Apache OpenOffice Reviews

82 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 29, 2021
Fahad Khalil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Apache OpenOffice at our organization for easy working offline with documents, spreadsheets and slides without being bound to use any specific operating system because it is available for almost all popular operating system. It helps us to work with same files on any operating system like Windows, Linux, Android, etc. The collaboration tools are great and capable to meet all requirements of using office suite. It is available for free, simple to use, small in package size and comparatively lighter in its operation which definitely helps in keeping the system's resources free.
  • available for free
  • smaller package size
  • lighter and faster in operations
  • simple to use
  • available for many popular operating systems
  • variety of supported file formats
  • good collaboration tools
  • consumes lesser system resources
  • user interface gives a feel like an outdated office suite however it is actually not like that in its capabilities and functionalities
Apache OpenOffice is always recommended specially in organizations where multiple operating systems are in use or Linux is the common operating system. However, it is also good to prefer for Windows environment. It makes easier to keep working offline with documents, spreadsheets, and slides using same office suite in different operating systems. The suite gives a set of great and helpful collaboration tools to meet all our work requirements. It is available for free, simple to use, small in package size and comparatively lighter in its operation which definitely helps in keeping the system's resources free.
Read Fahad Khalil's full review
January 20, 2021
Aurangzaib Adil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm saving money on authorizing cost by utilizing free office suite by Apache with an opportunity to pick any working arrangement of my decision.
I have utilized it for quite a long time for all word handling and bookkeeping page requires, without reliance on buying Microsoft. It makes life significantly less muddled!
In general, my experience has been amazing.
  • OpenOffice is ideal to have as an application on your PC versus utilizing an online word archive application like Google Docs.
  • OpenOffice can deal with an assortment of document types like [.doc, .rtf, .xml] , making it a fundamental apparatus for the individuals who don't approach Microsoft Word.
  • OpenOffice is a more profound programming than Word and is more open. I know, openness for a record composing programming, I know. In any case, OpenOffice takes into account rapidly evolving edges, typeface, size, and so forth, and I think shows improvement over Word, and in a simpler arrangement.
  • OpenOffice can deal with bookkeeping pages, essential information bases, introductions, and fundamental drawings. It handles the entirety of the typical Microsoft Office instruments inside one application.
  • In my all through experience of utilizing Apache Open Office, I didn't encountered any issue aside from record design uphold for new Microsoft Office document designs like DOCx, XLSx and PPTx.
The best thing that OpenOffice does is as a rule free. The expense of Microsoft Office is high and more modest shops can't bear the cost of it.
As far as execution, I have seen OpenOffice run just as or far superior to Microsoft Office. It is cross-stage, one of the critical qualities of OpenOffice.
Read Aurangzaib Adil's full review
January 05, 2021
Waqar Ahmed | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Apache OpenOffice is being used by the Pharma Services division of Softronic Systems for creation/manipulation of documents, spreadsheets and presentations. It provides us freedom to choose any operating system of our choice like paid (Windows) and/or free (Linux). It is free. it helps us to save licensing cost which we were paying earlier for other similar software.
  • Supported on multiple operating systems.
  • All popular file formats are well supported.
  • Consume less disk space.
  • It's free and open source.
  • Latest file formats like docx, xlsx, and pptx are not yet supported.
  • Overall outlook is not much attractive.
  • MS Office files do not appear the same like they do originally.
Being advance user of Apache OpenOffice, I definitely recommend it to my friends and colleagues for creation and/or manipulation of documents, spreadsheets and presentations in their daily routine work. Another reason behind my recommendation are the cost, the application speed, small in size, lighter to run, supports popular file formats and it is available for Windows, Linux & other popular OS.
Read Waqar Ahmed's full review
December 28, 2020
Abdul Wahab Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Softronic Systems in their pharma services division, I along with my team are using Apache OpenOffice for our daily needs of composing documents, composing news articles, making spreadsheets, and preparing presentations. It is not being used by whole organization but the pharma services division is effectively using it. Previously we were paying to use Microsoft Office.
