Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) Reviews

271 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 62)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 30, 2021
Jacob Biguvu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EC2 provides the virtual computing environment to be used for multiple uses. Web applications can be launched. Databases can be installed when users want full control to manage the databases. Migration applications such as attunity (Qlik) replication tool, Oracle Goldengate etc, can be launched for the migration purposes such as database migration. EC2 can be used for data integration, data transformation, and data mining purpose. EC2 as the name implies has the capability to scale up the capacity vertically according to our needs.
  • EC2 can be used for multiple purposes.
  • EC2 can be used for installing Web Application and Middle application
  • EC2 can be used for migrating the data from one source to another source
  • EC2 can be used for data mining, integration and transformation purposes
  • EC2 provides scale up and scale down capability by managing instance type
  • EC2 would require often to upgrade with the security patches which cause a burden to manage. Amazon releases new AMI (Amazon Machine Images) which has latest patches frequently. Customer has to upgrade the EC2 with the latest AMI. This is not simple work but could be manageable using automatic scripts. However, it is tedious task.
EC2 can be used for many purposes. EC2 is not best when Amazon provided the expected service and support. For example, AWS Lambda was best to run certain jobs that run within 15 mins. EC2 is not required for the jobs which will be run within 15 mins. Following the best practices of AWS architecture, certainly helpful.
AWS support team would respond fast and provide the support more than expectations.
Read Jacob Biguvu's full review
May 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) to host our SAP instances and their databases. This is currently being used by a single department. Hosting on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) helps address the ROI, like shutting down systems when we do not need them. This also has auto-scalability, which helps add resources on the fly.
  • Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) offers 99.9% availability for each Amazon EC2 region
  • Cost saving--we can stop instances not in use
  • Flexibility for autoscaling
  • AWS service limits
  • Technical support fee
  • Other issues related to cloud computing
Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) is well suited in a scenario in which the system has to size dynamically and a high availability is required. It is less suitable for data warehousing applications.
Ease of spinning up new instances at a moment's notice. Has the option for auto-scaling which helps manage the loads automatically.
Read this authenticated review
April 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Elastic Cloud Compute (EC2) is being used to serve the entirety of our companies product. It serves well as a tool for managing compute resources in the cloud. Our usage of it is managed by our IT department, but our entire company uses the tools running on it.
  • Cost
  • instance variety
  • ease of setup
  • Autoscaling is complex
  • Easy to forget instances
  • networking can be confusing
EC2 is well suited for organizations looking to migrate to the cloud. The VMs it provides are a nice analogue of the infrastructure available in a traditional data center, and the networking available is analogous to traditional networking. It is less well suited to the needs of a highly variable workload, who's team may benefit from the cost savings available via AWS auto scaling, AWS lambda, and kubernetes.
We've rarely run into issues with the EC2 support team. On the few occasions when we've needed support, the team has been responsive, and will often work with you to reach an accomodation on cost. The tooling available makes it easy to communicate with the support team on issues that arise.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EC2 is easy to get started with there are a lot of online resources for help. We use it to serve our online Django-based Rest and Graph API's to support our online application. The SSH EC2 feature is very great and makes it easy during deployment from a local machine. The free tier EC2 instance comes in handy to develop and deploy a prototype for testing.
  • Hosting and deployment.
  • High performance computing.
  • Development and test environments.
  • UI is little complicated.
  • Limited information for the resources managed by Amazon EC2.
  • Networking is not as flexible as other providers.
The availability of free tier makes it a good choice to develop and test prototypes in early-stage startups.
The fact that the Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud can be turned up quickly in case of an emergency, means that businesses have minimal downtime for their applications which makes Ec2 a great choice for backup and disaster recovery.
Read this authenticated review
October 25, 2019
Apurv Doshi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon EC2 across the whole organization. We solve different business problems using EC2 as mentioned below:
1. We host multiple backend and cloud solutions on EC2.
2. When we want to train Machine Learning Models that need heavy computation and GPU power, we go with EC2.
3. Some solutions are not mandatory to keep up all the time. We use cloud formation script which spins up EC2 - host the solution and thrash it down when not needed.
  • EC2 has wide variety of machine configurations. If the intended solutions are memory heavy, CPU heavy, GPU heavy or IO heavy, EC2 will provide proper machine configurations as per the requirements.
  • EC2 has lot of Machine Images to setup OS and required softwares. It also allows you to create the image of your own disk. This facilitates user to stop the EC2 instance without loosing the work. It helps to reduce the bill. The image can be attached again to EC2 to start from the same place from where it was left.
  • Amazon allows different way to obtain instances like on-demand, spot and reserved. Depending upon the need, one can take wise decision to save cost and address the situation in the best possible way.
  • This service is a bit difficult to consume. New users need a big learning curve to use this service effectively.
  • UI for EC2 service is a little complex and at many places, it misses detailed explanation.
  • Sometimes it takes too long to create images of EC2 instances. This keeps your EC2 up for that extra time. When instances are heavy, it penalizes a lot of money.
EC2 is extremely suited when you want to do prototyping before purchasing heavy instance on-premises. This provides a clear indication that what kind of configuration is best suited for the need and demand. It is also flexible in terms of acquiring computational capabilities by spot instance, on-demand instance and reserved instances. We are using it a lot to train Machine Learning models. We made sure the script runs well on a small instance and once the script is finalized, we switch to bigger instances for faster computation.
Since EC2 is a complex service, it requires proper monitoring of usage. While users are a novice, it requires a bit more examination for proper usage.
They have very strict SLA. We are a partner with Amazon and have always received great support for the issues we faced.
Read Apurv Doshi's full review
August 10, 2019
