Amazon DynamoDB Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
95 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 05, 2020

Why DynamoDB is right for you?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Ours is a marketing technology division. We have a lot of real-time data as well as non-real-time data that is derived from batch systems. We use Dynamo DB to address both these needs. Dynamo DB has provided us great scalability and reliability. The best reason why we like DynomoDB is that we don't have to manage anything and it all being done for us in a cost-effective manner.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

Great NoSQL service from AWS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

DynamoDB is used by one of the many departments of our company. We were looking for some sort of NoSQL database to use to store some operational data and user records. We were implementing some AWS services and got to know DynamoDB. After careful study, we decided to use it to solve our problem.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2019

Non-relational database hosted on the Amazon infrastructure!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon DynamoDB is being used as a fast non-relational key-value data store for data analytics and other functions within our internal applications. It is being used by our Data Science, Analytics, Business Intelligence, and Engineering teams. It solves the problem of needing a reliable non-relationl data store.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Amazon DynamoDB is a solid, well performing NoSQL database.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon DynamoDB is being used in a big data application we wrote in house where the data isn't transactional and the velocity is too high to store in our transactional databases. We're collecting forms data from our company website provided by potential customers so we absolutely need the data, it just doesn't have to be in order or transactional.
Read this authenticated review
Winston Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2019

Development of serverless applications with high performance, and few configurations.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

DynamoDB is an excellent tool that is used by the software development department, and web development has allowed us to develop applications and web pages, serverless, quickly and easily with a high level of performance, very fast and secure connection, It has been quite useful for us to implement NoSQL databases, and it is excellent for scalable projects, since we can increase memory resources as they are needed. It is quite comfortable and easy to work, since its confuration is simple, and it integrates easily with the entire aws environment.
Read Winston Mendes's full review
Arjun Komath | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

Easy, Scalable, Reliable and Maintainable

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon DynamoDB is currently being used as one of our primary databases for several mobile and web applications. Key factors that directed us to choose Amazon DynamoDB are:

  • It's part of the AWS family, and our entire platform is built on AWS and using a solution from AWS itself was one of the top priorities.
  • Scalability and availability - Since its a managed solution we do not have to worry about scaling or the reliability of the database.
Read Arjun Komath's full review
Rahul Malik | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 02, 2019

Stable, Scalable, Reliable and Secure NoSQL database as a service offered by Amazon

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon DynamoDB is a fully managed proprietary NoSQL database service. In other words, it is a non-relational database service. It works on the basis of key-value pairs. The best feature of the product is the performance it delivers - single-digit millisecond latency makes it perfect for websites, mobile, and many other applications. The noteworthy feature is that it can scale to any limit you want, you do not have to know everything before the project starts, you can grow the database as the project demands or descale it too. You should go for this product when you have very low latency toleration and performance plus availability and scalability are the top priorities.
Read Rahul Malik's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

If reliability and performance are important to your organization get AWS DynamoDB

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use DynamoDB as the back-end database for our content organization. It provides great scalability, reliability, and ease of use for our Development department. We have been able to cut costs significantly and improve reliability by migrating from an on-prem MS SQL infrastructure to a completely cloud-based infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

DynamoDB is great

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We store user-generated content in DynamoDB. It allows us to store large quantities of data without the headaches of scalability. Our other data is stored in a relational database and we are constantly scaling it up to larger instances but with DynamoDB we set autoscaling years ago and it just chugs along.

Essentially, we can give users reliable low latency access to their personalized content even as our traffic has multiplied.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 27, 2019

I highly recommend Amazon DynamoDB, with one catch to watch out for

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use DynamoDB as a database for one of our products. It solved the problem of processing data coming from different customers in different individual formats. Each client can upload files, with any number of fields, of any type. We ingest this data into DynamoDB and process is using lambda functions from there.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2019

Amazon DynamoDB is an amazing, reliable NoSQL data store

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

DynamoDB is used across the Engineering department. The biggest use case was introduced by me a couple of years back where our largest production workload was migrated to DynamoDB from Cassandra. More can be found here: https://techblog.gumgum.com/articles/moving-to-amazon-dynamodb-from-hosted-cassandra
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2019

NoSQL on steroids

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Dynamo DB across multiple projects including new applications to be developed or modernizing a legacy application. It addresses the business problem of offering a durable scalable document store.
Read this authenticated review
Bob Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

DynamoDB is a great No-SQL solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

DynamoDB is being used in multiple ways to store vast amounts of semi-structured data which need to be quickly accessible by specific parties. It allows us to easily add new fields/values and access them in an easy manner as projects require. The biggest benefit we see is the ability to add additional fields and not require the structure change of continuity.
Read Bob Smith's full review
Chris Moyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

DynamoDB is *the* Non-Relational database for the Serverless age

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We've been using Amazon DynamoDB since it was released in 2012. Previously, we used Amazon SimpleDB, which was much slower and slightly more difficult to work with than DynamoDB. DynamoDB is our "Source of Truth" for all data stored within my company, and is used to store all of our administrative information (such as connection details, FTP account information, and contact information), as well as the blog posts that we receive and process.
We have Lambda functions that write information to DynamoDB, which triggers other lambda functions to index that data in both SQL databases as well as Algolia for advanced searching and facet support.
DynamoDB helps us support the very random access patterns that we receive for content. Some days we process almost no stories, while other days we process hundreds of thousands of stories. With DynamoDB, we can automatically scale to whatever needs the day might have.
Read Chris Moyer's full review
Dylan Cauwels | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

