JMeter

JMeter

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.8 out of 100
Apache JMeter

Overview

Recent Reviews

Flexible load testing

8 out of 10
July 28, 2021
We used JMeter for performance and load testing of our cloud service to verify that it worked well with many users before launch and also …
Continue reading

Performance Testing Using JMeter

8 out of 10
December 22, 2017
JMeter is the main preferred performance testing tool in my organization. It is the best tool to test the performance of an application at …
Continue reading

JMeter Review

6 out of 10
October 11, 2017
We used this product to do graphing and on the fly reporting. It allows us to pull data and graph it without laying it out carefully every …
Continue reading

Popular Features

View all 5 features

End to end performance management (21)

8.8
88%

Deployment model flexibility (20)

8.3
83%

Integrated performance data (21)

8.2
82%

Real time monitoring (20)

8.0
80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of JMeter, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is JMeter?

JMeter, from Apache, is a load and performance testing tool.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

33 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Tricentis NeoLoad?

Tricentis NeoLoad is a solution for continuous performance testing software to automate API and application load testing. It was developed by the French company Neotys and acquired by Tricentis, along with the company, in March 2021.

What is k6?

Stockholm based k6 offers their k6 load testing tool (formerly known as Load Impact) to simplify and automate load and performance testing for agile software development teams. Through integration with other automation and Continuous Integration tools, k6 states they enable performance testing…

Features Scorecard

Load Testing

8.1
81%

Product Details

What is JMeter?

JMeter, from Apache, is a load and performance testing tool.

JMeter Integrations

JMeter Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is JMeter?

JMeter, from Apache, is a load and performance testing tool.

What is JMeter's best feature?

Reviewers rate End to end performance management highest, with a score of 8.8.

Who uses JMeter?

