Amazon Chime

Amazon Chime

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.1 out of 100
Amazon Chime

Overview

What is Amazon Chime?

Amazon Chime is a communications service from Amazon Web Services with a built-in VoIP solution. Amazon Chime can be used for online meetings, video conferencing, and business calling, and features pay-as-you-go pricing.
Read more

Recent Reviews

Chime In

8 out of 10
March 04, 2020
We currently use Amazon Chime for our All-Team Meetings along with any smaller meetings we have that require remote employees to be …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Popular Features

View all 17 features
  • High quality audio (27)
    8.4
    84%
  • Desktop sharing (26)
    8.1
    81%
  • Meeting initiation (25)
    7.6
    76%
  • High quality video (27)
    7.4
    74%

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Amazon Chime, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Business Calling - Inbound

$0.002216

Cloud
per minute

Business Calling - Phone Numbers

$1

Cloud
per number per month, US Only

Meetings - Pro

$3

Cloud
*per user per day

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://aws.amazon.com/chime/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

Performance & Compatibility of Online Events Software

7.6
76%

Screen Sharing

8.1
81%

Online Meetings / Events

7.4
74%

Online Events Collaboration

7.8
78%

Online Events Security

8.5
85%
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Amazon Chime?

Amazon Chime is a communications service from Amazon Web Services with a built-in VoIP solution. Amazon Chime can be used for online meetings, video conferencing, and business calling, and features pay-as-you-go pricing.

As part of Amazon Chime, Amazon Chime Voice Connector is a service that carries voice traffic over the internet and scales to meet capacity needs. This allows users to eliminate fixed telephone network costs and simplify their voice network administration by transitioning it to the AWS Cloud.

Key Features

Amazon Chime call me: With Amazon Chime call me, users simply enter their phone number in the web application and answer the incoming call to join a meeting.

Join Meetings with Alexa: Users can simply say “Alexa, start my meeting”, and Alexa gets the meeting started using Alexa for Business’s functionality with Amazon Chime.

Incoming Web Hooks: Developers can configure their applications to use incoming webhooks to post messages into Amazon Chime chat rooms.

Chat Bots: Users can create custom chat bots in chat rooms. Participants can interact directly with chat bots to provide access to corporate applications and information, and to automate common tasks.

Switch Between Devices: From the Chime application, users can switch active calls between mobile and desktop devices without interrupting the conversation.

Amazon Chime Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Amazon Chime is a communications service from Amazon Web Services with a built-in VoIP solution. Amazon Chime can be used for online meetings, video conferencing, and business calling, and features pay-as-you-go pricing.

Reviewers rate Confidential attendee list highest, with a score of 8.7.

The most common users of Amazon Chime are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (72)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 28)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
September 28, 2021

Great Interview Tool!!

Omkar Marne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I used my Amazon chime for interviews with Amazon. It is the best interview application for amazon interviews. It's fast and user-friendly.
There are about 100 employees in my department and the good thing of amazon chime is it can allow 250 people in the meeting so all the employees can join at once if needed. We record all the meetings and audio quality is good.
We join the meeting with just a simple click which is pretty easy.
Also, the best thing of chime is it's compatible with slack. W also use slack for meetings and chat and through Slack we can host the chime meetings.
  • Video calling
  • Audio is good
  • Very fast
  • User friendly.
  • Graphical interface.
  • Try to make it more user friendly.
  • User interface.
I have given 2 amazon interviews. It's really great for interviews.
Also amazon employees use it for daily chats and work messages.
I would definitely like to recommend Amazon chime for all the amazon interviews. Its desktop application is pretty easy to set up and it's basic so any layman can understand how to use it.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our organization is currently using Amazon Chime to conduct interviews with external candidates. Due to the pandemic and most employees working virtually, we had to adopt a solution which allowed to interview potential new hires in a remote setting. Amazon Chime helped us achieve our goals of holding interviews with little overhead.
  • Clear voice capability, everyone can be heard loud and clear.
  • Interface is intuitive and easy to use.
  • Easy to configure, such as adjusting your headset or speakers.
  • Interface takes up whole screen, too much screen real estate.
  • Video function could improve a bit.
  • Integration with headsets, such as hardware muting, would be a nice added feature.
Amazon Chime is a perfect solution for conducting interviews with external candidates. It does not require installation of any additional software for the end user, and sending a meeting to internal parties and external users is quite simple. It also allows testing, where an external user can test before joining to ensure there are no issues before a meeting/interview begin. For ad-hoc or recurring meetings, there are better solutions.
June 04, 2021

