Amazon Chime

Amazon Chime

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.3 out of 100
Amazon Chime

Overview

Recent Reviews

Amazon Chime'd my interest

8 out of 10
August 30, 2020
Amazon Chime is being used by a client of ours to communicate with us during our contract. We are working on two projects for them and to …
Continue reading

Chime In

8 out of 10
March 04, 2020
We currently use Amazon Chime for our All-Team Meetings along with any smaller meetings we have that require remote employees to be …
Continue reading

Popular Features

View all 17 features

High quality audio (27)

8.5
85%

Desktop sharing (26)

8.2
82%

Meeting initiation (25)

7.5
75%

High quality video (27)

7.4
74%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Amazon Chime, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Business Calling - Inbound

$0.002216

Cloud
per minute

Business Calling - Phone Numbers

$1

Cloud
per number per month, US Only

Meetings - Pro

$3

Cloud
*per user per day

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://aws.amazon.com/chime/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Performance & Compatibility of Online Events Software

7.6
76%

Screen Sharing

8.2
82%

Online Meetings / Events

7.4
74%

Online Events Collaboration

7.9
79%

Online Events Security

8.6
86%

Product Details

What is Amazon Chime?

Amazon Chime is a communications service from Amazon Web Services with a built-in VoIP solution. Amazon Chime can be used for online meetings, video conferencing, and business calling, and features pay-as-you-go pricing.

As part of Amazon Chime, Amazon Chime Voice Connector is a service that carries voice traffic over the internet and scales to meet capacity needs. This allows users to eliminate fixed telephone network costs and simplify their voice network administration by transitioning it to the AWS Cloud.

Key Features

Amazon Chime call me: With Amazon Chime call me, users simply enter their phone number in the web application and answer the incoming call to join a meeting.

Join Meetings with Alexa: Users can simply say “Alexa, start my meeting”, and Alexa gets the meeting started using Alexa for Business’s functionality with Amazon Chime.

Incoming Web Hooks: Developers can configure their applications to use incoming webhooks to post messages into Amazon Chime chat rooms.

Chat Bots: Users can create custom chat bots in chat rooms. Participants can interact directly with chat bots to provide access to corporate applications and information, and to automate common tasks.

Switch Between Devices: From the Chime application, users can switch active calls between mobile and desktop devices without interrupting the conversation.

Amazon Chime Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Amazon Chime?

Amazon Chime is a communications service from Amazon Web Services with a built-in VoIP solution. Amazon Chime can be used for online meetings, video conferencing, and business calling, and features pay-as-you-go pricing.

What is Amazon Chime's best feature?

Reviewers rate Confidential attendee list highest, with a score of 8.8.

Who uses Amazon Chime?

The most common users of Amazon Chime are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (65)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 28)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Clear voice capability, everyone can be heard loud and clear.
  • Interface is intuitive and easy to use.
  • Easy to configure, such as adjusting your headset or speakers.
  • Interface takes up whole screen, too much screen real estate.
  • Video function could improve a bit.
  • Integration with headsets, such as hardware muting, would be a nice added feature.
June 04, 2021

Amazon Chime Review

Akhilesh Arya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It is a cost effective solution for your daily meetings.
  • Easy User interface
  • Its new in the market and less people know about it so its difficult for a new user to logged into it for the first time
Ravinder Beniwal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Noise suppression and Background blur
  • Screen share and IM chat
  • Audio and video quality
  • Collaboration on chat and file sharing of up to 50MB
  • Separate chat rooms and you can add a chat bot in a chat room
  • User interface look and feel can be improved
  • Live captioning
  • Transcripts for recording meetings can be generated
  • More emoji could be added
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Spinning up an instant meeting
  • Integration with existing amazon accounts
  • Does not require a paid subscription for external parties to join meetings
  • Interface is very basic but simple
  • There are many other products providing similar functionality with more features
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Cost effective
  • Easy integration with other calendar like Gmail
  • Setup is easy
  • No need to download desktop application
  • Mobile app is available
  • Not user friendly .Some options are confusing sometimes.
  • Look and feel is not so catchy
  • Only basic features are available in web version
April 26, 2021

Amazon Chime Review

YagneshKumar Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Chat tools, video calls, on spot meeting invite[s] easy to create and use.
  • Ability to record any meeting and automatically downloads the meeting recording after ending the meeting.
  • UI is clean and easy to navigate around Amazon Chime.
  • Ability to invite outside guests easily using Amazon Chime without any issues.
  • No easy way to sync up with Google calendar using Amazon Chime, a user would need to click on the google calendar link and then copy the Amazon Chime link to be able to sync up.
  • Ability to have on-screen live captioning, that would be great.
  • [The] ability to create Polls and video calls do not have the ability to blur background images and or create custom background images.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Connectivity reliability was a key buying factor for my organization.
  • We integrated Amazon Chime with our CRM making the call and recording process seamless for all of our sales reps.
  • Implementation across our organization was a quick turnaround due to good customer service from the supplier.
  • I'd like to see more sentiment analysis around the conversation between the salesperson and the prospect. This would make great for coaching opportunities after the call to make our sales reps better.
  • In a few instances, members of our sales team had issues with sharing call recording links with their prospects. Our product team came to the conclusion it was coming from the Amazon Chime end.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Pay for only what is used. No long term contracts or upfront payments, comes with a basic feature also which is free of charge which was used in initial testing phases.
  • Unlimited person to person connects—screen share, call, file share, remote control.
  • Tight security management, user control, and admin reporting.
  • Integration with Okta for MFA.
  • Not many, pricing is something that is complex to understand as it has different prices for different types of features.
March 04, 2020

