Airbrake

Airbrake

Top Rated
Score 7.7 out of 10
Top Rated
Airbrake

Overview

What is Airbrake?

Airbrake, now from LogicMonitor (acquired February 2021) is an error monitoring and performance insight tool. Airbrak offers real-time error alerts, rich contextual data about why errors are occurring, integration into an existing workflow, and application performance insights to enable users...
Read more

Recent Reviews

Airbrake Review

9 out of 10
February 07, 2022
Airbrake helps with letting us know of errors to look into, while also showing stack traces. This is extremely useful for debugging and to …
Continue reading

Clean it up!

7 out of 10
October 11, 2021
Airbrake help us to achieve clean code in the repo. As a big organization having multiple repos to be handled, Airbrake keep us updated …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Airbrake, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Free

$0

Cloud
per month

Basic

$19

Cloud
per month

Pro

$38

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://airbrake.io/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Airbrake?

Airbrake Error & Performance Monitoring helps the user deploy fearlessly and fix bugs faster. Airbrake notifiers are available for all major programming languages and frameworks and installs in minutes. It helps users spend less time tracking down bugs and more time developing.

Airbrake provides error monitoring and performance insight for the entire app stack. This is so users can drill down on recurring exceptions or filter by parameters, users or environment variables. Intelligent grouping and duplicate detection are presented to ensure users don't get overwhelmed by trivial errors or a mass of emails.

Airbrake Features

  • Supported: Error Monitoring
  • Supported: Application Performance Monitoring
  • Supported: Deploy Tracking
  • Supported: Advanced Search Filters
  • Supported: Unlimited Integrations

Airbrake Screenshots

Screenshot of Airbrake Account DashboardScreenshot of Deploys DashboardScreenshot of Performance DashboardScreenshot of Trends TabScreenshot of Breadcrumbs feature

Airbrake Video

Airbrake demo

Airbrake Competitors

Airbrake Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Airbrake, now from LogicMonitor (acquired February 2021) is an error monitoring and performance insight tool. Airbrak offers real-time error alerts, rich contextual data about why errors are occurring, integration into an existing workflow, and application performance insights to enable users to identify, diagnose, and fix problems - before users get annoyed.

Airbrake starts at $0.

Sentry, BugSnag, and Raygun are common alternatives for Airbrake.

The most common users of Airbrake are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (18)

Reviews

(1-16 of 16)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Daniele Dolci | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Airbrake to monitor problems on our frontend application. All the problems that escape the tests or the devices not taken into consideration.
  • Identify problems on devices we cannot test on
  • Give an overview of the most frequent problems
  • Report any information necessary for resolution
  • Some installation difficulties on particular less known frameworks
Airbrake works best in areas where the code is not minified or compiled.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Airbrake to track multiple things: the errors that appear in the console of the end-users, to make sure that our product works as intended and to get notified about any error before the user reaches out to our Customer Care team (and get more information about the error) track the failed API calls that we have sent from our frontend. We use this to check faulty implementations or how the user is misusing our software so we can foolproof it better :D we made it kinda a habit to keep an eye on those numbers, we don't strive to get it to 0 but for stability.
  • Report errors
  • Versioning
  • Aggregated errors are not so clear why they got grouped together
  • Not clear why some filters don't work
If you care about tracking the quality of your implementation and connection between the frontend and backend. It is close to useless for old software that is outdated and generates lots of noisy errors because they usually spike for little reason and it is hard to tell real errors from the noisy ones.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It really helps to find odd issues that otherwise would be hidden. We even need it alongside other login solutions because it’s really made for Developer’s
  • Exception logging
  • Deployment management
  • Notifications
  • Jira integration
  • UI overhaul
  • Jira Flow
Has already pointed out it’s very good to find all exceptions and arrows in the code and also allows to connect them to deployments to figure out if stuff really has solved the problems. It’s also good to have just a second opinion compared to other logging solutions. I usually trust Airbrake more than other solutions. It’s also good to integrate with Jira and Slack
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Airbrake has been a very useful tool to troubleshoot issues or errors I experience during development and in the production environment. Airbrake has been useful to catch conditions we may not have caught during internal testing or catch unexpected use cases of our product which were not tested for during internal testing. This helps us with debugging and be able to resolve bugs in our product before escalation from our end users.
  • Alerts
  • Catch Edge cases
  • Debugging
  • Initial setup was little confusing
Would recommend it to development teams who are looking for realtime debug information and be able to catch bugs before end uses discover them in production
February 09, 2022