Amazon Chime Review

Akhilesh Arya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Amazon Chime is a great platform for video call and conferences, we are using it in our organization for the same. We schedule classes and daily meeting on it. It is pretty similar to zoom we shifted to amazon chime just for cost cutting, zoom is a bit expensive in comparison to chime. Every feature which is required for a conferencing tool, whether it's screen sharing or file sharing is available on this platform.
  • It is a cost effective solution for your daily meetings.
  • Easy User interface
  • Its new in the market and less people know about it so its difficult for a new user to logged into it for the first time
If you love to work with amazon tools this is a platform for you. Just a single click and you'll logged into your account. You can schedule meetings using chime.
Ravinder Beniwal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
In our organization, we use Amazon Chime for conducting online audio and video conferences. Basis on a client recommendation, we started using Amazon Chime in only one department, and other departments use other conferencing apps. With [Amazon] Chime, business communication including client calls, internal meetings has become easy, more secure, and cost effective. It gives you an option to do IM, personalize a meeting link, instantly start a meeting or scheduling a meeting at a later time within your organization and outside the organization users via desktop app, web app, and mobile app. Amazon voice focus (noise suppression) features, screen sharing, Background blur, audio, and video quality works fine and up to expectation.
  • Noise suppression and Background blur
  • Screen share and IM chat
  • Audio and video quality
  • Collaboration on chat and file sharing of up to 50MB
  • Separate chat rooms and you can add a chat bot in a chat room
  • User interface look and feel can be improved
  • Live captioning
  • Transcripts for recording meetings can be generated
  • More emoji could be added
Amazon Chime is well suited for online video and audio meetings, IMs, and conducting training sessions using a whiteboard. It can be integrated well with Google Calendar and Microsoft outlook. With Amazon Chime mobile app you can attend meetings on the go as well. Meetings can be locked so that only legitimate participants can join the meeting. Amazon Chime is less suited in case you want meeting transcripts as well for your meetings. Given that Amazon Chime is not used by a larger audience so your client or customer may face some difficulties in join the meeting or accessing some of the features of the Chime.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Amazon Chime within a single department of around 80 engineers. This allows quick video communication between the department.
  • Spinning up an instant meeting
  • Integration with existing amazon accounts
  • Does not require a paid subscription for external parties to join meetings
  • Interface is very basic but simple
  • There are many other products providing similar functionality with more features
Great one stop shop for videocalling similar to zoom, persistent chat and calls to other Amazon Chime users all from a single dashboard.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We used Amazon Chime with our teleconferences, most of the time with external clients. It is not widely used across the whole org but by a few departments.
  • Cost effective
  • Easy integration with other calendar like Gmail
  • Setup is easy
  • No need to download desktop application
  • Mobile app is available
  • Not user friendly .Some options are confusing sometimes.
  • Look and feel is not so catchy
  • Only basic features are available in web version
It's lacking mainly in UX design. Not so user-friendly and catchy. It's a good option to do the conferencing quickly without thinking much about desktop app download.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use it to connect basically to AWS Team and AWS Partners. It's solving a communication preference of use Amazon Chime as [a] primary communication option with these companies, but it's not exactly a business problem, it's just the fastest option. It's being used by some departments, like IT and others.
  • Audio/video settings
  • Mute other people
  • Schedule management
  • Constantly being updated
  • Need to be opened to start/complete the update process
  • It opens the main window over others, to update
If you live in AWS World, Amazon Chime is a great option. It's complete, and the audio/video settings are great. Even manage your schedule directly from the tool. But, its update process, is weird and [bothers] me every time that it begins, cause it opens the update window over other windows, without asking.
Peter Vadelnieks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is being used to communicate with Amazon as they are a customer. They will only work with us using this specific tool. It is being used by our Support and Solutions Architect teams. It is annoying because Amazon will only allow us to have video calls with them using this tool.
  • Sound quality.
  • Screen sharing.
  • Lagging video.
  • Bad UX design.
If you don't have to pay for it, then it's fine. But the overall experience of this product is very clunky and not up to same level of quality as other video tools.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Amazon Chime for communicating with the teams internally as well as having meetings with Aws consultants. The software is great tool for collaborating the designs and techniques which can be used to speed up the process. It helps in managing meetings effortlessly and also let you know who accepted it or will be late for the meeting.
  • Scheduling meeting effortlessly
  • Integrates well with calendar
  • great tool for collaboration
  • support on different browsers
  • takes a bit to load
  • Screen sharing sometimes lag
Great tool which can be used for collaborating and sharing screens. It helps in integrating with calendar effortlessly and send invitations for the meeting. Sometimes it takes time to load the application on your device and is not compatible with all browsers. It has different options of muting and sharing screen during presenting.
April 26, 2021