The most common users of JMeter are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (133)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 38)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apache JMeter helps our team in areas like load testing and performance benchmarking of APIs across products and services. Every new feature that gets released is the first load tested using Apahe JMeter, by passing appropriate parameters to check if it can handle the list and stress easily. This helps to assert that the service can easily serve 'x' users in 'y' conditions. With teams focusing more on microservices and agile development, non-functional testing plays a vital role. Apache JMeter is an open-source tool written in pure Java, making it the most preferable option for us to test our services, both API and UI through its user interface as well as Non-GUI mode. This makes the SDET team perform testing and feature releases more confidently with optimum quality.
  • Report generation.
  • Multithreading
  • Log debugging and sampling.
  • Optimize CPU and Memory utilization.
  • Reporting visuals and metrics.
Best suited:
Any new service i.e. monolith or microservice must be load tested to check how it can scale at extreme load, this helps to be prepared early and stay ahead of the competition too.
Not suited:
Limited CPU and Memory resources are available.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jmeter is used for the load or performance testing of an application. It is used to identify the bottleneck in the performance and improve the user experience. We have used for newly created authenticated API, Identify management system, and database to store PII. It is worth the tool to create your project and scripts to benchmark the performance numbers for future releases and improvements. We have found many bottlenecks in the application which required to re-design the data flow with the help of Jmeter.
  • Performance Testing.
  • Load Testing.
  • Penetration Testing.
  • Scale the test and rerun existing scripts.
  • Project Creation.
  • Variable declaration.
  • Global Design UI.
  • End User scenario to execute like live users performing the action on the application.
Performance testing of API, UI, Back-end, Middle layer of an application which transforms the data and consumer application uses it to Scale your tests to any size. Run Your Existing JMeter Tests At Any Limit From Any Location. Continuous Load Testing. Services: Scale your load testing. For any new API, it is better to benchmark the performance numbers for future improvements.
Mahmoud Shaaban | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to assess websites' performance to find performance issues and in load and stress testing to assess the break point of our systems, it has been used with my department only and by all employees in all projects to find those problems and make our systems more reliable.
  • Performance testing
  • Load testing
  • Stress testing
  • Interface
  • Installation
  • Ease of use
Suited in measuring performance level of reliability in any software or application and to preform queries that assess those aspects of performance and also to preform stress and load testing to make those products of projects or apps more reliable and more able to endure more users and still preform well.
Amr Saad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization, JMeter is mainly used by the quality department to conduct all types of performance tests. The application is very powerful and has many features. The best part is the fact that it's for free. The Application helps us deliver software products that can withstand a huge load of users which results in better customer satisfaction. You can do stress testing, load testing on both Web UI Applications and API WevServices. Also, you can read the test data needed from external Excel CSV file which helps if you want diverse load tests.
  • Open Source and For Free
  • Supports all types of Performance Testing (Load Testing, Stress Testing, etc.)
  • Supports Web UI and API Services
  • Read Test Data from Excel File
  • User Interface and User Experience is very poor
  • No HTML Reports generated for the Performance Test Results
  • Almost impossible to edit recorded test scenarios and you need to Record the Test Scenario again
  • Need to have Programming skills because most probably you will need them in Complex Test Scenarios
JMeter is very well suited for conducting all kinds of performance testing on different kind of applications like Web User Interface and Web Services but it doesn't support desktop applications. Also, it is very easy to use it despite having a poor user interface. In conclusion, this is the go-to application if you want to conduct any kind of performance testing for free without any extra cost.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JMeter is used by both software developers and testers to check that the application functions correctly. It's used in 2 ways: check that the new version of the application functions as expected and also for load testing the application. After the tests are written once by a software developer they can be automated or easily run manually by a non-technical person.
  • Load testing. Easy to specify how heavy test is wanted & reports are simple to read.
  • Doesn't require lots of resources. Tests can be run with normal PC.
  • Can generate different kind of reports easily.
  • Test writing process requires a technical person and needs some learning.
  • UI elements are rather dated.
  • Tests recorded with recorder functionality need lots of manual editing to work reliably.
JMeter is designed to perform load tests against web applications and suits this purpose well. It is a completely free application and runs on multiple platforms without any hassle. It can also be used to check that the new version of the application functions correctly (regression testing), however, JMeter doesn't actually run the application in the browser but only checks for server responses. The benefit of this is that it requires a lot fewer resources & setup, the drawback is that more complex tests that require lots of UI interaction may not be possible.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used JMeter for performance and load testing of our cloud service to verify that it worked well with many users before launch and also to be able to calculate costs when scaling up the service for more users.
  • Easy load testing to verify system with load from many users
  • Very customizable through your own Java code
  • Possible to run from a console without any user interface
  • Make it easier to record traffic and use that as input during testing
It’s great for load testing when you want to apply a load but wants to be sure it’s not restricted by the client machine you run JMeter on. It can be a bit hard to use for people without Java skills.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apache Jmeter scripts are great for load testing. I like the parameterization strategy offered by JMeter because I can better reproduce real-life scenarios by introducing variables and randomizing my tests. Also, JMeter extensions are accessible in the open-source sector to extend current JMeter capabilities. I love this to do my performance testing.
