Ahrefs Reviews

173 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 52)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 14, 2021
Chad Hadley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Ahrefs is my clear choice when I need to better understand the link profile of my clients' websites as its database is unmatched. However, when it comes to keyword research, it is second only to Semrush. I wouldn't say that it's worse than Semrush as each is focused on different aspects of SEO: Ahrefs for backlink data and Semrush for keyword research. Used together, they are a perfect pair but they can be used as alternatives for each other if needed.
Read Chad Hadley's full review
April 14, 2021
Michael Glover | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used to use Moz a lot and it is also a great tool. However, I found the Ahrefs UI was much friendlier and easier to navigate. I also like the specific use cases shown in the Ahrefs blog, which are much easier to follow and implement when using the Ahrefs tool itself. This helps get a lot of value out of the product for us.
Read Michael Glover's full review
April 13, 2021
Andrew Davison | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Ahrefs provides a lot more data, in a lot more detail - and tells you exactly why it matters.
Moz is a nice tool - the UI is easier to navigate and there are more prompts for new users - but anyone doing serious work will do better with Ahrefs.
Read Andrew Davison's full review
April 09, 2021
Mike Koolwijk | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Sadly we are coming [to] terms that even trough there are more and more options that Ahrefs has they are still incomplete or not working good enough. And the most important options (like frequent updates on rankings) are behind the most expensive membership.

Right now we mainly focus on research, keyword research and PPC research, there are other tools that do a way better job with this. Also the keyword explorer gives weird suggestions and feels "incomplete". We are likely to completely switch over to Semrush or other tools.
Read Mike Koolwijk's full review
April 06, 2021
Alex Panagiotopoulos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Semrush and BuzzSumo are also good tools. Semrush is hardcore and technical; if you outgrew Ahrefs as an SEO practitioner and were doing intense work for one big client, I'd highly recommend it. BuzzSumo is more for a social media manager; it provides huge shortcuts for figuring out what's trending around any different topics in real time.
Read Alex Panagiotopoulos's full review
March 18, 2020
Kenny King | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Ahrefs has more features and more accurate data than its competitors. While both Moz and Majestic are great tools and can be used as complimentary to Ahrefs, if you have to choose one tool, definitely choose Ahrefs. It has the biggest database of links and better stats for those links coming into your website.
Read Kenny King's full review
February 28, 2020
Lauren Ericksen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Ahrefs Site Explorer gives us an easier way of obtaining backlinks when we're doing link building, whereas with other products I have a more difficult time finding viable backlinks. The keyword list you can export from Ahrefs is also a lot more clear than in other products making it easier for me to read and our clients to understand.
Read Lauren Ericksen's full review
February 12, 2020
Eric Serdar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I feel like Ahrefs Site Explorer is the best in class for this type of tool. Moz has made great strides recently with their keyword research and backlink tool. It's come a long way, but I still feel Ahrefs Site Explorer is better at looking at sites, giving actionable insights, and tracking those changes.
Read Eric Serdar's full review
January 31, 2020
Sanjit Mandal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

You can dip deeper with Ahrefs Site Explorer's data. It is great for crawling websites, doing website audits too. For deep analysis and research, Ahrefs is a step ahead of its competitors. Ahrefs has many tools like site & keyword explorer, content explorer, rank tracker, site audit checker tools, etc.
Read Sanjit Mandal's full review
January 18, 2020
Mark Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As stated previously, Ahrefa Site Explorer is the best to have an array of tools in your pocket when researching websites and practicing SEO. I would recommend using multiple tools intermittently to cover a variety of searches related to your project. Some platforms may be better for finding monthly organic traffic, while others may provide a more thorough keyword ranking report.
Read Mark Anderson's full review
January 06, 2020
Maddy Osman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

