Amazon DynamoDB Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
95 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 30)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 05, 2020

Why DynamoDB is right for you?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We started using DynamoDB because of the AWS ecosystem; it integrates well with everything. The IAM for role management as well. But using MongoDB with other AWS products was not seamless; we had to create custom APIs to make it work. But if the need for your organization is for a relational database, then DynomoDB would not be best suited.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 26, 2020

Full managed NoSQL option that is easy to setup and deploy.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB is mostly document store while Amazon DynamoDB supports both key/value and document store making it more versatile. Azure Cosmos DB is multi-modal like Amazon DynamoDB and it makes more sense when you have data already in Azure Cloud. If you are mostly using AWS then DynamoDB is a better choice. Redis Labs and Oracle NoSQL is only key/value store.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

Great NoSQL service from AWS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We use all of them in different scenarios. The reason we use DynamoDb is that we have already implemented AWS Services in our production environment. Deploying DynamoDB service is relatively easier than others. Therefore, we choose to use DynamoDB. it also brings great benefits to our developers team. We do not have to use a complicated API anymore.
Read this authenticated review
Winston Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2019

Development of serverless applications with high performance, and few configurations.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The biggest advantage of Dynamodb is that it is an AWS tool, so integrating it into your projects is really easy and you have all the tools in the same environment, you just have to make the necessary adjustments to start using it in a short time, without No type of installation, another advantage without a doubt, is the performance it offers when hosted on AWS.
Read Winston Mendes's full review
Arjun Komath | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

Easy, Scalable, Reliable and Maintainable

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The main reason for sticking to DynamoDB is that its part of the AWS suite and since its a managed solution, so we do not have to worry about scalability and reliability. There are some advantages and disadvantages for using DynamoDB and the decision ultimately depends on your requirements and the type of data that has to be stored and queried.
Read Arjun Komath's full review
Rahul Malik | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 02, 2019

Stable, Scalable, Reliable and Secure NoSQL database as a service offered by Amazon

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Amazon DynamoDB is a blind pick if you are already using AWS services suite and your data is also present on the Amazon cloud. If you are not sure of the type of data that you are going to get or you know that is won't always be structured data, then it is also the right choice.
Read Rahul Malik's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

DynamoDB is great

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have been preferring DynamoDB over Redis for persistent data. It has a better encryption model and is operationally simpler.

For materialized views we've been using Elasticsearch, but are starting to consider using DynamoDB there too.

Oddly, we're considering moving some of our DynamoDB data back over to Aurora. It works pretty well and supports autoscaling.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 27, 2019

I highly recommend Amazon DynamoDB, with one catch to watch out for

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We did not use or evaluated any. DynamoDB was our first choice for this particular use case and we were glad we made this choice.
Also, knowing the AWS infrastructure and having DynamoDB integrated into the AWS environment helped us greatly with learning DynamoDB and being able to start using it quickly and with less integration development activities.
Read this authenticated review
Bob Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

DynamoDB is a great No-SQL solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When you compare database systems it's easy to have an apples to apples comparison. However, when comparing two No-SQL systems it isn't as easy because they are built with different purposes in mind. DynamoDB has been easier to implement because it comes as a Service from Amazon and we haven't also had to learn the administrative needs for it as we have had to do with other No-SQL technologies.
Read Bob Smith's full review
Chris Moyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

DynamoDB is *the* Non-Relational database for the Serverless age

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We used SimpleDB in the past (before DynamoDB existed), but there were several limitations around object size and total size for a given table that we were not able to overcome. DynamoDB has almost no limits, and can scale to store as much data as we need it to.
Similarly, Aurora or any other MySQL DB can only store so much information before it needs to be scaled out further and shared across multiple servers. DynamoDB is completely serverless, and automatically handles sharding for us. MongoDB has more features, but required us to manually manage servers, and was ultimately much more expensive and less reliable for features we didn't really need.
Algolia is actually something we use in addition to DynamoDB, but it's not our source of truth. Since Algolia has limits on how much data can be stored (and you pay more for more data storage), we only store a minimal amount of information in Algolia, what we would search on, and the sources of truth are always in DynamoDB. Additionally, Algolia's search performance is limited, so we only use it for searching unknown or unexpected use cases, such as listing how many publications or stories match a particular query, vs DynamoDB which is used to look up when a user logs in.

