Amazon Route 53 Reviews

24 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Matthew Lauber | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2020

Amazon Route 53: Simple Powerful DNS at Your Fingertips

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Route 53 for managing client and company domains for a site-hosting provider in the Human Resources market. We host a variety of sites for clients and use Route 53 to manage DNS records for the sites we're hosting. We also use it to manage our internal services hosted on AWS.
  • Simple
  • Industry Leader
  • Integrates well with AWS ecosystem
  • Rate limits are low
  • UI doesn't scale well to large numbers of hosted zones.
  • Hard to transition from
So, my recommendation for Amazon Route 53 is actually very different depending on the use case. If you're looking for a tool to handle hundreds of domains/records, then it's a wonderful tool, probably a 9 out of 10, especially if you're doing static routes. However, if you're updating routes often, or hosting lots of domains, the rate limits can be extremely limiting.
Read Matthew Lauber's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2020

The no-nonsense DNS solution from AWS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon's Route 53 service for DNS management of all the domains we own. Route 53 offers us the ability to seamlessly configure DNS to services that are part of the AWS ecosystem. We also use Route 53 to track the uptime of our server resources and route traffic based on its health.
  • Route 53 stands out from the other providers when it comes to resolution speed. One doesn't have to wait for hours for the DNS entries to get propagated across the web.
  • If your servers are located in AWS it's no brainer to have the DNS entries managed through Route 53.
  • Route 53 offers a good UI and supports various DNS types.
  • The UI is slightly confusing and it gets little used to.
  • Otherwise, I haven't seen anything in particular that is sub-optimal.
With Amazon Route 53, one can create and manage public DNS records. Using the easy to use and simple web interface it lets you get started in minutes. One can provide controlled access to the hosted zone by using the AWS IAM service. IAM can be used to control who in the team can create and make changes to your DNS records.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2020

Route 53: DNS management for Developers. The best default choice for DNS, most especially if you're already using other AWS services, but even if not.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Route53 as much as we can to manage DNS. Even in cases where we have other DNS providers, like CloudFlare, we still often connect with or touch on Route53 in our application flows.

In particular, our serverless applications and AWS-based microservices are all wired up such that they, in some way, are touched by Route 53.
  • It's a top-notch DNS provider. Easy to use, basically free, and always online.
  • Probably one of the easiest AWS services to use and configure.
  • Particularly good at connecting DNS information with the rest of the AWS ecosystem, especially CloudFront.
  • It could provide more push-button abilities for caching and cache control, much in the way that CloudFlare does.
  • It could integrate more strongly with DNS marketplaces for purchasing and sale of domains.
If you need to manage DNS (as opposed to using some other service that wires it up for you), it's the best service to reach for. Nobody else is cheaper or more stable, it's completely fully featured, and it's accessible via APIs if you need that. The only reason I'd avoid Route53 is if I already have a DNS provider that I've consolidated my domains in, or if my organization is unable to use AWS.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2020

Amazon Route 53: A DNS database, fast

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Route 53 means the automation of a lot of stuff we did manually before. It's used by our Infrastructure team and some other small teams when in development. The business problems that it solves were related to speed in new deployments of entries, change entries, set up new domains, and being faster than before.
  • Web interface
  • The many options to set up new entries
  • Fast, really fast
  • No more editing files
  • Add not only domain zones but domain names
  • The new interface--the old one was better.
  • The import process is very good but it could connect to the current DNS server if available and import too.
Amazon Route 53 is very good if your team is big or small. For a single person to manage it, if you know what are you doing, you'll notice that it is faster than BIND to manage, for example, no need to add a serial number, and edit entries are also very fast. The only scenario where I think it's less appropriate is when you don't want to spend money dealing with DNS. But, even in that, the price of a single machine is not cheaper than to set up an AWS account and a new DNS zone.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2020