After trying multiple premium and more affordable all-in-one SEO tools, alike, I'm confident that Ahrefs Site Explorer is the best value for the money with the most useful data for my SEO content projects.
Read Maddy Osman's full review
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The closest competitor to Ahrefs Site Explorer would likely be SEMRush. Ahrefs seems to have a significantly larger amount of data to work with. They claim that their service is powered by the second most active crawler in the world, next to Google.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Moz's backlink, at least a few years ago, PALED in comparison. It was very unthorough and lacking in many backlinks that Aherfs Site Explorer would pull up. Aherfs Site Explorer would pull up way more. It also has way more info than Moz backlink tool did a few years ago - Aherfs Site Explorer has thorough stuff, such as organic keywords they rank for, ways to organize data based on pages with the most recent growth of backlinks, etc. How many .edus, how many .govs, how many powerful backlinks vs. weak ones (classified in an easy to understand way).
Read this authenticated review
February 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As a backlink management tool, Ahrefs Site Explorer is the best out there. Being able to look into backlinks and check for any that may be harming our sites is a process that the Ahrefs Site Explorer makes possible. While it does offer keyword tracking as well, I've found the SEMRush is much better fitted for this.
Read this authenticated review
February 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The way Ahrefs presents the data collected is much more intuitive and easy to understand than the way SEMRush offers it.
The interface of Ahrefs is more user-friendly than the one from SEMRush. I can get lost in the way SEMRush presents the data, and their help guides are not as well written as the ones at Ahrefs.
So in general I give Ahrefs a 10/10 in user friendliness.
Read this authenticated review
July 13, 2019
Kevin Bossons | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In my experience, the sheer volume of data and crawl frequency of Ahrefs sets it apart from the competition. In my verticals, I was always able to find more information using Ahrefs than the other link platforms we were using, such as Moz and Majestic.
Read Kevin Bossons's full review
June 28, 2019
Andrew Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used Moz in the past, and while it's simpler and easier to use for an unseasoned SEO person, it's also not as powerful as Ahrefs. If you already had a good idea of what you're doing, you're going to find that Ahrefs is much more useful than Moz. Moz is somewhat more affordable.
SEMRush is more comparable to Ahrefs, depending on what you need. SEMRush falls short on backlinks and indexing, so Ahrefs is where it's at if that's what you need most. SEMRush also had some data accuracy issues in the past, and I wouldn't trust their info as much as I do Ahrefs'.
Read Andrew Clark's full review
May 06, 2019
Krupali Mandavia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Ahrefs Site Explorer is a tool that I will always prefer for competitor analysis as it gives me complete information of the competitor.
Read Krupali Mandavia's full review
May 01, 2019
Joseph Lesho | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Ahrefs is the best tool I've used for link building reporting; however, other tools are better suited for things like keyword position tracking, keyword research, etc.
Read Joseph Lesho's full review
June 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SEMRush is the clear competitor and beats Ahrefs for keyword position tracking and keyword competitive analysis. However, Ahrefs is a clear winner in the quality and timeliness of their backlink database. Both should be used in conjunction.
Read this authenticated review
February 13, 2019
Nathan Sichilongo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Having used most of the industry's SEO suites, I chose Ahrefs because of its crawl depth and massive suite of tools. Most of the other suites have similar tools, but Ahrefs beats them in both accuracy and speed. These things are important for any SEO professional who understands that having the right data helps one make the right decisions.
Read Nathan Sichilongo's full review
January 16, 2019
Katie Goh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It's very clear that Ahrefs has a larger database than their competitors. I never run into issues where this tool isn't able to evaluate keywords - even if they are very long tail niche keywords.

The link section of the tool is also very useful. Ahrefs is able to clean up the links to root domains better than competitors, making link tracking much easier than it has been in the past.
Read Katie Goh's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Keyword analysis (49)
8.2
Backlink management (51)
9.4
SERP ranking tracking (48)
7.8
Page grader (46)
7.6
Competitive analysis (50)
8.9
Site audit / diagnostics (46)
7.9
Site recommendations (45)
7.6
Task management (24)
6.5
Local SEO (36)
7.5
Social SEO (37)
7.5
Mobile SEO (33)
7.9
Global SEO (40)
8.9
Multi-domain support (41)
8.7
Integration with web analytics tools (30)
8.3

What is Ahrefs?

Ahrefs is a software company that develops online SEO tools and free educational materials for marketing professionals.

Ahrefs all-in-one SEO toolset can help users with:
  • Competitor research: unveil competitor's organic keywords, backlink strategies and PPC keywords
  • Link Building: find the strongest backlink opportunities in a niche
  • Keyword Research: get maximum relevant keyword ideas and see how hard it would be to rank
  • Website Audit: find what SEO issues a website has and learn how to fix them
    Content Research: discover the most popular content on any topic and find the best ideas for content
  • Rank Tracking: track search rankings along with competitors'
  • Mentions Monitoring: get email alerts every time a brand is mentioned online.
The vendor states the Ahrefs database has 8 billion keywords and 421 billion indexed pages, and that this enables Ahrefs is able to provide maximum data and accuracy to its users.
Categories:  SEO

Ahrefs Features

SEO Features

Has featureKeyword analysis
Has featureBacklink management
Has featureSERP ranking tracking
Has featurePage grader
Has featureCompetitive analysis
Has featureSite audit / diagnostics
Has featureSite recommendations
Has featureTask management

SEO Channels Features

Has featureLocal SEO
Has featureSocial SEO
Has featureMobile SEO
Has featureGlobal SEO

SEO Platform & Account Management Features

Has featureMulti-domain support

Ahrefs Screenshots

Ahrefs Video

Ahrefs Demo

Ahrefs Competitors

Ahrefs Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Lite$99.00per month
Standard$179.00per month
Advanced$399.00per month
Agency$999.00per month

Ahrefs Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community

Ahrefs Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, Dutch, German, Turkish, Swedish, Polish

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Ahrefs?

Ahrefs is an SEO tool providers. Ahrefs Site Explorer provides a suite of tools including a component for backlink & on-page SEO analysis, online brand mentions tracking, and domain comparison tool for competitor analysis, etc. They refer to themselves as “the largest index of live backlinks.”

What is Ahrefs's best feature?

Reviewers rate Backlink management highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Ahrefs?

The most common users of Ahrefs are Small Businesses from the Marketing & Advertising industry.