Chime In

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Recording meetings.
  • Ease to join and listen to the meeting.
  • Only the host can record the meeting.
  • Some features are hard to enable.
Keith Lillico, M.Ed, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Amazon Chime has an easy to use interface that is not as clutter as some other conferencing apps.
  • Amazon Chime can integrate with different software such a Slack, which makes it easy to make to stay in one tool while I am working.
  • It does not have wide adoption yet so outside customers are unsure about about it.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy to use--it is easy to train people on the functionality required to host conference calls or webinars.
  • Reliable.
  • I would like to see a feature to allow people to pre-register for web-conferencing. There has been at least one incident in which no one showed up to a webinar. I don't know if no one intended to join, if something was wrong with the invitation, or if there was user error on the organizer's end.
October 25, 2019

Amazon Chime is great!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The screen sharing aspect of Chime is very useful when attempting to demonstrate functionality to our remote users.
  • Using Chime as an instant messaging app between our workforce is extremely helpful.
  • It is quite simple to send an invite and have Outlook manage the appointment. Then Chime automatically calls you when the appointment is about to start.
  • Most organizations seem to use different applications and Chime isn't one of the major players yet. Therefore, it is difficult using it across companies.
  • The application seems a little "heavy" when using video. Maybe a little redesign might help.
  • The contact list should be integrated into Outlook.
October 17, 2019

A Easy Way to Chat

Melinda Saternis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Quick Response
  • Shows Availability
  • Constant Updates
  • Sometimes it's a little too basic and simple
  • I've come across multiple times where notifications won't go away even after viewing all unread messages
  • Requires a lot of updates
September 16, 2019

Let me Chime in!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Very simple custom URL for easy sharing. No long dial in, participant codes, international numbers.
  • No software to download for either party, probably the best reason to switch. People hate when you invite them to a meeting and then you first have to download the software. Many companies block their employees from downloading outside software.
  • Manage Team. It is very easy to manage the users on your account, add, delete. This is a huge time saver.
  • I believe that Chime could have an easier interface. It certainly can be more intuitive when navigating around the software. Can be fixed by a simple call to action like Start, End here is my number and URL.
  • Customer service is a bit of a crapshoot. Some of the people at Amazon are wonderful, others treat you like your a two-year-old navigating a computer for the first time. I just need simple answers to simple questions.
  • Marketing. No one knows about Amazon Chime so when you send someone an invite, they always question it to make sure I didn't send them an incorrect URL.
Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The one thing Amazon Chime has going for it is it is backed by its top tier web services platform. Amazon Chime may not have the market share yet, but it has the visibility and commitment from its development teams to be a mainstay in conferencing for the foreseeable future.
  • Amazon Chime offered a very easy to use interface that is friendly not only through the desktop application but the web and mobile interfaces.
  • Amazon Chime offers a variety of ways to allow first-time users to join meetings. Either through standard invites and meeting ID's etc. It is easy to get new people, customers or first time/one time users involved, collaborating and contributing.
  • Amazon Chime does have a feature to chat within the conference room with the audience but does not offer the function to select a specific user and private chat them. This could pose some issues when trying to ask questions to the presenter but not wanting it to be public. If this function exists, it's not easily identified.
  • It would be very beneficial for Amazon Chime to be an industry leader in allowing cross-platform integration without full software downloads. It would be nice to be able to see one of these major companies allow to join through any platform such as Microsoft Teams, Slack, WebEx etc.
  • Amazon Chime could afford to develop some additional plugins to allow users to quickly escalate into a conference. Such as Teams plugin or connector, Microsoft Outlook or even apple!
December 24, 2018

Chime-ing in on Chime

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Audio and video quality is very good
  • Easy to sign on and start conversations, other tools I've used sometimes can be confusing or don't always work properly.
  • Sometimes people are confused because they don't necessarily know or understand what Amazon Chime is because they haven't heard of it. However, they trust the "Amazon" brand, so once they click and sign in, things are fine.
Shane Finnegan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • One of the few things that Amazon Chime does well is scheduling calls with Gmail. It's pretty easy to do.
  • Another thing Amazon Chime does will is basic functions like muting and unmuting the mic and screensharing.
  • Amazon Chime is not user friendly. People who we have meetings with who have never used Amazon Chime regularly have difficulty connecting to the call, especially if the call is international.
  • You have to download Amazon Chime to share your screen. When we need our prospects to share their screen for a product training, asking them to download a meeting software is awkward and not smooth.