AWS & AWS Route 53, It's a good combination. X & AWS Route 53, you might found other solutions.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Route 53 is being used at our company as the default DNS service. This service is used both by the technical department for production and by the marketing team for the website.
  • DNS server - it just works. good availability and fast propagation.
  • Simple to use.
  • Designed to work with other AWS services.
  • If you already use AWS, you have both your server/services and DNS in one place.
  • Price, it is not expensive ... but you can find some cheaper and even free DNS solutions.
  • If you use non-AWS infrastructure, Route 53 doesn't have significant advantages on other services.
  • AWS Route 53 does not support forwarding or conditional forwarding options for domains used on an on-premise network.
AWS Route 53 is well suited for standard use (if you already use AWS) and for use with AWS services. Its Geo DNS (routing users to an endpoint, depending on detected user geography) works fine as well - can be used if you have users worldwide.

However, AWS Route 53 does not support forwarding or conditional forwarding options for domains used on an on-premise network.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2020

Powerful DNS Management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Route 53 is quite powerful and more flexible than the managed DNS our registrar provides. It allows us to easily smooth over the many domain transfers we have to do as part of web hosting by allowing easy, longer term off-site DNS servers. We also use it with our own web servers, and Route 53 provides a lot of great features for load balancing.
  • Host DNS for domains outside our registrar.
  • Integrate with other AWS services.
  • Constantly improve on basic quality of life for people like me who manage DNS.
  • The advanced controls for editing a zone file can get a little verbose, especially when you just want to do something simple like set up a new TXT record.
  • They need to make it easier to do common tasks like setting up a DKIM record, especially given their length.
  • Some of the drop down boxes need to be set with better defaults when setting up a new zone file to make it quicker.
If you need to constantly take control of domains and transfer them into your registrar, using Route 53 will help, especially if you're already using other parts of AWS. If you need advanced controls for a lot of dynamic records, Route 53 has you covered. If you just want to have a simple website with maybe some email, you don't need it!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2020

No-brainer DNS servers for the AWS Ecosystem, easy to use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As part of our Cloud migration to AWS we have started using Route 53. Being able to programmaticaly build all aspects of the deployment in general and for route 53 in particular is a life saver. Being part of the same ecosystem make deploying so much easier... As we move all on-prem to AWS, and DNS is essential, Route 53 we need to rely on R53 and it delivers.
  • Plain DNS.
  • Easy to programmatically administer.
  • There are a few limitations which we encountered but hope will be resolved soon.
  • Not R53 speficic, but naming conventions are essential.
Being in the AWS ecosystem, using Route 53 is more or less a given. There are other options out there but none are as integrated into the ecosystem as Route 53. Especially for your internal name resolving there realistically is no other viable alternative. For external name resolving there are other options out there with more options, but do you really need them.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

Quick and easy DNS management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Route53 to manage all of our internal DNS entries within our company. It has allowed us to map URLs to many different IP addresses and is easier to keep track of what address points go to which server.
  • New DNS entries work almost instantly and they're very easy to setup. It's very user-friendly.
  • None that we've seen. It just works well.
Route53 is great with setting DNS entries, no matter what type they are.
Read this authenticated review
Kevin Van Heusen | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 05, 2019

Highly available, solid solution for DNS management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Route 53 provides a nice centralized location for managing our domains. It makes it easy to assign DNS records to various AWS instances, elastic load balancers or aliases to other servers not located inside AWS infrastructure. Route 53 has had great availability and ensured our DNS setup is relatively painless and not needing concern.
  • Easy setup of various DNS records, TXT, SPF, and any other type needed.
  • Facilitates creating aliases between DNS records and AWS resources (Elastic load balancer, AWS instance, etc).
  • Bulletproof and highly available, rare to run into issues with DNS lookup.
  • Would be nice if Amazon provided some troubleshooting capabilities or for a given domain run through some checks (MX record setup, etc).
  • Some of the UI could be improved when setting values for things like TXT records which aren't well described in the Route 53 interface.
  • Would be helpful to have an alternate view of Hosted zones and the records within. Sorting by recordset type helps but with many records for a given zone you can get lost.
Route 53 is the best DNS solution for those hosted in Amazon Web Services (you can easily set aliases to AWS resources): S3 Buckets, Elastic Load Balancers, etc. Any organization with multiple domains or a single domain hosted in AWS is a good fit. If you aren't hosted in AWS, it may offer fewer advantages and you may want to go with your hosting provider depending on who they are.
Read Kevin Van Heusen's full review
Dylan Cauwels | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 05, 2019

