Amazon Aurora Reviews

67 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Arthur Zubarev | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Old Database New Again: AWS Aurora, and it Shines

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon Aurora has been chosen as a drop-in replacement for another popular, but a less affordable relational data storage engine. At time of this writing the system is getting ready to be commissioned in for production use on a select application basis. Given the adoption is, and it appears to be very positive, Amazon Aurora will be the sole choice for any other future implementations and serve as a replacement to other transactional databases. My personal view of what business problems Aurora solves or addresses well:
  • Aurora stands out in clustering (or multi-zone high availability) provided out of the box
  • DBA-less (almost) solution, at least the server-side aspect is muted, no patching or any hardening to make
  • Scale horizontally or vertically, or both.
  • The serverless option is attractive for ad-hoc use
  • Read-only replicas for robust analytics
  • Easy of programmability, supported by most drivers immediately
Read Arthur Zubarev's full review
Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2019

High-Speed, Low-Cost and logins for years. Amazon Aurora filled a huge need!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization has a need to store massive amounts of logs in AWS S3 storage. We use Amazon Aurora to query against that data and avoid using high priced third-party logging indexing software and their hot storage. AWS Athena use is isolated to our development teams and business analysts only. The main purpose for our organization using Amazon Aurora is simply cost savings and further centralizing under the AWS platform.
Read Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 07, 2019

Amazon Aurora is the database to lookout for in the future

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon Aurora is essentially a relational database as a service on AWS. Since it is cloud-based, there are many advantages to its name. First of all, it is a server-less database which essentially means that you do not need to host a physical server and provide space for it. Secondly, it is a pay-per-use model which means you only pay whenever you use it, which is a great feature if you do not make everyday queries into the database. Since it is again an amazing product from Amazon, it fits very well in the AWS ecosystem. You can use it to scale your database as per your needs, no need to buy server space and resources in advance, then not use them. It can scale and descale according to your needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

Amazon Aurora Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon Aurora is a PaaS database product from AWS that is a drop-in replacement for existing workloads utilizing either a MySQL or PostgreSQL backend that improves upon the database engine performance of those open source projects. We leverage Aurora for its simple scaling without having to take a cluster down, and find its auto-scaling storage to be a better fit for our workloads than having to guess ahead of time and over-provision.
Read this authenticated review
Shiv Shivakumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2018

great RDBMS that can scale up and replicate very well

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Amazon Aurora as a relational database in the cloud in the aws eco-system mainly as a SQL data-store for transaction analytics. Find it really superior for its sheer faster performance as a relational data base - much faster than a traditional RDBMS data base and is much cheaper than some its competitors. It is offered as 'database as a service' and hence the worries of finding hardware to provision is not there and can get quickly started.
Read Shiv Shivakumar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2019

Amazon's opensource relational database service

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon Aurora is a relational database as a service which supports MySQL and Postgres DBs on AWS.
My organization uses a lot of serverless features on AWS for developing microservices. In this regard, we use AWS Lambda for microservices and Amazon Aurora for a relational database.

This is a lightweight maintenance-less option of providing microservices without having to maintain the infrastructure including AMI rehydrations on AWS.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2019

A Serverless Future for a Database from the Past

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The engineering team uses Amazon Aurora Serverless to rapidly build services that are inexpensive to operate and maintain. Aurora Serverless is an ideal datastore for low-volume or bursty services that can tolerate its cold starts; services consumed by batch jobs are an example. Amazon Aurora Serverless is a fast MySQL 5.6-compatible datastore; it helps our small team because it is managed and very inexpensive.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Raines | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2018

Great performance and easy transition from MySQL

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Amazon Aurora as our primary data store which underlies the bulk of our system operations - primarily via web APIs. Its used beneath a PHP stack as a MySQL compatible cluster in a master-slave configuration. We also have master-only clusters for our development and test environments.
Read Andrew Raines's full review
Vasco Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2017

Amazon Aurora - A Boost on Standard MySQL

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cloud services are the trend. No infrastructure costs and no worries. Cloud databases are also the trend, as they can be easily scalable and upgraded.

As a senior consultant I recently configured an Amazon Aurora database to serve as the back-end of an organization software. This software included a main server providing services for mobile applications and also as a back-office web application to manage transaction information. These services relied on the Amazon Aurora database to collect and save information. Customer needed a database accessible from everywhere, with high availability, fast, always up to date and scalable as it was expected the business to grow as well as its storage needs. The Amazon Aurora turned out to be a stable solution with high performance when compared with in-house solutions like MySQL.
Read Vasco Mendes's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2017

Using Amazon Aurora to better your software and development team!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon Aurora is used by my organization as the backend for our software. Previously, we hosted our own MySQL servers which inevitably due to lack of resources ran behind on updates and thus performed more poorly than it should. Moving to Amazon Aurora has improved performance for a database that was poorly designed at the start and was operating on a slowly outdated MySQL version. Moving to Amazon Aurora not only improved performance, but allows my company to continue with fewer resources but yet have the advantage of a database that is more stable and stays up to date with the latest features. Since moving to Amazon Aurora, we also have fewer replication errors since Aurora does this flawlessly.
Read this authenticated review

About Amazon Aurora

Amazon Aurora is a MySQL and PostgreSQL-compatible relational database built for the cloud, built to combine the performance and availability of enterprise databases with the simplicity and cost-effectiveness of open source databases. The vendor states Amazon Aurora is up to 5X faster than MySQL databases and 3X faster than PostgreSQL databases, and that it provides the security, availability, and reliability of commercial databases at 1/10th the cost.

Amazon Aurora features a distributed, fault-tolerant, self-healing storage system that auto-scales up to 64TB per database instance. It delivers performance and availability with up to 15 low-latency read replicas, point-in-time recovery, continuous backup to Amazon S3, and replication across three Availability Zones (AZs).

The vendor invites readers to learn more details on how they designed Amazon Aurora, from AWS CTO, Werner Vogels.

Amazon Aurora Screenshots

Amazon Aurora Videos (2)

Amazon Aurora Supported Products

AWS Lambda, Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS), Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS), Amazon RDS Data API

Amazon Aurora Competitors

Pricing

    Amazon Aurora Support Options

     Free VersionPaid Version
    Email
    Forum/Community
    FAQ/Knowledgebase
    Social Media
    Video Tutorials / Webinar
    Phone

    Amazon Aurora Availability

    Geography:NAMER, EMEA, APAC, LATAM
    Supported Languages: English, French, Chinese, Korean, Japanese