Amazon RDS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
101 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 37)

Michael Jenkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 12, 2020

Your DBA will be glad that you're using RDS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon RDS is our default solution for running databases in the cloud. RDS provides the data layer for our web applications that require data persistence. RDS is widely used by application development teams throughout the company. RDS allows us to rapidly deploy databases, operate them in a manner that is generally hands off, and with extended features like Amazon Aurora, take advantage of capabilities like automatic backups, multi-AZ read replicas, and simple failovers.
Read Michael Jenkins's full review
Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

A to Z, EZ PZ to use and as flexible as the Amazon marketplace.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon Relational Database Service is used for spinning up test scenarios or alpha test of products. In addition, it's utilized for creating environments that may or may not be used in the long term. Excellent product for its flexibility, and lack of need for long term capital expenditures or commitments. Easy to utilize and purchase. It's a very friendly platform to use in agile environments, or in organizations that are in either an early startup mode, or rapid growth/expansion phase.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
Diego Turcios Lara | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

RDS is great for your company

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Instead of having our database servers in house, we decided to use the cloud for managing the servers. Our costs have come down with this and it's so easy to spin up a new database instance. Besides this, as we use several AWS technology we can control it with other services such as CloudWatch or Lambda.
Read Diego Turcios Lara's full review
Alok Patwal | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Truly fully-managed: Database made easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use AWS RDS to manage our MySQL and PostgreSQL databases without having to worry about issues like replication error, hardware failure or logs(general, slow, error) analysis. It is being used primarily by the database team but indirectly a lot of teams use RDS. Since RDS manages a lot of tasks for us, it frees us to focus on the business side of things.
Read Alok Patwal's full review
Matthew King | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

RDS lives up to the ability for fast, secure, and configurable databases

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

RDS is being used in a ton of different ways, however it shines best for use in conjunction with Elasticsearch and providing the endpoint a writable position that we don't have to manage. Being multizone it allows for it to always be up and working; also since backups are automatic, it takes off that overhead of our engineering team.
Read Matthew King's full review
Erlon Sousa Pinheiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

AWS RDS - Let a huge part of database complexity to be handled by AWS at a fair price.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At my current organization, we are using Amazon Relational Databases as our first option databases, supporting our DevOps environment. Currently, our monitoring system (based on Zabbix) and our configuration management system (based on Puppet) are using it as the main database. In our team, all databases are being based on AWS RDS PostgreSQL so far.
Read Erlon Sousa Pinheiro's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 31, 2019

Mobile Gaming Developers Sing ARDS Praises

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used the Amazon Relational Database Service on behalf of a customer that was creating a mobile game that had elements of e-commerce. We needed something that was scalable, easy to implement, only charged us for the resources that we used, and had excellent customer service as this was a new project for our agency. ARDS checked every box.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Great value for any sized team

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon Web Services Relational Database Service (RDS) is being used as our production data store running MySQL. We use it to store user information, click information, billing information. Additionally, we have a separate instance running PostgreSQL and storing some of our proprietary objects used to emit streams for our core business model.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2019

AWS RDS review for Engineers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use AWS RDS service for multiple applications as a backend for MySQL Databases. It helped us in updating MySQL versions, backups, and snapshots. We don't have to spend time managing and maintaining infrastructure, and we spent the most time on business. We can choose or readjust capacity based on demands and also automatic backups stored on S3 bucket.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2019

Amazon Relational Database Service Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon Relational Database Service is used to host databases accessed by web applications that are on servers hosted within AWS EC2. There is also a database hosted in RDS used by end-user desktop applications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2019

My experience with Amazon RDS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Amazon RDS across our organization to provide website data and data for applications used internally. It allows us to have fully managed MySQL and PostgreSQL instances at our disposal without the headache of maintaining backups and doing minor upgrades manually or setting up redundancy.
Read this authenticated review
Bob Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 01, 2019

Amazon Relational Database Service stays up at night, so I don't have to...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization runs lean, and as a small business that means that each employee wears multiple hats. With Amazon Relational Database Service we are able to deploy, backup, migrate, and manage a vast array of database servers without the need for a full-time Database Administrator. Amazon makes things like failover and backups so easy, my 89-year-old grandmother could do it.
Read Bob Smith's full review
Dylan Cauwels | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2019

RDS: a growing solution for your everyday database needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon RDS is a great service for managing all of your relational database services in a simple manner. In our shift to data analytics and a cloud infrastructure for our applications, RDS was invaluable in providing consistent backend support for all of our applications, both small and large. Its ability to quickly hook up to any existing AWS infrastructure and replicate itself across multiple AZs meant that we could quickly adjust the availability and cost efficiency of an application's database as it scaled.
Read Dylan Cauwels's full review
Dhruba Jyoti Nag | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

RDS, a light weight RDBMS for microservices

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, Amazon RDS is used as a data store for all the micro-services in my organization. It is particularly suitable because, in a very loosely coupled micro-services landscape, none of the services need a complex table structure and limited data redundancy is tolerated. Hence, a medium instance of RDS is more than capable of servicing our production-grade micro-services without the maintenance cost of an on-premise RDBMS.
Read Dhruba Jyoti Nag's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2019