  • Supports a variety of formats
  • Open source and free
  • Small download package
  • Does not support the latest Microsoft Office formats
  • Layout doesn't appear exactly the same as in Microsoft Office
  • Theme of the application is not eye-catching
I strongly recommend for my friends and colleagues to use Apache OpenOffice for drafting their documents, making spreadsheets, and preparing presentations because it is free, it is lighter in terms of application size, it supports a variety of file formats, it is available on almost all kinds of device and operating system, like Android, Windows, Linux, and many others.
Read Abdul Wahab Khan's full review
December 16, 2020
Pulkit Agrawal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our University, we previously used Microsoft Office for all our documents work. Our students were also using the same software. But as a Technical institute, using open source softwares is a plus point. We recommend Apache OpenOffice as the default office suite software.
It helped us in reducing the subscription costs to 0.
  • Low size, Apache Open office weighs only 200MB with the full capabilities as that of a 2GB Microsoft office. This saves some space on your system and your internet bandwidth.
  • It's Free. That's one of the benefit of open source softwares, they don't cost anything. We can use it on as many systems as we want without any subscription.
  • It's cross platform, unlike Microsoft office which is only available on Microsoft Windows, OpenOffice is available on Windows as well as Linux which is used my most of the students pursuing a computer science degree.
  • The available file formats are a bit unconventional in OpenOffice. By default it saves the document in .odt format which may work with almost any other word processor but with a chance of formatting issues.
  • UI is not as polished as other mainstream products like Microsoft Office so a new user may need some time to get familiar to it.
  • No cloud save option available. For saving files online you have to save the document locally and upload it on you favourite cloud drive. And for accessing it on other device you have to download the file from your drive and open it. This is not a very long task tbh but it's still an extra step which may be considered as a minus point to a business user.
It is well suited if -
1. The user just bought a new device and needs an office suite for his basic office needs.
2. The user has a very limited or a slow speed internet.
3. The user is using a very low capacity storage device.

It is less appropriate if -
1. The user needs cloud backup.
2. The user has more business focused needs and wants multiple device support at once.
Read Pulkit Agrawal's full review
February 12, 2020
Riva Schwartz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Part of the work we do requires use of a MS Excel template. Since we use WordPerfect, we tried to open and use this form in QuattroPro, however, for some weird reason, it wouldn't convert properly. We do not use MS Office, so we needed an "MS-friendly" alternative. This fit the bill!
  • Converts .XLT files perfectly.
  • Easy to use.
  • There seem to be issues using this app in Windows 10. It worked fine when we used it on Windows 7, but after we upgraded the network with NEW Win 10 computers, it takes a very long time to process commands.
  • It will not allow any upgrades.
Well-suited: It converts XLT files flawlessly.

Not well-suited: It is not behaving well on Windows 10 - see previous comments - Processing time is very long. It freezes after many commands like "save."
Is there really support? There is a user forum but I do not see much developer input. Support options are limited. The most recent (Sept 2019) version of the product seems to have issues operating under Windows 10, yet there are few recent comments in the community forum, most comments are regarding older versions.
Read Riva Schwartz's full review
June 11, 2019
.Kim Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our web developers and account managers use OpenOffice to create and edit documents and presentations for our customers. The program is lightweight on our computers' resources and runs very smooth most of the time, with minimal technical glitches. It loads up fast and does not have many of the same challenges as the Microsoft Office suite. Although it's not as good for large complex documents, it is all we need for most documents most of the time.
  • Lightweight on our computer's resources
  • Loads and runs fast
  • Runs smoothly without technical errors
  • OpenOffice makes it very easy to create and edit documents fast
  • Not the best solution for larger or complex documents.
  • Doesn't integrate well with third-party software and applications.
  • Not as good as MS Office for document sharing and collaboration.
If you have no budget for office software OpenOffice might be all you need, it's fast lightweight and doesn't use a lot of your computer's resources. However, if your business thrives on complex presentations and documents that use Adobe and Microsoft it might not be as well suited. It is very easy to install and does not have a lot of technical glitches like Microsoft.
Read .Kim Murphy's full review
January 18, 2019
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Apache Open Office suite is seen in our organization as a replacement for Microsoft Office that will be used across all departments. Right now it is not, however, I have been evaluating it for a while now in order to present the replacement proposal to higher management. The biggest business problem that this will solve is reducing cost while addressing the needs covered currently by Microsoft Office.
