AlienVault USM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
684 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 01, 2019
Christian Holton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

7
There's definitely a learning curve, and I strongly recommend attending the training they give you when you first sign up and the follow-up webcasts and so on to give you an edge on your training. Once you get a baseline understanding of all the moving parts, you can get in and get your hands dirty.
Read Christian Holton's full review
November 06, 2017
Randy Kouns | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

10
We have been using AlienVault USM Appliance for nearly 3 years. The power and flexibility of the device for IPS and IDS is amazing. We are able to identify threats and stop them before damage can be done.
Read Randy Kouns's full review
December 04, 2017
Matt Frederickson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

10
Best SIEM out there. Built for the serious security practioner. Has features you would expect in something much more expensive. Product continues to be refined and improved.
Read Matt Frederickson's full review
August 03, 2017
James Ellsworth | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

7
The product once properly configured seems to offer a wealth of information but has it's issues. I feel that the initial setup/ installation should include technical support to get up and running. My personal experience from the configuration as installed indicates that the network adaptors are not properly configured to read information. The network ports where configured to only ready 1/2 the network?? So having help to get the system up and running should be part of the initial purchase.
Read James Ellsworth's full review
November 02, 2017
Mikhail Suleymanov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

7
The system is great in turns of functionality but in terms of being user friendly and usability for the average person it is very hard to understand and wil take a lot of training.
Read Mikhail Suleymanov's full review
September 29, 2017
Brian W. Caldwell BIT | MIS | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Usability

5
After using it for some time I have found the interface to be somewhat "clunky." Some of the system management requirements have to be done from the CLI (Command Line Interface). There is no way to easily automate some of the system maintenance, that if not addressed, causes the system to become unusable after a period of time.
Read Brian W. Caldwell BIT | MIS's full review
September 07, 2017
Jeremy Wanamaker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Usability

8
Good product. It's a significant improvement in UI from AlienVault's previous offer. It could use more polish. The feature set also needs to improve. There are features that existed in AlienVault's previous product that are not included in this product. I understand the developers are rapidly adding features. We expect this product will mature into a best-in-class offering.
Read Jeremy Wanamaker's full review
August 30, 2017
Danny Santiago | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

10
I tried out other SEIM engines and have to say AlienVault beat them all and went beyond. Their simple to use and read interface as well as updated analytics makes doing my job easy. Not only did I catch active breaches but were able to stop them before any data was lost. That was just during out trail of the AlienVault USM product. Support has been amazing as well as the sales staff. I can't imagine running a datacenter with AlienVault there to help me sleep at night. Thank You AlienVault. You not only made my team look like rock stars we feel like it too!
Read Danny Santiago's full review
December 04, 2015
Ledan Patrick Masseus | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

7
Overall the product has a bit of a learning curve. I took the Alienvault class and read through a lot of documentation. You need to know what you are going to use it for. This SIEM solution is very robust and you will have to put some work into it. At the end of the day if you do that work, it becomes easier to use. One piece of advice is to know your environment.
Read Ledan Patrick Masseus's full review
January 03, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

7
Once you are able to navigate the different panels, finding what you need is quite easily. Before getting used it it can be a bit of challenge .

Each panel is quite well laid out and the filtering search capabilities are quite strong.
Read this authenticated review
November 20, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Usability

9
It is easy to use and very flexible. It has a tons of security features that can be used for different purposes. It has several wizards that can make the configuration task a easy task.
Read this authenticated review
August 31, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

8
The user interface is pretty intuitive in how to use it. The majority of the functions within AlienVault are easy to utilize without requiring you reading a large amount of documentation. Fiddling with some of the custom policies takes a bit of using to get used to but not hard to do overall. I did not need to request help from support to use most things and the times that I did were dealt with pretty easily.
Read this authenticated review
August 31, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

10
AlienVault USM is a very easy product to implement and use. The implementation takes less than a few hours and that using the instructions from the website and not having to contact customer support. The USM console is very easy to navigate. I am also able to set up console and email alerts we ease. I had USM installed, up and going with all my customizations within a day or two whereas, other SIEM products have taken multiple weeks to get tweaked to meet my needs. Overall, this is a very good product for a SMB seeking a SIEM solution.
Read this authenticated review
November 20, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

8
The dashboard for alarms is extremely useful for a quick glance at what is going on in the environment. It also allows you to drill into an alarm to get more granular details on what generated it. Reporting and flexibility of dashboards could use some improvements, but overall a very useful tool.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Centralized event and log data collection (3)
7.1
Correlation (3)
7.7
Event and log normalization/management (3)
7.7
Deployment flexibility (3)
6.7
Integration with Identity and Access Management Tools (2)
6.9
Custom dashboards and workspaces (3)
6.9
Host and network-based intrusion detection (3)
7.7

What is AlienVault USM?

AlienVault® Unified Security Management® (USM) delivers threat detection, incident response, and compliance management in one unified platform. It is designed to combine all the essential security capabilities needed for effective security monitoring across cloud and on-premises environments, including SIEM, intrusion detection, vulnerability management, as well as continuous threat intelligence updates. The vendor states that even for resource-limited IT security teams, AlienVault USM can be affordable, fast to deploy, and easy to use. It eliminates the need to deploy, integrate, and maintain multiple point solutions in the data center.

Smart, automated data collection & analysis: USM Anywhere automatically collects and analyzes data across the attack surface, helping to quickly gain centralized security visibility without the complexity of multiple disparate security technologies.

Automated threat detection powered by AT&T Alien Labs: With threat intelligence provided by AT&T Alien Labs, USM Anywhere is updated automatically to stay on top of evolving and emerging threats, so the security team can focus on responding to alerts.

Incident response orchestration with AlienApps: USM Anywhere supports a growing ecosystem of AlienApps, enabling the user to orchestrate and automate actions towards other security technologies, able to respond to incidents quickly and easily.

AlienVault USM Features

Security Information and Event Management (SIEM) Features

Has featureCentralized event and log data collection
Has featureCorrelation
Has featureEvent and log normalization/management
Has featureDeployment flexibility
Has featureIntegration with Identity and Access Management Tools
Has featureCustom dashboards and workspaces
Has featureHost and network-based intrusion detection
Additional Features
Has featureAlienVault Open Threat Exchange

AlienVault USM Screenshots

AlienVault USM Videos (2)

Watch AlienVault USM Anywhere: Five Essential Cloud Security Capabilities in a Single SaaS Platform

Watch See How We're Pushing the Outer Limits of Security

AlienVault USM Downloadables

AlienVault USM Competitors

AlienVault USM Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Essentials$1,075per month
Standard$1,695per month
Premium$2,595per month

AlienVault USM Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Live Chat

AlienVault USM Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global

Frequently Asked Questions

What is AlienVault USM's best feature?

Reviewers rate Correlation and Event and log normalization/management and Host and network-based intrusion detection highest, with a score of 7.7.

Who uses AlienVault USM?

The most common users of AlienVault USM are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.