Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
21 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 13, 2021
Nestor Mendoza | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling] is being used by one department (IT) but includes the whole company, since we've using this for a mail server, which is working perfectly fine. AWS always offers the best options for Virtual environments and storage, It completely solved our emails issues and more
  • Set some rules and auto delete instances
  • Auto assign resources based on our needs, which is perfect to stop the constant monitoring
  • EC2 more than Auto scaling, they could provide a graphic interface that helps the setup
[Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling] is simple to set up and pretty self-explanatory. Never had issues around scaling up or down. [Now] we won't need to guess the capacity for our apps or services. The both scaling, up and down is simply perfect, you can actually stop checking every time for resources because this tool takes care of everything
Read Nestor Mendoza's full review
March 28, 2021
Rudolph Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using [Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling] instance to host different types of Web Applications. These range from CMS, APIs and MySQL databases. We start with a micro instances and then increase the configurations as the application user base increases.
We have also used the load balancer for our product based application. Features like Security Group and Virtual Private Network are just great,
  • Launch configuration allows contol of each instance.
  • Launch groups are easy to configure
  • Very Stable in Production
  • Integration with CloudWatch to monitor the Group
  • AMI dropdown in Launch configuration is not user friendly. The list is long
  • There is a learning curve to understand AWS terminology
It is great if you
want something less sophisticated than Kubernetes. There is less complexity in scalling and there is freedom in configuring how you want to scale. Downside is that you can scale one particular micro service, maybe its not the best fit for a micro service based application.
Read Rudolph Pereira's full review
June 13, 2021
Shreya Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling is being used by an organization to which I had consulted for its use. It is being used across the whole organization. The company is really happy with its automatically adding or removing EC2 instances as per defined conditions. The scaling policies and target sets created are a great help to the company.
  • Supports process, storage and transmissions.
  • Works on defined conditions.
  • Constant surveillance of application.
  • Cost efficiency.
  • Across region use is limited.
  • Amazon EC2 instance limit needs to be reapplied near threshold.
  • Code changes require use of other applications.
Amazon EC2 AUTO SCALING is quite useful where a dynamic and predictive scaling is required. One has to predefine the conditions and the scaling function automatically adds or reduces the instances. The scaling is faster in comparison to other scaling applications. Multiple resource scaling can also be setup in minutes.
Read Shreya Sharma's full review
May 20, 2021
Gnanasekar Mani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling in the whole is being used totally by the organization across various domains and verticals. And, the best thing is it can auto scale the EC2 instances as per our instances and through the settings we have pre defined. Also, it has health checks which comes in handy.
  • It is so easy to configure and everything can be done through console as well.
  • CFT also supports Auto scaling which is very good thing when you keep your Infrastructure as a code.
  • It is one of the best tool if you need to control your EC2 instances.
  • Best thing is its totally free, we only pay for the EC2 resources which we use
  • Sometimes, Auto scaling takes time to spin up your instances if your traffic is so high in short span of time.
  • And, Auto scaling can be more efficient if we have only Load balancer in our architecture.
  • It has some limitations on setting up the Auto scaling infra.
Best suitable cases would be, the capacity the spin up and spin down the EC2 instances and the way it works with AWS resources is way to good. And the best part is the interconnection between these resources are totally taken care by AWS internally.

