Ahrefs Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
153 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 52)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Kenny King | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Ahrefs Can Help You Increase Targeted Traffic to Your Website

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Ahrefs is perfect for anyone starting an SEO campaign, or anyone well into an SEO campaign. Unless you have an established site that is ranking for all your target keywords, Ahrefs is a vital tool to help you find high quality backlinks and targeted keywords that your site can rank for and bring in high converting traffic.
Read Kenny King's full review
Katelyn Massey | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

Add this to your SEO toolset

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Ahrefs is a recommended tool to add to your existing SEO toolset. It has some very obvious strengths when it comes to backlink analysis, identifying competitive gaps, and tracking basic domain-level metrics. The cost is very reasonable for most budgets.
Read Katelyn Massey's full review
Lauren Ericksen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Wonderful Product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Ahrefs Site Explorer is great for finding new keywords that you didn't already have in your website or even better versions of the ones you already have. The tool used for link management is great because it's easy to use and generates links you don't have quickly. This allows us to contact other vendors and have them quickly link to our website.
Read Lauren Ericksen's full review
Eric Serdar | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Best in class SEO tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  • We love Ahrefs Site Explorer, and it's been an invaluable tool. We switched from a competitor tool because we felt Ahrefs Site Explorer better suited our needs. We were doing more content creation, strategy, and comparisons. Ahrefs Site Explorer has helped us find content gaps with our competitors, and we've been able to create a strategy to go after those gaps.
  • The keyword research section has been really good for us. It's been really valuable to see the click percentage when we're doing keyword research.
Read Eric Serdar's full review
Deanna Rivera | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2020

Ahrefs adds value to any business promoting or building websites

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Ahrefs is well suited for anyone developing websites, blogging, or needing to attract more traffic. It is also good for researching keywords for adwords. It is not well suited for anyone who does not have a good foundational grasp of search optimization.
Read Deanna Rivera's full review
Sanjit Mandal | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

If you are seeking deep website analysis (keyword research, backlinks, audits), use Ahrefs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The keyword and backlink research data is invaluable. You can look up detailed backlink data for any website out there, their top keywords, top landing pages, you get keyword volume data and it will all help to build powerful marketing strategies.
If a site needs to learn about their competition and figure out what kinds of content to write, they can use the keyword research tool.
Read Sanjit Mandal's full review
Jake Tully | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2020

A Marketing Team's Best Friend: Ahrefs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

When launching marketing projects, such as blogging or creating white pages for content across my company's sites, Ahrefs was indispensable as an ally in helping my team target certain keywords and phrases. For a team that I lead that was consistently working on a greater SEO presence across multiple keywords within a specific industry, Ahrefs was an ally that constantly provided new information and ideas for how to create more meaningful and effective content. Ahrefs also gave us a general understanding of our overall web ranking within our industry and beyond, allowing us to create realistic goals for our team.
Read Jake Tully's full review
Mark Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

Ahrefs: An SEO Tool that Sticks with You

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have an arsenal of tools to pick up where your other tools lack, it would benefit you to have Ahrefs Site Explorer to fill a void where something like Moz, SEMRush, or SimilarWeb may be lacking. It's always beneficial to look at things more than one way, and Ahrefs Site Explorer provides a unique look at basic SEO tenets and processes.
Read Mark Anderson's full review
Maddy Osman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 06, 2020

The best all-in-one SEO tool for the average business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I primarily use Ahrefs Site Explorer for determining whether or not a website is worth going after for guest posts, expert roundup participation, and other backlink placement activities. It's a great tool for seeing a bunch of related data in one dashboard. It works with other Ahrefs tools for an all-in-one solution for SEO. It's hard to think of a related situation where Site Explorer wouldn't be useful — I think it's important to go in understanding what it's best used for (backlink building).
Read Maddy Osman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

SEO Backlink Analysis and Competitive Research

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Ahrefs Site Explorer is a solid choice for SEO teams, both in-house and agency teams, who want to understand how their sites—and their competitors' sites—are performing in search. Good for finding new SEO opportunities. It's not an "all-in-one" tool, so expect to use it alongside other tools you may already be using for monitoring, reporting, and optimization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Excellent backlink analysis for campaigns, competitors and even potential sales!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  • Ahrefs Site Explorer is very well suited for looking at a competing ranking website and finding: what is their backlink strength? What backlinks do they have? Are there some backlink opportunities we can capitalize on? Do they have more powerful backlinks than us? What are some organic keywords they rank for that we could take up? What is their estimated organic traffic?
  • It's not as good for finding super fresh news backlinks - doesn't pick those up as fast as I'd like.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Ahrefs Makes Link Building Less Terrible and That is Why You Need It

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Ahrefs Site Explorer is essential for any marketing team that does SEO. Link building is a huge part of ranking for targeted keywords, and Ahrefs Site Explorer is the best tool I've used to keep track of all that. It is less appropriate as a keyword tracking tool. I've found that SEMRush is much better for doing a site audit and tracking how keyword rankings have changed over time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Ahrefs makes SEO easier

