Amazon S3 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
256 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 64)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 19, 2021
Sam Othman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We mostly use this for archiving old data that is infrequently accessed. It has been a good low-cost solution to get away from using on-prem NAS or even further back external hard disks and even CDs. It has ticked a lot of boxes for us in the sense of keeping this data safe and secure without the potential of data loss through external methods.
Read Sam Othman's full review
April 15, 2021
Joshua Dickson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service) to persist large blobs of data that would be otherwise expensive or otherwise challening to store in one of our database systems. We use S3 primarily for areas of the business where it's important to easily store large pieces of data, such as images and large JSON data sets, or where it is important to share that data between multiple types of services.
Read Joshua Dickson's full review
May 11, 2021
Adam Lauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon S3 is the backbone of our data storage. We store 90% plus of all data in S3. It also serves as a backup and disaster recovery plan as we take other storage solutions and back them up to S3. It is also used for data flow and transfer from/to internal/external vendors.
Read Adam Lauer's full review
April 29, 2021
Abdullah Khawer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Amazon S3 for various purposes. We are using it to store backups, to store logs, to store audit trails, to store artefacts, to store website images and to store some other data required by the application. It is being used more like central storage that is economical to serve the purpose of data storage.
Read Abdullah Khawer's full review
April 20, 2021
Mohamed Atnane | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our department was looking for storage service that works smoothly and can make our task easily using for storage big amount of data. So we found that Amazon S3 is the suitable one. S3 is monetary and dependable distributed storage which I'm utilizing [regularly]. Presenting some more highlights like referenced in Cons above could make it exceptional and it would be a shared benefit over different items.
Read Mohamed Atnane's full review
April 14, 2021
James Hilton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Amazon S3 across the whole organization to store business material, marketing material, web assets, and customer generated content like images and certificates. It is very good value, very reliable, and very fast. Access via the console and the API let's us upload and download data from many locations. The cost is so good that we don't concern ourselves with any kind of limitation to how much data we create.
Read James Hilton's full review
April 13, 2021
Ramindu Deshapriya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service) is the quintessential large storage solution used by our organization alongside cloud applications. We use it for storing static files to serve through applications, storing application logs, storing large file, serving static websites through AWS CloudFront, storing machine learning models to be used by AWS Lambda functions, and many more use cases. Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service) is used across applications for many client solutions we have developed on AWS.
Read Ramindu Deshapriya's full review
April 13, 2021
Mark Nowowiejski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

S3 (AWS) is used by my department for storage of files that we are going to process in conjunction with other AWS products such as Transcribe, Translate and Polly. The Glacier feature is also an extremely cheap and durable place to store large video files that are infrequently accessed.
Read Mark Nowowiejski's full review
May 13, 2021
Anatoly Lubarsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am using Amazon S3 [(Simple Storage Service)] to store backups, to host static resources, to host sites.
It is a quick to implement, low maintenance solution for storage, backup and hosting.
Read Anatoly Lubarsky's full review
April 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In my organization, we use S3 for nearly every aspect of asset storage -- user files, user profiles, saved application states -- as well as for hosting our primary web frontends (static React.js applications). It's used by the whole organization, both extensively throughout engineering to host our software and assets, and additionally by our operations and other teams as a general purpose host for special content.

It solves the business problem of exposing any sort of asset to external users, as well as serves as a complete website hosting and deployment service stack for static websites.
Read this authenticated review
April 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At this moment it is used at the IT department level, down the road we would like to expand this usage, but we are trying to see how we can safely enable all AWS users with security and compliance in mind. At this moment it allows us to store some temporary data for different infrastructure deployments.
Read this authenticated review
April 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon S3 is heavily used in our company by the development department to store short and long terms files (audio, video, photos, etc) with different policies in the cloud. We trust AWS services, security and infrastructure. S3 is used in conjunction with many other AWS services. For example: with Lambda to perform operations when a file is uploaded, with Cloudwatch to save logs, with Cloudront to serve as CDN and cache, to store files for the web and mobile app, to store static content for the website, etc.
Read this authenticated review
April 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Everything that we need to store of data, without worry with size, or speed, we use Amazon S3. That's our safe alternative. From applications that use it to temporary keep files, to final destination of others, even to keep websites files, S3 is a great and safe alternative. It's the perfect companion to a lot of services, not only AWS.
Read this authenticated review
February 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

  • Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service) is used by the department of engineering to host several static websites. The apps are written mainly in Angular and Jekyll.
  • We host the websites in S3 buckets, distribute them through Cloudfront which provide a CDN and an SSL connection, and then set up the domain that will be used through DNS configuration at Cloudflare.
Read this authenticated review
February 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used S3 for storing data on the cloud so that the data is available for our customers constantly without any dependency. We also use S3 to host static websites. S3 has different classes for storage so data can be stored according to customers' needs and charges and are levied accordingly.
Read this authenticated review
September 06, 2019
Apurv Doshi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We mostly use S3 for storage of compliance documents, cloud formation scripts, heavy media files and other materials which need to preserve but used infrequently. We also host some of the static webpages which are just a navigator to the documents.
One of the other most prominent use which we do with S3 is to transfer large files. With strict IMA policies, we can make sure of proper access to these files. While we use other AWS services like EC2 to host machine for any computation purpose, we need to store interim results and final results. We store these results to S3 and kill the EC2 instance.
Also, we have scripts written for transferring S3 objects (not used for more than 2 years) to Glacier to minimize cost factor.
Read Apurv Doshi's full review
October 17, 2019
Frank Troglauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Amazon S3 to store files, long term, and short term, from our servers and to share files for various purposes: sending to clients, serving files over the internet on our sites, etc. It acts as our central location for files we serve over the internet.
Read Frank Troglauer's full review
September 12, 2019
Bryan McAnulty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a digital product design and development company. When we build a new web or mobile app, the service we choose to use for application and database hosting may vary, but for serving static assets like images and other file downloads, we are always using Amazon S3. S3 combined with Amazon Cloudfront lets us serve static assets to our users and customers without having to worry about performance.
Read Bryan McAnulty's full review
September 09, 2019
Evan Laird | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon S3 is used in our mobile applications inorder to have users upload images to the cloud and bring them back to their device. So when users upload an image, it gets sent to Amazon S3 and when an image is shown on the screen we are also pulling it from the same place lowering the load on our apps. It's used as storage for images only.
Read Evan Laird's full review
September 05, 2019
Jonathan Kempf, UXC | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use S3 as our primary storage solution. It is also being used as an intermediary between levels of micro-services. The primary storage in S3 is for heavy access, but we also put a CDN in front of it.
Read Jonathan Kempf, UXC's full review
August 27, 2019
Chris Barretto | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This product is being used across the whole organization as a scalable file store for a variety of different file types. It is highly accessible (distributed CDNs) and very easily integrated into our system.
Read Chris Barretto's full review
September 04, 2019
Willian Molinari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Amazon S3 is used to store all assets from our users. We store profile pictures, message attachments, and other user-related assets. We currently use Heroku to serve the application and it requires an external storage for these kinds of assets. We chose Amazon S3 because it's the most well known and trusted service for this.
Read Willian Molinari's full review
September 27, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use S3 for reliably and securely storing audios, medical transcriptions, application logs and pretty much everything else. S3 is our go-to cloud storage service as we are already invested in many other core AWS services like EC2, RDS and CloudWatch. We have been using S3 for around 10 years now, and so far, we have never had an issue with it.
Read this authenticated review

What is Amazon S3?

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) is a cloud-based object storage service from Amazon Web Services. It offers scalability, data availability, security, and performance. It provides great utility for storage management and monitoring, access management and security, data querying, and data transfer.

It is suitable for businesses or organizations of any size to store and protect any amount of data for a range of use cases, such as websites, mobile applications, backup and restore, archive, enterprise applications, IoT devices, and big data analytics. Amazon S3 provides management features for organizing data and configuring access controls to meet business, organizational, and compliance requirements.


Amazon S3 Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Amazon S3?

Amazon S3 is a cloud-based object storage service from Amazon Web Services. It's key features are storage management and monitoring, access management and security, data querying, and data transfer.

What is Amazon S3's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses Amazon S3?

The most common users of Amazon S3 are from Small Businesses and the Computer Software industry.