Route53: the AWS-only, all-in-one DNS service

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Route53 is an easily accessible and simple DNS service that's integrated with AWS. We use Route53 for any web applications that we deploy and I have used Route53 for all of my personal projects that need DNS routing. While it does lack some control when routing traffic to resources outside of AWS, it solves any tangible need for AWS-hosted applications.
  • Route53's UI is quite simple and can be understood and manipulated within minutes of introduction.
  • Route53 is globally scalable and customizable, allowing you to set intuitive fail overs and routing based on latency, location, random, or set policies.
  • With AWS-hosted infrastructure, Route53 allows for a special set of alias records with extended privileges to simplify your DNS solution.
  • With non-AWS infrastructure, you're limited to simple DNS records and a restricted set of features compare to AWS deployments.
  • Route53 does cost more than competitors such as Namecheap or GoDaddy, making it a poor choice if used with infrastructure not hosted on AWS.
Great when used with AWS infrastructure. It gives you additional features and permissions that you do not get when you use Route53 with outside applications. This is the end-all be-all for using Route53, as all of its pros are lost when you migrate your resources outside of AWS and have to use its handicapped capabilities.
Read Dylan Cauwels's full review
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2019

Route 53: DNS for a Cloud World

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Route 53 is used as the primary DNS registrar and provider for the organization. It allows users from many different departments to effectively register new domains and manage DNS entries. The ability to Terraform DNS entries within AWS is also critical for the workflow, as it allows the organization to manage infrastructure as code, including DNS.
  • High availability and global scaling.
  • Rich feature set.
  • Ability to manage infrastructure as code.
  • Account based limits that often have to be reached while scaling, and is hard to proactively anticipate.
  • Limited health checking and monitoring capabilities.
  • Higher cost compared to some other providers.
AWS Route 53 is great for cases where an organization is already using AWS and wants to consolidate services into a single provider with programmatic access. The ability to automate, script, and manage infrastructure as code within Amazon Route 53 creates great opportunities for a CI/CD pipeline for the complicated microservice infrastructures that are frequently deployed today.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2019

Reduce costs and management overhead with Route 53

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DNS is a core piece of any internet backbone. Route 53 provides distributed and resilient DNS services with little effort. Moving to Route 53 is as simple as either updating your domain's name server records, or to move the domain to AWS. Route 53 provides a simple and inexpensive mechanism for managing and serving DNS traffic.
  • Distributed servers around the world. AWS handles this automatically, distributing DNS records to geographically diverse locations.
  • Simple, intuitive interface. Route 53 provides a web-based portal for viewing and modifying DNS records.
  • API services. Route 53 provides a robust API for accessing and manipulating DNS entries.
  • Integration with other AWS services. If you're using other AWS services, Route 53 integrates directly, allowing for aliases and load balancing.
  • Bulk entry of DNS records via the web interface can be difficult. Records are required to be in BIND format and can only be imported into an empty zone. Once records exist, you can no longer import in bulk via the web interface.
DNS is almost always necessary, and Route 53 does this well. Even when not using other AWS services, Route 53 provides a reliable service worth investing in. The cost to run a Route 53 instance is minimal and the reduced overhead of not having to directly manage your DNS servers is worth the investment.
Read this authenticated review

About Amazon Route 53

Amazon Route 53 is a Cloud Domain Name System (DNS) offered by Amazon AWS as a reliable way to route visitors to web applications and other site traffic to locations within a company's infrastructure, which can be configured to monitor the health and performance of traffic and endpoints in the network.
Categories:  Managed DNS

Amazon Route 53 Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No