  • User interface is not complex. Easy to understand and work flow is very simple.
  • It comes with many useful testing features.
  • It's very difficult to find any cons about this powerful tool. Actually it works perfectly for me.
  • While installation is very simple, some problems may occur if it is not installed by someone with experience.
Apache Jmeter is very useful for parameterizing tests and loading info, which means it has a great performance testing. JMeter will allow you to evaluate if you need to extend outside the existing hardware infrastructure. It can maximize the access to the CSV data by reading it correctly, as the I/O efficiency is overhead. It also offers a very simple user experience, many plug-in modules and a range of graphical maps and descriptive notes to the audience. You could even use the chrome BlazeMeter add-on to capture, retrieve, and create JMSX files in HTML Cookie Manager for an app-based check.
I have been using JMeter for the last year. By using this tool, you can make sure the system will work under varied loads. It helps us to simulate real time scenarios by creating required virtual users and make sure the application will work under load. Perform load, stress, and stability testing using JMeter.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most of our developers use JMeter for performance testing. It's a great tool where you can do all kinds of performance testing tests like Baseline test, smoke test, load test, and stress test. It is useful for test performance and scalability of REST APIs. It is used as an automation tool for API testing.
  • Automation tool which is best suited to do performance testing
  • Easy to use and setup. The software has community and documentation to solve questions.
  • Great tool for testing REST APIs
  • It should support more test cases running at the same time
  • Should be able to support multiple threads for different testing scenarios
  • The newer version doesn't have a start time and end time for the test
It is a very great tool for running load tests to check the performance and scalability of REST APIs. Its free for commercial use and well supported by the community. It needs to have a very good system that supports a high heap size. It has a lot of plugins and extensions which can improve performance testing.
Binoy Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JMeter is being used by our QA teams mainly for performance testing. We are into banking and finance domain. Hence, the performance of the bank transactions should be very rich. JMeter helps us to find bottlenecks around performance issues within our web apps and web services. JMeter also helps us to simulate different user loads in order to test web application under various load patterns.
  • Jmeter is an open source and highly customized tool for your needs. There are open source JMeter plugins also available in the market to extend JMeter existing functionality.
  • JMeter provides a very easy user interface and pluggable components, and different visual charts and summary report listeners. Also nowadays JMeter supports quite rich HTML reporting.
  • JMeter can be used for volume testing, load testing, availability testing. Also, it allows the master and slave concept. Hence you can create multiple load generators and controllers, and JMeter will give you combined execution status.
  • JMeter provides great documentation.
  • To get a summarized HTML report, the user needs to configure a lot of things. It should be done with a single click like other paid tools in the market.
  • Support to measure desktop based application performance.
It is well suited for the organization who is looking for an open source solution for their performance testing needs. JMeter is the best tool for performance testing, I don't see any limitations here, and hence it's never less appropriate for any organization.
Rene Enriquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JMeter is being used to run load tests against the web applications that we are working on.
  • It allows excluding css and js files from request whenever you want
  • The installation is quite simple
  • No programming knowledge is required
  • I'd like to have the chance to modify the scripts but since they are really big XML file that task is almost impossible
  • A friendly UI would be appreciated
It's useful to test web applications and verify that they are working as expected. It's not the best option if you want to work on the scripts to modify them because the scripts are huge.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JMeter is the main preferred performance testing tool in my organization. It is the best tool to test the performance of an application at the protocol level and also at the UI layer with various thread groups, listeners etc.. The BlazeMeter plugin for record and playback is also very helpful. Jmeter itself has a very neat UI. It being an open source tool makes it more and more attractive.
  • It has many inbuilt functionalities like cookie manager baked in so that you don't spend too much time in addressing those. It's UI is very neat and very easy to use. Record/Playback options to build tests.
  • You can easily add what thread groups, logic controllers, samplers, assertions, listeners etc.. for effective performance tests
  • As a bonus, you can use JMeter to test the functionality of web services/rest services as well meaning you can use ONE tool to test performance and functionality of your service layer
  • It's very easy to parameterize the tests and also load the data from excel which you would expect to do a lot in good performance testing.
  • With the samplers, you can integrate selenium with JMeter to develop effective tests at UI layer for free.
  • Even though it has very easy installation, you can run into issues easily. I was ab;e to trigger a test at browser level but couldn't stop the tests. I had to kill it from task manager and then had to reinstall from begining.
  • There are so many things in JMeter you can do especially with the sampler for selenium for UI tests. More documentation/webinars etc.. would help the community better.
  • The jmx files should have an easy way to be integrated with ci/cd tools and cloud.
If you are looking for Open source or even starting off with performance testing, JMeter is the tool for you. The more you use JMeter the more you will learn it's powerful capabilities. It's best suited for testing the API layer/protocol layer. You can also achieve UI layer performance testing with selenium samplers.It has powerful assertions and so you can use JMeter as functional test tool too at the service layer. Parameterization is very easy. Html cookie manager will help you immensely for a browser-based test. You can use a BlazeMeter plugin on chrome for record.playback and JMX file creation.Jmeter is not recommended when you want to test the performance of the application with complex scenarios in UI layer.
October 24, 2017