Amazon Chime Review

YagneshKumar Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Amazon Chime was our go-to software for scheduling and attending corporate and departmental meetings weekly, quarterly, and annually. Moreover, Amazon Chime was in various ways; For Example, I used Amazon Chime to create a meeting within my department so training within my department can be done efficiently. Amazon Chime solves major business problems such as anyone from the company can use their accounts to create a meeting for any reason, most of the time with Amazon Chime I was able to solve issues such as getting on a quick on the spot meeting to clear out any issues within our organization and move on with our daily duties.
  • Chat tools, video calls, on spot meeting invite[s] easy to create and use.
  • Ability to record any meeting and automatically downloads the meeting recording after ending the meeting.
  • UI is clean and easy to navigate around Amazon Chime.
  • Ability to invite outside guests easily using Amazon Chime without any issues.
  • No easy way to sync up with Google calendar using Amazon Chime, a user would need to click on the google calendar link and then copy the Amazon Chime link to be able to sync up.
  • Ability to have on-screen live captioning, that would be great.
  • [The] ability to create Polls and video calls do not have the ability to blur background images and or create custom background images.
Amazon Chime is well suited for users that consists of a small group of people, for organizations that are more than 50 ppl Amazon Chime is a little lagging on the point where the ability to sync with google contacts, and calendar. Amazon Chime does have [it's] good and bad, but for sure Amazon Chime can solve the needs where a user needs to connect with a team or group right away to business issues or personal projects resolved. Amazon Chime great for video conferencing, live chat, creating meetings and etc.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We've used Amazon Chime for web conferencing; however, its low adoption rate alongside the fact that it was not user friendly makes it difficult to use. We used it in a few departments as we tested between this and Teams and found that it did not integrate well.
  • Easy to download
  • Usage based pricing
  • Low long distance rates
  • Not highly adopted
  • Not user friendly
  • Slow
It is a pretty good web conferencing system with some limitations. Again, it is not highly adopted among several companies and I found that it did not have several features that the larger ones have.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We implemented Amazon Chime as a way for our sales team to record calls, re-listen to for personal sales training and improvement, and running product demos.
  • Connectivity reliability was a key buying factor for my organization.
  • We integrated Amazon Chime with our CRM making the call and recording process seamless for all of our sales reps.
  • Implementation across our organization was a quick turnaround due to good customer service from the supplier.
  • I'd like to see more sentiment analysis around the conversation between the salesperson and the prospect. This would make great for coaching opportunities after the call to make our sales reps better.
  • In a few instances, members of our sales team had issues with sharing call recording links with their prospects. Our product team came to the conclusion it was coming from the Amazon Chime end.
Amazon Chime is very well suited for any organization/department looking for a simplified implementation process and a reliable product.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Amazon Chime is being used by a client of ours to communicate with us during our contract. We are working on two projects for them and to communicate with them in the northeastern area and us in Oklahoma, we us Amazon Chime. We love using it for the sheer ease of sharing our screens and viewing each other's faces.
  • Share screen
  • Video
  • Audio
  • Live captioning would be nice.
  • Participation tools such as polls.
  • The basic user interface makes it feel like it's lacking in technology.
Amazon Chime is great when you need to have people outside of the organization to connect to the system and to not need all of the bulk of downloading the software. This is a nice touch so that even people within the organization can use this function if they are using a computer outside of their normal computer.
They were very supportive in answering all of our questions when we had problems. Their in-person calls but their support site also had a full set of information that can answer a good portion of your questions before you have to pick up the phone. But when you, you will get good service.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Amazon Chime was introduced in our team as a collaborative tool for conducting meetings over audio/video calls, chats, sharing files, and even meet with folks outside our organization. It is still in beta mode but it has helped a lot in making the increased virtual conversations happen real fast. It is lightweight and helps erase the problem of loading times as well as having more than a stipulated number of people on board at one time.
  • Pay for only what is used. No long term contracts or upfront payments, comes with a basic feature also which is free of charge which was used in initial testing phases.
  • Unlimited person to person connects—screen share, call, file share, remote control.
  • Tight security management, user control, and admin reporting.
  • Integration with Okta for MFA.
  • Not many, pricing is something that is complex to understand as it has different prices for different types of features.
Integration with Slack, which is most welcome as we're able to start calls from within Slack. AWS CloudTrail integration. Single Sign-On helps with user management and data integrity without users having to do much of the troubled sign on at every interface. User reports are another useful feature for the admins.
Amazon Chime was brought on as a beta software with 100 odd people in my team. For initial setup, we reached out to Customer Support and they're very helpful at each step and making us get used to the Chime collaboration tool. They were able to give us walkthroughs of various integrations the Chime supports: remote control, screen share, audio & video calls, etc.
March 04, 2020