DynamoDB: An interim solution for rapidly-growing infrastructure

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

DynamoDB was used by our enterprise data platform team to store data in forms that would often change over time. It was a great NoSQL option for us since the entire team was already on AWS anyways and acquainted with its UI. While it had many advantages, DynamoDB was more of a niche solution for us since, as a data platform, we required the more advanced query and indexing capabilities of an RDS database. DynamoDB was never a permanent solution for us, only a temporary place-holder until we had the database schema finalized for an RDS database. Because of its elastic nature and ease-of-use to set up with our existing infrastructure, it worked well for our team.
Read Dylan Cauwels's full review
Marc Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

DynamoDB - you want a NoSQL solution, this is a no brainer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using DynamoDB with a simple, singular purpose - storing basic information for our customer base such as settings and configuration options. It's a quick and easy way for us to store and fetch this simple data, and since we have a very large presence within AWS already, it's a natural fit.
Read Marc Smith's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

Best server-less NoSQL database for key value retrieval

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In our organization, we are moving towards server-less for our in-house application as well as suggesting the same to the client. Dynamo being a serverless NoSQL database plays a key role in our application architecture.
We are using Dynamo widely for session management and product catalog user profiles.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2018

Impressive when used as designed; otherwise, risky

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The engineering and data teams use DynamoDB to persist data for some of our services. We use it as an inexpensive, fully-managed key-value store. The business problem it primarily addresses is developer velocity. With DynamoDB, developers do not need to configure and manage a database; even RDS requires some more configuration and on-going maintenance than DynamoDB. DynamoDB is inexpensive; it allows developers to adhere to practices like one-database-per-service when building even small, temporary services.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2019

DynamoDB - Know you Absolutely Need it Before Committing

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It was used as our primary data store for a link sharing and user profile-based application. We chose it for its speed and scalability as well as what we perceived beneficial pricing model. We knew that we wanted to use a NoSQL solution, and having one that was hosted by AWS seemed like an ideal fit.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

DynamoDB is everything you want in a NoSQL database service

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

DynamoDB is really used across quite a few different departments at our company. It's an extremely simple NoSQL database that can be spun up instantly. We use it for every single one of the applications my team has developed. We store session information in there temporarily either for users or for currently running background processes. We also store some long term information in DynamoDB that would normally belong in a relational database, but it was much easier for us to use DynamoDB to store it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2019

DyanmoDB scaling and backup

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use DynamoDB for our project VacationTracker. We decided to use DynamoDB because it was cheap and the latency between our AWS Serverless microservices and DynamoDB is less.
Read this authenticated review
Alan Balasundaram | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2018

DynamoDB - NoSQL with NoManagement

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

DynamoDB is a wide-column store. Various product development teams that are on AWS make use of it as a key-value store, when relational hierarchy isn't as important. Much like other cloud services, the benefit is once provisioned, the management aspect is wholly owned by Amazon. We evaluated and chose DynamoDB over running RDMS on RDS or even on our own EC2 as our use case provided significant cost savings. Our applications needed a resilient data store, but did not have relational data, nor did it have high throughput needs, allowing us to have a fully managed, and scalable store at a fraction of of cost.
Read Alan Balasundaram's full review
AYUSH VERMA | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2018

NoSQL is DynamoDB. Always.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon DynamoDB is just the best NoSQL database. I really love the interface and scalability. The best part is vertical scaling. It's just very affordable and making queries is very easy. Using Amazon's Boto3 API is a good source for proxying queries and requests. Third party module and support are good too. I am really using because they are adding new indexes to the table, making it fast and intuitive for prototyping.

I feel they lack Amazon's strong type checking. So I feel they need to work a bit on this part. I've also used DynamoDB on the local system but they need to add more flexibility to the local system. Overall, I feel if you are planning 1 million/min queries then it's perfect for your usage.
Read AYUSH VERMA's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (24)
8.9
Availability (24)
9.3
Concurrency (23)
8.9
Security (24)
9.1
Scalability (23)
9.2
Data model flexibility (24)
6.9
Deployment model flexibility (22)
7.6

About Amazon DynamoDB

Amazon DynamoDB is a key-value and document database that delivers single-digit millisecond performance at scale. It's a fully managed, multiregion, multimaster, durable database with built-in security, backup and restore, and in-memory caching for internet-scale applications. The vendor states that DynamoDB can handle more than 10 trillion requests per day and can support peaks of more than 20 million requests per second.

They further state that many of the world's fastest growing businesses such as Lyft, Airbnb, and Redfin as well as enterprises such as Samsung, Toyota, and Capital One currently depend on the scale and performance of DynamoDB to support mission-critical workloads.

And they provide that hundreds of thousands of AWS customers have chosen DynamoDB as their key-value and document database for mobile, web, gaming, ad tech, IoT, and other applications that need low-latency data access at any scale. They invite potential users to create a new table for any application, and let DynamoDB handle the rest.

Amazon DynamoDB Screenshots

Amazon DynamoDB Videos (2)

Amazon DynamoDB Competitors

Amazon DynamoDB Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

Amazon DynamoDB Availability

Geography:Global, North America, South America, Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia
Supported Languages: English, German, Spanish, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Chinese, Korean, French, Mandarin Chinese