JMeter for load testing

Jaykumar Kalaria | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jmeter is used by the development team for testing the performance of web APIs.
  • It is very helpful while ensuring performance and stability of web applications
  • Good knowledge of programing provides great flexibility to do different things
  • You don't need to pay as Jmeter is an open source tool with support from web community
  • Recording of tests is very complex for a user with less programming skills.
Jmeter should be used for performance tests of web applications. Jmeter cannot be used for non-web applications. For functional testing and reporting, other tools like Selenium are of more help.
October 11, 2017

JMeter Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used this product to do graphing and on the fly reporting. It allows us to pull data and graph it without laying it out carefully every time and allows for quick information. We don't use it often but I have enjoyed being able to look at data in a graphic content.
  • Easy on the fly reporting
  • Graphics are easy to read
  • Can be adjusted easily
  • More user friendly for people not as familiar with coding
  • A GUI approach
  • More plain language for data
A situation where this would be well suited would be to view a large dataset and then slicing and dicing to see graphical representation of the data. It allows the user to process a lot of data and work through it without having an end goal in mind. It's a good way of on the fly info.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Jmeter has a good user interface, and this is one of its best strengths.
  • It supports most of testing like functional, automation and load.
  • It supports any open source language like Java, Javascript, BeanShell, Groovy. Any developer can use it.
  • It integrates with Selenium, Eclipse, Jenkins, TeamCity.
  • As it is opensource, there could be small bugs, so if developers are throughly checked, it will be best
  • One should understand of proper language, then it will be easy to use JMeter.
  • it is not like commerical tool. so it wont have advantages of them
Jmeter is open source tool. It helps in a lot of automating manual test cases. We are using it for functional, automation and load testing of our websites. It supports all protocols like REST, FTP, SOAP, web services, Java, BeanShell and others. it is very user-friendly. Any one can understand it easily, and it has a good UI so any manual tester can use it.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jmeter is used within our department for REST API Functional and non-functional test automation. It is fast and reliable and quite extensible, that's why we are using it. A single testing module can be made and very highly paramterized such that it would be executed many times with various parameters combinations. It is also easily integrated with Jenkins as a CI framework.
  • REST API Functional and Non-Functional Automated Testing.
  • Stress and Load Automated Testing.
  • Highly Parameterized Test Modules.
  • Excellent Integration with CI Frameworks such as Jenkins.
  • Documentation is not user-friendly, you may need quite an extensive amount of time to resolve an issue.
  • Post processing of page responses is not easy to understand and needs long time to learn, although quite powerful.
  • Time invested to on-board the application and understand its power, and be able to learn it, can be long.
Jmeter is perfectly suited for REST API Automation, specifically Performance Testing, Stress and Load Testing.
December 09, 2016

JMeter Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for performance testing of mobile or desktop applications to check the scalability, reliability, and responsiveness of the product in the market. It is used by the performance center of excellence department inside the performance engineering team of the company. It addresses response time issues and performance metrics of applications faced by the client product.
  • Open source tool
  • Database load testing
  • Handles the correlation effectively using regular expressions
  • Naming convention of transaction scenarios in the jmeter dashboard could be improved.
  • Think time and pause time could be explained effectively.
  • Increase the RAM usage from tool itself rather than going into the bit files and changing it for accommodating a higher number of users and machines.
  • Limited access to help
  • Improve GUI of tool
JMeter is well suited for Java applications where the user can script the scenario once and make changes to accommodate for as many numbers of users for load test execution. The image and selection of any files or exporting files scenario is handled well.

It is less appropriate to test Ajax applications where it is required to script click per use.
Alex Kreston | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used JMeter to execute performance tests on our web services. The main business purpose was to assure that changes did not affect web service performance.
  • JMeter allows direct interaction with services bypassing the UI which is a main pain point when testing backend systems.
  • JMeter has an easy to follow record/enhance/replay mechanism that help create powerful tests in very little time.
  • I like the parameterization approach in JMeter as I can better replicate real world scenarios by introducing parameters and randomisation into my tests
  • I would like to see a real executable of JMeter instead of using a JAR file. Some companies I worked for had very strict security policies that made it difficult to run JMeter remotely.
It is free and easy to use. It is very well suited for both functional and performance testing of web services. Very powerful test suites can be generated in little time and executions are easy to set up. Direct integration with Blazemeter is very helpful when you are ready to scale testing. Execution reports are also very informative and easy to process. JMeter is not the a good tool for testing that involves UI interactions.
May 11, 2016