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Ahrefs is a great tool to have a vision into what is happening and what can be done to improve the SEO rankings. I have tried other tools like SEMRush, but I find Ahrefs a lot easier to use and to make sense of the data. The SEO Toolbar is a wonderful tool as it allows a quickview into any webpage or search as I browse.
Read this authenticated review
Kevin Bossons | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2019

The ultimate link, content, site and competitor intelligence tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I use Ahrefs for organic search campaign keyword research (content explorer), competitor research using the link intelligence and domain comparison tools, and finally, for client and competitor audits using the audit tool. Ahrefs is one of the few tools I rely on to power much of my strategy and planning effort alongside Google search queries. It's a well-rounded suite of tools that I find a lot of value in at the different stages of planning and implementation of marketing campaigns. I don't use the rank tracker, I have other tools that gather keyword data for much cheaper.
Read Kevin Bossons's full review
Andrew Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2019

A Solid All-in-One SEO Tool—If You Know What You're Doing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Ahrefs is well-suited for anyone looking for a powerful all-in-one solution for their SEO needs, particularly if you come to them with some existing knowledge or expertise. They have great content to help teach users how to use their product, but it isn't as simple or easy to use as some other SEO tools.
Ahrefs wouldn't be great for the overly conscious, or for people who are just getting started with SEO. There are other well-known players in the space that could better fill that role.
Read Andrew Clark's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2019

Ahrefs is a solid SEO software tool for backlinks & more

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited for SEO teams looking to mimic or beat competitors in organic search rankings. Backlinks are a big driver of this success. Also well suited for PR teams looking to see where competitors were mentioned in online news outlets.

Not well suited for those without at least a basic understanding of digital marketing.
Read this authenticated review
Nathan Sichilongo | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2019

My Experience and Thoughts from Using Ahrefs Site Explorer - A Swiss Army Knife Suite of SEO Tools for Professionals

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have been doing SEO for a few years, Ahrefs is a step up from other tools. Since it provides so many tools that most SEO professionals use on a daily basis under one account, it can easily be the go-to for an advanced SEO. Some scenarios where Ahrefs is well suited would include:
1) Site audits and backlink profiling.
2) Content marketing and research.
3) Keyword research and planning.
While Ahrefs is good for keeping track of rankings (with its legendary crawl depth), if that is all you want to do, you may want to look at some cheaper options.
Read Nathan Sichilongo's full review
Katie Goh | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2019

Ahrefs is the most efficient keyword planning & link tracking tool I've used

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Ahrefs is perfectly suited for the average website to run a backlink review, track link building, and to discover keyword opportunities. There are several ways to track competitors progress as well.

Ahrefs has led me to make several recommendations for answer box featured content and other types of content as well. I get tons of ad-hoc requests for keywords and topics to review because my colleagues have found this information so useful to them. I rarely have to edit the exported reports because they are so clear, even to those with little SEO background.
Read Katie Goh's full review
Ari Roth | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2018

Robust Backlink Index for Serious Analysis & Diagnostics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The link tracking is great, but we need to test out Moz's new index as well to determine if they have bridged the gap. For organic keywords, I haven't used it in depth, but my feeling has been that SEMrush has more comprehensive data in this area. I could be wrong about that though.
Read Ari Roth's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Keyword analysis (44)
8.4
Backlink management (46)
9.4
SERP ranking tracking (43)
7.9
Page grader (41)
7.8
Competitive analysis (45)
9.2
Site audit / diagnostics (41)
7.9
Site recommendations (40)
7.6
Task management (22)
6.8
Local SEO (34)
7.9
Social SEO (34)
7.7
Mobile SEO (30)
7.9
Global SEO (36)
8.8
Multi-domain support (38)
8.7
Integration with web analytics tools (30)
8.3

About Ahrefs

Ahrefs is a software company that develops online SEO tools and free educational materials for marketing professionals.

Ahrefs all-in-one SEO toolset can help users with:
  • Competitor research: unveil competitor's organic keywords, backlink strategies and PPC keywords
  • Link Building: find the strongest backlink opportunities in a niche
  • Keyword Research: get maximum relevant keyword ideas and see how hard it would be to rank
  • Website Audit: find what SEO issues a website has and learn how to fix them
    Content Research: discover the most popular content on any topic and find the best ideas for content
  • Rank Tracking: track search rankings along with competitors'
  • Mentions Monitoring: get email alerts every time a brand is mentioned online.
The vendor states the Ahrefs database has 8 billion keywords and 421 billion indexed pages, and that this enables Ahrefs is able to provide maximum data and accuracy to its users.
Categories:  SEO

Ahrefs Features

SEO Features

Has featureKeyword analysis
Has featureBacklink management
Has featureSERP ranking tracking
Has featurePage grader
Has featureCompetitive analysis
Has featureSite audit / diagnostics
Has featureSite recommendations
Has featureTask management

SEO Channels Features

Has featureLocal SEO
Has featureSocial SEO
Has featureMobile SEO
Has featureGlobal SEO

SEO Platform & Account Management Features

Has featureMulti-domain support

Ahrefs Screenshots

Ahrefs Competitors

Ahrefs Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Ahrefs Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community

Ahrefs Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, Dutch, German, Turkish, Swedish, Polish