Adobe Illustrator Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
738 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 76)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 06, 2021
Courtney Birnbaum | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Illustrator [CC] is great for creating graphics. It is not as well suited for multi-page text-and-image documents (InDesign is your best bet there) or photo editing (you want Photoshop). Sometimes [Adobe Illustrator CC] makes your graphic art so simple, as it has many helpful tools, and Adobe even offers tutorials on their website as a reliable resource for learning how to use their extensive tools better. However, artists looking to draw in vectors may prefer a software with more brush options and other artist-focused tools (Clip Studio Paint comes to mind here as being very artist friendly, but I am uncertain about its vector properties). In summary, Illustrator does logos and graphics incredibly well, and can be used as substitute for text layout software in a pinch.
Read Courtney Birnbaum's full review
May 04, 2021
Terra Stafford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

[Adobe] Illustrator CC is the industry standard for creating vector graphics, infographics, icons, and being able to download editable stock graphics to use in various applications. As the Design Team lead for our company, I wouldn't hire someone that doesn't know how to use Illustrator. We use it almost every day, and it touches every client project that we create.
Read Terra Stafford's full review
April 28, 2021
Dawood Awan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is best for professional graphic designing. I wish it had built-in tutorials.The user interface is a bit messy and not suitable for beginners. You need advanced computers if you want to install its latest updated versions, as the system requirements are quite strict. For the 2021 version(which is the latest version) you need at least 8Gb RAM to make it work properly. In essence, the more you use it, the more you love it.
Read Dawood Awan's full review
April 14, 2021
Eric Batson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

[Adobe Illustrator CC] is perfect for creating images that range from basic "flat" graphics to more complex 3d graphics using gradients, shadows, shading, etc. It is perfect for logo design and novel graphic creation. It also includes the ability to incorporate and manipulate text. I have used it to work with image files, although that is not its main purpose.
Read Eric Batson's full review
April 12, 2021
Heather Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Illustrator CC is great for graphic designers to create icons, illustrations, graphics, and fonts. Some designers use it primarily to design everything from posters, postcards, web graphics, etc, but I believe Illustrator is less suited for this, and InDesign should be used for those purposes. Illustrator is great for creating graphics that would get added [to] programs like InDesign.
Read Heather Miller's full review
May 09, 2021
Musab Nismy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Illustrator is best if your company really needs an advanced graphic designing software and if you are read to invest a large amount of money either monthly or annually. It's not appropriate for your company if you are just starting out or if you just need a graphic designing software for minor work. As any investment is, it is useful to anyone whose main focus is graphic designing or related to graphic designing.
Read Musab Nismy's full review
April 22, 2021
Kelly Reumann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Illustrator is a bit costly in comparison to other vector creation software out there so I'd recommend it for larger companies with more cash to spend. This program is also not for the beginner. I'd recommend it for anyone doing some serious graphic work. Something like Corel is simpler and easier for someone starting out with this kind of thing.
Read Kelly Reumann's full review
April 15, 2021
Sissy Yee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