Read Chris Moyer's full review
Marc Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

DynamoDB - you want a NoSQL solution, this is a no brainer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I wish I could speak more towards this, but I did not take the time to evaluate any other options. As I've mentioned earlier in this review, our entire infrastructure is already inside of AWS - we use dozens of their services - so it was a no brainer for us to keep with that theme.
Read Marc Smith's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

Best server-less NoSQL database for key value retrieval

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When we were selecting for a server-less NoSQL solution, we had two option either to go with Cosmos or with Dynamo. Cosmos has a few great features, but in Cosmos, we need to provision at least 400 RU (request unit), which will make a single table cost at least 24$/month. While in Dynamo we can even provision 1 WCU RCU which makes it very economical. Cosmos has many great features as compared to Dynamo but in most of the use cases, we didn't require those so we went with Dynamo.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2018

Impressive when used as designed; otherwise, risky

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

DynamoDB is more flexible than key-value stores like Redis-flavored Elasticache. They both offer high-availability. Elasticache requires a little more management, and lacks on-demand scaling and pricing. DynamoDB is not a relational database, but can replace RDS for simple use-cases, like a stateful background job. DynamoDB can be faster and much less expensive for some use-cases. Aurora Serverless is an intriguing option that I have not yet evaluated. I would consider it the time I have a use-case that DynamoDB may suit. Serverless is similarly fully-managed and offers something like on-demand pricing, but provides all the features of MySQL 5.6 and better performance than RDS/MySQL.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

DynamoDB - Know you Absolutely Need it Before Committing

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used SQL and NoSQL solutions, such as MongoDB and MySQL. I would not choose Dynamo to be a primary datastore and one of the others is likely a better option. Dynamo is good as almost viewed as a large cache. If you want something that is more supported and easier to work with, choose a solution based on the community around the technology. We are porting everything to MySQL.
Read this authenticated review
Anudeep Palanki | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2017

Limited SaaS solution that integrates seamlessly into Amazon ecosystem

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Main advantage of DynamoDB is Amazon's offering as SaaS. This removes the need for managing the database. DynamoDB is well suited for querying simple and flat JSON objects.

Compared to PostgresSQL, I would pick Postgres over Dynamo considering that Postgres is very mature and has robust support for SQL and NoSQL data. Best part about Postgres is its offered in Amazon RDS, which makes setting up a new instances as easy as a DynamoDB. Postgres is also an open source tool and has proven legacy in support.

MongoDB offers great support for querying nested data structures and blob data. MongoDB also has a mature querying language. Only caveat with Mongo is it requires manual setup on an EC2 instance that causes developer overhead in setting up and managing the instance.
Read Anudeep Palanki's full review
Justin Schroeder | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 13, 2017

An expensive coffin for you NoSQL data.

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

9/10 times I would recommend using MongoDB over DynamoDB. The only real benefit of DynamoDB over MongoDB is that it's already deeply nested in the Amazon ecosystem with tight integration with other AWS tools. Working with Amazons sdks is clunky compared to Mongo, it lacks a truly expressive query language, and the pricing makes your data inflexible.
Read Justin Schroeder's full review
Adam Lauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2016

Dynamo: Great benefits with hidden costs

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Sql is much more feature rich yet costly and harder to maintain. Requires physical servers while dynamo everything is in the cloud across multiple AZs. Redis is actually great to put on top of dynamo to use as a read cache which is much faster and cheaper, but the storage and retrieval options are not as robust and the reliability is decreased
Read Adam Lauer's full review
Jordan Bayles | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2015

DynamoDB: a pain in the ass worth it for some use cases

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Amazon DynamoDB is a strong contender for an enterprise NoSQL database. We chose Amazon DynamoDB due to:

  1. easy inclusion in our AWS architecture
  2. fast performance with no setup
  3. appropriate balance of object retention and speed compared to other databases available in AWS
Read Jordan Bayles's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (24)
8.9
Availability (24)
9.3
Concurrency (23)
8.9
Security (24)
9.1
Scalability (23)
9.2
Data model flexibility (24)
6.9
Deployment model flexibility (22)
7.6

About Amazon DynamoDB

Amazon DynamoDB is a key-value and document database that delivers single-digit millisecond performance at scale. It's a fully managed, multiregion, multimaster, durable database with built-in security, backup and restore, and in-memory caching for internet-scale applications. The vendor states that DynamoDB can handle more than 10 trillion requests per day and can support peaks of more than 20 million requests per second.

They further state that many of the world's fastest growing businesses such as Lyft, Airbnb, and Redfin as well as enterprises such as Samsung, Toyota, and Capital One currently depend on the scale and performance of DynamoDB to support mission-critical workloads.

And they provide that hundreds of thousands of AWS customers have chosen DynamoDB as their key-value and document database for mobile, web, gaming, ad tech, IoT, and other applications that need low-latency data access at any scale. They invite potential users to create a new table for any application, and let DynamoDB handle the rest.

Amazon DynamoDB Screenshots

Amazon DynamoDB Videos (2)

Amazon DynamoDB Competitors

Amazon DynamoDB Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

Amazon DynamoDB Availability

Geography:Global, North America, South America, Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia
Supported Languages: English, German, Spanish, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Chinese, Korean, French, Mandarin Chinese