HBase Reviews

30 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 16, 2019
RAVI MISHRA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

While we have a variable schema with slightly different rows and when you are going for a key dependent access to our stored data, we prefer to use HBase. No requirement of relational features. If we do not need features like transaction, triggers, complex query, complex joins etc. then go for HBase.
Read RAVI MISHRA's full review
December 14, 2018
Bharadwaj (Brad) Chivukula | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Suited for storing bulk data in a tabular manner, I would recommend Hadoop HBase, but for a small amount of data, I personally would not suggest the use of this tool. We are moving from a traditional file system to a Hadoop file system, and to store the data in a tabular manner, we are using HBase. As the data is increasing day by day, the need to manage the same is also required, which is incorporated by Hadoop.

Read Bharadwaj (Brad) Chivukula's full review
December 13, 2018
Anson Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It does depend on the use case scenario. It works really well if your schema doesn't really need relational features. It's really good for that. If you want to run as transactional, not a good idea. Relational analytics is not good for this, as well as edge network data. If you're using PB of data, then HBASE is best suited in this case as well.
Read Anson Abraham's full review
April 19, 2018
Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Hbase is well suited for large organizations with millions of operations performing on tables, real-time lookup of records in a table, range queries, random reads and writes and online analytics operations.

Hbase cannot be replaced for traditional databases as it cannot support all the features, CPU and memory intensive. Observed increased latency when using with MapReduce job joins.
Read Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu's full review
April 06, 2018
Timothy Spann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

HBase is well suited for streaming ingest, fast lookups, massive datasets, data warehouse lookup tables, RDBMS replacement, MongoDB replacement, key-value store, data scans, logs, JSON storage and some binary storage.

My preferred use case is for storing data points like time series or data produced by sensors.

I often use HBase when I need data available immediately and I am not looking for transactions. This is a great store for really wide tables with tons of columns. It is also great if you are not sure what type of data you are going to have. It really excels at sparse data.
Read Timothy Spann's full review
April 04, 2017
Chen Jin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Not good for extremely low latency online application, in particular read heavy app.
Read Chen Jin's full review
November 24, 2015
Rekha Joshi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The key questions I ask when choosing NoSQL distributed database:

  • What is the application's inherent need? Does this component fit well in the design?
  • Does it provide high data security?
  • How does it assure there is no
    data loss?
  • How can I make sure it is a highly available system, and no downtime for customer?
  • Does it give me the best linear scalability?
  • What kind of tuning parameters does it allow the user to configure?
  • How does it stack up against other
    NoSQL
    variants on features, scalability, ease of use/contribute to and maturity of product?
  • What throughput can it attain under different kinds of workloads?
Read Rekha Joshi's full review
September 13, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

HBase typically fits well in low latency, tight SLA scenarios. It is not recommended to be used in situations where a relational database would fit better. So in essence, if you're trying to do a lot of analytical workloads or joins, HBase wouldn't fit so well. If primary key access is sufficient, then HBase is a good fit.
Read this authenticated review
June 20, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

HBase is a good choice if you're looking for a scaleable, strongly consistent data store that supports both OLTP and some OLAP as well.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (5)
7.1
Availability (5)
7.8
Concurrency (5)
7.0
Security (5)
7.8
Scalability (5)
8.5
Data model flexibility (5)
7.2
Deployment model flexibility (5)
8.3

What is HBase?

The Apache HBase project's goal is the hosting of very large tables -- billions of rows X millions of columns -- atop clusters of commodity hardware. Apache HBase is an open-source, distributed, versioned, non-relational database modeled after Google's Bigtable.

HBase Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No