Winston Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This excellent tool is used by our company to streamline the web development process, along with other tools offered by AWS. EC2 has great versatility, since it can be used as a VPS, which allows several people to work in the same project remotely, it is perfect for scalable projects, and allows for the activation of several instances and different hardware configurations according to the needs of the project.
  • It is very good as a mainframe, for web projects, webapps, databases, etc.
  • It is the ideal tool for scalable projects, because it is pay-as-you-go.
  • It has a high-speed internet connection.
  • It has a high level of security, and a very useful control panel from the web that allows you to use the console without having to start the instance.
  • It is very versatile and the mainstay for many other functions offered by AWS.
  • Having so many options makes it complex to understand how to start an instance, or configure it.
  • If the key generated to enter the VPS is lost, all the information is lost and there is no way to access it again.
  • Having multiple instances at the same time is really expensive.
  • The commands to use the console are somewhat complex.
Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud EC2 is excellent for testing, developing scalable projects, and has a free layer that allows novice users to experiment with a VPS for free, ideal if it is going to be used along with the other AWS tools. If EC2 is the only tool that will be used, it is not so recommendable, since its strength lies in the good synergy it has with the other AWS tools.
Read Winston Mendes's full review
November 12, 2019
Mark Freeman, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are transitioning from on-premise to AWS for 100+ applications. Our products are highly regulated and must be always available since we are the company which matches buyers and sellers of equities in the stock market. The EC2s host our computer programs which match trades and perform other ancillary features such as hosting standard settlement instructions.
  • Automatic scaling of microservices
  • Fast CPUs
  • Selectable memory size
  • Unknown limits of managed services
  • Sharing of resources... Could have noisy-neighbors
  • Uncontrollable downtimes
Suited:
- no hardware purchases
- ease of setup and use
Not suited:
- regulations require Tier1 or 0 availability
  • Easy to find documentation
  • Large community
Read Mark Freeman, MBA's full review
October 21, 2019
Patrick Plaisance | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) both internally for virtual machines for both production and testing, and for clients' virtual machines for both production and testing. Being able to spin up virtual machines on the fly with no major infrastructure investment and for minimal startup cost was a complete game-changer for our business.
  • Low-impact virtual servers. If you need a server that consumes very little resources/disk space, EC2 is extremely economical.
  • Testing. Spinning up an EC2 virtual machine to test applications, services, etc is invaluable.
  • Dealing with small businesses, the recurring cost of a high-performance EC2 instance (or one requiring a ton of S3 storage) might be more than an on-premise server for the same task.
  • Even with the AWS cost calculator, it can be difficult to accurately estimate the recurring cost of EC2 instances.
Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) is extremely useful for small virtual servers. For instance, we use EC2 instances for inexpensive unifi cloud controllers. Additionally, we often use EC2 instances for testing various applications and server configurations. We can spin up an entire lab, virtual servers, workstations, etc and test out a client-server application in hours and at very little expense.
AWS's support is good overall. Not outstanding, but better than average. We have had very little reason to engage with AWS support but in our limited experience, the staff has been knowledgeable, timely and helpful. The only negative is actually initiating a service request can be a bit of a pain.
Read Patrick Plaisance's full review
October 18, 2019
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The engineering department uses Amazon EC2 to host all the servers we run our applications on. EC2 is a fantastic product because it is very cost effective and easy to use. If you need to quickly provision a new server, you can use the admin console to create whatever you need, from very small simple setups to extremely large, complex systems.
  • Very cost effective
  • Easily scalable. Can increase or decrease servers in minutes.
  • Very easy to use. Amazing admin console giving you full control of your servers.
  • You have the option to do 1 or 3 year reserved instances, but nothing in between.
  • AWS CLI (command line interface) can be tricky to learn and use.
  • There are a very large amount of services and configuration options, it's sometimes hard to keep track and understand them all.
I would recommend using amazon EC2 in any scenario where a company or individual needs to run a server. Because of the ease of use and configuration, there is hardly a reason to buy and manage your own hardware. Anything from a very simple website to a complex application with hundreds of servers can be setup using EC2.
There are so many different tutorials and documentation available online on how to use EC2. In addition, it is so widely used that most developers have experience using the various Amazon services. Amazon also provides paid services where they offer support for whatever your specific needs may be. The admin console is also very details and has a great user interface, making it easy to figure things out on your own.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
October 17, 2019
Frank Troglauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use AWS EC2 instances to host our websites and web applications on both production and development servers. It is mainly used by our web and app development departments but impacts the entire organization. It saves the company money by offering a wide variety of server options and the ability to scale the server size up and down quickly, and at our discretion.
  • It is possible to create automated backup schedules so your servers will be backed up with less tweaking and work from employees. It is also super quick to restore those backups if necessary. Finally, they back up the server in an efficient manner so you don't have redundant sized backups, but rather just backups of the files changed over the period of time you make the backups.
  • The ability to launch instances of any size and then change the size later is incredibly useful and has saved us both time and money in multiple instances. For example, we launched a large instance to make sure we had enough power for an application we launched and later we realized it didn't need as much power so we just turned the instance off and changed the instance type and turned it back on and started saving money!
  • The ability to create snapshots of instances is fantastic. We have had some issues launching new instances from snapshots and being unable to access the instance for some reason. It wasn't ever fully resolved but we found our own workarounds.
It is well suited for hosting files, websites, and applications on the internet and replacing GoDaddy or HostGator for your hosting needs.
They are very knowledgeable, they just aren't quick to respond unless you're paying for premium support.
Read Frank Troglauer's full review
October 31, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Similar to many other startups, our whole infrastructure is on top of AWS, and EC2 is being used in many ways across multiple departments.

