Ahrefs Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
153 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 52)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Kenny King | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Ahrefs Can Help You Increase Targeted Traffic to Your Website

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Backlink checker - Ahrefs has a huge database of links and will help you keep track of new links and research competitor's links.
  • Keyword research - Finding keywords is the most important step in any SEO campaign. Ahrefs will help you find the perfect keyword to rank in Google.
  • Google features - Ahrefs is one of the best tools to find Google Features, included Featured Snippets, Knowledge Panels and more. See what features your site triggers in Google as well as which you competitors trigger.
  • Traffic stats are always slightly off. I know it's impossible to get perfect stats, but closer to actual stats would be a great feature.
  • Internal link opportunities. While Ahrefs has an internal link report, a nice feature would be suggestions for internal links, similar to their Top Pages feature, but for internal links.
  • More filters on referring domains report. Our company uses the referring domains report every day. Having more filters would help us determine which links are moving the needle more accurately.
Read Kenny King's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Ahrefs Makes Link Building Less Terrible and That is Why You Need It

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The platform is easily navigable with tabs on the side to look at different reports. It also provides Info links that you can hover over, which explain specific terms that the system uses. This greatly helps prevent any confusion.
  • Great for competitor analysis to see what websites are linking to your competitors. The fact that it lets you look at multiple competitors at the same time to see if they share any links that you don't have is also excellent.
  • I wish there were a shorter path from seeing competitor backlinks to seeing what page on those sites is linking to the competitor. If there were a way to do this all from the Link Intersect tool, it would be much easier.
  • Organic Keywords report could let you more easily see how rankings change over time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Ahrefs makes SEO easier

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The UR and DR Index are great to measure how the SEO efforts are playing out on a per page (or product) basis.
  • The keywords movement report is very useful as it helps to understand areas that need improvement.
  • I wish they included more than just the first 20 keyword rank positions in their basic monthly plan.
Read this authenticated review
Patricio A. Quiroz | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

Ahrefs is my go-to for backlink audits

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The Backlink Tool from Ahrefs is great; you can see who your competitors are linking to and how they are receiving those backlinks.
  • The site explorer is great to do an overall analysis of your competitors, from checking their domain ranking to keywords they rank for.
  • The content explorer is great for finding popular topics in your industry to brainstorm ideas for articles and guest posts.
  • Domain ranking changes over time.
  • Ads receiving the most traffic.
  • More filters for backlink profile.
Read Patricio A. Quiroz's full review
Andrew Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2019

A Solid All-in-One SEO Tool—If You Know What You're Doing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great web-crawling and site-crawling features.
  • Link building seems to be their specialty, and tracking and monitoring backlinks is excellent with Ahrefs.
  • It's an all-in-one solution, with plenty of tools for SEO work, eliminating the need for additional tools.
  • Complexity. Ahrefs is great & powerful, but not always the easiest to understand. You have to know what you're doing to get real value.
  • There's variable tool quality. As with any all-in-one solution, the quality of each individual tool varies. I'd highly recommend the trial to figure out if Ahrefs will fit your specific needs.
  • Price. It's just a little on the high side, as the "Lite" plan is fairly limited, and the next plan up is almost double the cost. There are certainly more affordable options out there, but you often get what you pay for with these things.
Read Andrew Clark's full review
Chris Kirksey | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

The most in-depth, convenient site crawler out there

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I love how the Ahrefs Site Explorer has the content breakdown so that you can analyze each pages content quality and word count.
  • How it checks resources such as images, Javascript and CSS are really useful.
  • The way you can create a to-do list of fixes is awesome.
  • no cons
Read Chris Kirksey's full review
Nathan Sichilongo | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2019

My Experience and Thoughts from Using Ahrefs Site Explorer - A Swiss Army Knife Suite of SEO Tools for Professionals

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Crawl link depth is probably the best feature of Ahrefs. Being able to crawl more sites means that users have access to more data than the nearest SEO link competitor. Crawl depth is important for good SEO and Ahrefs checks that box off with a bold mark!
  • Ahrefs has many tools you can use. Site explorer, keyword explorer, content explorer, rank tracker, site audit checker tools and more just to name a few. While I personally do not use most of the tools available, its good to know that they are available to use when needed. The depth of tools makes this the swiss army knife for SEO professionals.
  • Ahrefs allows you to keep track of your site links, rankings, and keywords with a 15-minute delayed-crawl rate. This means you can keep track of changes and monitor sites closer to real-time than you would with other tools. In the SEO world, that is as close to perfection as it gets. I have tried several other SEO management tools and Ahrefs beats them at this.
  • Ahrefs pricing is fair, but honestly it is a put off for smaller SEO teams. If there was a smaller package that would allow SEOs to have access to core tools and then pay more for other tools (as needed), it would make more sense.
  • Despite giving you access to multiple tools, Ahrefs Site Explorer does not allow you to use them simultaneously. This is rather odd as one may want to get a report for a site while monitoring the keywords for the same site. It would be easier if the tools were linked in some way and could be used in sync it would be helpful
  • A mobile app would be nice! There are countless times I have wanted to use Ahrefs on the go, and having to log in on a laptop is not always ideal. The basic functions can easily be included in a mobile app that can be made available to users.
Read Nathan Sichilongo's full review
Katie Goh | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2019

