Amazon Drive Reviews

146 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-23 of 23)

Kristin Cole | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

Click and Forget Cloud Storage

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Amazon Drive automatically detects photos and videos in specific folders (that you choose). It will add them to Drive without any action from me.
  • There is a desktop app where you can access all of your files (in addition to web-based access).
  • The user interface for file storage isn't as intuitive as I would like.
  • The plans were not 100% clear for me when I first purchased.
Read Kristin Cole's full review
Blake Baron | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 26, 2020

Great cloud storage and sharing for small and mid-sized businesses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • They keep our files secure and safe
  • They let us drag and drop our files with ease
  • While it's easy to edit permissions of users, device management isn't as easy as we'd like, and file security is extremely important
  • Our files are not ours if we were to ever end our corporate Prime membership
Read Blake Baron's full review
Micah Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

Unless you're a Prime User... look elsewhere.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Amazon Drive handles desktop sync very well.
  • Allowing photo storage to NOT count against the quota for Prime members is amazing.
  • It has the same issue that many online storage solutions have - the desktop app is not very intuitive.
  • Photos and files being stored in the Amazon eco-system may bother some users.
Read Micah Jones's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2020

Cheapest cloud solution for tons of data

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • As far as we know, it's the best value. Our current plan is for something like 4-5 terabytes.
  • Good interface both on the website and on the app.
  • They recently did some kind of update that changed it from Amazon Cloud Drive to Amazon Photos, which made things a bit confusing. Still unsure sometimes where to go or what app to open.
  • I wouldn't mind more robust functionality in terms of pausing uploads or seeing which individual files are uploaded and potentially duplicates of files that have already been uploaded.
Read this authenticated review
Miguel Brito | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2018

Amazon Drive Cloud: is this program a good competitor?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Amazon Drive Cloud is free and that is positive. It gives us 5GB of storage when we register
  • The application for smartphones is very useful because you can do what you do when you connect from the web browser
  • Amazon Drive gives you 5 GB of storage, which compared to other companies that give you 15GB, is not flashy. I think they should increase the storage capacity to a minimum of 15Gb so they can compete.
  • Amazon Drive Cloud competitors have additional text editing services, spreadsheets, online web presentation editor, among others, and this program only offers you storage. I think they should think of a strategy to become more attractive and beat the competition.
Read Miguel Brito's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Amazon Cloud...anything Amazon-backed is always trusted, secure, and seamless!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Organized platform, can use personally & for work.
  • Cloud, so you can access it anywhere- you just need to have an Amazon account.
  • Affordable upgrade of $11.99/month once you reach the 5GB limit.
  • Less storage than Google Drive, Google offers 15GB of free space - vs. Amazon's 5GB.
  • Also, unlike with Google Drive, you can't back up your work with Amazon Drive ( I also use Google Drive, since I have a Gmail account).
  • A lot more expensive than Google Drive, which is 1.99/month...but they are more in line with Dropbox pricing.
Read this authenticated review
antonio lopez | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2018

A quick cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very good entry speed.
  • The music bought in the Amazon store can be stored in the cloud drive.
  • Good storage space.
  • The service is cheaper than other similar ones.
  • The number of computers that can be accessed is very low, which is a problem since several people may need to work on the same file.
Read antonio lopez's full review
Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 24, 2017

Amazon, overall not bad.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Affordable
  • Good availability
  • Speed. At times, does seem to have a throttling affect and can be slower. Especially on the upload side of things.
  • Notifications/alert of issues. Not really quick, or informative.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
James Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2016

Easy to use cloud system with few bells and whistles

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • App based auto sync and sorting of photos
  • Ease of use
  • Accessibility across multiple devices through the use of apps and browser support
  • Over simplistic at times - could have some more features
  • Possibly have the ability to lock documents to prevent further editing if using collaboratively/sharing
Read James Murphy's full review
Jorden Beatty | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 14, 2016

Great Speed, Security, Reliability and Pricing Makes Up For Sub-Par User Interface

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast synced data across all of your devices – Desktops, Tablets and Phones.
  • Unlimited Cloud Storage space for all of your important media, files and documents from a reputable company.
  • Extremely helpful and friendly technical support staff who goes above and beyond when you need their help – even if the issue was a user's fault.
  • Seamless integration for your digital files. Plays very well with other popular services.
  • They seem to have reduced their tiered payment options to just two, which might be difficult to swallow for first-time users. The gap between payment options jumps from $11.99 per year to $60.00 per year with no middle ground between them. A pay for what you use option (like they offer in their Amazon Web Services tool) would be nice to see.
  • It can feel cumbersome to manage your files once they make it to the cloud. Issues with duplicate files is commonplace and a hassle to find and deal with after a file has already been uploaded. So in fewer words, better post-upload organization options would be lovely.
  • As primarily a desktop user, I'm disappointed by how poor the experience is compared to mobile. The mobile app is speedy and intuitive, but the desktop versions, including both Windows and Mac, can be painfully slow and hard to use.
Read Jorden Beatty's full review
Muhammad Fazalul Rahman | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2016