DevOps supports a fleet of reserved EC2 instances to host backend services and pipelines using Kubernetes.
Data Science team uses EC2 instances to run Jupytor notebooks to do feature exploration on pre-loaded data, and sometimes spot instances to support ad-hoc feature generation and model training. Data team uses the spot instances to run backfill jobs whenever needed.
  • A great variety of choices in Amazon Machine Image (AMI) types. Users can select a more basic type to run generic workloads, but also have the choice to pick an AMI pre-installed with specific services in the AWS Marketplace.
  • The range of instance types can support the usage from a student's exploration (inexpensive general-purpose nano instances) to an enterprise's most intense workloads (memory or storage-optimized instances with terabytes of memory and ultra-fast network connection).
  • The pricing options, from regular instances, reserved instances to spot instances allow users to get the job done and make smart choices about how much they want to pay and when they want to pay.
  • The choices on AMIs, instance types and additional configuration can be overwhelming for any non-DevOps person.
  • The pricing information should be more clear (than only providing the hourly cost) when launching the instance. AWS DynamoDB gives an estimated monthly cost when creating tables, and I would love to see similar cost estimation showing on EC2 instances individually, as not all developers gets access to the actual bills.
  • The term for reserving instances are at least 12 months. With instance types changing so fast and better instances coming out every other day, it's really hard to commit to an existing instance type for 1 or more years at a time.
EC2 is really standing out when a team is committed to the AWS stack and wants to deploy production jobs on the long term. Reserved instances have competitive pricing and in general the reliability is guaranteed. Spot EC2 instances are also good, when a one-time backfill or feature generation workload needs to be performed.

