Adobe Illustrator Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
719 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 72)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 14, 2021
Courtney Birnbaum | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Create resizable images (vector images)
  • Export files into image files at multiple sizes
  • Color management: remove spot colors before printing; gather CMYK or RGB values to ensure consistent color use across all projects — this is something that Adobe CC Libraries also assists with greatly.
  • Create files for web use
  • Access to colors or selecting an area of an image can take a few more clicks than expected.
  • The trace tools have come a long way since older versions of Illustrator but still do not reliably transform every image into usable vectors, i.e., you cannot easily transform a photo into line art by merely using a trace tool.
  • I would like to see more free-hand vector pen tools
Read Courtney Birnbaum's full review
April 14, 2021
Eric Batson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows you to create vector graphics that can be manipulated as you need.
  • It provides the ability to create professional looking graphics.
  • You can manipulate fonts in many ways.
  • The pen tool takes practice, and is not intuitive for some people.
  • There are MANY features that may be overwhelming for a beginner.
  • You need to also use Photoshop to create gifs, versus only using Illustrator.
Read Eric Batson's full review
April 12, 2021
Heather Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Vector Illustration. There are a lot of tools present in Adobe Illustrator that give you the freedom to create whatever you're thinking of.
  • Detailed Graph creation. When we need something with more options than Excel to create graphs, Adobe Illustrator has many more options to play with.
  • Pasteboard freedom. When working on a project that has multiple sizes and iterations that are needed, it's possible to create all the different pasteboard sizes in one file. There's no need to create 15 separate files for 15 differently-sized web graphics, simply duplicate, resize, and export all within one file.
  • Huge Learning Curve. I've been using Adobe Illustrator for over 10 years and there are still things I don't know how to do and need to look up tutorials for. The information you need is all out there, but you definitely have to take the initiative to learn those intricacies yourself.
  • Doesn't always give the desired result. Sometimes I'll try to create something, and I implement my plan, but some shape wasn't fully closed, or there was a clipping mask somewhere I wasn't aware of, and suddenly it won't do what I want. It can be frustrating when trying to create something quickly and coming up on a brick wall like that.
  • Keyboard commands don't line up with other Adobe programs. Since I alternate between InDesign, Illustrator, and Photoshop quite frequently, I tend to have different keyboard commands memorized. But there are certain commands that InDesign has, that Illustrator uses for a completely different tool. It can be frustrating and I feel like I always have to relearn what I had memorized.
Read Heather Miller's full review
April 15, 2021
Sissy Yee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Vector scaling.
  • Clean beautiful art work.
  • Easier to learn if you're familiar with Adobe PhotoShop or InDesign.
  • General shortcuts should be the same as other parts of the Adobe Creative Suite.
  • Pen tool anchor points don't always move into the exact place, even when all "snap options" are off.
  • Colors don't seem consistent across Adobe Creative Suite even when both files are RGB or CMYK.
Read Sissy Yee's full review
April 14, 2021
Carl Grivakis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Creating vector graphics for line art icons that can then be exported to Google Slides, or Microsoft Powerpoint, allows for custom graphics versus typical Word Art.
  • The only proper way to execute on a full logo set, the vector elements have been an industry standard, and tools such as shape builder have made the process even faster.
  • Exporting backgrounds to be used in presentations has allowed me to create larger branding options for my client, creating elements to more robustly fulfill their needs.
  • Illustrator is a powerful program, and that makes it a memory hog, so it makes a powerful computer necessary.
  • Recently made available on the IPAD, the tools are nice, but the Illustrator app doesn't have all of the tools the computer-based program has.
  • Might like to see more integration into photoshop and InDesign, at some level, these could almost all be united into one tool.
Read Carl Grivakis's full review
October 27, 2020
Chris Hecox | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Illustrator has tons of options for creation. I feel confident in saying that if you can dream up any sort of 2d design, it can be recreated within Illustrator.
  • Illustrator can handle .pdf files and other types of image files. I find this helpful when I'm working on a number of different file types, so compatibility isn't usually an issue for me with Illustrator.
  • Illustrator has many tools that are easy to use once you've learned some basic understanding of how they can be used. The software is incredibly complex and offers many ways to accomplish whatever design tasks you are interested in.
  • Illustrator offers pretty good compatibility between itself and other Adobe programs, so I've found that to be a great thing when working within the Adobe Suite.
  • It feels as if Adobe products are all created individually, and as if all of the developers work in different parts of the world. Even though there are great advantages to using these applications in tandem. They don't share keyboard shortcuts, and there are other things that work one way in one program, but work differently in Illustrator.
  • Illustrator is complex and has an incredibly steep learning curve. I've been using it for the last 6 years or so, and I feel I've only scratched the surface. Adobe does an OK job of providing tutorials, but you have to look for them online, and even then, you might find better tutorials on YouTube.