Chime In

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We currently use Amazon Chime for our All-Team Meetings along with any smaller meetings we have that require remote employees to be included. Also, a good feature with Amazon Chime is the ability to record the meetings so if employees were unable to attend we can email them the link. Amazon Chime is also beneficial in supporting our teleworker policy and the ability for employees to video conference in.
  • Recording meetings.
  • Ease to join and listen to the meeting.
  • Only the host can record the meeting.
  • Some features are hard to enable.
When it is just a one-on-one interaction Amazon Chime would not be the best tool, I would rather use Skype or Slack. However, in the larger meetings Amazon Chime works great.
I think Amazon Chime could offer more options in terms of chat, polling, etc. Those options could be available now but it is not easy to find. But overall for what we use it for it gets the job done.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Amazon Chime was included in the Vonage Business package we subscribed to. We are still new to this program and still learning its capabilities. The fact that we can jump to and instant video conference, we can have private teleconferences outside of a group conference, we can text or email others outside of the call group while on a conference call and much more.
  • (Amazon Chime should not be confused with the banging app chime.com as they are not related in any way. )
  • There is nothing complicated about this app. You don't have to search for a logon telephone number or code. You generate that in real-time and invite the participants to the meeting. Once you "invite" a contact, they are in your contact list.
  • The speed at which you can set up a teleconference is one of its best features.
  • Adding people to the conference call is a breeze.
  • Importing a contact list would be a great feature.
For a "free" product, we have a good ROI on this investment. Amazon Chime is one more way to communicate more effectively.
Amazon Chime has earned a solid 9 - hopefully, once I get more comfortable with this program, my rating will change!
Keith Lillico, M.Ed, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • I have used Amazon Chime as a basic conferencing app. Initially, we used it as a pay per use option to test it out. We liked this approach because we were able to pay for the options that we wanted to test without making a considerable commitment ahead of time. We loved the results so much that we went to using it full time.
  • While we use it between departments, the primary purpose of this app is used for external communications with clients. We like to use the video features; however, we have found it useful for even voice conversations. What we like best about the software is that it is simple. We also like the fact that we can integrate Amazon Chime with other pieces of software. Currently, we were able to install the Amazon Chime plugin into the Slack app and have enjoyed a great deal of success with it.
  • While we have not made a move yet but we are exploring the idea of moving all of our telephony options to Amazon Chime to run through AWS. The only challenge that we have faced was that early on, we seemed to see a lot of lag in the video, and the quality was poor. We soon discovered that the issues were actually on our end and had nothing to do with Amazon Chime itself.
  • Amazon Chime has an easy to use interface that is not as clutter as some other conferencing apps.
  • Amazon Chime can integrate with different software such a Slack, which makes it easy to make to stay in one tool while I am working.
  • It does not have wide adoption yet so outside customers are unsure about about it.
I think that Amazon Chime is well suited for almost any occasion that requires collaboration and conferencing. The only time where it is not as appropriate would be mainly driven by preference or in an instance where the software is not already installed on a client's workstation, and they do not want to introduce something new.
I have not had to use customer support very much when working with Amazon Chime. I will have to say that when I did need help, I have been able to find what I need online, and I would expect that if I needed to call in, the quality of support would be as good as I have come to expect from Amazon.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Amazon Chime company-wide for both web and phone conferencing systems. This service replaced two functions for our company, specifically third-party conference calling numbers and a third-party web conferencing service. Combining the services helped with efficiency. I am not part of the purchasing team, but I suspect that we also saved costs.
  • Easy to use--it is easy to train people on the functionality required to host conference calls or webinars.
  • Reliable.
  • I would like to see a feature to allow people to pre-register for web-conferencing. There has been at least one incident in which no one showed up to a webinar. I don't know if no one intended to join, if something was wrong with the invitation, or if there was user error on the organizer's end.
We have a team member who will be using Amazon Chime to record team meetings and will be posting them in our LMS. It has been instrumental in training our team members who work exclusively remotely. While we do use it for conference calling, and our phone system does not allow for even three-way conference calling, it is a bit cumbersome to have to create a webinar invite and send it to the participants instead of simply placing someone on hold and calling the next party. Finally, when in screenshare mode, it is hard to see the chat window to keep up with any incoming questions.
Chime is easy to use, has great Outlook integration, and allows us to use one system instead of two. We have been able to integrate web conferencing into many aspects of our business, including in training, team meetings, and conference calls. Our tools before were able to accommodate our current uses, but because they required more training and were less intuitive, they simply didn't get used to their full potential like I have seen Chime being used.
October 25, 2019