Ahrefs is the most efficient keyword planning & link tracking tool I've used

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Click rate metrics for each keyword
  • Content gap analysis
  • Best link database I've used
  • Useful keyword and link filtering in all reports
  • URL rating distribution is a bit confusing and not as useful as Domain rating distribution would be. All sites I've reviewed with this tend to have a very poor distribution here.
  • New and lost referring domains links is a bit confusing as well. I've never seen any tool do this chart in a way that makes sense. Dramatic rises and loses tend to send people down the wrong path of investigation. A weighted version (based on DR) would likely be more useful.
Read Katie Goh's full review
Krupali Mandavia | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2019

A perfect Backlink checker & your business' SEO Partner

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Competitor Analysis
  • Content Explorer
  • Organic Keywords
  • Website Audit
  • The Traffic of Website should be shown as a whole instead of just showing the organic traffic.
  • Site Audit should focus on all the aspects of the websites.
  • I still prefer Google Adwords for exploring Keywords.
Read Krupali Mandavia's full review
Tim Colling | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 01, 2019

Ahrefs does it all but not inexpensively

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Backlinks reporting and analysis: does this at least as well as, and probably better than, Majestic.
  • Linking domains reporting and analysis: does this better than Majestic.
  • Keyword research: powerful and insightful tools for analyzing and selecting keywords for marketing campaigns.
  • Ahrefs does not have a feature similar to the Topical tagging in Majestic. Adding that would be a big improvement.
  • Pricing: Ahrefs is just plain *expensive* compared to competing products.
Read Tim Colling's full review
Ari Roth | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2018

Robust Backlink Index for Serious Analysis & Diagnostics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Historical backlink indexing
  • Fresh / new backlink indexing
  • Relevant data on broken links / top pages to fix up
  • Anchor text data
  • I found it difficult to navigate which version of the data I'm looking at - exact URL, prefix, full domain w/ or w/o subdomains. I'd like this to be selected in the initial search rather than being automatically selected for you and then allowing you to change it (if you even realized it was an issue to begin with).
  • I'd love if there was a URL / domain ranking over time graph like there is for new / lost links. This way, it's not just a counting metric, but a metric on impact. I'd need to know that we lost 1 authoritative news media link more than I need to know that we lost 5-10 spammy scraper links from dark corners of the internet.
  • I'd love impactful alerts for link metrics as alluded to in the previous bullet. Meaning, I don't want to only find out we lost an important link when I see the rankings drop - I want to know about it when it happens for faster processing of the fix (if one exists).
Read Ari Roth's full review
Lauren Ericksen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2019

Awesome Ahrefs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Providing information about domain ranking
  • Retrieving major gaps from our site compared to others
  • Listing organic keywords that lead to our websites
  • When adding in URLs or domains to check backlinks or major gaps, it sometimes gives you wrong information about the links so maybe putting a description or an example of when you need to select Prefix or domain for the drop down menu would be helpful.
Read Lauren Ericksen's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Keyword analysis (44)
8.4
Backlink management (46)
9.4
SERP ranking tracking (43)
7.9
Page grader (41)
7.8
Competitive analysis (45)
9.2
Site audit / diagnostics (41)
7.9
Site recommendations (40)
7.6
Task management (22)
6.8
Local SEO (34)
7.9
Social SEO (34)
7.7
Mobile SEO (30)
7.9
Global SEO (36)
8.8
Multi-domain support (38)
8.7
Integration with web analytics tools (30)
8.3

About Ahrefs

Ahrefs is a software company that develops online SEO tools and free educational materials for marketing professionals.

Ahrefs all-in-one SEO toolset can help users with:
  • Competitor research: unveil competitor's organic keywords, backlink strategies and PPC keywords
  • Link Building: find the strongest backlink opportunities in a niche
  • Keyword Research: get maximum relevant keyword ideas and see how hard it would be to rank
  • Website Audit: find what SEO issues a website has and learn how to fix them
    Content Research: discover the most popular content on any topic and find the best ideas for content
  • Rank Tracking: track search rankings along with competitors'
  • Mentions Monitoring: get email alerts every time a brand is mentioned online.
The vendor states the Ahrefs database has 8 billion keywords and 421 billion indexed pages, and that this enables Ahrefs is able to provide maximum data and accuracy to its users.
Categories:  SEO

Ahrefs Features

SEO Features

Has featureKeyword analysis
Has featureBacklink management
Has featureSERP ranking tracking
Has featurePage grader
Has featureCompetitive analysis
Has featureSite audit / diagnostics
Has featureSite recommendations
Has featureTask management

SEO Channels Features

Has featureLocal SEO
Has featureSocial SEO
Has featureMobile SEO
Has featureGlobal SEO

SEO Platform & Account Management Features

Has featureMulti-domain support

Ahrefs Screenshots

Ahrefs Competitors

Ahrefs Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Ahrefs Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community

Ahrefs Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, Dutch, German, Turkish, Swedish, Polish