Amazon Web Services Reviews

473 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 51)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
July 17, 2020
Salwat Hamrah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Our tech team was comfortable with Amazon Web Services and that is why we started with Amazon Web Services. In the meantime, we searched for other services like Amazon Web Services but it seems that facilities like Elastic Bean and the first year free made us stick to Amazon Web Services.
Read Salwat Hamrah's full review
May 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The broad range of services offered by Amazon Web Services clearly makes it a better choice vs competitors like Google Cloud Platform. It also has a more global footprint due to availability across more regions and zones. However if cost effectiveness is the key parameter, Google's cloud offering takes the crown.
Read this authenticated review
January 15, 2020
Zakarieya Abderoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Besides Amazon Web Services, there is also Google Cloud and Microsoft Azure, etc. They all provide similar services that can be compared by running a free trial or demo. They may be running different technologies in the backend but their functionality is similar and costs may be slightly different. My preference for AWS is that I trust the brand, and they have been a leader in the cloud platform.
Read Zakarieya Abderoef's full review
September 16, 2019
Martha Batruny | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

If I talk about the product capabilities, I would say AWS is better than Microsoft Azure. It also provides excellent network and security services. Additionally, I would say the security and compliance of this product helps me to scale and innovate all
my databases, into one secure place, without any danger of errors or omissions.
Read Martha Batruny's full review
November 19, 2019
Devendra Parhate | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Using CI/CD and Cloudformation provides a better way to bring up infrastructure. Triggers like S3 file creation to automatically invoke lambda are missing in other cloud vendors. EMR service allows us to use Big data tools seamlessly. Amazon Web Services team support for debugging cluster related issues is excellent comparatively.


Read Devendra Parhate's full review
September 26, 2019
Tyler Cook | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I came from a VMware environment and had used VMware for the past 10 years. The work required to purchase hardware, sign contracts with VMware, install the hypervisor, buy a storage array, configure your network layer, create a VM template, clone the template to VM and configure the OS... It's just too much wasted time and effort to support.

I can create an AWS account and within 10 minutes I can start spinning up new servers and start working.

The time savings alone is what draws us to use AWS.
Read Tyler Cook's full review
September 11, 2019
Calvin Nystrom | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We didn't really evaluate any other services, but we have researched the capabilities of other vendors and have decided that the offering that AWS is far superior to any other vendors.
Read Calvin Nystrom's full review
February 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We evaluated Azure, Goggle Cloud, and Amazon Web Services during our cloud computing solution decision. We needed the storage and a pre-installed version of a commercial product. As we were not highly demanding in performance, all candidates were sufficient. However, we found AWS was the easiest to set up and the AWS Free Tier was the most economical. Till now, we are happy with our choice.
Read this authenticated review
January 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AWS provides a vast array of services and, compared to Microsoft Azure licensing costs, is a cheaper alternative.
Read this authenticated review
November 06, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

At a past company we used Azure; I feel like AWS is always mentioned favorably in compare/contrast conversations regarding Azure specifically, and when I started this new company a couple of years ago, we decided to go with AWS as it seemed to have a near-pristine track record.
Read this authenticated review
November 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AWS is as good as any of the major cloud providers. I see a complete parity in this marketplace as innovations by one tend to be replicated by the others in short order. If you are looking to compare, or pilot, cloud hosting providers you must try AWS as they are a very strong offering that should meet your needs.
Read this authenticated review
October 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