Amazon Chime is great!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Amazon Chime to host and attend meetings across our organization. The ability to have a call-in number for those that have sub-par internet access is nice. It allows our multi-location enterprise to keep in communication across several departments. It lets our remote workforce keep in touch with the local headquarters and with their co-workers both within and outside of the country.
  • The screen sharing aspect of Chime is very useful when attempting to demonstrate functionality to our remote users.
  • Using Chime as an instant messaging app between our workforce is extremely helpful.
  • It is quite simple to send an invite and have Outlook manage the appointment. Then Chime automatically calls you when the appointment is about to start.
  • Most organizations seem to use different applications and Chime isn't one of the major players yet. Therefore, it is difficult using it across companies.
  • The application seems a little "heavy" when using video. Maybe a little redesign might help.
  • The contact list should be integrated into Outlook.
It is well suited for our organization because most of our users are familiar with it. We find it difficult for non-Chime users to easily figure out the application.
We have only had one issue with Chime and support was able to help us out quickly and efficiently.
October 17, 2019

A Easy Way to Chat

Melinda Saternis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Amazon Chime to communicate internally through both our corporate office and headquarters.
  • Quick Response
  • Shows Availability
  • Constant Updates
  • Sometimes it's a little too basic and simple
  • I've come across multiple times where notifications won't go away even after viewing all unread messages
  • Requires a lot of updates
Sometimes it's easier to send a quick message to someone instead of calling or sending an email. It's beneficial when needing a quick answer and don't want to wait for a response to an email.
I've only needed to contact support once and they were able to get right to the point and answer the questions that I had perfectly.
September 16, 2019

Let me Chime in!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Right now it is being used by operation and the engineering department. We found it easy to use and very clear, especially on international conferences. We are able to communicate within a second or two for a quick meeting. We have an account set up just for engineering to use and it has been very useful for our sprint planning meetings.
  • Very simple custom URL for easy sharing. No long dial in, participant codes, international numbers.
  • No software to download for either party, probably the best reason to switch. People hate when you invite them to a meeting and then you first have to download the software. Many companies block their employees from downloading outside software.
  • Manage Team. It is very easy to manage the users on your account, add, delete. This is a huge time saver.
  • I believe that Chime could have an easier interface. It certainly can be more intuitive when navigating around the software. Can be fixed by a simple call to action like Start, End here is my number and URL.
  • Customer service is a bit of a crapshoot. Some of the people at Amazon are wonderful, others treat you like your a two-year-old navigating a computer for the first time. I just need simple answers to simple questions.
  • Marketing. No one knows about Amazon Chime so when you send someone an invite, they always question it to make sure I didn't send them an incorrect URL.
For now, I believe Chime is great for internal use within a company. We use it regularly for our remote teams, especially for sprint planning, developer meetings, stand-ups, etc. The sales teams are hesitant because the interface is not the easiest to navigate and they are worried the people they are presenting to will get frustrated.
Some customer service reps are great, but I find the majority are not really giving you service, they are not solving the problems and issues can go on for weeks. It is very frustrating and has made me question my decision to stay with them. Once again, there are some great ones that actually follow up when they say they will and have concrete answers, even if they say they are still researching, at least I know someone is on it.
Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Currently, our organization is very dependant upon AWS Web Services. In this dependency, we also subscribe to enterprise support for all our web service needs. With this, we host and take part in many weekly and monthly conference calls and support meetings using Chime as required by Amazon. This conferencing solution is only used by our IT departments and PMO. The one problem this does solve for us is allowing ease of use and contact with the Amazon AWS team. Amazon Chime is not our organizational wide system, as we use Microsoft Teams and WebEx.
  • The one thing Amazon Chime has going for it is it is backed by its top tier web services platform. Amazon Chime may not have the market share yet, but it has the visibility and commitment from its development teams to be a mainstay in conferencing for the foreseeable future.
  • Amazon Chime offered a very easy to use interface that is friendly not only through the desktop application but the web and mobile interfaces.
  • Amazon Chime offers a variety of ways to allow first-time users to join meetings. Either through standard invites and meeting ID's etc. It is easy to get new people, customers or first time/one time users involved, collaborating and contributing.
  • Amazon Chime does have a feature to chat within the conference room with the audience but does not offer the function to select a specific user and private chat them. This could pose some issues when trying to ask questions to the presenter but not wanting it to be public. If this function exists, it's not easily identified.
  • It would be very beneficial for Amazon Chime to be an industry leader in allowing cross-platform integration without full software downloads. It would be nice to be able to see one of these major companies allow to join through any platform such as Microsoft Teams, Slack, WebEx etc.
  • Amazon Chime could afford to develop some additional plugins to allow users to quickly escalate into a conference. Such as Teams plugin or connector, Microsoft Outlook or even apple!
I would LOVE to be able to recommend Amazon Chime but as an enterprise solution is simply is not there. It is perfect for small business or office settings who do not rely on conferencing as a major function of their business. If your organization is constantly relying on conferencing there are other market leaders. Amazon is a leader in so many ways, [with] conferencing they are still playing catch up, but they will get there.
December 24, 2018