Jmeter review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JMeter to test our platform application. It is used by the whole organization.
  • You can do customization for the script. I have to write a Java code for integration with two factor authentication. It is pretty straight forward with putting in customized Java code and libs.
  • It is more useful for power users instead regular users. Plugin can be easily added.
  • It is free and community supported.
  • Reporting and analytics
JMeter is more useful for power user or relatively apps for limited changes.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using JMeter for API testing. I designed a data-driven API testing framework with JMeter, which is very helpful for testing APIs as well as setting up some performance tests. I integrate JMeter with Jenkins. It helps our company a lot for performing and managing the API test. And it is easy to set up a performance test system. I have helped my company set up a lab with continuous load testing to measure the performance of our product, as well as setting up an automation performance testing system and shipped it to some of our customers.
  • Data-driven api testing framework.
  • Performance testing.
  • Easy Integrated with Jenkins.
  • When designing API testing with JMeter, the thread hold is very limited.
JMeter is well suited for load testing/performance testing/API testing.
Dinesh Kukreja | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are doing test cloud-based applications with Apache JMeter. This is used only by my team and not across the organization.
  • Extending functional JMeter scripts for reliability testing.
  • Using the Module Controller to modularize reusable fragments.
  • JMeter's capabilities as a testing tool for RESTful APIs.
  • I think JMeter hangs up on large loads. I have seen JMeter becoming unresponsive in the middle of a test. It is because of garbage collection in JMeter. We use best practices to mute all listeners, use non GUI mode, etc., but even with many best practices JMeter pauses in between load tests.
  • The reporting feature can be improved to provide better test results.
JMeter has great capabilities as a testing tool for RESTful APIs.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JMeter is used in our department as a performance testing tool. We use it to simulate multiple user systems and evaluate our product's performance.
  • Multiple thread group can simulate multiple user system
  • Setup thread, tear down thread, so we can create a scenario first, do the operation and tear down at the end
  • CSV file is very useful
  • I noticed that sometimes after you record staff in JMeter, the order is sometimes wrong.
How do you make recording steps efficient in JMeter?
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JMeter in our company to test load and performance of our web sites. Our scripts leverage the flexibility and ease of use of JMeter to test the different pages of our websites and generate dynamic content requests. We hired the services of BlazeMeter to leverage their infrastructure to run the test in different regions and different concurrent user configurations to our different regional pages.
  • Easy to use and parameterize.
  • Can be executed from command line, so it can be easily plugged in with continuous integration tools like Jenkins.
  • The script is contained in an xml file, so it's portable.
  • It's free.
  • UI is not very robust.
  • Poor graphics and reports.
  • Not very intuitive grouping of the tools, steps and plugins. Some are difficult to find, especially the first time you use it.
JMeter requires knowledge of web pages, urls, scripting, and medium level to experienced QA people. It works great for read only websites, that is, websites that don't require forms be be filled in or secure logins. Working with forms and security can be done, but it's not that straight forward. I wouldn't recommend this tool for junior or unexperienced people, or for someone that will need a step by step guide or wizard.
November 06, 2015

JMeter does it all

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JMeter is currently being utilized in our department for streaming and e-commerce applications. I use JMeter for functional, regression and performance testing. We heavily rely on this tool for every release we do to perform the above types of testing.
  • Performance testing and aggregating results in one place.
  • From functional testing of API's to regression and peformance tesing, the same tool can be used and tests can be leveraged.
  • Copy & pasting - I noticed bugs when I copy & paste tests under a thread group to others.
  • Some simple way of sharing variables from one thread group to other in same JMX.
For REST API testing, I highly recommend JMeter.
October 27, 2015

Review from QA :)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company we use JMeter for our regression tests, also for simple cases such as sign up, log in, etc. It helps us to save a lot of time for some testing cases that should be done every day, so we have created some tests and are running them daily. In our IT company this tool is used mostly by QA team.
Sometimes it helps us to find problems that we could miss. So I hope to work with JMeter as long as it is possible :)
Best Regards,
Narine.
  • Easy to use.
  • Fast.
  • As I'm not an expert, I can find almost everything I need to work with.
  • Possibility to revert wrongly deleted fields.
  • Copy/Paste functionality is working not for everything.
  • It would be better to improve design, it looks a little bit outdated.
It is perfect for simple cases (as I'm not an expert I haven't used it so deep). The best part that I love about JMeter is that you can add your defined variables, and then call them in all your requests. It really helps. The other part that I don't like so much is that after deleting something, you can't revert it. Sorry if I understand the question wrong.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JMeter for performance testing of web applications. Presently it is being used by the performance testing team. It is mostly used for analysis of page load response time.
  • Very quick development of testing scripts.
  • Relatively ease of analysis.
  • It would be good if we could have customized integration with HP Quality Center.
Nothing specific, but JMeter is very handy to quickly use for performance testing of applications that are being developed in agile development.