Monitor errors seamlessly

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
In our organization, we use Airbrake for monitoring the exceptions thrown by server-sided applications. These applications are written using different frameworks like Ruby on Rails, Spring Boot, and Node.js.
  • Notifying us about exceptions which has been done via Slack Webhooks
  • See the detailed stack trace of the exception and give aggregated data about exceptions
  • Get the value of different request parameters which caused the exception which helps the team to replicate and debug the issue faster
  • When the request body is large and we try to pass it in the parameters for the Airbrake the request body gets truncated.
Monitoring and Alerting about exceptions occurring in different environments is handled pretty efficiently by Airbrake. One can see the entire stack trace and also navigate to the exact file which caused the errors. Alerting can be done in a very efficient way by setting up webhooks on different products like Slack.
February 07, 2022

Airbrake Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Airbrake helps with letting us know of errors to look into, while also showing stack traces. This is extremely useful for debugging and to help make sure our software is running in tip-top shape.
  • Error Notifications
  • Stack Traces
  • missing information to help pinpoint debugging
I honestly love the product. It has helped solved issues locating errors, where otherwise it would have taken a super long time.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use it to monitor for errors. Create JIRA tasks from it. It's a one-stop tool to report and fix errors for us.
  • Aggregate errors
  • Monitor for errors
  • Reporting occurence of errors
  • Providing more details about an error
  • Ability to subscribe to specific errors
  • Reproducing an error
Airbrake is well suited for one purpose more than others is for it be a places where all errors are reported. This way we don't have to look for errors in multiple places. All errors are aggregated and captured so which makes it easy for developers to go back to them to review and fix as necessary.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
When I started work in the team here we didn’t have any frontend error alerting whatsoever, and all the backend alerts were based on filtered log analysis. This was fairly hard to work with, and I was sure we were missing a lot of errors. I pushed for, and then implemented, Airbrake on frontend and then backend and the benefits were large and immediate. We found hundreds of thousands of frontend errors were occurring, and the bulk of them were simple things to fix once we were aware. We also got more timely alerts about backend problems, helping us take a more proactive approach to fixing the system.
  • Frontend error alerting and analysis
  • Backend error alerting
  • Recording and prioritisation of errors based on frequency
  • Integration with deployment pipelines to check for errors in a new release
  • I would *love* (and pay more!) if Airbrake also provided an integrated log collection service that was aligned with the error reporting
  • It can be awkward to distinguish between errors in our frontend application and in browser plugins being run by users
  • Given how wide the aggregate view Airbrake themselves have, perhaps they could identify and suggest best-practice solutions to common errors?
  • Browser errors in different user locales show up separately in different languages, even though they are really the same error
Airbrake is very good at what it does, I don’t really have any criticism at all on that front. It’s less well-suited when bugfixing goes beyond the immediate error and means looking at a lot of context (particularly asynchronous context) like logs.
Tyler McWilliam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Airbrake to actively monitor every end user's experience with our products. All of our services are monitored by Airbrake and it is the first place we check when something goes wrong. It has also helped detect several issues that went unreported.
  • Reports errors that aren't being reported to us
  • Helps to quickly identify which specific line of code is causing issues
  • Prioritizes issues by identifying which server created them
  • We use Airbrake in conjunction with OpsGenie, but I feel like there could be more room for integration between the two.
  • I think it would also be nice if there was a GitHub integration that would comment on recently merged error-prone PRs, currently, we need to dig into the error to find the commit.
  • Generally, more integrations would be nice as people often forget about Airbrake when they are stressed out about an issue.
Airbrake is very well suited for quickly tracking down and identifying the root cause of bugs. It is also very good to make sure the recently shipped code is performing well. It is not as well suited for teams that already have several other platforms for monitoring, because it can be forgotten in lieu of performance dashboards etc.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Airbrake to monitor errors that occur in our Rails applications. We have many different applications and different environments, and Airbrake helps us catch errors at different stages of release. It also allows us to group errors and prioritize which ones to fix.
  • Airbrake has configurable notifications
  • Airbrake groups errors and allows sorting by most recent or most occurences
  • Airbrake has integrations with tools such as Jira
  • The error grouping can be confusing and seems inconsistent
  • Searching for errors is tricky
  • Sometimes errors don't include the relevant information in parameters, this is probably a configuration issue but it doesn't make it clear how to fix it.
When building a Rails application, I would definitely recommend Airbrake. We also use logging services such as Datadog, which could have some overlapping functionality, but Airbrake is great at specifically monitoring errors.
October 28, 2021