AI is well suited for designers and illustrators who need to create scalable art work or assets and don't want to lose resolution. Clean and beautiful work can be created with AI. However the learning curve is not the quickest so it is better suited for those who either already have some knowledge of the Adobe Creative Suite or for those who are willing to spend the time and money to learn from a course or on their own.
Read Sissy Yee's full review
April 14, 2021
Carl Grivakis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Illustrator is the king in logo making and development; it's the industry standard. You can also use it to execute the logo suite in a full stationery set, best for single page design, but not for multiple page execution, that should live in InDesign. Illustrator graphics print cleanly regardless of size, so long as they remain vector, but some of the effects might be good to avoid, such as drop shadows, as they are typically rendered as bitmaps.
Read Carl Grivakis's full review
April 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The printing industry has relied on Adobe Illustrator CC, and its ability to dexterously load and save various formats, since the late 1980s. It is particularly suited for creating vectorized collateral for commercial printing. I would love to see tighter integration between Adobe Illustrator CC and Photoshop for raster image manipulation -- i.e. I don't want to have to unembed an image in Adobe Illustrator CC just to edit it in Photoshop, which means saving a new image file. Adobe Illustrator CC is often employed by professionals to cleanly mask raster images using vector outlines. It excels at this function, which ought to be thought of as an official feature.
Read this authenticated review
April 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Illustrator CC is super useful if you need to create an icon or shape object that is more complex than a primitive (square, circle) all the way through creating complex vector-illustrated characters for animation, and it is great for embedding and editing custom vector smart objects in Photoshop (essentially Adobe Illustrator CC files contained within a Photoshop layer)--but it is not a piece of software that a Photoshop user could just hop over to and know how to use. There is a definite learning curve, and I imagine a new user just trying to get it to do one specific thing might be easily frustrated
Read this authenticated review
April 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This is the industry-standard tool. It's very powerful and has been in the works for 20+ years. Adobe is very good at tweaking and implementing it over the years and it has done a great job with it.
It works well for designing single page compositions but it handles well compositions with multiple pages, despite inDesign handling multiple page projects better.
To a point, for architectural humanized blueprints, CorelDraw had a more efficient workflow than Illustrator, but I don't know if I would ever go back to CorelDraw since it is way more unstable and less practical than Illustrator.
Read this authenticated review
December 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Illustrator CC is best suited for designers and illustrators who want to develop a concept from a sketch to a final design. The main benefit here is that this design can now be scaled to any size without loosing quality. This makes the design more versatile and adaptable to various print formats. It is usually the industry standard software for creating brand identities for most advertising agencies.
Read this authenticated review
October 07, 2020
John Reitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We often get bad raster images of logos and are able to trace and recreate them as a vector which is needed to make use of them in new projects. We also often need to create new icons for applications and it is the only good way to do this. We also are able to export in a wide number of formats.
Read John Reitz's full review
November 19, 2019
Emily Giannakas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Illustrator is great for graphic design work across the board and can be used for a wide variety of projects, such as posters, digital ads, short video slides, etc. I can't really think off the top of my head what it wouldn't be good for. But if you have a willingness to learn and spend time with Illustrator, it will open up so many design opportunities to you.
Read Emily Giannakas's full review
November 12, 2019
Robert Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Logos and other artwork that needs to scale up and down are the best place to use Illustrator. I find it fast and powerful so I don't spend time waiting on it to refresh. As a CorelDraw user for 30 years, I can say that Illustrator is the more powerful of the two even if Corel is easier to just pick up and learn.
Read Robert Brown's full review
December 13, 2019
David Sedillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The industry standard for digital imagery and production of print images, Adobe Illustrator will allow any graphic designer or digital artist to see their artwork through completion and production. Because it has been on the market for so long, Adobe has introduced a complete set of tools that is appropriate for any situation. Some may be turned off by the Adobe subscription model, however.
Read David Sedillo's full review
February 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Basically I would say Adobe Illustrator CC is well suited for any situation where you need to create and print a graphic, poster, or ad. There are a lot of different features which means you can do a lot of different things in this program. If you are willing to put in some time learning Illustrator then the possibilities are endless.
Read this authenticated review
December 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For creating vector, scalable artwork, Illustrator is hands down the best option. Files created in Illustrator will yield a professional result. If you plan on using it to do print layouts, however, Illustrator is clunky and difficult to manage, in comparison to other Adobe products. It is not well suited for multi page documents such as books or manuals.
Read this authenticated review
October 22, 2019
Maria Clara Daly | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Do not try and use this for multi-page designs—the multiple artboards you'd need to create within one doc are just a pure hassle and it's really a task better suited to InDesign in any case. This is great for any sort of design work where you want to be able to create quick and easy, highly editable vector graphics. It also pairs very nicely when used in tandem with Photoshop to do actual illustration. I think it shines the most when being used to create web assets (whether you export as JPEG, PNG or SVG), infographics, logos and flow charts.
Read Maria Clara Daly's full review
November 01, 2019
Alfred Simmons | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Illustrator is perfect for graphic designs. It allows me to create any design that I need (thanks to the vector tool). Our department uses it as the main tool for creating any visual ads, social media ads and any marketing printed materials that we use in public events. Illustrator might not be suitable for people who are new to the software because it is not easy to figure out all the features and tools options that illustrator provides.
Read Alfred Simmons's full review
October 29, 2019
Tobie Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We use Illustrator when designing graphics. It is not meant to be a design layout program even though some people do use it that was. Wonderful for designing logos, creating graphs and info graphics. I have been an Illustrator user for over 20 years and there are still things I am learning. They have great product updates and seem to listen to user feedback when adding in faster ways to accomplish tasks.
Read Tobie Anderson's full review
October 27, 2019
Holli Drewry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Adobe Illustrator is especially well suited for use in creating graphics or logos, one-page flyers, signs, or folded brochures (no more than front and back printing). The pen tool and layers make it easy to complete complicated text wraps. I would not recommend Illustrator for multiple page documents - Adobe InDesign is the better tool for that type of design.
Read Holli Drewry's full review
October 24, 2019
Jason Wilkinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Illustrator is best suited to icon development, logo design or 2D mockups. These are quick to implement and it's brilliant for creating campaign assets to use elsewhere. Illustrator falls down when it comes to create large format print - even at half size or quarter size, it simply can't handle it. However, it's perfect for initial layouts.
Read Jason Wilkinson's full review

What is Adobe Illustrator?

Adobe Illustrator CC is a vector-based graphic design software.
Categories:  Graphics

Adobe Illustrator Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Annual$20.99per month
Monthly$31.49per month

Adobe Illustrator Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Adobe Illustrator's top competitors?

Figma, Canva, and GIMP are common alternatives for Adobe Illustrator.

What is Adobe Illustrator's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.3.

Who uses Adobe Illustrator?

The most common users of Adobe Illustrator are from Small Businesses and the Marketing & Advertising industry.