Adobe Premiere Pro Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
199 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 55)

Manan Vora | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2020

Perfect, All-in-One Video Editing Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's easy to collaborate with multiple people with the Adobe Creative Cloud Integration.
  • The variety of tools to edit, fine-tune, and create videos is vast and you don't need any other tools.
  • The external resources available that work with Premiere Pro are great.
  • The tool is fairly easy, yet elaborate.
  • A lite version of the app would be great for quick-edits for videos.
  • Video rendering is relatively slow on a standard computer.
Read Manan Vora's full review
Chris Carpenter | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Adobe Premiere Pro is just that - Pro. Do it right or do it twice.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Robust project organization with multiple inputs.
  • Robust clip editing inside of a project.
  • It is a large tool that has a bit of a learning curve.
  • Efficient file storage is a challenge - you need LOTS of memory to use it.
Read Chris Carpenter's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2020

For professional, cinema quality video for training, Adobe Premiere Pro can’t be beat!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Editing green screen footage
  • Quickly creating videos from footage shot with a phone or iPad Pro.
  • The interface is a bit clumsy at times, while it makes sense once you figure it out, it isn’t always obvious how to do things.
  • The steep learning curve - it’s powerful, but hard to master.
Read this authenticated review
Anthony Burke | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Even modest video production ambitions can gain a pro polish with Premiere Pro

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Our company has a long, rich history which includes a lot of archival videos from a dozen or more years ago. With Premiere, I have been able to easily lift relevant segments from these older videos to be used in newer videos. I don't know how I would have achieved this without Premiere Pro.
  • I am not a seasoned expert in the realm of video editing. While Premiere can be a bit overwhelming to a newbie at first, it does seem to offer every option and setting I could imagine. With a little research, I was able to figure out exactly what I needed, all of which was easily navigable through Premiere Pro.
  • I consider Premiere to be my ultimate translator. I was able to take video clips shot on various devices, using disparate settings, and assimilate them into a seamless final product. I don't know much about codecs and frame rates, but with Premiere, it turns out I didn't need to know much for my purposes.
  • I imagine that a lot of work has gone into the UI for this program, but I still have to wonder whether or not it could be any more beginner-friendly. It takes me a few minutes to get my bearings when I start a new project. The UI isn't terrible, but I guess that's why this is the "Pro" version.
  • The workflow took me a while to get used to. Is it confusing? For me, it was. It seems like there is one panel too many. I imagine there is some science behind it, but to me, it's a bit crowded visually noisy. Perhaps it makes perfect sense to those who use this program to directly earn a living.
Read Anthony Burke's full review
Chris Hecox | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Review: Adobe Premiere Pro

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Premiere Pro is extremely popular, being included in the Creative Cloud Suite. Because of widespread use, it's updated frequently and has plenty of troubleshooting forums and online discussions to search for issues and understanding the software. Frequent updates can also have cons, but for the most part, new features become welcome changes and bugs are fixed relatively quickly.
  • Premiere Pro is fairly easy to learn and makes for an excellent professional editing software or a great learning tool for new editors. The interface is simple to navigate and one can organize windows to their own preferences. Video editing becomes somewhat intuitive after repeated use of the software, simply due to how familiar Premiere Pro feels as one spends more time with it.
  • Premiere Pro offers many options for accomplishing your editing goals. Different editors prefer to cut sequences together using varying methods. Some might use the trim clip editor, while others would rather use the razor blade to cut clips. Some editors might use (.) to insert clips into a timeline, while others might use in and out points. The plethora of options at your fingertips makes Premiere Pro approachable and leaves lots of room for editors to define their own personal workflow.
  • As I've mentioned, frequent updates can carry negative consequences. Some newer features don't seem to be particularly well-developed or even tested. The new-ish "text tool" is a welcome change from the original "title editor," but it feels incomplete and lacking. The Team Projects feature has led to the loss of a full day of editing work, which made an already tight deadline even worse. Converting sequence files into After Effects compositions can be sort of buggy. These are specifics, but of course, there are instances of tried and true features which randomly become broken upon updating. These are typical software development headaches, but it happens from time to time.
  • I'd once heard Adobe chooses to compete for their development teams against one another instead of cohesively collaborate. I've no source on this other than gabbing with co-workers who'd visited an Adobe office at one point, but the more I've used Adobe software, the more I believe this to be true. Some Adobe programs use different keyboard shortcuts to accomplish the same command. Sometimes .psd and .ai files don't play well in Premiere. All other programs allow holding spacebar + hold left mouse button to scan around your image (or in this case, program monitor), but for some reason, Premiere doesn't support this same functionality. Why can't I scroll into the program monitor to zoom into the image? Instead, I have to click and select a zoom, then I have to use scroll bars to position the monitor onto the desired part of an image. It's frustrating and causes more trouble than good.
  • I'm appreciative of the options I have in Premiere Pro, but other Adobe programs do different things better. Of course Illustrator is great for design and illustration, and of course, I can't expect Premiere to run similar keyframed motion like After Effects. It would be great to have basic motion blur functionality, or a streamlined shape layer editor, or maybe a mask editor that didn't automatically apply a feathering to each mask I create.
Read Chris Hecox's full review
Franchesco Petrizzo | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