Read Chris Hecox's full review
April 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast, easy-to-understand vector drawing and modification tools
  • Tight integration with After Effects for an efficient animation workflow
  • Industry-standard support for decades-old vector formats all the way through the present
  • Toolset is sometimes confusing for Photoshop users attempting to migrate
  • Vector drawing is more similar to 3D modeling than traditional drawing, and awareness of this seems limited/could use more marketing dollars being thrown at it
  • Boolean operations using the pathfinder tools are absolutely essential to my own workflow but kind of buried as a feature. I think they deserve a higher-level integration into the toolset.
Read this authenticated review
April 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Uniformity and fluidity with other Adobe software
  • very easy to layout publications
  • easy to export and prepare for printing
  • Easy to manage multiple pages documents
  • Great assortment of brushes, templates, swatches available anywhere on the web
  • Stable software. Almost never had an issue with handling large files.
  • Placing images in it is still very rudimentary
  • Integration with 3D Models
  • Adobe reduced the custom scripts capabilities in the latest versions of Illustrator.
Read this authenticated review
December 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Adobe Illustrator CC is the best software to create corporate identity designs because of its use of vector. Users can create a design and then scale it to any size without loosing image quality. This is especially important for designs that would have multiple uses like a logo.
  • Adobe Illustrator CC has a variety of tools that allow the user to manipulate lines and shapes into great design creations. These tools all complement each other and help the user create their vision efficiently.
  • Adobe Illustrator CC is the best software to create designs that are scalable. This is possible because it is a vector-based software.
  • Adobe Illustrator CC's interface can be a bit intimidating and overwhelming. A redesign of this interface to have a more inviting user experience is needed.
  • I would like to see a downloadable version of Adobe Illustrator again. Ever since Adobe decided to switch to a subscription-based model, some customers have decided to use alternatives.
  • Adobe Illustrator CC does not intergrade with images fluently. It would be nice to see an improvement where vector and raster images can work more efficiently together.
Read this authenticated review
October 07, 2020
John Reitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Edit and create vector images.
  • Connects with other adobe products.
  • Useful for changing existing images.
  • Backward compatibility of file formats.
  • Save directly to creative cloud.
  • Simplify panels.
Read John Reitz's full review
October 22, 2019
Maria Clara Daly | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Logo creation
  • Single page flyer design/fast comps for digital pieces
  • Infographics
  • Charts with far more custom options than Excel provides
  • This is a tough one: I feel the system is incredibly powerful and incorporates beautifully with the CC suite.
  • The system can on occasion seem a bit slow to 'recognize' a new font that's been added through the external font management system, so it sometimes takes a few (or even a restart of the program) for it to 'see' a missing font that's been reactivated, but this may be local to my machine and network.
  • The pop-out menu for the pen/anchor point tool used to be more robust, including the ability to add and delete points as well as adjust vector paths all from one condensed little menu, I do wish that arrangement would return.
Read Maria Clara Daly's full review
November 19, 2019
Emily Giannakas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lots of options for sizes (inches, points, pixels)
  • No bounds to creativity and what you can make
  • Love the ability I have to take something I create within Illustrator and make tweaks within other Adobe products, such as Photoshop and Premiere.
  • It might be my computer, but it takes a while to load each time I'm opening up the application.
  • Sometimes certain tools along the side bar don't work, which can be a pain when you have to figure out how to get them to work again in your current work space.
Read Emily Giannakas's full review
November 12, 2019
Robert Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Illustrator is a very robust toolset with tons of ways of accomplishing the same things - you can take the path that makes you most comfortable (most of the time).
  • Illustrator is an industry standard - many people make videos on YouTube to show how to accomplish things so you can learn from them without reinventing the wheel (so to speak).
  • Illustrator does a good job of pretending to make organic shapes using the variable tools to tweak your lines. It allows the seasoned user to create truly stunning images that encompass their imagination.
  • Complicated and dense - Illustrator has so many ways of doing the same thing, it's easy to get lost. Much like Photoshop, you can use it for years and never even notice tons of tools that might make your life easier if you could only tell how they worked.
  • Hotkeys are sometimes weird (compared to Photoshop).
  • Pen tool separates the newbs from the pros. If you can't use the pen tool and you want to work with Illustrator every day you will have difficulty. I'm only halfway decent after taking a Masters class and I could definitely improve.
Read Robert Brown's full review
November 01, 2019
Alfred Simmons | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexible graphics tool.
  • High-quality graphics.
  • The best vector tool so far.
  • Very convenient price and comes with adobe creative cloud package.
  • Suitable for almost anything related to printed marketing materials.
  • Not suitable for beginners.
