Cassandra Reviews

79 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 07, 2021
Anson Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

6
Using open source. Will not use datastax commercial edition. Might be considering into moving into cockroachDB soon.
Read Anson Abraham's full review
March 16, 2019
Glen Kim | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
Overall, the product is a little hard to deal with when it comes to upgrading as there are always new versions released every quarter. Also, it’s backup and restore processes are still in their baby steps.
Read Glen Kim's full review
March 06, 2019
Dhruba Jyoti Nag | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
Cassandra has already been integrated into our environment. It has performed well and lived up to the requirements of the highly scalable application which the designers strived to achieve. It has performed admirably as a data store and a huge volume of transaction data is written to Cassandra per second. So it is quite natural to be renewed given its impact.
Read Dhruba Jyoti Nag's full review
October 30, 2017
yixiang Shan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
In our POC Cassandra satisfies all our needs and expectations. We would like to do an additional POC to test its cross-continent cluster level replication features, measuring the performance and data consistency level to help us finally decide how to move to production.
Read yixiang Shan's full review
September 27, 2017
Ravi Reddy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
It depends on the data model [whether it makes sense] to structure the data in de-normalized approach.
Read Ravi Reddy's full review
July 13, 2016
Abdel Kamel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
I would give Cassandra a higher rating only if managing a cluster becomes easier. Currently we need a team of at least 2-3 people to manage a 10+ node cluster. The cluster needs a lot of maintenance, cleaning up, monitoring and basically demands much attention. We would basically need a dedicated resource just for managing a Cassandra cluster. If more of these simple tasks get automated we can slim down a team to manage a cluster.
Read Abdel Kamel's full review
October 16, 2015
David Prinzing | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
I've used Cassandra for 4 years now, on 3 major projects (one of them truly web-scale), and I'm deeply satisfied. These days, it's my go-to database. That said, technology moves quickly, and it's good to keep abreast of new developments...
Read David Prinzing's full review
March 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
I would recommend Cassandra DB to those who know their use case very well, as well as know how they are going to store and retrieve data. If you need a guarantee in data storage and retrieval, and a DB that can be linearly grown by adding nodes across availability zones and regions, then this is the database you should choose.
Read this authenticated review
October 16, 2015
Kalpesh Gada | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
This rating is solely based on personal experience. Especially since a lot of companies are moving towards noSQL solution, it is worth it to give Cassandra a shot. A lot of open source developers are working hard to make it more efficient.
Read Kalpesh Gada's full review
June 07, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

7
I used it while I was doing my academic projects, since the project is over I am no longer using Cassandra currently.
Read this authenticated review
October 13, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
I think this question is only relevant to user using the enterprise version. We are using the open-source (community) version, so renewal is not really an issue. We are happy with Cassandra and it serves its original purpose.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (6)
7.5
Availability (6)
6.9
Concurrency (6)
7.2
Security (6)
7.3
Scalability (6)
5.7
Data model flexibility (5)
6.7
Deployment model flexibility (5)
7.0

What is Cassandra?

Cassandra is a no-SQL database from Apache.

Cassandra Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cassandra?

Cassandra is a no-SQL database from Apache.

What is Cassandra's best feature?

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 7.5.

Who uses Cassandra?

The most common users of Cassandra are from Enterprises and the Computer Software industry.