Chime-ing in on Chime

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Certain salespeople use Amazon Chime for presentations and discussions with prospective hires, including myself. However, it has not caught on across the company yet.
  • Audio and video quality is very good
  • Easy to sign on and start conversations, other tools I've used sometimes can be confusing or don't always work properly.
  • Sometimes people are confused because they don't necessarily know or understand what Amazon Chime is because they haven't heard of it. However, they trust the "Amazon" brand, so once they click and sign in, things are fine.
Amazon Chime is well suited for any online meeting or presentation, as it's easy to use and works well with great video/audio. It may be less appropriate if you are talking to a prospect that has strong feelings against Amazon, or one that is more wary of technology.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
We are currently developing AWS Chime to offer to our business customers as a video conferencing solution for their companies. AWS Chime is an easy turn key product if you are not including an AD, running reports or need to customize in any way. Most SMB will want to include an AD for easy management of subscribers, that is something that takes more development on the back side.
  • Cost-effective
  • Easy to set up
  • Easy to use
  • Needs voicemail
  • Easier deployment for customers who need to include their AD
For small business (5 people or less) AWS Chime is a great turn-key solution that is quick and easy to set up. For medium to large size businesses, you will need to find someone with AWS experience to set up customizations and develop with your AD. Detailed set-up can be cumbersome but not impossible.
Shane Finnegan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Amazon Chime is a key tool to our company's sales process. We use it to host almost all of our meetings with other companies. The product we sell is a whitelabeled embedded software that we license to other software companies. All of the meetings that we have with other companies to demo our solution and walk through the sales process rely on call/meeting software, and Amazon Chime is the solution we use. We are currently in the process of switching to another solution, because Amazon Chime has let us down a lot. It isn't easy to use by people who aren't familiar with it. Prospects regularly have trouble connecting to calls. We are looking at switching to Zoom.
  • One of the few things that Amazon Chime does well is scheduling calls with Gmail. It's pretty easy to do.
  • Another thing Amazon Chime does will is basic functions like muting and unmuting the mic and screensharing.
  • Amazon Chime is not user friendly. People who we have meetings with who have never used Amazon Chime regularly have difficulty connecting to the call, especially if the call is international.
  • You have to download Amazon Chime to share your screen. When we need our prospects to share their screen for a product training, asking them to download a meeting software is awkward and not smooth.
Because of the consistent and unending inconveniences and difficulties we have had with Amazon Chime, I am not likely at all to ever recommend this solution. Having a call/meeting software solution is essential to our sales cycle because most of our meetings have to happen through a computer, and if this solution is weak then it negatively effects everything. Our prospects have had a lot of difficulty connecting to calls and some meetings have been canceled altogether because of this.
Return to navigation