Algolia Reviews

19 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 04, 2020
Sagiv Frankel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very little infrastructure needed. Can be used directly from client or from different services.
  • Very reliable. We had very little down time if at all. Response times are good.
  • Search API is a little confusing (what is a facet?).
  • UI is nice, but it doesn't do a good job in helping you define your queries.
Read Sagiv Frankel's full review
May 23, 2018
Rich Warren | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Extremely fast search results
  • Very easy to set up, no maintenance needed from our side
  • Efficient and easy to adapt ranking formula
  • Customising the react packages can be difficult. Easy to send an excessive amount of requests
  • Customising ranking is restricted to prioritising factors, rather than weighting each factor individually
  • Costs can escalate dramatically when you expand your traffic
Read Rich Warren's full review
December 15, 2017
Eli Allen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Algolia is brain-dead simple to set up. I've implemented search with Algolia in a dozen different ways now, and it never took me longer than a few minutes to get the functionality I want. With Algolia, the only challenge is designing your search UI -- if you don't want to use their baked in UI solutions.
  • Results come back incredibly fast. I'm not sure how Algolia does it, but every keystroke I make in a search field returns new results instantly. It's hard to believe that I'm searching large datasets on a remote server when it works so fast.
  • Very little customization is needed for 99% of use-cases. Algolia's out of the box setup works great, and it takes no prior knowledge to set up.
  • Recent pricing model changes made Algolia considerably more expensive. I understand that companies change their models all the time, but my plan almost doubled in price overnight. They let me keep my legacy plan for as long as I wanted, but I had already outgrown it, so a small increase in demand caused big price spikes. It's still cheap for what it is though.
  • The documentation is generally good, but sometimes hard to navigate. I was trying to find examples of how to combine geo-queries with normal ones, and I couldn't find an example, but it wasn't actually hard to figure out.
  • Some of the advanced features can be hard to understand at first. This isn't really a con, as it just means Algolia is loaded with features, but I was a bit overwhelmed the first time I tried to customize an index.
Read Eli Allen's full review
November 03, 2017
Michael Riess | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Algolia is lightning quick -- the fastest we found
  • Algolia has great tech support, tons of documentation, and many high quality ready-made plugins
  • Algolia allows for a high degree of customization
  • Algolia can be a bit complex -- for smaller companies or companies without many tech resources, it may be difficult to implement and use without the help of a third party
  • Manually manipulating search results (for specific queries having listings show up first) is a bit difficult to do without custom developing that functionality
Read Michael Riess's full review
January 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Extremely fast search speeds
  • Great technical support team
  • Willingness of the company to work with customers on pricing
  • It is difficult to scale the product, considering the pricing.
  • Building relevancy algorithms can get extremely expensive
  • Requires thorough knowledge of Algolia's documentation and framework to optimize for performance while sticking to your budget
Read this authenticated review
February 10, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Search speed is excellent.
  • Configurability is also excellent.
  • Fuzzy Logic really helps our customers when they misspell a search.
  • I can't think of any
Read this authenticated review
August 23, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is an ultra-fast tool that can also handle typos.
  • It is super easy to implement.
  • It has distributed search networks and multiple data centers.
  • It is very expensive compared to elastic search which is relatively free.
  • Algolia does not support iPhone and Android, unlike Sharefile and Diqify
  • Algolia lacks the activity tracking and email integration
  • Algolia does not have any video tutorials.
Read this authenticated review
November 06, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Javascript/AJAX search requests from HTML clients (perfect microservice)
  • Easy to configure indexing
  • Dashboard of search results and performance
  • Customer support can be lacking at times, the development team IS in France so anything escalated takes a while to resolve
  • Costs escalate quickly until you hit dedicated hardware
  • Index creation can be slow
Read this authenticated review

What is Algolia?

Algolia helps businesses across industries quickly create relevant, scalable, and lightning fast search and discovery experiences. Algolia’s mission is to make every search interaction meaningful and rewarding. Our hosted platform reduces the complexity of building relevant digital experiences. More than 8,000 companies like WW, Lacoste, Twitch, Medium and Stripe rely on Algolia’s enterprise-grade APIs to manage over 60 billion search queries a month.

Founded in 2012, Algolia is backed by $184M in funding from Accel Partners, Alven Capital, Point Nine Capital and Storm Ventures. The team is headquartered in San Francisco with offices in Paris, London, New York, Atlanta and Tokyo. To learn more, visit www.algolia.com.


Algolia Features

Has featureQuery Rules
Has featureA/B Testing
Has featureInstantSearch
Has featureAnalytics
Has featureCustom Crawler

Algolia Screenshots

Algolia Integrations

Shopify, WordPress, Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento)

Algolia Competitors

Algolia Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0per month
Standard$1per unit/per month
Premium1.50per unit/per month
OEM PricingContact sales team

Algolia Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media

Algolia Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: All

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Algolia?

Algolia in San Francisco, California offers enterprise search as a service.

Who uses Algolia?

The most common users of Algolia are from Mid-size Companies and the Internet industry.