OCI and Google Compute Engine are a bit cheaper than AWS but AWS has better chargeback and more granular monitoring of various KPIs. But at the same time, AWS has a learning curve while GCE especially is much easier to use. Microsoft Azur has a much better partner and developer ecosystem than AWS.
Read this authenticated review
September 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected AWS because of the breadth of its cloud service options, its wide support of server environments, its infrastructure maturity and scale, and good support. We also found its cost to be competitive.
Read this authenticated review
August 12, 2019
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Amazon Web Services is the market leader for all cloud deployments. Though Microsoft Azure and Google Cloud Platform are making a strong showing trying to dethrone the champion, the large feature set, strong Infrastructure as Code (IaC) support and continuous product releases are currently keeping AWS at the top for the foreseeable future.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
July 17, 2019
Patrick Plaisance | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Since most of our clients are Office 365 users, Azure holds a lot of benefit in its integration possibilities. However, AWS is still less expensive and easier to manage in my experience. There will come a time though, that I'm sure we will move most clients to Azure. Google's products are just a mess in my opinion and I try to avoid using them as much as possible. However, I do have several clients who are very into the Google ecosystem so every now and then I find myself exploring their cloud services.
Read Patrick Plaisance's full review
July 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The maturity of AWS platform with integrations of large third-party vendors products through AWS marketplace and continuous launch of new services every year bring confidence to the users and also the ease of use and help from the large community when compared to other platform are the key primary reasons when deciding AWS.
Read this authenticated review
June 06, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AWS is more reliable and has more coverage worldwide in terms of servers. AWS is more expensive but for the service quality, enterprise companies can spend more.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have budget and data processing efficiency requirements for clients, and we deploy projects in a suitable cloud service based on said requirements. Amazon Web Services is suitable for some clients and not for others and that decision is made by an internal team.
Read this authenticated review
January 18, 2019
Nathan Sichilongo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Initially, we were with GoDaddy hosting but made a switch to a dedicated server with Bluehost. Our reasoning was that we would get more value from a dedicated server, however, as our SAAS grew we realized cloud computing was the way to go. We ended up choosing AWS over Digital Ocean even though the pricing is comparable. Our team felt that AWS was better and was the winner because of the ability to automatically scale our usage as needed.

There are many dedicated solutions if you are looking for a simple solution to host a service, however, if you are serious about growing your service and building something with customizable scalable specifications, AWS is the better option as it scales automatically based on your usage. Digital Ocean may also be a viable option depending on your development team size and recommendations.
Read Nathan Sichilongo's full review
December 07, 2018
Stella Gillham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We looked into other server hosts, but the cost was out of our budget. We were quoted a monthly fee of $500 to $750, plus an initial fee of over $1,000. AWS made the most financial sense as well as other reviews and recommendations.
Read Stella Gillham's full review
September 19, 2018
Jackie Bassett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We looked at Microsoft 365 Business because it's so popular. It's ease of use seemed attractive but it didn't have the agility or scalability we found in AWS. IBM Analytics Engine was far more complex than we needed and very expensive. AWS is an operations tool for us so the reporting we get for the quality of service we wanted, is perfect as is.
Read Jackie Bassett's full review
January 31, 2018
Michael Timms | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AWS is usually the most affordable between GC, AWS, and Azure. If I was using a Windows machines only environment, I would go with Azure and for any other setup I would go with Amazon Web Services. For the record, AWS has been around longer than the others too.
Read Michael Timms's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (42)
9.2
Dynamic scaling (43)
9.3
Elastic load balancing (39)
9.2
Pre-configured templates (37)
8.3
Monitoring tools (43)
8.5
Pre-defined machine images (38)
8.7
Operating system support (43)
8.8
Security controls (44)
9.1

What is Amazon Web Services?

Amazon Web Services (AWS) is a subsidiary of Amazon that provides on-demand cloud computing services. With over 165 services offered, AWS services can provide users with a comprehensive suite of infrastructure and computing building blocks and tools. According to Amazon, AWS is suitable for organizations of any size, and helps to efficiently power their infrastructure, become more agile, and lower costs. AWS is also known for its service coverage, with over 69 Availability Zones across the world, allowing for users to experience lower latency and prevent their data centers from failing, which is important for cloud computing services.

AWS product range covers, but is not necessarily limited to, the following categories:

  • Analytics

  • Application Integration

  • AR & VR

  • AWS Cost Management

  • Blockchain

  • Business Applications

  • Compute

  • Customer Engagement

  • Database

  • Developer Tools

  • End User Computing

  • Game Tech

  • Internet of Things

  • Machine Learning

  • Management & Governance

  • Media Services

  • Migration & Transfer

  • Mobile

  • Networking & Content Delivery

  • Robotics

  • Satellite

  • Security, Identity, & Compliance

  • Storage

Pricing varies greatly across their vast scope of products, but AWS does provide an “AWS Free Tier” offering of services. Depending on the product, users can use the product for free indefinitely, a year, or in shorter-term trials.


Amazon Web Services Integrations

Amazon Web Services Competitors

Amazon Web Services Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No