For users who want to use a managed service, for example a Hadoop platform, I would recommend going with Cloudera and similar companies to get the best support possible.
Service up-time and other reliability factors are outstanding for EC2, and self-service using the AWS Console and CloudWatch is sufficient for the most part. Occasionally we hit blockers but there's still the community forum in case we need to get some help from the customer support or other members in the community.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon EC2 is being used by my organization as the centralized cloud server hosting tool. It is being used across the entire organization and is one of the most important tools that we have to run our company. We run all types of servers from testing to development to staging servers and we use all different types of images when we run our servers. It solves the need to have a cloud based, infinitely scalable system to better host everything from applications to backend servers and so on.
  • elastic compute
  • cloud server creation
  • infinite scalability
  • ability to secure and deploy servers on the run
  • cloud imaging and machine images
  • user interface
  • documentation
  • server sizes and regions
Amazon EC2 is one of the best tools a development and software company could ask for. It is infinitely scalable and relatively easy to use when it comes to all the things that we used to do that took a long time because human beings had to provision rack mounted servers by hand. It's less apporpriate for enterprise settings where there is still a presence of older, localized infrastructure.
Amazon's support is pretty good, but I don't like how they have paid support tiers that definitely modifies my ability to get helped quickly.
Read this authenticated review
October 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EC2 is being used primarily by one major division (department) of our organization but indirectly by the entire organization. The main division that uses it is tasked with continuously developing new tools and technologies for organization-wide use and EC2 allows us to quickly and efficiently obtain and configure the necessary servers for each new project and subproject as they arise, or as the ideas come to us without having to go through the lengthy traditional channels of submitting proposals, and requesting budgeting etc each time we need more server space.
  • It's cost-effective because you pay for only what you use, this is imperative in not-for-profit higher ed, and there are also no long term commitments or upfront fees. This is only one of the pricing options available (the one that best serves us) so there is flexibility.
  • Which is my next point, the flexibility of EC2 is what sets is apart from anything else. It is designed to not let the technology get in the way of your ideas and work.
  • It is VERY quick and easy to get up and running. Someone brand new to EC2 could have this up and running very fast.
  • Performance..EC2 is somewhat slow by comparison and is getting worse as faster processors and hard drives come in the to market.
  • Reserved instances.. while they eliminate the price-gap, they do nothing about the performance gap.
  • Platform Specific Language that is of any AWS product. The more you need to do with your system and the further you go "inside", the further you go from traditionally recognized languages and their operations. There is a learning curve and it's oftentimes necessary to have support.
EC2 is a perfect solution for a team of skilled developers who are familiar with cloud computing, able to make basic translations, and cannot be hassled by the politics/paperwork shuffle of dealing with the ebb and flow of server changes. EC2 would not be a good solution for a very small team with perhaps a single server need or perhaps a larger team with multiple server needs but without technical personnel.
Anything Amazon is always going to get a 10 on support. This is something they have gotten right from the beginning and I hope doesn't change anytime soon.
Read this authenticated review
October 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) across the whole organization for multiple web applications and custom software running in the cloud. EC2 is our first choice to run our applications as it helps auto-scaling and elasticity. It reduces the maintenance of an in-house data center and can spin up new servers in less than 5 minutes.
  • Auto scaling
  • Security
  • On demand
  • I wish amazon come up with a GUI interface for EC2's
EC2 is my first choice for all my application deployments in the cloud as it has great features like auto-scaling and multiple categories like reserved instances, on-demand, and scheduled ones.
I wish amazon will come up with basic developer support for free
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2019
Dylan Cauwels | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon EC2 is the backbone of any cloud deployment for our organization. As one of the first services launched on AWS, it holds a special place in any infrastructure project that we run. The amount of customizability that you have with EC2 is unlike any other AWS service and allows you to find the perfect computing solution for whatever use case you need.
  • Customizable computing is here to stay with EC2. From a minimal 2-core machine for a minimal microservice to the biggest 16-core Xeon with Nvidia Quadros for a machine-learning model, compute power can be immediately up or downsized to your current need at any given moment.
  • Cost savings with EC2 is incredible. By putting computer hardware in a communal bidding system, you minimize your cost per server with every other company who also wants those resources. If you have time-independent processes that you need to process, you can even bid on leftover server contracts that have gone unfilled for pennies on the dollar.
  • EC2 storage options are lengthy, with EBS volumes, ephemeral storage, and multiple options to customize throughput and storage cost for each one.
  • The UI of AWS is quite hard to familiarize with, along with the infrastructure setup. It's a conglomeration of hundreds of acronyms specific to AWS that must be understood including their minutiae to effectively run a cloud deployment. While AWS' documentation is extensive, their beginner-focused guides could use work.
  • Instances become incredibly hard to manage after a critical mass, forcing companies to create their own management applications to fill the void that AWS leaves. Along with this, AWS' SDKs can be very poorly documented making this task exponentially more difficult.
  • If you lose your SSH key that is released with the creation of the instance, you lose complete access to the server. While I understand the reasoning behind this decision, MFA recovery would be a nice touch.
EC2 is great for any scenario where you need to be upgrading/downgrading your compute power as the app demand grows/shrinks. Because of how the storage system, network system, and security system works under AWS, you can hot swap any server into any given slot. But if you want to customize your servers to the nth degree, then you should just go ahead and purchase them for your network. AWS will never be as customizable as company-run machines, but they will be faster to deploy.
Read Dylan Cauwels's full review
August 31, 2018
Ryan MacGillivray | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Generally, I've seen EC2 used by the entire company as I've worked mostly in environments where there were only other Software Engineers making up the bulk of the company.