The place where AWS can improve is the timing it takes to spin up the instances in short span of time.
Read Gnanasekar Mani's full review
May 03, 2021
Ravi Khunt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling for more than 2 years.
It helps our organization to focus on work only, instead of managing server load and performance.
Now we don't need to worry about Server Processor, RAM, Storage and network bandwidth, etc.
It helps a lot to resolve issue to continuously checking server loads like other providers that don't have auto scaling functions.
  • You no need to continuously check server and network loads.
  • It has very optimized feature that Pay As You Go (We need to pay only for what we are using).
  • You can setup auto scaling easy and quickly.
  • If you are fresher, then may be it bit confusing, you need to read documentation properly.
  • If you don't know which resource you need to auto scale (Server load or network load), then may be we can not use this feature properly.
  • Availability zone management can be improve.
If you have a website or application with large number of users, then Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling can help you a lot.
If you are not sure when and how many users can access resources same time, then you can start with basic configuration with auto scaling.
Your AWS server will manage server load automatically when user increases, same as it will reduce newly created server when less users.
Read Ravi Khunt's full review
April 29, 2021
jyoti shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization works on Cloud Technology. AWS being one of the market leaders in the Cloud Technology , it is widely used. Applications have periodic times of high and low usage. Auto scaling features comes in handy at these times which help provision the right amount of resources at the right time
  • AWS Autoscaling is a beneficial feature , saves a lot of credit
  • Resources can be provisioned as need be. High capacity resources can be allocated when required.
  • Auto spinning of servers for load sharing and failover
  • Autoscaling helps replicating the OS VM, however , he application software configuration is a missing part. Manual Intervention is required to set up the configuration for the new spun EC2 instances to be productive.
Its a beneficial feature provided by AWS. Users should make use of this feature in the work systems to have full benefit of the cloud EC2 instance.
Read jyoti shah's full review
May 02, 2021
Xialin Zhu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Some of our internal cloud applications are based on AWS and almost all of them utilize the auto scaling feature. It's used across multiple engineering departments.
  • Functions well when configured correctly
  • Price is reasonable
  • Would be better if it can support more types of rules
  • Sometimes will over-provision which results in a waste of resources.
When you have a simple auto scaling use case and it does not require complex rules.
Read Xialin Zhu's full review
April 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling is a foundational component of the web - customer facing - tier of our multi-tier LAMP stack application. This allows us to scale in response to key metrics - such as CPU utilization on the web nodes - and maintain manageable traffic loads on each of the nodes in the autoscaling group. This translates to minimizing the frequency of overloaded EC2 instances requiring intervention (in some cases automated, in other cases manual) in order to be able to serve traffic again. This in turn means that the load balancer is able to serve traffic and that we are minimizing the number of 5XX errors that are surfaced to end users. This is in use in all of our AWS hosted applications. High availability is the business problem that this solves for us, as explained above.
  • Dynamic scaling can be configured to respond to a wide variety of metrics and alerts
  • Predictive scaling allows one to get ahead of high traffic events rather than simply reacting to them
  • Health checks are configurable based on the needs of your application and architecture
  • It can be confusing if you have multiple scaling policies in effect for an autoscaling group and they conflict. In that case, conflict resolution is handled by whichever policy has the greater impact. It would be more ideal if there was intelligence preventing these kinds of conflicting policies
  • It can be confusing if you have conflicting and concurrent scale out and scale in policies in effect. In this case, the scale out action will take place, in order to ensure availability. It would be more ideal if there was intelligence preventing these kinds of conflicting policies
  • IAM is always a bit confusing and the appropriate service roles are required to configure autoscaling correctly
EC2 Auto Scaling is a foundational component of high availability architectures in AWS. It allows one to dynamically scale in response to key metrics - such as CPU utilization on the web nodes - or schedule scaling based on anticipated events - such as a flash sale for an e-commerce site. By scaling horizontally, one saves money by not having to scale up to peak traffic. By maintaining manageable traffic loads on each of the nodes in the autoscaling group, one minimizes the incidence of nodes in the autoscaling group failing, which translates to higher availability of the application served by the instances. This is not to mention the possibility of hardware failure on the AWS side, a low likelihood but totally possible event. High availability is not purely a frontend or backend concern. Anything you can do with EC2s that benefits from high availability benefits from autoscaling.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling is helping maintain application availability and allowing us to dynamically scale Amazon EC2 capacity up or down automatically according to conditions we define. We use Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling for fleet management of EC2 instances to help maintain the health and availability of our fleet and ensure that we're running our desired number of Amazon EC2 instances.
  • We can do both horizontal and vertical scaling using auto scaling group
  • High Availability
  • Getting the Autoscaling just right
  • It could be difficult to learn but the process is rather simple
We used autoscaling to be able to take more traffic demand, we noticed our software would crash out at 1000 users and we wanted to be able to push that to 10x that amount, using autoscaling with the cloudwatch events and a load balancer we have managed to go up to 10000 users and beyond
Read this authenticated review
April 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implement EC2 Auto Scaling in a variety of ways. It is used to prevent downtime or service degradation during or in preparation for heavy traffic volume, it is used as a disaster recovery sometimes in an auto-scaling group of 1 where an instance will recreate itself should it be determined to be unhealthy for any reason, and it is also used to segregate clusters of compute instances that handle different types of workloads.
  • Disaster recovery.
  • Ensures repeatability.
  • Handling expansion and growth.
  • Make it easier to understand health checks.
  • Use machine learning or other advanced techniques to auto-tune or auto-suggest tuning improvements to ASGs.
  • Automate the creation of them through a service broker on EKS.
I cannot think of any reason to NOT use EC2 auto-scaling except if you're just quickly testing something on a single instance and plan to terminate it after.
Read this authenticated review
April 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is using EC2 Auto Scaling to dynamically handle workloads, both internal and external. WE utilize EC2 Auto Scaling both to support our jenkins worker infrastructure and to dynamically scale our Kubernetes cluster based on load. This type of autoscaling has the benefit of keeping costs low, while providing fast responses and low queue times, whether to our customers, or to our employees.
  • Cost Control
  • Scaling
  • Reliability
  • Startup Time
  • Complex to Setup
  • Somewhat replaced by other tools (EKS compute clusters)
EC2 Autoscaling is a excellent solution for situations where you have a highly variable load, especially a load that requires large compute time per instance. Specifically, the startup time associated with starting a full VM in order to process requests makes this best suited to long running tasks such as jenkins test or compile jobs, or to situations where webserver load scales over large periods of time, like a site that's busy during the workday but not at night. Both these situations make excellent use of EC2 Autoscaling to control overall costs.
Read this authenticated review
April 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling to manage and maintain Instances for engineering simulation data. It was being used by engineering department trying to simulate optic particle traveling through receiver before converting to electron.
  • It can manage and maintain instances based on our own defined criteria.
  • It can auto detect unhealthy instance and replace it.
  • Easy to scale and expand when traffic begin to spike.
  • Easy to manage up and down EC2 capacity
  • Can not be used across regions with AWS.
  • Need to reapply EC2 instance limit when reaching threshold.
  • Need to use some other tools like codedeploy when managing changes in code across multiple instances.
Auto manage and maintain instances when demand is spiking. But when instance limit is reached, quota needs to be reapply.
Read this authenticated review
May 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon EC2 is used to host all the servers we run our applications on.
  • Very cost effective.
  • Easy to set up and use.
  • Auto-scaling feature.
  • It can be rigid with the time periods for reserved instances.
  • Having multiple instances at the same time can be really expensive.
  • Sometimes there are issues that prevent you from accessing an instance.
It is well suited for hosting files, websites, and applications on the internet rather than using multiple third parties.
Read this authenticated review
December 30, 2020
Carlos Becerra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling is being used by [our] development team. Due to its high technical nature dev-ops team manage the configuration. We use it for 2 main purposes: a) increase/decrease the resources based on demand b) deployment with zero down time by deploying a new server with new setup and code and removing [the[ old server after[wards].
  • Automation.
  • Increase/decrease capacity on demand based on rules.
  • Very flexible, but technical tool.
  • See server logs seamless[ly] while increasing/decreasing capacity.
  • Be much easier to manage and configure [for] a non-technical person
  • Might need other tools to make admins tasks easier.
Well suited when you really meet their requirement to handle increase/decrease resources based on demand. Without it, the process should be done manually and can be error-prone due to human intervention on repetitive tasks. Automation is the key word here. The problem would be the complexity or technicality it might add but with clear dev-ops team or documentation or a manual of how to use it might be fine.
For basic and non-complex set ups there [are] a lot of tutorials and information out there on the internet. You can solve pretty much any problem you are dealing with. AWS also provides different support plans. In our case, since we have a dev-ops team we do not need any support plan yet, but we can reconsider it in the future since we are growing.
Read Carlos Becerra's full review
November 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Since it's a[n] extremely technical tool, it's being used by the engineering department. Our area uses it mainly for websites, in combination with Amazon Elastic Load Balancers (ELB), that make the perfect match.

