Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) Reviews

227 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 58)

Apurv Doshi | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

EC2 - Excellent Cloud Computing Service

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It reduced the need for heavy on-premises instances. Also, it completely eliminates maintenance of the machine. Their SLA criteria are also matching business needs. Overall IAAS is the best option when information is not so crucial to post on the cloud.
  • It makes both horizontal and vertical scaling really easy. This keeps your infrastructure up and running even while you are increasing the capacity or facing more traffic. This leads to having better customer satisfaction.
  • If you do not choose your instance type suitable for your business, it may incur lots of extra costs.
Read Apurv Doshi's full review
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Amazon EC2 - Best Cloud Hosting Provider on the market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Cost savings on cheap options for server hosting.
  • Save time by making it very easy to setup and manage servers.
  • Amazon EC2 is trusted and provides great security options. Safe and secure platform is a must have for enterprise software customers.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Maximum flexibility. Competitive pricing. Great support.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • EC2 is good for spinning up a cluster in an instant to get a proof of concept going. It reduced that time where developers have to ask DevOps to support this type of tasks.
  • Startups can use EC2 instances to focus on scaling business without worrying about computing or storage resources.
  • Companies should be aware of their bills on EC2 and ensure that unused instances get terminated in time, otherwise the bill can potentially get expensive.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Servers when you need them, how you need them...take your time back- thank you EC2!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • At first we spent a little more than we had the previous year on server space because we had over estimated, but we immediately were able to recoup that money with their pay for what you use model.
  • In the end we are doing so much more than we were 4 years ago because of the hours and hours saved from paperwork and budgeting everytime a new project commences or ends and server needs change.
Read this authenticated review
Winston Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2019

The best way to make scalable projects quickly and efficiently.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The first time it was used, we made the mistake of opening several instances, which cost us a considerable sum of money. From that moment we learned to use it more efficiently.
  • It has been a great help, since it allows US to streamline the management and development of various projects. In addition to that, we are sure that everything is hosted in the cloud, and have the reliability that we can always access them.
  • In terms of time, which is equal to money, it has saved us a lot of time, which is why it is a very efficient tool. It allows us to develop projects from 0 to 100, managing the investment at each level of the project.
Read Winston Mendes's full review
Dylan Cauwels | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2019

EC2- Computing on demand

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Highly scalable and available infrastructure keeps our apps up longer for less.
  • Confusing UI and infrastructure setup has cost us significant time and resources trying to figure out why a specific resource isn't working as intended.
Read Dylan Cauwels's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2019

Scalable and High up-time rates for your applications with many more features on EC2!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • EC2 is an expensive service when you increase the volume of your instance. But still, it has so many volume choices suitable for any level of project.
  • The learning curve is high, and the technical documentation is not enough at all. AWS should focus on documentation more.
  • The configuration process can be painful sometimes if you want to fine tune your instances.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2019

A Great Choice

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Time saved: We have saved thousands of man hours by the ease of AWS EC2.
  • Support Costs: Since Amazon has done a good job of providing documentation, you should be able to get to an answer yourself, without having to engage support, which can be costly.
  • Operating Costs: The cost and increased liability of owning hardware is now almost all gone for us.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

EC2: Game changer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It's so easy to provision that sometimes we leave VMs on that we should power down.
  • Allows us to quickly go to market with ideas with in hours to days of inception.
  • Allows great flexibility in the types of images we can spin up.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2019

EC2 for scalable web apps

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We were able to use the trial version for EC2 hosting at a very cheap rate. After evaluation when we realized it met our requirements we got the instances deployed for our web apps. Apart from the initial learning curve, we think this was the right approach for us since it is extremely reliable with an amazing up-time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

Fully featured cloud containers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It can be very easy to overspend and forget about running instances.
  • It can also be very easy to overspend by making instances too large.
  • The speed of deployment has been a huge improvement.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Kerzner | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2018

EC2 from AWS makes provisioning and managinig cloud servers cost-effective and quick.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • AWS has had a very positive return on investment for every client we have that uses it. They are saving money in the long run.
  • AWS includes the underlying operating system licenses with their EC2 instances so no longer do we have to navigate through Microsoft licensing headache.
  • EC2 allows us to easily create a golden image of servers and store them as AMIs. This makes spinning up new servers that need a particular set of software in the future extremely easy and cost-effective.
Read Michael Kerzner's full review
Miguel Angel Merino Vega | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 04, 2018

Amazon: Big IaaS option for your business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • EC2 reduced the need for many specialized personnel for infrastructure.
  • Reduced expenses in acquisition and maintenance of servers.
  • Reduced costs in configuration of development and production environments, due to virtualization, images and volume management.
  • The perception of many clients improves when you work with an ally like Amazon AWS, which translates into contracts.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
Corey Birkmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 04, 2018

EC2 review from a small interactive shop

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Saved us money on certain app deployment resource costs
  • ROI has been great on it, as it keeps costs low, and uptime keeps clients happy and us not having to do extra work
  • Security level has been top notch and helped us avoid costly and frustrating up time
Read Corey Birkmann's full review
James Hilton | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2018

Highly recommend cloud computing instances like EC2

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It allowed us to solve our scaling issues that the managed service wouldn't help with, but introduced more as we learned how to use it and made mistakes.
  • Allowed us to be more effective as a dev team by having new servers readily available for working on and testing.
  • It has cost more because we use more resources now than when we had managed hosting.
Read James Hilton's full review
Lynn Thames | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2018

Using AWS EC2 to offer a full technology platform with a small agency

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our profit levels on managed hosting has improved with using EC2.
  • We've saved a lot of money on in house servers by using EC2 to host our MSSQL for apps.
  • EC2 has allowed us to offer more services to clients without adding more IT staff to manage.
Read Lynn Thames's full review

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (8)
9.1
Dynamic scaling (9)
9.3
Elastic load balancing (9)
9.4
Pre-configured templates (9)
8.8
Monitoring tools (9)
8.7
Pre-defined machine images (9)
8.9
Operating system support (9)
9.3
Security controls (9)
9.7

About Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud. Users can launch instances with a variety of OSs, load them with custom application environments, manage network access permissions, and run images on multiple systems.

Key Features

  • Bare metal instances

  • Amazon EC2 Fleet (fleet management)

  • Pause and resume instances

  • GPU compute instances

  • GPU graphics instances

  • High I/O instances

  • Dense HDD storage instances

  • Optimized CPU configurations

  • Flexible storage options

  • Pay-as-you-go pricing

  • Place instances in multiple locations

  • Elastic IP addresses

  • Auto-scale capacity up or down

  • HPC clusters

  • Elastic Fabric Adapter

  • Available on AWS PrivateLink

  • Amazon Time Sync Service

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No