It frequently addressed the issue of having reliable web servers or virtual machines without having to actually acquire physical servers, rely on resellers of the service or deal with other providers who I've had technical issues with in the past.
  • Variety of sizes, you can fine-tune your instance quite a lot rather than being tied into specific tiers like some resellers offer.
  • Easy to provision, either using an Amazon tool or AMI, Terraform and/or Ansible I've found it easy to get set up and going on a new EC2 instance.
  • With the rise of tools such as Ansible it would be good to see AWS provide similar standardised tooling for EC2.
I've found that while EC2 and AWS might mean initially more setup than purchasing compute resources through a reseller it makes life much easier down the line as you have more control over your instances and other resources. This also ends up that it will cost more dev time up front but less money in comparison.

It's also possible to fine-tune your AWS spending whereas I've found this difficult with AWS resellers in the past.
Read Ryan MacGillivray's full review
August 29, 2018
Brendon Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Amazon's EC2 service to host our Magento eCommerce website on Amazon's AMI. We have been doing this for 10 months now, and between uptime and manageability we are very pleased. We chose this platform for the attractive prospect of usage-based billing and potential for provisioning more resources as we grow as well as auto-scaling and load balancing options. The migration was hand-in-hand with a re-development, platform and host were new, so comparing to our old Wordpress store on shared hosting would not be apples to apples at all. All said, we have been please with AWS EC2 on the whole.
  • It's a very easy task to fire up an EC2, even for first-timer education. Launch a free account, pop into EC2, and follow the prompts.
  • Snapshots and Images are particularly nice, fast and easy to work with. I've had my entire catalog erased by mistake, and been able to restore content within minutes.
  • Access to data is right there - you have root access to your virtual machine, no clunky interfaces, no negotiation with hosts for resources.
  • EC2 is quick to launch, but ends up being an unnecessarily complex rabbit hole. Most users on EC2 are attempting to accomplish the same goals: host content with close to 0 fault tolerance. I want people to be able to buy my stuff. I should be able to one-click a load balancing and autoscaling package for my existing EC2 instance that will scale resources in proportion to my incoming sessions and corresponding usage. Instead, setting up advanced EC2 features ends up requiring an expert to accomplish functions which should be readily available.
  • Usage-based billing sounds like you may be getting the best value, but understand that Amazon is not losing money on hosting, and costs are no longer entirely predictable. Cents for data piles up quickly and once you get load balancing up with a influx of customers, your finance department comes at you waving your budget around...
We are currently exploring alternative hosts - likely a direct partnership - collocated or dedicated. We like the predictability of a monthly fee, a service partner to call in case of crisis, and pushing the resource scaling responsibility back to a partner who is eager to scale down but contractually obligated to scale perfectly.
Read Brendon Brown's full review
August 29, 2018
Michael Kerzner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are a Managed Services Provider in the Philadelphia area that specializes in moving clients to the cloud. As part of our Cloud Stack, we heavily deploy AWS technologies including EC2. I personally manages multiple AWS accounts that all have EC2 instances in both development and production. EC2 tackles a huge problem when it comes to right-sizing your servers. With EC2, we can spin up a server in the cloud for a client, let them test it, and if it turns out the specs aren't right, within 5 minutes we can have everything changed to a completely different set of specs.
  • EC2 makes right-sizing your servers a breeze. You can quickly spin up a server in the cloud and if it turns out the vCPU, RAM, or storage space is wrong, within minutes you can change all of that.
  • EC2 makes backups and restores a breeze. We actually had a client that allowed a hacker to remote into their production server. We were able to shutdown the EC2 instance, spin up a backup from an AMI, and then attach the existing elastic IP. This was all done within a 15 minute window.
