Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
225 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 58)

Apurv Doshi | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

EC2 - Excellent Cloud Computing Service

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Amazon EC2 across the whole organization. We solve different business problems using EC2 as mentioned below:
1. We host multiple backend and cloud solutions on EC2.
2. When we want to train Machine Learning Models that need heavy computation and GPU power, we go with EC2.
3. Some solutions are not mandatory to keep up all the time. We use cloud formation script which spins up EC2 - host the solution and thrash it down when not needed.
Read Apurv Doshi's full review
Winston Mendes | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2019

The best way to make scalable projects quickly and efficiently.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This excellent tool is used by our company to streamline the web development process, along with other tools offered by AWS. EC2 has great versatility, since it can be used as a VPS, which allows several people to work in the same project remotely, it is perfect for scalable projects, and allows for the activation of several instances and different hardware configurations according to the needs of the project.
Read Winston Mendes's full review
Mark Freeman, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

My wonderful EC2 Experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are transitioning from on-premise to AWS for 100+ applications. Our products are highly regulated and must be always available since we are the company which matches buyers and sellers of equities in the stock market. The EC2s host our computer programs which match trades and perform other ancillary features such as hosting standard settlement instructions.
Read Mark Freeman, MBA's full review
Patrick Plaisance | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

The de facto standard cloud VM host

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) both internally for virtual machines for both production and testing, and for clients' virtual machines for both production and testing. Being able to spin up virtual machines on the fly with no major infrastructure investment and for minimal startup cost was a complete game-changer for our business.
Read Patrick Plaisance's full review
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Amazon EC2 - Best Cloud Hosting Provider on the market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The engineering department uses Amazon EC2 to host all the servers we run our applications on. EC2 is a fantastic product because it is very cost effective and easy to use. If you need to quickly provision a new server, you can use the admin console to create whatever you need, from very small simple setups to extremely large, complex systems.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
Frank Troglauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Offers so much for web developers, web hosting, and application servers!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We primarily use AWS EC2 instances to host our websites and web applications on both production and development servers. It is mainly used by our web and app development departments but impacts the entire organization. It saves the company money by offering a wide variety of server options and the ability to scale the server size up and down quickly, and at our discretion.
Read Frank Troglauer's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Maximum flexibility. Competitive pricing. Great support.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Similar to many other startups, our whole infrastructure is on top of AWS, and EC2 is being used in many ways across multiple departments.

DevOps supports a fleet of reserved EC2 instances to host backend services and pipelines using Kubernetes.
Data Science team uses EC2 instances to run Jupytor notebooks to do feature exploration on pre-loaded data, and sometimes spot instances to support ad-hoc feature generation and model training. Data team uses the spot instances to run backfill jobs whenever needed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 24, 2019

The best and most scalable cloud infrastructure in the entire world!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon EC2 is being used by my organization as the centralized cloud server hosting tool. It is being used across the entire organization and is one of the most important tools that we have to run our company. We run all types of servers from testing to development to staging servers and we use all different types of images when we run our servers. It solves the need to have a cloud based, infinitely scalable system to better host everything from applications to backend servers and so on.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Servers when you need them, how you need them...take your time back- thank you EC2!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

EC2 is being used primarily by one major division (department) of our organization but indirectly by the entire organization. The main division that uses it is tasked with continuously developing new tools and technologies for organization-wide use and EC2 allows us to quickly and efficiently obtain and configure the necessary servers for each new project and subproject as they arise, or as the ideas come to us without having to go through the lengthy traditional channels of submitting proposals, and requesting budgeting etc each time we need more server space.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2019

Scalable and High up-time rates for your applications with many more features on EC2!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In our project, we are using Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud as our main application cluster. It provides a virtual instance in which users can configure its CPU, memory, and other crucial settings. It also provides auto-scalability, which is very important during high traffic on your application. With EC2 we quickly set up our application instances for different environments, and we are pretty satisfied with the service.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2019

A Great Choice

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are migrating multiple customers' environments to the cloud, most specifically, using Amazon Web Services. We take current servers and rebuild them in Amazon's cloud environment using EC2. The ability to quickly take a current server and migrate it at a 1:1 ratio into the cloud is a huge plus, especially when there are thousands that we migrate.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

EC2 is my First choice for cloud

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) across the whole organization for multiple web applications and custom software running in the cloud. EC2 is our first choice to run our applications as it helps auto-scaling and elasticity. It reduces the maintenance of an in-house data center and can spin up new servers in less than 5 minutes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

EC2: Game changer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Elastic Compute Cloud to run our production loads and for experimental and proof of concept work. It allows us to quickly scale and iterate through multiple generations of ideation as we work to solve critical business problems. Additionally, Elastic Cloud Compute allows us to deploy resources and restrict access in policies in an agile manner as we work with contractors and third parties.
Read this authenticated review
Dylan Cauwels | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2019

EC2- Computing on demand

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon EC2 is the backbone of any cloud deployment for our organization. As one of the first services launched on AWS, it holds a special place in any infrastructure project that we run. The amount of customizability that you have with EC2 is unlike any other AWS service and allows you to find the perfect computing solution for whatever use case you need.
Read Dylan Cauwels's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2019

