Amazon RDS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
101 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

Michael Jenkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 12, 2020

Your DBA will be glad that you're using RDS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In this response, I'm specifically comparing RDS to running a database on an EC2 server. With EC2, the team owns all of the administrative and operational responsibilities. Patching the operating system patching and database software become another task that developers or system admins have to take on. Running a DB on EC2 does have the benefit of having more access to the server and DB configurations, but the benefit of being able to tweak a DB for a few more milliseconds of performance is usually not worth the effort for most applications.

On the other hand, RDS is a completely managed service. What is lost in access to the database server is gained in dependability and simplified operation.
Read Michael Jenkins's full review
Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

A to Z, EZ PZ to use and as flexible as the Amazon marketplace.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) is a widely known product that has a great deal of familiarity in the tech world. In addition, Amazon Relational Database Service is easy to spin up and create new environments, and pricing is relatively convenient. Many major brand products are available to quickly utilize RDS, and it works well. Pricing/purchasing is also fairly convenient.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
Lukasz Stadnik | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Amazon Relational Database Service review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In terms of zone availability, Amazon Relational Database Service has the highest number of POP. Oracle Cloud Infrastructure products could not present database services in German or London AZ area. The price of Amazon Relational Database Service is considerably low in comparison to Azure.
Read Lukasz Stadnik's full review
Diego Turcios Lara | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

RDS is great for your company

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We try to use Azure Databases, but we encountered issues of combining services between AWS and Azure, so this is the main reason we decided to move with Amazon RDS. I can say that between services they're quite alike but it all depends what cloud provider you use for the other services.
Read Diego Turcios Lara's full review
Alok Patwal | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Truly fully-managed: Database made easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As a POC, we had worked with Azure and GCP's databases as well. One problem with Azure is that it seems slow in supporting new versions of MySQL. With GCP Cloud SQL, the security configuration for the database was not as intuitive as in AWS. The UI in both Azure and GCP was better than RDS as it avoids page reloads when you are navigating through different components, and instead opens the linked component in the same page and makes the page horizontally scrollable as well. Still, we went with RDS because a lot of our services were already in AWS and we did not have a solid reason to go against it.
Read Alok Patwal's full review
Matthew King | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

RDS lives up to the ability for fast, secure, and configurable databases

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We originally were going to utilize EC2 instances for configuration and installing a database. This would require DBA knowledge as well as the need for more overhead within our configuration. This could be scripted, however; this adds so much more to what our end goal was going to require. Within Terraform, this would require startup scripts and certificates, RDS handled all of this for us and made a much more easily configurable infrastructure as code.
Read Matthew King's full review
Erlon Sousa Pinheiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

AWS RDS - Let a huge part of database complexity to be handled by AWS at a fair price.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Actually you can have most of these tools through AWS Relational Database Service as they are basically those technologies provided as a service. It is way better to have those products provided as a service through a huge and reliable infrastructure like AWS.
Read Erlon Sousa Pinheiro's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 31, 2019

Mobile Gaming Developers Sing ARDS Praises

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

ARDS was actually the only service that we did a deep dive into when we started our exploratory session. We knew what our requirements were prior to starting the project implementation and after conducting a review of ARDS’s functionality and offerings we knew that we had the right product for this project. We didn’t need to move forward looking at another option.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2019

Amazon Relational Database Service Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)
Setting up your own database servers on EC2 instances is slower and more work. It also doesn't come with tech support for the database. It's usually best to use an AWS service for anything you can, rather than building your own.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2019

My experience with Amazon RDS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MS-SQL Server in Azure costs more and/or is slower...but even if you were in a position where the costs were close, you'd still have the fact that Amazon Relational Database Service is more mature and resilient in the Cloud Managed Database environment to tip the scales toward Amazon RDS for me.
Read this authenticated review
Bob Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 01, 2019

Amazon Relational Database Service stays up at night, so I don't have to...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It's hard to identify how Amazon RDS stacks up against the databases they support, because to install and use a relational database in a production environment you need a Database Administrator to help install, configure and manage. Amazon RDS keeps the details simple enough for anyone to get started and focused on what matters most (your business, not your configuration).
Read Bob Smith's full review
Dylan Cauwels | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2019

RDS: a growing solution for your everyday database needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We mainly used RDS because our infrastructure was already up and running on AWS so the networking between the systems was quite easy to set up and manage. For our Azure infrastructure, we used their SQL database option instead for the same reasons. If AWS made it easier to use the professional tools provided with many SQL suites we would definitely prefer them over the competition, but until that day we will keep our RDS instances platform-specific.
Read Dylan Cauwels's full review
Dhruba Jyoti Nag | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