  • EC2 makes quickly deploying multiple servers a very easy. Within minutes, you can deploy a whole fleet of cloud servers.
  • EC2 is easy to script. We are able to save our clients a lot of money by scripting their EC2 instance to shutdown/startup at predetermined times so they are only paying for the server when they are using it.
  • EC2 in my opinion, is lacking the ability to connect to a console from within the AWS console. I sometimes miss how I can connect to the console with VMware and Hyper-V but not with EC2. You have to utilize RDP or SSH to connect to an instance.
  • Sometimes EC2 instances lockup due to reasons with the underlying hardware and need to be shutdown and the started back up so the instance can spin up on new hardware. This is sometimes a problem because unless you set up proper alerting/scripting, you don't know there is an issue until a user reports it.
  • EC2 can be a bit daunting for the beginning user. You really do need some kind of training before you dive in.
EC2 is well suited for anyone that is looking to move their servers to the cloud, save money in the process, and future-proof their servers. EC2 even allows for existing VMs from an on-premise or hosted environment to be exported and imported into EC2. Also, AWS makes licensing the operating system super easy.
Read Michael Kerzner's full review
September 07, 2018
Ranjeet Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by whole organization. We use hundreds of EC2 instances. We are a small company so we do not have resources to maintain physical instances. EC2 solves this issue by omitting the need to maintain our own servers or machines.
  • Easy to maintain. We can elastically grow the instances as we need.
  • Can be distributed among several regions, hence it performs well.
  • Can be configured to restrict the access to instances outside specific IPs.
  • Can be tied to load balancer.
  • Spot instances available to bid for cheaper price.
  • There should be an option to upgrade to only CPU and memory, instead of getting overall big instances.
  • Sometime we are forced to upgrade or terminate old instances. They could support old instances.
  • Launch time of the instances has room for improvement. Could be faster.
Well suited when we do not have space and resources to maintain and have in house servers. Less appropriate when someone needs instances just with high memory or CPU only. In this scenario it is a bit expensive compared to having in-house instance.
Read Ranjeet Shah's full review
September 04, 2018
Miguel Angel Merino Vega | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Both our customers and we have a wide range of applications uploaded in Amazon EC2. Since we do not have physical servers, we have EC2 instances in our testing, development, production and administrative departments. Also, we support many clients who prefer to manage their own EC2 instances.

EC2 instances allow us to abstract all the management of servers and concentrate on what really generates value in our business: building solutions for our clients.
  • Quick learning curve and ease of acquisition for new learners due to their 12 month free trial.
  • Connection to the entire AWS ecosystem, such as RDS service for database management.
  • Dynamic scaling of instance resources allows you to achieve the performance you are looking for without having to pay more than necessary.
  • Hot swap of volumes and other resources.
  • You can't easily know the end of free trial period, which can generate monthly costs for unused services (even so, the support for these isolated cases is very good!)
  • The default configuration of resource usage alerts could be better. Even so, there are alternatives to control these cases outside of AWS.
  • While you're still learning how to handle instances, one can make some serious mistakes, such as leaving open ports or deleting an instance without realizing it. Again, is not a core AWS responsability but a few alerts could be great (or you can leave infraestructure experts handle all the management).
If your company or your clients have infrastructure restrictions (or a need for full control), or if your deployment contains many nodes to consider, EC2 could probably not be the best option.

But if virtualization is an alternative, or you hear good comments among your managers about IaaS or PaaS, then AWS EC2 is the way to go.