Experience with yet another remote file service - Amazon Cloud Drive

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Using amazon cloud drive, it is easy to select and upload files and folders as a whole. There is a good desktop interface that helps me select the folders that I need and then all the content of the folder can be uploaded.
  • The availability of a mobile app makes it easier to use the app from anywhere. This comes in handy when I'm in need of any documents and I do not have access to my laptop.
  • The download option present in the Amazon Cloud desktop interface is very useful. Usually in other cloud services like Google Drive, if I have to download a folder, the contents of the folder will be zipped when I receive it. However, with Amazon Cloud Drive, I can select the folder and choose the destination, and the folder along with its contents will be downloaded instead of a zip file.
  • There is no sync option present. If it was present, I could have substituted Amazon Cloud for OneDrive. I would have to reupload the new files every time I make a change.
  • The pricing for the service is too high. It doesn't stand as a long term solution to my needs. For example, I get 5GB storage for free from OneDrive, and if I need more, it would only cost me USD 2 for a month to get 50 GB of storage with OneDrive. In Amazon Cloud drive, I have to pay USD 12 per year and I get only 5 GB of files even though it allows unlimited photos.
  • Google Photos provides free unlimited photos in the cloud whereas Amazon Cloud Drive requires USD 12 a year for unlimited photos. Moreover, Google Photos can sync with the phone whereas Amazon Cloud Drive requires manual effort to upload new photos.
Read Muhammad Fazalul Rahman's full review
venkat nitin panaganti | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2016

A short review on AWS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Wide range of cloud services - in the context of being able to increase the size depending on our needs dynamically.
  • Pay as you use. They charge only when your instance is up and running, other than that there is a very minimal fee for just keeping an instance in closed state.
  • Really quick response by the support team. Any problems encountered are sure to be solved quickly.
  • Launching, stopping, rebooting an instance takes a lot of time. I am not sure if this is a common scenario in the cloud services field but i think that there is a need to reduce the time taken for these things.
  • It takes time to understand the interface that Amazon provides. Since there are lots of options to choose from, Amazon should probably ask for an input in terms of need and then suggest a few options. This will make it easier for the user while selecting what type of cloud service they want to opt for. There is also no explicit mentioning of when and what the user is charged while choosing an option, I think that this is a necessary thing to be added for the benefit of the customers.
  • Mobile control over instances. As it is, it takes a long time to launch, stop or reboot an instance, but once the mechanism is quickened up, I think they need to move onto providing a mobile application which is as secure as a banking application to perform these actions.
Read venkat nitin panaganti's full review
Jason Montoya | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2016

Amazon Cloud Is The Space You Need For All Those Photos And Videos You Have All Over The Place

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Unlimited backup of photos and videos.
  • Syncs files across all platforms (Iphone, Windows computers, & Kindles) we use.
  • Easy to browse through photo collection.
  • The online loading times can be slow or inconsistent at times.
  • It does not have a way of dealing with duplicate photos.
  • Limited file management structure requires use of albums.
Read Jason Montoya's full review
Fareed Abolhassani | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2016

Amazon Cloud Drive

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great service for backing up photos
  • Unlimited space for images
  • Well done web interface
  • Auto back-up feature for mobile
  • Does not offer file sync
  • Can't share folders but can share files.....
  • Does not offer scheduled backups
  • Desktop Programs fell somewhat limited
Read Fareed Abolhassani's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2017

One of the best cloud drives on the internet

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Worldwide accessibility, including from China's great firewall.
  • Highly flexible with different server options: Aurora, MariaDB, Oracle, and Microsoft SQL Server.
  • Lengthy free trial lets you really dive deeply and explore the solutions offering and all that Amazon has to provide you with.
  • Monthly pricing could be a bit more competitive compared to Google.
  • Could be a bit more flexible when it comes to granular instance configuration.
  • Amazon rounding up will increase costs for instances when compared to competitors charging you a pro-rated fee.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2016

A Review of Amazon Cloud Services

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy pushing to cloud
  • Easy access to cloud
  • Prevents organization and editing by non PMs
  • No managerial aspect
  • No meta data saved with images
  • No organizational abilities due to loss of meta data
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2016

Amazon Cloud Drive: How it stacks to Google Drive

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • This is really portable since you can also use it on your phone.
  • It's very easy to use and learn how to use so you don't have to spend unnecessary time trying to figure out how to use the software.
  • It's very easily accessible since it's right on your computer or online.
  • Honestly it's not that well advertised so not many people know about it.
  • Also, since it's Amazon people might be wary about it costing too much money when there are free resources such as Google Drive.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2016

Amazon Driving the business to success

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reliable, I've never had much issue with Amazon Cloud Drive being unavailable.
  • Easy to use interface, it has a simple drag and drop interface that almost makes the ACD files feel like they're part of the computer
  • Price, ACD has a much better price to space ratio than a lot of its competitors.
  • Speed, ACD can at times be slow to upload the files, when compared to services like Dropbox
  • Lack of free service, while 3 months is nice a lot of alternatives offer free space for life
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Versioning (13)
7.7
Video files (20)
7.5
Audio files (18)
7.3
Document collaboration (15)
8.4
Access control (17)
8.1
File search (19)
8.4
Device sync (21)
8.4
User and role management (17)
8.9
File organization (19)
8.2
Device management (16)
6.9
Performance (23)
8.7
Reliability (22)
9.3
Storage Reports (15)
8.8

About Amazon Drive

Amazon Drive allows users to aggregate all of their digital content, including photos and videos, in one place. The Cloud Drive is build in to Amazon devices. Users have secure access from any computer, or via their free mobile apps. Amazon Drive offers a free 3-month trial, and pricing packages based on what type of storage users seek. For $11.99/yr, users can store unlimited photos plus 5GB of videos and other files. For $59.99/yr, users can upgrade to unlimited everything (photos, videos, files, and documents).

Amazon Drive Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No