Airbrake Experience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Airbrake in our Dev and QA teams are using it as an error monitoring tool, and it has been amazing. Great UI, easy to drill into the errors. It's great how they roll up errors of similar types intelligently. The "Occurrences" view is especially helpful to know which errors are infrequent and which deserve higher attention.
  • It is easy to setup with popular frameworks like Ruby on Rails and Python.
  • By linking Airbrake error alerts to HipChat notifications, we get great high-level alerts whenever an error happens.
  • Configurability!
  • Better pricing.
  • It was really difficult to backtrace all log files to catch my apps errors.
  • Error limits are not that big per plan.
Airbrake has given our dev team a proactive capability allowing us to many times get ahead of the curve when it comes to knowing about system errors. Every exception that is thrown in production gets duly reported to our Slack channel and can be reacted upon.
October 20, 2021

Airbrake Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Airbrake is used by several Engineering Teams to alert them of issues.
  • Immediate alerting of issues.
  • Slack integration.
  • Relatively easy navigation.
  • Different API keys for different teams within the same org prevent engineers from other teams from seeing the errors.
  • Not aggregating exceptions when they differ in uuid text only.
  • Independently resolve exceptions after they stop happening for a while.
Well suited for: Quick alerting on errors in production. Less appropriate for: Long-term metrics on errors.
October 11, 2021

Clean it up!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Airbrake help us to achieve clean code in the repo. As a big organization having multiple repos to be handled, Airbrake keep us updated about the missing error.
  • Clarity
  • Ability to close resolved errors
  • Ability to mute unwanted errors
  • Timely email trigger
  • Would like to see a personal dashboard to wishlist and follow certain errors
Airbrake can be easily integrated with any apps.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Airbrake to monitor the health of our site and alert us to errors in our testing and production environments. Our primary users are the Engineering and QA Teams, though Product and Project Managers also receive notifications for visibility into potential problem areas.
  • Compilation of frequently occurring errors
  • Overview of performance-related metrics (requests, response time, etc)
  • Integration with GitHub and Jira
  • Templates used for reporting errors are sometimes missing information when ported to Jira
  • General accessibility; the dashboard view can be difficult to navigate for a non-developer
I'd recommend Airbrake primarily to those with a development or technical background. As a novice user, the interface can be too overwhelming to sort through to find the necessary information. However, the ability to configure reports that compile frequently-occurring errors has been a useful component of communicating between Business, QA, and Engineering. We're better able to identify areas that seem problematic, as well as define timelines and impact. For my role, I use Airbrake as a component of our site's health metrics in combination with other reporting platforms, and not as a standalone.
October 11, 2021

Airbrake the Bug Smasher

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Whole org, it allows us to efficiently debug issues especially during content delivery. It makes pinpointing errors very easy and the custom aggregations are fantastic. We have implemented Airbrake across multiple applications, we rely often on it when writing code in order to raise issues that may be unexpected during deployment.
  • Logs Errors
  • Provides backtraces
  • Custom Aggregations of Airbrake Messages
  • User Friendly
  • Search Functionality could be improved
  • Environment Param should be a drop down rather than a manually typed search field
Its great at logging errors and exceptions, it gives very detailed information as to number of occurrences, time of occurrences, backtrace information, the request params and the ability to aggregate by certain criteria, it even provides for custom aggregate fields. It is less appropriate if you are expecting to use it as logs, while it is great at exception and error handling, logging everything to Airbrake is not a good idea as it quickly becomes too cluttered
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using it in all our critical services for reporting errors and get instant alerts which help us to take action on them quickly.
  • Integration with most of languages and frameworks as well support via existing logging configs.
  • Aggregations on occurrences which helps to understand and analyse issues better.
  • Web UI displays all error related parameters which I never could have figured out in manual debugging.
  • Better integration with Slack. I could not found a way in which I can use different channel for each of my integrated projects.
  • Better integration with Jira. Currently we can just automate the task of opening an issue but it could be better if we could provide default assignee as well.
  • Support for project ID and key in java airbrake with logback 0.1.1
  • Better integration with Play framework.
Its well suited for error monitoring, analysis and alerts.
Return to navigation