And for start-ups it is definitely the best alternative.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
September 04, 2018
Corey Birkmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have utilized EC2 for a wide variety of clients to help deploy a variety of websites & web applications & mobile apps. It is affordable and scalable. Has provide phenomenal uptime, and support has been top notch on the rare occasion I have had to reach out on an issue or question.
  • Cost effictiveness is great, they only charge for what you use so you do not have to pay for what you dont use
  • Intuitive interface, makes setting up and deploying new and existing projects an ease
  • Secure. Have not had server attacks since we migrated to them, so the uptime has been phenomenal
  • The PEM keys are a bit confusing if you are not accustomed to it
  • A dummy version/starter guide would be great. Once you have it configured its easy to use and makes sense, but my first interaction with it was a bit to grasp
  • Add easily installable cPanel or Plesk or equivalent as an option for customers just wanting to host sites, who don't need the more in-depth options
When you need total control of your server as if it were a black box in your office, EC2 works great. You can set it up however you need and know it will be reliable as long as your work is reliable. If you are just needing a web host and aren't incredibly server saavy, then you may be better suited looking elsewhere
Read Corey Birkmann's full review
August 31, 2018
James Hilton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for dev instances, staging instances and production instances for the whole organization. We automatically spin up instances as needed, automatically configure the settings and software we need, and it's ready to go in seconds. Prior to this we used managed hosting which caused too many problems with bad customer support and limited access to the servers preventing us from solving our own problems with bugs and scaling.
  • Full control over the software and settings.
  • Instant availability of a new server with the power you require.
  • Thorough permission support to ensure only those who have the rights to monitor or configure the servers can do so.
  • Many world wide locations to make sure it's closer to the country your users are in.
  • Huge learning curve. To get a basic instance up with default settings is very easy, but there's hundreds or perhaps thousands of settings without explanations of what they do.
  • Multiple ways to do the same thing, like the browser console, the command line, and APIs, means finding answers on how to do something may be provided only in one way and not the way you have to do it.
  • Lack of documentation on best practices in many scenarios. AWS assumes you have devops experience and makes it too easy for you to make mistakes and follow bad practices.
It's great when you need a web site or service up and running immediately with specific settings and software. It's great when you need to scale it within minutes and only pay for the time that the extra power is used. It's not so great when you want to learn how everything works and the documentation is difficult to find or worded differently or out dated because things seem to change every year or two on AWS but the documentation lags a little behind.
Read James Hilton's full review
August 31, 2018
Lynn Thames | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EC2 instances to deploy development, staging, and test environments. We also use EC2 to manage Magento ecommerce sites for clients. We also deploy our SaaS customer portal solution on AWS EC2 instances. It is mainly used by our development team. It provides us scalable development capabilities and the ability to easily deploy dev copies of any client site.
  • Easily launch new instances of a 'saved site' using AIM.
  • We easily start/stop instances used for testing so that we don't have to pay when not in use. We wrote API calls to allow this to be done from our help desk software.
  • Automated backups using Lambda.
  • Hosting/Managing sites for clients is much better on AWS because we can control almost everything from the console.
  • I would say mostly in documentation. Things can be really complicated to try to learn from their existing documentation.
  • Lambda should offer more simple tools for retainage rules for automated backups.
  • Amazon SES should have a built in dashboard for tracking emails instead of making you use the API to develop your own.
It is least appropriate where you don't have the technical expertise to manage your own servers. And it's not very well suited for someone who isn't willing to monitor and manage the costs.

