Amazon DynamoDB Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
98 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 33)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 05, 2020

Why DynamoDB is right for you?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Saved us a lot of money as we did not have to invest in resources to manage or maintain the product.
  • We did not have to invest in additional servers only for peak traffic durations. We made use of DynamoDB's scaling capability functions.
  • DynomoDB fits very well into the AWS ecosystem. It will be a no brainer if the organization is already using AWS.
Read this authenticated review
Rahul Malik | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 02, 2019

Stable, Scalable, Reliable and Secure NoSQL database as a service offered by Amazon

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • For us, it was the correct choice because most of our data is already stored in Amazon S3 and we were already making use of AWS Lamda and API gateway. So, this product fit the bill very smoothly and we didn't have to make any changes.
  • It is very cost-effective if you understand how to properly use it in your project and not just throw everything towards it. It has also helped to maintain a state of always available and high responsive irrespective of the incoming traffic.
  • The most important factor which has really paid back well is the scalability portion. That was one of our top priorities and Amazon DynamoDB has delivered stupendously on that. We can grow as much as we want and still get a read/write operation done in milliseconds.
Read Rahul Malik's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 26, 2020

Full managed NoSQL option that is easy to setup and deploy.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive impact on ROI due to reduction is staff and expertise needed to set up and maintain the NoSQL database instances through the use of fully managed Amazon DynamoDB.
  • Positive impact on ROI by not needing to provision database capacity upfront for peak loads.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

If reliability and performance are important to your organization get AWS DynamoDB

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our ROI with DynamoDB is been great since we improved the performance and reliability of our applications.
  • We have been able to free up IT admins and DB admins from administration tasks related to performance and reliability.
  • DynamoDB has gone over and beyond our business objectives by providing scalability as our company grows.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

DynamoDB is great

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Cost savings for large KV store (to get Redis).
  • Autoscaling allows saving on cost with variable traffic.
  • Dynamo streams enable denormalization.
Read this authenticated review
Winston Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2019

Development of serverless applications with high performance, and few configurations.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It is always available so the projects have never had any problems at the hosting level, the connection is very stable, and the customers and users are very satisfied with the performance of the applications.
  • Thanks to this tool, the monetary investment in the hosting of the project can be controlled very well, since it allows to pay only for what is used.
Read Winston Mendes's full review
Bob Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

DynamoDB is a great No-SQL solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Some developers see DynamoDB and try to fit problems to it, instead of picking the best solution for a given problem. This is true of any newer tool that people are trying to adopt.
  • It has allowed us to add more scalability to some of our systems.
  • As with any new technology there was a ramp up/rework phase as we learned best practices.
Read Bob Smith's full review
Dylan Cauwels | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

DynamoDB: An interim solution for rapidly-growing infrastructure

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • DynamoDB allowed us to quickly launch applications and data ingestions that we thought would take months to implement. While it turned out to be an unfruitful DBaaS system to support an application, its quick launch and self-sustaining capabilities allowed it to work effortlessly while our DevOps team could focus on more permanent application solutions.
Read Dylan Cauwels's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

Best server-less NoSQL database for key value retrieval

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Saved lot of money for us because of its support to auto-scaling.
  • As its NOSQL so if you are not doing proper analysis before deciding to go with NoSQL it can be disastrous, fortunately, we never faced such negatives.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2019

DyanmoDB scaling and backup

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We moved to DynamoDB from MongoDB, for now. DynamoDB is cheaper.
  • DynamoDB is faster than MongoDB, better response between services.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2018

Impressive when used as designed; otherwise, risky

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • DynamoDB has increased developer velocity because developers do not need to build and manage datastores.
  • DynamoDB can be extremely inexpensive for some use-cases, such as non-critical, low-volume applications that need a simple datastore.
  • DynamoDB has allowed us to adhere to design patterns like one-database-per-service that we might have violated if we had to pay for RDS.
Read this authenticated review
Anudeep Palanki | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2017

Limited SaaS solution that integrates seamlessly into Amazon ecosystem

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Since the Amazon manages the instance, the amount of time a developer needs to spend configuring the database is less. For comparison, if we were to manage the same instance manually, we need to set up EC2 instance, install the DB, setup backup scripts, track backup failures, which is a great overhead for the dev. Using DynamoDB this overhead is reduced and hence having a great ROI.
  • Great documentation and easy setup makes an easy learning curve to transition to DynamoDB. Only caveat is as with any database, the data structure should be thoroughly analyzed for types of querying because there are limitations with the DynamoDB API.
  • Ties very well with rest of the Amazon eco system. Having rest of the applications in Amazon allows managing the application security a breeze.
Read Anudeep Palanki's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (24)
8.9
Availability (24)
9.3
Concurrency (23)
8.9
Security (24)
9.1
Scalability (23)
9.2
Data model flexibility (24)
6.9
Deployment model flexibility (22)
7.7

About Amazon DynamoDB

Amazon DynamoDB is a key-value and document database that delivers single-digit millisecond performance at scale. It's a fully managed, multiregion, multimaster, durable database with built-in security, backup and restore, and in-memory caching for internet-scale applications. The vendor states that DynamoDB can handle more than 10 trillion requests per day and can support peaks of more than 20 million requests per second.

They further state that many of the world's fastest growing businesses such as Lyft, Airbnb, and Redfin as well as enterprises such as Samsung, Toyota, and Capital One currently depend on the scale and performance of DynamoDB to support mission-critical workloads.

And they provide that hundreds of thousands of AWS customers have chosen DynamoDB as their key-value and document database for mobile, web, gaming, ad tech, IoT, and other applications that need low-latency data access at any scale. They invite potential users to create a new table for any application, and let DynamoDB handle the rest.

Amazon DynamoDB Screenshots

Amazon DynamoDB Videos (2)

Amazon DynamoDB Competitors

Amazon DynamoDB Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

Amazon DynamoDB Availability

Geography:Global, North America, South America, Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia
Supported Languages: English, German, Spanish, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Chinese, Korean, French, Mandarin Chinese