It is a program made by professionals for professionals

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The audio output of this program is better than those of other video editing software.
  • You can make cuts from other videos and make a unique video.
  • When you edit a video you can put audio, images, letters and other things.
  • It's not an easy to use program and can be confusing.
  • It uses a lot of ram memory and must run good equipment so that your computer does not slow down.
  • It is a program that has high monthly fees.
Read Franchesco Petrizzo's full review
Nathan Morimitsu | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Adobe Premiere Pro Puts a Movie Studio on Your Desktop

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easily allows for layout of still and video elements.
  • Easy to incorporate soundtracks and narrations
  • The learning curve is a bit high. If you have experience with other Adobe products (Photoshop/Illustrator), it is a lot easier to pick up.
  • Like all video editors, it's a bit of a resource hog. Make sure you have as much RAM as possible, and at least 500GB of an available scratch disk.
Read Nathan Morimitsu's full review
Mike Muller | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Adobe Premiere Pro is a great video editing tool in the Creative Suite Environment

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use.
  • Fully integrated into the Creative Cloud suite of tools.
  • Easy to share projects with others.
  • Renders high quality videos.
  • Have to use the entire creative suite of products.
  • Can have some performance issues. Need a strong computer.
  • Learning curve is high.
Read Mike Muller's full review
Robert Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

Adobe Premiere Pro isn't just for the Pros - it's the industry standard, but newbies can use it as well!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Cross-platform use is important to me. I work on PC/Mac interchangeably and even though the hot keys are slightly different, having feature parity makes this the obvious choice for me. iMovie is a decent enough tool but being tied down to a Mac and working within its limitations is something I'm not comfortable with.
  • Proxy Files - The speed of editing video is increased tremendously when you edit using proxy files rather than the large source files. The downside (especially when learning to work with 4k) is you might not notice details that detract from your finished product when working at that lower resolution.
  • Industry Standard - if you can't figure out how to do it, just hit YouTube and you'll find tons of people working through the same issue and their ways of handling it. Working in a standard tool is so much nicer than being in some exotic toolset tied to particular hardware.
  • Like most Adobe products, they err on the side of complexity and professional use rather than hiding the buttons from the newbies. This can be overwhelming but like I mentioned previously, YouTube is your friend and can teach you more in a few hours than 10 books on the subject.
  • Working with the export presets can be daunting if you don't really understand them. I feel like there are a ton of choices that most people gloss over but maybe that's just me. I almost always export as H.264 - 4K resolution (3840 x 2160) and because the files I'm working with are 1:1 the export usually doesn't take a ridiculous time to render.
Read Robert Brown's full review
Chad Carman | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

A must-have for a video industry professional

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Highly capable of creating great work.
  • Simple to use when you learn it.
  • Used by many, if not most of, the professional in the industry.
  • Has a learning curve and no "intro".
  • It can be overly complicated for basic cutting edits.
  • Has a tendency to have trouble with Mac updates.
Read Chad Carman's full review
Richard Jellison | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2019

The "Premiere" editing software of today

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integration with other Creative Cloud software offers the ability to make changes to audio, animations, etc., and have them be implemented into Premiere with no hassle.
  • The most well-documented editing software online. You can find tutorials for any issue or fix very easily through almost any channel.
  • The stock or built-in effects and editing tools get the job done and there are always more customized or tailored packs to purchase if need be.
  • Can crash if projects get too intensive - requires a relatively beefy computer too.
  • Long render/export times - Stick to Adobe Media encoder, don't export straight from this program unless it's a relatively small or simple file.
  • Expensive for amateurs or first timers - there are no options to buy it outright, only to subscribe and pay a monthly fee.
Read Richard Jellison's full review
Joel McAfee | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