It's perfect for development firms and smaller agencies that provide managed hosting because the infrastructure is reliable and safe and it's much easier to manage the costs when you can deploy and scale at will.
Read Lynn Thames's full review
August 29, 2018
Greg Schulz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Server StorageIO leverages AWS EC2 on different instance types for various Windows as well as Linux images to meet scaling and performance requirements. Workloads vary from I/O workload test, simulation, functionality, performance among others. In addition to EC2 instances, have also used AWS Lightsail VPS instances including for Wordpress as a BC/DR resource.
  • Ease of management, access, deployment, scaling, options of number and type of resources.
  • Interoperability, compatibility, the scale of compute, server I/O and storage resources.
  • Flexibility to use AMI or build your own.
  • Multiple regions and AZs for building resilient solutions.
  • Bring your own licenses similar to Microsoft Azure hybrid where you can bring your own Windows license as needed.
  • Availability of beyond basic gets you started resource credits to scale and grow.
  • Continue extending AWS tools to support hybrid deployments.
AWS EC2 is applicable to most any application workload deployment scenario that needs a public cloud, including GovCloud. Even some on-site, on-prem scenarios can leverage AWS Snowball Edge with EC2 on-prem compute to meet some needs. Likewise Lightsail provides options for app specific scenarios, and EKS containers, along with Lambda meet need for serverless/FaaS/PaaS. Key is knowing the various EC2 options from dedicated bare metal to VM to container to even Snowball Edge/SBE. Likewise knowing the various instance options for deployment along with deciding to use on-demand, spot or reserved instances.
Read Greg Schulz's full review
December 19, 2017
Anudeep Palanki | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Amazon EC2 as a part of a bigger push by our organization to shift our datacenters to Cloud with Amazon being our choice of providers. It is being used by our entire organization, but our team used EC2 to host Neo4J. The EC2 addresses the problem of managed infrastructure. We added additional scripts to create and maintain the backups of Neo4J database using the EC2 snapshot service.
  • Great variety, there are different classes of EC2 instances that fit various purposes.
  • Robust integration with rest of Amazon ecosystems using Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)
  • Ability to customize the instances at OS level.
  • Snapshot backup service. Since the production database with 50GB of data needs to be backed up with minimal downtime, we relied on the EC2 snapshot service for storing backups and it was a breeze. With about a minute downtime every day, we now have tested, reliable backups that would not have been possible otherwise.
  • Ability to add different volumes to the EC2 instance. This ties in with the previous point of adding a separate high speed SSD data volume for storing data and backing up that volume on a day to day basis.
  • Docker style templates for EC2 instances, where the installation, backup and rest of the scripts come out of the box.
  • Ran into a couple of issues while trying to reboot the EC2 instances, doing reboot on the instance through CLI caused data issues on the system. That needs to be ironed out.
  • Costs need to be competitive with rest of the market. Found that EC2's are a lot more expensive than its competitors. So if you are tied into the Amazon ecosystem, then EC2 makes sense, but if you are looking for silo EC2 instances, look elsewhere for cost saving.
It is very well suited if:
  • You are tied in with rest of AWS ecosystem.
  • For running Databases not offered through RDS especially considering their Snapshot backup service.
  • You want to have the ability to customize the instance to suit your needs.
  • Need on-demand instances also called Spot instances for short spikes in usage.
Less appropriate if:
  • Only needing a silo instance (because of cost)
  • Need OS/hardware level customizations.
Read Anudeep Palanki's full review

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (12)
8.7
Dynamic scaling (13)
8.5
Elastic load balancing (13)
9.1
Pre-configured templates (12)
8.1
Monitoring tools (13)
8.6
Pre-defined machine images (13)
7.4
Operating system support (13)
8.8
Security controls (13)
8.8
Automation (3)
6.0

What is Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)?

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud. Users can launch instances with a variety of OSs, load them with custom application environments, manage network access permissions, and run images on multiple systems.

Key Features

  • Bare metal instances

  • Amazon EC2 Fleet (fleet management)

  • Pause and resume instances

  • GPU compute instances

  • GPU graphics instances

  • High I/O instances

  • Dense HDD storage instances

  • Optimized CPU configurations

  • Flexible storage options

  • Pay-as-you-go pricing

  • Place instances in multiple locations

  • Elastic IP addresses

  • Auto-scale capacity up or down

  • HPC clusters

  • Elastic Fabric Adapter

  • Available on AWS PrivateLink

  • Amazon Time Sync Service

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
On-Demand$0.0042 - $6.528per Hour
Data Transfer$0.00 - $0.09per GB
EBS-Optimized Instances$0.005per IP address with a running instance per hour on a pro rata basis
Carrier IP Addresses$0.005 - $0.10
T2, T3 Instances$0.05 ($0.096)per vCPU-Hour Linux, RHEL, & SLES (Windows)
T4g Instances$0.04per vCPU-Hour Linux, RHEL, & SLES

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)?

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud. Users can launch instances with a variety of OSs, load them with custom application environments, manage network access permissions, and run images on multiple systems.

What is Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Elastic load balancing highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)?

The most common users of Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) are from Small Businesses and the Computer Software industry.