a local and growing bank. We spent 2 months getting the web site built to their specifications and we were very clear on the SSL situation. However, once the site went live, problems arose. In the past they had submitted their site to search engines with their secure URL and that was all that was indexed. Then when their customers searched for their site and clicked on the secure URL, it either showed that the site could not be found OR it said that they were entering to a site with an unverified SSL. People would then call the bank and complain. We then had to quickly move their site to another solution costing us days of re-development time and resources.
Read Jeff French's full review
Pauline Kraus | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 08, 2015

One Login to Rule Them All

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Business Catalyst provides partners and clients a single system to learn and maintain. No need to constantly switch gears to remember who has what CMS which makes support more efficient.
  • Business Catalyst has made it possible to create and launch sites in less time thus increasing profitability.
  • Business Catalyst is a large investment in the beginning about monetarily and in learning the system. It may not affordable to smaller agencies.
Read Pauline Kraus's full review
Sean Parnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2014

Innovaxis Marketing Review of Adobe Business Catalyst

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Has allowed us to develop websites about 25-50% faster when compared with WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, Umbraco, Modx, Miva, etc.
  • Has eliminated the need to manually updated the content management system, which is the main weakness of WordPress
  • Has become our default web content management system, which has led to website development driving growth for our business in addition to our strategic marketing consulting and research services
Read Sean Parnell's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2014

A Review of the Adobe Family

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Well you can't really beat consistency throughout an entire family of programs. Adobe in pretty much uncontested in this arena.
  • If you are a designer, you will need these programs at some point. It is a depressing fact, but Adobe has the absolute monopoly in the business. If it is any consolation, they make excellent programs.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (13)
2.3
Dynamic content (15)
9.0
Ability to test dynamic content (11)
7.9
Landing pages (11)
7.0
A/B testing (5)
7.0
Mobile optimization (13)
8.0
Email deliverability reporting (13)
8.1
List management (13)
3.0
Triggered drip sequences (8)
6.8
Lead nurturing (11)
1.7
Lead scoring and grading (8)
2.2
Data quality management (9)
1.4
Automated sales alerts and tasks (10)
1.6
Calendaring (10)
2.4
Event/webinar marketing (9)
2.3
Social sharing and campaigns (7)
7.8
Social profile integration (8)
8.6
Dashboards (15)
8.0
Standard reports (15)
7.0
Custom reports (12)
6.0
API (11)
7.9
Role-based workflow & approvals (14)
7.0
Customizability (13)
6.0
Integration with Salesforce.com (2)
5.5

About Adobe Business Catalyst (Discontinued)

Adobe Business Catalyst is an all-in-one cloud-hosted system for building and managing web content and on online store. It has a built-in CRM framework, sales, service, and marketing features including eCommerce and Email Marketing tools. It was acquired by Adobe in 2009, five years after the original developers founded a company. It is a content management solution at minimum, and typical web content management features are present --themes, SEO, an editing interface, document management--, but with the built-in CRM and eCommerce it is targeted at businesses looking to sell online.

The yearly pricing plan for Adobe Business Catalyst starts at $10.99 per month with the narrower webBasics+ pack, which includes content management features and site analytics, as well as a hosted email. The $16.99 per month web marketing pack brings the CRM into the fold, as well as targeted email marketing and the blog. The $34.99 webCommerce pack adds the eCommerce solution, and for $52.99 and $71.99, you can expand access from 3 users to 5 and 10 users, respectively. Paying biyearly takes %5 further off the cost, paying month to month adds 10% to these prices.

Adobe has released an end-of-life announcement for Business Catalyst which can be accessed here. New sites will no longer be available for purchase as of June 2018 and Adobe will stop hosting existing sites on Business Catalyst in March of 2021.

Adobe Business Catalyst (Discontinued) Integrations

Adobe Business Catalyst (Discontinued) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No