A Standard In the Industry - Hard to Ignore

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Adobe gives you tons of control over project settings and preferences. It gives you the freedom to adjust editing timebase, aspect ratios, etc and to set presets based on your needs per project.
  • Adobe Premiere Pro works well in shared workspace environments - where multiple editors are sending projects back and forth with each other in order to complete a project.
  • One strength of Premiere Pro is the ability to round trip with other Adobe software. It interfaces well with motion graphics software After Effects as well as other more recent software (such as Prelude) - giving you a more acute set of tools at your disposal.
  • There is a ton of support for Adobe Premiere Pro out there - plenty of tutorials available both from Adobe as well as the user world.
  • One thing in general that Adobe could improve on is the user interface. It tends to feel a bit archaic as most Non-Linear Editors do. Many of the features are not intuitive and still holdover from a bygone era of moviola editing. That said, it is a far cry from Avid and certainly is a standard in the industry and has been for years - it could just use some updating with more modern features.
  • Adobe certainly makes updating a pain in the rear. Though the separate software that allows you to update all CC apps is relatively easy - for years they have made it more difficult than it needs to be to work back and forth between old versions and new. This is an industry where users are slow to update - so they could be more accommodating about that.
  • In general, I wish Adobe would get over their disdain for Apple and support more apple codecs - prores, etc. Let's work together, people! It's better for everyone.
Read Joel McAfee's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

Best video editing software.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quick edits. It is easy to make the edits and export quickly for a fast turn-around.
  • Customizable interface. You can move the modules around and expand different parts of the tools so you can focus on the work you are doing.
  • You can drop any kind of Adobe file into this program and you can open and use it.
  • It is very easy to color correct in this program.
  • I would like more of Adobe Audition built into Premiere.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Adobe Premiere Pro is right for you

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The transition from Final Cut Pro to Adobe Premiere Pro isn't difficult.
  • One of the more user-friendly Adobe products.
  • Multiple ways to accomplish the same task so it makes for a good UX experience.
  • The biggest knock I have is stability. After prolonged use, the platform becomes less responsive and often quits.
  • The number of steps you have to go through before you even start editing. In FCP, you can start editing almost immediately.
  • The fonts are too small. The software was made for someone with excellent vision.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Adobe Premiere Pro Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Its part of the Adobe Suite, which is easy to use with experience.
  • I like the dashboard and options for editing.
  • Access to how-to videos (I always look on Youtube/Google).
  • Free intro classes on how to use Adobe Premiere to paid users.
Read this authenticated review
John Uibel | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2019

The Best Editing Software for Beginners and Professionals

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The color tab at the top of the program enables quick edits and adjustments to color correction and grading. Very similar to Lightroom.
  • GPU acceleration. GPU accelerated effects are labeled to help you decide how and what effects to use for smoother editing.
  • Labels and organization is made easy with the ability to color code your various clips in the timeline and bin.
  • The audio tab at the top makes audio adjustments quick and easy. It has many of the features that Audition has built in.
  • GPU utilization- While Premiere utilizes the GPU occasionally and during exports, it's mostly a CPU intensive program. Unless you have a powerful CPU, your computer may struggle to playback high-resolution footage.
  • The Graphics panel is very useful and has come a long way but still needs some work. I need more templates available to me since I'm paying monthly for this service.
Read John Uibel's full review
Bryan Crowe | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

Premiere Pro: the professional video editing tool!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very flexible.
  • Great tool set for editing, manipulating, color correcting and even audio adjustments.
  • Fairly easy to use. Lots of learning online. Just Google what you want to do and someone likely has a video showing you!
  • Sometimes I feel like I am only touching the surface of Premiere Pro's capabilities. I learn something new practically every day.
  • There are a lot of third party add-ons. It would be nice if PP offered more filters.
  • Sometimes trying to get a video to load into the Source Monitor, it doesn't want to work.
  • Export media occasionally fails.
  • PP used to offer a whole bevy of export media options. It was nice! Then they updated the program and took all those away. Not happy about that.
Read Bryan Crowe's full review

About Adobe Premiere Pro

Adobe offers their video editing platform Adobe Premiere Pro, supporting video and audio editing as well as VR presentations, available as part of the company's Creative Cloud suite or as a standalone application.
Categories:  Video Editing

Adobe Premiere Pro Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No