Amazon Web Services Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
507 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 66)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 14, 2021
Rahul Chhajed | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • many of our manual work has been shifted to lambda server.
  • Work related to sending user automated notifications and other things are deployed over AWS.
  • Having a managed database is reducing the cost for a specialised DBA.
Read Rahul Chhajed's full review
May 10, 2021
Tyler Cook | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We're able to adjust our compute spend by suspending\powering off systems during off hours
  • Our server up time is higher than it was on premise. Our users are able to work without intteruptions
  • Compared to an on premise datacenter the cost is roughly the same if not slightly higher.
Read Tyler Cook's full review
April 15, 2021
Kenny McGarrity | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • AWS has given our company access to inexpensive public cloud that is flexible and scalable.
  • We've AWS has given extra feature set with software products we already own.
Read Kenny McGarrity's full review
April 13, 2021
Panav Beri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Quick deployment of websites on the cloud has helped us achieve the client's expectations
  • Single cloud space to manage multiple websites
  • Reduction of time in setup and configurations
Read Panav Beri's full review
April 09, 2021
Gnanasekar Mani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Due to the elasticity of cloud, we can scale up or down without any upfront costs, and this have saved a lot for us. During COVID, we have scaled down our resources to 1/10th of the actual capacity, and this had positive savings and this can't be done if its not for cloud
  • Support cost if we have enterprise plan would cost us a fortune
  • ROI would be so high if we opt for reserved type of instances but the catch would be there is lock in period.
Read Gnanasekar Mani's full review
April 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Once you get going, we've found AWS quite straightforward and easy to use.
  • Cloudwatch alerting allows monitoring of systems 24/7.
  • Hassle-free OS updates.
Read this authenticated review
April 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Easy and secure
  • Upload Cost
  • Download Cost
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Saved us at least 25% in hosting costs./
  • Provided us with a very low cost and high uptime cloud deployment server.
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Helps to mitigate fixed cost, e.g. more on demand
  • Costs can spiral if you dont have safe guards in place
  • By requiring cloud native design we have saved many dev hours in the long run by putting these designs in place
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We are now operating more cost-effectively and with faster delivery in AWS compared to our data centers.
  • It's a tougher skillset to find people who are competent AWS engineers.
Read this authenticated review
July 17, 2020
Salwat Hamrah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Good uptime.
  • Easy to use new for a newbie.
  • At times, there is lot of downtime when push happens.
  • More facilities mean more money.
Read Salwat Hamrah's full review
January 15, 2020
Zakarieya Abderoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Infrastructure cost saving in short term. No huge capital outlay.
  • Secured platform. Peace of mind knowing data is secured.
Read Zakarieya Abderoef's full review
May 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has helped us deliver applications faster and to a much more global audience.
  • Elastic Load Balancer and Auto-Scaling Group has helped us manage the peak application usage hours, and help eliminate downtime.
  • It has helped us in monitoring our application more efficiently.
Read this authenticated review
January 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • ROI has been great since we have been able to reduce costs and improve reliability.
  • AWS has been able to fill all of our business objectives, since AWS provides a vast array of services at a reasonable cost.
Read this authenticated review
September 16, 2019
Martha Batruny | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It is a completely effective and efficient tool.
  • It provides a variety of workloads including data processing, game development, warehousing, and many more ways to save time and money.
  • This is so useful for testing and monitoring mobile applications.
Read Martha Batruny's full review
November 19, 2019
Devendra Parhate | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Able to spin up spot instances at a cheap rate resulting in cost reduction.
  • HIPAA compliance.
  • Security provided using IAM roles and policies with storage encryption, and KMS provides an easy mechanism to store data securely.
Read Devendra Parhate's full review
September 11, 2019
Calvin Nystrom | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • AWS has allowed us to properly budget our infrastructure and IT costs. This helps us plan our expenditures for future development and projects.
  • AWS has allowed us to leverage some of the newest technologies (FSx) to make our software offering one of the most dependable in the industry.
Read Calvin Nystrom's full review
August 12, 2019
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Easy to recruit engineers with AWS experience.
  • Decreased focus on equipment maintenance, more focus on development efforts.
  • Creates a strong issue around vendor lock-in when maximizing the use of products.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
July 18, 2019
Denzel Robinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have reduced our S3 operating costs by 70% migrating to S3-IA.
  • We save an average of 50% by bidding of spot instances and high capacity hours.
  • It has allowed us to automate a large amount of our workload.
Read Denzel Robinson's full review
July 17, 2019
Patrick Plaisance | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive: I have been saved by spinning up an emergency EC2 instance on more than a few occasions. Be it for disaster recovery, or just to set up a server for testing. For IT departments, having basically the entirety of Amazon's network infrastructure at your fingertips is invaluable.
  • Negative: I have definitely been burned by AWS cost overruns, usually due to the services being too useful/successful for their own good, introducing mission creep. Basically, if you set up a solution for a client using AWS, they are so pleased they want to expand what AWS is used for. You can explain costs estimates using Cost Explorer but either stakeholders don't pay attention or continue to tweak plans during implementation, then are surprised by AWS monthlies. Not entirely a dig on AWS, but pretty common in my experience.
  • Positive: Glacier usage eliminates the need for on-premise archive solutions and having staff physically move archive media offsite for DR purposes.
Read Patrick Plaisance's full review
July 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Enabling organization to be much more agile meeting immediate business needs.
  • Reduced overall costs of owning and maintaining IT infrastructure in-house.
  • More visibility and controls in IT expenditure.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (51)
9.3
Dynamic scaling (52)
9.4
Elastic load balancing (48)
9.2
Pre-configured templates (45)
8.0
Monitoring tools (52)
8.4
Pre-defined machine images (46)
8.7
Operating system support (51)
8.8
Security controls (53)
8.9

What is Amazon Web Services?

Amazon Web Services (AWS) is a subsidiary of Amazon that provides on-demand cloud computing services. With over 165 services offered, AWS services can provide users with a comprehensive suite of infrastructure and computing building blocks and tools. According to Amazon, AWS is suitable for organizations of any size, and helps to efficiently power their infrastructure, become more agile, and lower costs. AWS is also known for its service coverage, with over 69 Availability Zones across the world, allowing for users to experience lower latency and prevent their data centers from failing, which is important for cloud computing services.

AWS product range covers, but is not necessarily limited to, the following categories:

  • Analytics

  • Application Integration

  • AR & VR

  • AWS Cost Management

  • Blockchain

  • Business Applications

  • Compute

  • Customer Engagement

  • Database

  • Developer Tools

  • End User Computing

  • Game Tech

  • Internet of Things

  • Machine Learning

  • Management & Governance

  • Media Services

  • Migration & Transfer

  • Mobile

  • Networking & Content Delivery

  • Robotics

  • Satellite

  • Security, Identity, & Compliance

  • Storage

Pricing varies greatly across their vast scope of products, but AWS does provide an “AWS Free Tier” offering of services. Depending on the product, users can use the product for free indefinitely, a year, or in shorter-term trials.


Amazon Web Services Integrations

Amazon Web Services Competitors

Amazon Web Services Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Amazon Web Services?

Amazon Web Services (AWS) is a subsidiary of Amazon that provides on-demand cloud computing services. With over 165 services offered, AWS services can provide users with a comprehensive suite of infrastructure and computing building blocks and tools.

What is Amazon Web Services's best feature?

Reviewers rate Dynamic scaling highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Amazon Web Services?

The most common users of Amazon Web Services are from Small Businesses and the Computer Software industry.