Amazon Chime Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
50 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 04, 2021
Ravinder Beniwal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Our reason for the selection of Amazon Chime was a client recommendation. In a comparison of other competitor's products, Amazon Chime provides similar functionality and features. From a pricing perspective, you may opt for pay-per-use pricing which could be confusing for some users. There are also basic and Pro subscription plans depending upon what you need. We did a free trial for 30 days and then procured a few accounts for internal and external use.
Read Ravinder Beniwal's full review
April 26, 2021
YagneshKumar Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

All the mentioned above products are better if not rated much higher with the features they have compared to Amazon Chime. Amazon Chime does not support well with google calendar and other negative features I mentioned compared to other products. Amazon Chime lacks features such as blurring background images in video conferencing calls. Amazon Chime UI is a little out of date compared to other products, it needs an upgrade, nevertheless, Amazon Chime is used by any user to navigate around to create meetings, record meetings, chatting within the app, and etc.
Read YagneshKumar Patel's full review
May 17, 2021
Sandeep Reyyi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Amazon Chime works perfectly even on low spec machine[s] whereas BlueJeans is [a] memory hog. Its cost is significantly lower compared to BlueJeans. BlueJeans doesn't have HD video calling or a good web application. Amazon Chime is safe and secure on its AWS servers. BlueJeans on the other hand, isn't very well know for security.
Read Sandeep Reyyi's full review
June 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Chime is a cost-effective alternative to Zoom as Zoom costs can run high, but Zoom is more of a video chat and meeting solution. Chime is better for interviews and ad-hoc meetings, as the pay as you go model can help you achieve cost-effectiveness. We had a better experience with Chime than GoToMeeting.
Read this authenticated review
May 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have not tested Amazon Chime, against other market alternatives, as it is being used to meet a specific demand, which is communication with certain companies, as it is the preferred means of communication. But, it is a good tool and does not lose anything to the other tools on the market, except for the update process.
Read this authenticated review
April 26, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Better than Skype for Business in terms of loading the application onto your device. Skype had crashing issues always and those are comparatively low when using Amazon Chime. Amazon chime is fast and easy to work with while collaborating and setting up meetings. The audio and video quality are better than Skype for Business.
Read this authenticated review
June 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Users have a level of familarity with other market leading collaboration products.

However we selected this for the single dashboard for chat, calling, meeting and messaging specifically on phone app. There is a very simple interface with a minimum of clicks to launch the sub-app.

Read this authenticated review
April 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It is comparable; however, does not have the same features. Also, I don't like that the host can't invite you in or you can hide your screen sometimes. It's not very user friendly.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We chose Amazon Chime due to better pricing, ease of implementation, and great customer support from their team. Better product overall in terms of reliability.
Read this authenticated review
August 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Amazon Chime stacks up cleaner and much more intuitive to Google Hangouts Chat. In comparison to Slack, Amazon Chime is much better because Slack is not conducive to having a face-to-face conversation, much less, screen sharing. Microsoft Teams was hard to use when some of our users had Mac computers.
Read this authenticated review
August 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Amazon's Chime is lightweight and has easy integrations with Slack. Cloud Trail has good call reports, doesn't take time to load compared to other products that I have tried. Its APIs exposed by Amazon are really helpful to customize. The shift from one user to another for screen sharing, remote control work with no hindrances.
Read this authenticated review
February 06, 2020
Keith Lillico, M.Ed, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Amazon Chime product stacks up pretty much equal to the other pieces of software that we have used in the past. What drives the use of the software over the others is purely preference. My team has adapted to using this software, and now it has become what they would rather use. The features in the software are all pretty much the same.
Read Keith Lillico, M.Ed, MBA's full review
March 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I believe the two products (Slack and Skype) are better suited for the situations where it is a smaller crowd. This is due to those systems being easier to chat within and collaborate in the smaller environment.
Read this authenticated review
January 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We used to use Go To Meeting/Go To Webinar for our web conferencing and AT&T Teleconferencing numbers, either separately or in conjunction with the Go To Meeting/Go To Webinar. I liked that Go To Webinar allowed people to pre-register, which gave us the opportunity to prepare. To date, we haven't been able to use Amazon Chime in that manner. However, Amazon Chime is easy to use, and integrates very easily with the Outlook calendaring feature, which is an enhancement over what we had before.
Read this authenticated review
October 17, 2019
Melinda Saternis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I would say Chime is step below Teams, but manages to get the job done. Chime is more straight forward and simplistic and meets all our basic needs for internal chat.
Read Melinda Saternis's full review
September 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

They are all good products, but here is why we switched:

1. UberConf. This was the first conference software we used. It used to be great, it actually had a free version that worked perfectly. Then the service started to falter, mostly lag time between user and presenter. And then, the final straw, during someone in my offices' call, you heard the words "You must upgrade to continue to use the service" and it kept going in a loop. Ridiculous.