EC2 for scalable web apps

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a fast growing financial tech startup based in North Carolina. We sell financial products targeted at banks and credit unions. Built on top of the Salesforce platform we've expanded our offerings with more custom solutions. As a result we've developed several apps that are deployed atop the Amazon EC2 cloud. The cloud deployments are used company wide both for internal testing as well as by the clients in our production instances.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

Fully featured cloud containers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

EC2 is used by us for the majority of our servers. We use it to support cloud-based applications that run on servers. EC2 substitutes having to run servers locally in our datacenters. EC2 is just as basic virtual machine system that allows us to customize them in any way we want and add whatever software we need.
Read this authenticated review
Ryan MacGillivray | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2018

EC2 - often better to buy direct

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Generally, I've seen EC2 used by the entire company as I've worked mostly in environments where there were only other Software Engineers making up the bulk of the company.

It frequently addressed the issue of having reliable web servers or virtual machines without having to actually acquire physical servers, rely on resellers of the service or deal with other providers who I've had technical issues with in the past.
Read Ryan MacGillivray's full review
Brendon Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2018

AWS - launchpad for VPS' at usage-based billing

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using Amazon's EC2 service to host our Magento eCommerce website on Amazon's AMI. We have been doing this for 10 months now, and between uptime and manageability we are very pleased. We chose this platform for the attractive prospect of usage-based billing and potential for provisioning more resources as we grow as well as auto-scaling and load balancing options. The migration was hand-in-hand with a re-development, platform and host were new, so comparing to our old Wordpress store on shared hosting would not be apples to apples at all. All said, we have been please with AWS EC2 on the whole.
Read Brendon Brown's full review
Michael Kerzner | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2018

EC2 from AWS makes provisioning and managinig cloud servers cost-effective and quick.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a Managed Services Provider in the Philadelphia area that specializes in moving clients to the cloud. As part of our Cloud Stack, we heavily deploy AWS technologies including EC2. I personally manages multiple AWS accounts that all have EC2 instances in both development and production. EC2 tackles a huge problem when it comes to right-sizing your servers. With EC2, we can spin up a server in the cloud for a client, let them test it, and if it turns out the specs aren't right, within 5 minutes we can have everything changed to a completely different set of specs.
Read Michael Kerzner's full review
Ranjeet Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

EC2 is great when it comes to simplicity and performing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used by whole organization. We use hundreds of EC2 instances. We are a small company so we do not have resources to maintain physical instances. EC2 solves this issue by omitting the need to maintain our own servers or machines.
Read Ranjeet Shah's full review
Miguel Angel Merino Vega | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 04, 2018

Amazon: Big IaaS option for your business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Both our customers and we have a wide range of applications uploaded in Amazon EC2. Since we do not have physical servers, we have EC2 instances in our testing, development, production and administrative departments. Also, we support many clients who prefer to manage their own EC2 instances.

EC2 instances allow us to abstract all the management of servers and concentrate on what really generates value in our business: building solutions for our clients.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
Corey Birkmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 04, 2018

EC2 review from a small interactive shop

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have utilized EC2 for a wide variety of clients to help deploy a variety of websites & web applications & mobile apps. It is affordable and scalable. Has provide phenomenal uptime, and support has been top notch on the rare occasion I have had to reach out on an issue or question.
Read Corey Birkmann's full review
Felix Rufus Nadar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2018

Cost Effective Virtual Machine AWS

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

EC2 is begin used in our organization for a little over 2 years. EC2 has addressed cost and quality, but not customer support, in comparison to GCP and Azure. We are running a few workloads on AWS, including EC2. We moved to AWS after we faced a major performance drop in GoDaddy VPS, and cost was peaking out. Then we evaluated AWS and moved on
Read Felix Rufus Nadar's full review
James Hilton | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2018

Highly recommend cloud computing instances like EC2

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it for dev instances, staging instances and production instances for the whole organization. We automatically spin up instances as needed, automatically configure the settings and software we need, and it's ready to go in seconds. Prior to this we used managed hosting which caused too many problems with bad customer support and limited access to the servers preventing us from solving our own problems with bugs and scaling.
Read James Hilton's full review

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (8)
9.1
Dynamic scaling (9)
9.3
Elastic load balancing (9)
9.4
Pre-configured templates (9)
8.8
Monitoring tools (9)
8.7
Pre-defined machine images (9)
8.9
Operating system support (9)
9.3
Security controls (9)
9.7

About Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) is a web service that provides secure, resizable compute capacity in the cloud. Users can launch instances with a variety of OSs, load them with custom application environments, manage network access permissions, and run images on multiple systems.

Key Features

  • Bare metal instances

  • Amazon EC2 Fleet (fleet management)

  • Pause and resume instances

  • GPU compute instances

  • GPU graphics instances

  • High I/O instances

  • Dense HDD storage instances

  • Optimized CPU configurations

  • Flexible storage options

  • Pay-as-you-go pricing

  • Place instances in multiple locations

  • Elastic IP addresses

  • Auto-scale capacity up or down

  • HPC clusters

  • Elastic Fabric Adapter

  • Available on AWS PrivateLink

  • Amazon Time Sync Service

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No