RDS, a light weight RDBMS for microservices

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

RDS is a new way to go about database needs for organizations. As more and more enterprises move towards cloud-based design when creating their IT infrastructure, more and more they shed traditional on-premise heavyweight RDBMS systems and instead embrace cloud database services like RDS which save an amazing amount of money. Since it was one of the first offerings in the database as a service space, its adoption is also comparatively higher.
Read Dhruba Jyoti Nag's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2019

RDS - More bang for your buck

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

RDS implements the databases we were interested in and allows us to focus on the application and not the management. AWS handles setting up the server and the database as well as upgrading the software when necessary. Security is simple, using security groups to allow or deny access to the database. Overall, RDS provided quite a lot of value for the cost.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2019

Shaik Review on Amazon Relational Database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Amazon Relational Database is more reliable and effective than the one I am using. Amazon Relational Database has more storage capacity and is easily accessible. Amazon Relational Database has multiple options. Amazon Relational Database cloud services are excellent. From the installing to use, backup issues we can get resolved easily which I found more competitive than other available resources.
Read this authenticated review
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Amazon RDS - Quick and Easy Way to Get Set up With Enterprise Database Architecture and Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Amazon Relational Database Service will probably give you everything you need from a traditional manual DB setup, except everything is managed for you. The only downside is having to pay the premium for the service; however, the trade-off of not having to deal with the intricacies involved with database administration, make it well worth it for most.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
Kyle Reichelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2019

A great, scalable, transactional engine

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The only direct comparison that I have professionally would be from a past life where we ran Microsoft SQL Server on Microsoft Servers, and while I served as a technical liaison between a vendor and my customers, there were constant issues within my customers' technical teams when it came to resource management and scaling. I'm happy to not have that headache.

MongoDB isn't really a direct comparison to RDS (and arguably to PostgreSQL)... but I'm happy to be back with my nice, logical, relational database!
Read Kyle Reichelt's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

Amazon Relational Database Service takes the stress out of Databases

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Amazon Relational Database Service manages MariaDB and MySQL, so if you need to use those databases, then Amazon Relational Database Service will manage everything from the installation to the incremental updates needed for operation. Not having to worry about maintaining a database cluster has saved countless hours and stress, allowing more development in revenue generating areas of our company
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2018

RDS to the rescue. Let You're DBAs be DBAs, rather than Server Administrators

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)
Running our database on RDS has been a good option as we originally thought most of our database would be running on EC2 instances and they we needed root access to the machine. We found out that wasn't the case and just needed to change our mindset.
Read this authenticated review
Eric Mann | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2017

Reliable web databases at scale

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • SQL Azure
Our other application components are all hosted within Amazon's systems already, and the tight coupling of RDS with the security groups and virtual private cloud offerings made locking down privacy and security much easier than integrating with an outside provider. The deeper support for Postgres also made it easier to make the decision for Amazon as that database was higher on our wish list.
Read Eric Mann's full review
Justin Schroeder | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2017

Rock solid cloud database hosting.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Honestly, there aren't a lot of great alternatives to RDS, and most likely the real alternative is just running an instance on your local box. While lots of other services (like Rackspace) offer hosted database solutions, RDS in my opinion, is the clear winner on price, availability, and failover support.
Read Justin Schroeder's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automatic software patching (2)
10.0
Database scalability (2)
10.0
Automated backups (2)
10.0
Database security provisions (1)
10
Monitoring and metrics (2)
7.0
Automatic host deployment (1)
10

About Amazon RDS

Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) allows users to set up, operate, and scale a database in the cloud. The vendor states it provides cost-efficient and resizable capacity while automating time-consuming administration tasks such as hardware provisioning, setup, patching, and backups. This frees users to focus on applications so they can give them the fast performance, high availability, security, and compatibility they need.

Amazon RDS is available on several database instance types - optimized for memory, performance or I/O - and provides you with six familiar database engines to choose from including Amazon Aurora, MySQL, PostgreSQL, MariaDB, Oracle Database, and SQL Server.

Amazon RDS Screenshots

Amazon RDS Videos (2)

Amazon RDS Supported Products

Microsoft SQL Server, Oracle Database, AWS Lambda, MariaDB, MySQL, PostgreSQL, Amazon Aurora, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS)

Amazon RDS Competitors

Oracle Database, Google Cloud SQL, Microsft SQL Server

Pricing

    Amazon RDS Support Options

     Free VersionPaid Version
    Email
    Forum/Community
    FAQ/Knowledgebase
    Social Media
    Video Tutorials / Webinar
    Phone

    Amazon RDS Availability

    Geography:NAMER, APAC, LATAM, EMEA
    Supported Languages: English, French, Korean, Chinese, Japanese