Amazon RDS -- Good cloud-based database service

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using AWS RDS with MySQL for internal as well as production level since 2014. Amazon RDS is the best option to host relational databases. We are using AWS RDS to support our web service and website solution for the client, which exceeds 1+ million hits over a month.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2019

A Solid Choice for RDS Hosting

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon Relational Database Service is used by our Development team to centrally host data that our customers create using our application. Our customers are all within North America. Our application can use either MySQL or Amazon's Aurora, interchangeably. Amazon's RDS tools allowed us to quickly move from a distributed application with local databases on each customer's PC, to a SaaS model with multi-tenancy.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2019

RDS - More bang for your buck

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon RDS is our core database platform. It is used for both development and production loads, throughout the company. RDS provides us with a full-featured database without the cost of managing the server or installation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2019

Shaik Review on Amazon Relational Database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We started recently using Amazon Relational Database service in our company. We are exploring the usage and trying to utilize it at the maximum level. Still we are in the learning phase. Presently we are using Amazon Relational Database service in building reports, Analyzing the data in different ways. As I said earlier still we are in the learning phase as of now we are in good shape.
Read this authenticated review
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Amazon RDS - Quick and Easy Way to Get Set up With Enterprise Database Architecture and Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My organization uses Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) to manage all of its Databases. The nice thing about RDS is you don't need to have a traditional Database Administrator on staff. Creating an instance of any of the many Database offerings (MySQL, Postgres, etc.) is as easy as a push of a button, and all the complexities around managing your data become very simple.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
Kyle Reichelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2019

A great, scalable, transactional engine

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My organization has, since the beginning, utilized RDS as our transactional, day-to-day database, at first staging all incoming data in a PostgreSQL. Although it has performed so well that it now handles all of our data warehousing and has handled our heaviest queries with enviable aplomb. We had initially staged data in RDS for migration into Redshift, but have determined that running well-optimized queries on our particular volume of data--certainly not the petabytes that would justify Redshift--our PostrgreSQL database on RDS is actually more performant.
Read Kyle Reichelt's full review
Arjun Komath | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2018

A developer's take on AWS RDS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon RDS is one of the primary data stores for all applications in our organisation. We also use AWS DynamoDB, Elastic Search, Redis etc apart from RDS. We preferred RDS over other DBaaS because it's a part of AWS which is highly reliable and scalable, and it is a completely managed solution which is simple, easy to use and also offers advanced features required by DevOps team.
Read Arjun Komath's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

Amazon Relational Database Service takes the stress out of Databases

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Amazon Relational Database Service to provide various managed database clusters, enabling us to have our data replicated to multiple availability zones, in addition to nightly backups, and managed updates without downtime. Since Amazon Relational Database Service supports MySQL and MariaDB, we are able to use RDS without changes to our platform, removing vendor lock-in.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2018

RDS to the rescue. Let You're DBAs be DBAs, rather than Server Administrators

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company has a cloud-first and AWS first strategy that includes creating and moving databases to the public cloud. We started this journey seriously about 2 years ago and have decided to use RDS services as often as possible, instead of using EC2 instances for our database environments. While our footprint in the public cloud is still a small part of our overall compute, we are finding that RDS is meeting our database needs are we are migrating and creating new ones. RDS is not only solving issues for the operations of our business, we are also using RDS as part of our overall data lake strategy.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automatic software patching (2)
10.0
Database scalability (2)
10.0
Automated backups (2)
10.0
Database security provisions (1)
10
Monitoring and metrics (2)
7.0
Automatic host deployment (1)
10

About Amazon RDS

Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) allows users to set up, operate, and scale a database in the cloud. The vendor states it provides cost-efficient and resizable capacity while automating time-consuming administration tasks such as hardware provisioning, setup, patching, and backups. This frees users to focus on applications so they can give them the fast performance, high availability, security, and compatibility they need.

Amazon RDS is available on several database instance types - optimized for memory, performance or I/O - and provides you with six familiar database engines to choose from including Amazon Aurora, MySQL, PostgreSQL, MariaDB, Oracle Database, and SQL Server.

Amazon RDS Screenshots

Amazon RDS Videos (2)

Amazon RDS Supported Products

Microsoft SQL Server, Oracle Database, AWS Lambda, MariaDB, MySQL, PostgreSQL, Amazon Aurora, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS)

Amazon RDS Competitors

Oracle Database, Google Cloud SQL, Microsft SQL Server

Pricing

    Amazon RDS Support Options

     Free VersionPaid Version
    Email
    Forum/Community
    FAQ/Knowledgebase
    Social Media
    Video Tutorials / Webinar
    Phone

    Amazon RDS Availability

    Geography:NAMER, APAC, LATAM, EMEA
    Supported Languages: English, French, Korean, Chinese, Japanese