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling help[s] us on moments when our websites received pikes of high traffic, to keep the [server] running, and without our intervention.
  • Automatic capacity increases based on rules.
  • No user intervention.
  • Very flexible tool.
  • Sometimes decrease rules may not work.
  • New scaling policy creation is a bit confusing and do[es] no[t] have help.
  • Previous scaling policy screen no longer exists, so you need to understand what new interface actually does.
Despite the problems with the lack of information (and help) on the new user interface, Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling is a terrific tool that show[s] us easily the power of "the cloud". Only a few years ago, increasing server capacity involved weeks or months of planning, and a hefty budget in some cases. Now, with the Auto Scaling capacity, you can increase and decrease capacity with a rule, and without a long commitment and investment on hardware.
The platform works as is. The help and tutorials on the help page can help you to setup the entire platform without problems, and also provides help on a huge variety of problems.

Amazon also provides support plans. We have the basic support plan, but Amazon offers three support tiers, and we know that it works perfect.
Read this authenticated review

What is Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling?

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling helps users maintain application availability and allows users to automatically add or remove EC2 instances according to definable conditions.

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling?

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling helps users maintain application availability and allows users to automatically add or remove EC2 instances according to definable conditions.

Who uses Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling?

The most common users of Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling are from Small Businesses and the Information Technology & Services industry.