  • Requires training to know how to use it.
Read Alfred Simmons's full review
October 27, 2019
Holli Drewry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • You can create multi-layered illustrations or graphics.
  • You can use the layers and styles to create many versions of a document from the same file.
  • You can export your art in a variety of formats that suite high-resolution print and 4K screens as well as images tailored to small screens or the web.
  • Vector art files can scale endlessly with no loss of detail.
  • The drawing tool is not as intuitive as the much older and no longer available tool in Freehand.
  • Make it easier or more intuitive to add points to a shape.
  • Make it easier or more intuitive to edit a shape by moving a point or changing it from curve to straight.
Read Holli Drewry's full review
October 24, 2019
Jason Wilkinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lightweight vector design software - our go-to to quickly put together scamps for a proposal, or mockup some initial icons or logos.
  • Rips PDFs apart - when you're working with limited resources Adobe Illustrator lets you take any PDF and claim assets for use elsewhere, regardless of the software used to create it.
  • Great for typographic exploration - if you want to quickly try out a type combo, illustrator handles fonts beautifully without the restrictions software such as Adobe Indesign or Photoshop can put on your workflow.
  • Mobile - Adobe lacks a full mobile version of Illustrator, which would be very handy when working on an iPad when you're out of the office. Affinity Designer does this well.
  • Half pixels - Illustrator can annoyingly play with half pixels, which when designing for web or email, can be extremely frustrating for developers.
  • Improved handling of complex files - Illustrator tends to get bogged down as soon as you insert complex drawings or large amounts of artboards.
Read Jason Wilkinson's full review
December 13, 2019
David Sedillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Industry standard for vector design
  • A wide variety of tools to use
  • Learning curve can be steep
  • Faster implementation of updates to match new operating systems
Read David Sedillo's full review
October 30, 2019
Lacey Tallmadge | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows vectorization of artwork
  • Easy-to-follow guidelines and tutorials
  • Allows extensive design edits
  • It a massive program that can sometimes slow down other programs on my computer.
  • More tutorials, there could never be enough.
  • Tutorials within the program that guide you through your design live.
Read Lacey Tallmadge's full review
February 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Creating graphics.
  • Can be very fast.
  • It is a large program which means it can take up a lot of space.
  • It can be a little difficult to learn if you haven't ever used it before.
Read this authenticated review
December 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integration with other Adobe products is seamless.
  • The image trace feature has been enhanced over the years, and in this version it is able to create vector art easily ands with much more accuracy.
  • Working with artboards makes creating multiple versions a breeze.
  • The free distort/transform feature is still difficult to use.
  • The color libraries function is difficult to navigate.
  • Some of the tools that ares supposed to be "just like Photoshop" are not just like Photoshop.
Read this authenticated review
November 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is great for creating vector graphics.
  • Great for creating animations or cartoons.
  • Create logos and artwork for websites.
  • Ease of use or get started with it for a new user could use some extra improvement.
  • It can be intimidating for a new user to begin using the software if they have not had any experience with it prior.
Read this authenticated review
November 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Logo design
  • Shape making
  • Illustration
  • I hate when I hit a button and unknowingly change my workspace setup, or disable a setting, and then need to take hours of searching on forums to figure out why my program isn't doing the things I want it to. I'd love an undo button for times like this!
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Vector creation including icons, logos, and illustrations.
  • Logo creation and export in different file formats.
  • Gradients aren't the best in Illustrator. They almost always look a little off.
  • I don't like using Illustrator for large body text. It's not made for that.
Read this authenticated review
October 18, 2019
Lisa Cooley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Illustrator provides incredible precision and flexibility for two-dimensional design.
  • I find that I call upon Illustrator for my first drafts of anything visual because it is so versatile. It's a great place to sketch out ideas which can then either be fleshed out within the program, or switched over to something different like InDesign, XD, or AfterEffects.
  • I love using it for resumes.
  • The most recent interface redesign is annoying. I can't find things where I expect to find them, especially critical tools like Align.
  • The way selections get made is harder than it needs to be.
  • Also, the way text boxes have to be created is kind of weird. It's like Illustrator took text boxes from Quark, but it was just fine without them.
Read Lisa Cooley's full review

What is Adobe Illustrator?

Adobe Illustrator CC is a vector-based graphic design software.
Categories:  Graphics

Adobe Illustrator Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Annual$20.99per month
Monthly$31.49per month

Adobe Illustrator Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Adobe Illustrator's top competitors?

Canva, Figma, and GIMP are common alternatives for Adobe Illustrator.

What is Adobe Illustrator's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.4.

Who uses Adobe Illustrator?

The most common users of Adobe Illustrator are Small Businesses from the Marketing & Advertising industry.