Skype and GoTo I use when my clients want to use it. I just do not like them because you have to download software on both sides. Very annoying and can make people late for a meeting.

Read this authenticated review
February 13, 2019
Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Amazon Chime WILL become an industry leader. Amazon is still behind WebEx and is gaining ground on Microsoft. The advantage Microsoft will have is the ability to embed in organizations through Office, and have that advantage over WebEx as well. We selected Amazon Chime as another platform because it aided in our support from the AWS Web Services Support Team.
Read Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP's full review
October 12, 2018
Shane Finnegan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used GoToMeeting, which is a major competitor to Amazon Chime, and I can confidently say that GoToMeeting is literally ten times better. We rarely have any of the issues with GoToMeeting that we do with Amazon Chime. I highly recommend GoToMeeting over Amazon Chime because your meetings and demos will go much smoother and the user interface is much cleaner.
Read Shane Finnegan's full review
May 28, 2018
Emma McCarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Amazon Chime is great for call and video quality. It's pretty comparable to Zoom both in cost and capabilities. It's definitely superior to UberConference and Join.me, both of which are not particularly reliable. I have had call quality and the screen shares freeze up. Also, neither UberConference or Join.me have a video conferencing ability.
Read Emma McCarthy's full review
August 28, 2018
Jeff Zhao | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

High quality of audio and video, and great meeting experiences.

Read Jeff Zhao's full review
June 02, 2017
Perry Hahn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Chime and Biba are interchangeable to me, both accomplish the same task. We have transitioned to Chime as it was created by Amazon and we support Amazon, so it was an easy decision for us. I do enjoy Chime more as it just seems to work effortlessly. I would recommend it to all.
Read Perry Hahn's full review
December 24, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I believe Amazon Chime is better, easier to use, and had better quality video/audio
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (28)
8.5
High quality video (28)
7.8
Low bandwidth requirements (23)
7.0
Mobile support (23)
7.5
Desktop sharing (27)
8.5
Whiteboards (14)
7.8
Calendar integration (23)
7.5
Meeting initiation (26)
8.0
Integrates with social media (11)
7.7
Record meetings / events (25)
7.9
Slideshows (23)
7.5
Live chat (23)
8.2
Audience polling (11)
7.9
Q&A (13)
7.9
User authentication (20)
8.6
Participant roles & permissions (23)
8.5
Confidential attendee list (18)
8.6

What is Amazon Chime?

Amazon Chime is a communications service from Amazon Web Services with a built-in VoIP solution. Amazon Chime can be used for online meetings, video conferencing, and business calling, and features pay-as-you-go pricing.

As part of Amazon Chime, Amazon Chime Voice Connector is a service that carries voice traffic over the internet and scales to meet capacity needs. This allows users to eliminate fixed telephone network costs and simplify their voice network administration by transitioning it to the AWS Cloud.

Key Features

Amazon Chime call me: With Amazon Chime call me, users simply enter their phone number in the web application and answer the incoming call to join a meeting.

Join Meetings with Alexa: Users can simply say “Alexa, start my meeting”, and Alexa gets the meeting started using Alexa for Business’s functionality with Amazon Chime.

Incoming Web Hooks: Developers can configure their applications to use incoming webhooks to post messages into Amazon Chime chat rooms.

Chat Bots: Users can create custom chat bots in chat rooms. Participants can interact directly with chat bots to provide access to corporate applications and information, and to automate common tasks.

Switch Between Devices: From the Chime application, users can switch active calls between mobile and desktop devices without interrupting the conversation.

Amazon Chime Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Meetings - BasicFree
Meetings - Pro3.00*per user per day
Business Calling - Inbound$0.002216per minute
Business Calling - OutboundCountry Dependentper minute
Business Calling - Receive TextFreeUS Only
Business Calling - Send TextCountry Dependent
Business Calling - Phone Numbers1.00per number per month, US Only

*up to $15.00 per user per month

Amazon Chime Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Amazon Chime?

Amazon Chime is a communications service from Amazon Web Services with a built-in VoIP solution. Amazon Chime can be used for online meetings, video conferencing, and business calling, and features pay-as-you-go pricing.

What is Amazon Chime's best feature?

Reviewers rate User authentication and Confidential attendee list highest, with a score of 8.6.

Who uses Amazon Chime?

The most common users of Amazon Chime are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.