  • The best thing that OpenOffice does is being free. The cost of Microsoft Office is high and smaller shops can't afford it.
  • OpenOffice has similar features with Microsoft Office and that is a lot, given that the Office team at Microsoft is huge and this product goes through all cycles of marketing, product planning&requirements, development, testing, rollout, and production maintenance.
  • In terms of performance, I have seen OpenOffice run as well as or even better than Microsoft Office.
  • It is cross-platform, one of the key strengths of OpenOffice.
  • Provides compatibility of the generated files with Microsoft Office - this will make the transition to OpenOffice for any company smoother.
  • The look & feel in general of OpenOffice is outdated and it doesn't match with the one from Microsoft.
  • The usability of the menus can use a little improvement; sometimes it is harder to find what you need in a reasonable time.
  • Some incompatibilities with .docx and macros in Excel .xlsx files are present. If you have complex macros and formulas in Excel files you may find it won't work in other tools.
Apache OpenOffice is one good alternative to Microsoft Office when it comes to working with text documents, spreadsheets and presentations offline. It provides most features that MSO has but all that will not cost you anything. In addition, it runs on all platforms not only on Windows.

However, for online collaboration and browser support, you should take a serious look at Google Docs.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
August 31, 2018
Nathan Bowman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OpenOffice in most of our divisions, typically as a translator/swiss army knife for opening almost any file type and being able to work in it. We're a consulting firm, so we get lots of documents from all of our various different clients, and not having to email them back and say "Hey, we can't use your files, can you send us something else" keeps us looking professional. It also lets us do some neat tricks that other document suites don't - like being able to directly edit .dbx files in calc - things that keep us ahead of the curve.
  • The number one strength of OpenOffice is the flexibility it gives. We can open any file type, save any file type - it's pretty much invincible. Even if we're going to work on this in a different program, just being able to open some of these ancient files that we get from local city governments is a huge win for us.
  • It's also administrator friendly - I'll use it a lot on the road because the licensing is so much easier to deal with than trying to check out a license from a server or make sure that everybody has internet connectivity.
  • It just looks pretty! It's legitimately a quality product, the layout looks good, it's not nearly as pushy as "other suites," and for the money it's the best!
  • I would like to see more inclusive design - things that make accessibility a priority. Some of our users are older or vision impaired, and being able to include them is important to us.
  • This is nit-picky, but I don't like how it opens the startup menu every time - like you open a program, and it opens the overall menu. So, for example, I want to work on a database file in calc, so I open up calc - the first thing it does is say "which of these programs would you like to work with?" I just opened Calc - that's what I want, why are you asking me if I want to edit a presentation?
  • For whatever reason, formatting can sometimes be a little wonky around pictures - I get that that's a thing, but man I wish someone would perfect the ability to drag and drop pictures without exploding everything else in the document, you know?
OpenOffice is the best for smaller offices, or offices that need flexibility and the ability to work with multiple file types. It's amazing when you're starting out and you can work without worrying about licensing, fees, or restrictive trial programs. It just works, and it works for free - which is pretty much the best case.
Read Nathan Bowman's full review
December 17, 2018
Chris Hecox | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use OpenOffice almost daily for general note taking and document formatting. OpenOffice is great for handling different document types and as a free alternative to a paid program like Microsoft Word.
  • OpenOffice is nice to have as an application on your computer vs. using an online word document application like Google Docs.
  • OpenOffice can handle a variety of file types (.doc, .rtf, .xml) , making it an essential tool for those who don't have access to Microsoft Word
  • OpenOffice is a deeper software than Word and is more accessible. I know, accessibility for a document typing software, I know. But, OpenOffice allows for quickly changing margins, typeface, size, etc, and I think does it better than Word, and in an easier format.
  • OpenOffice can handle spreadsheets, basic databases, presentations, and basic drawings. It handles all of the usual Microsoft Office tools within one application.
  • OpenOffice allows for user created third-party plugins so you have many options for pursuing very specific things within the program. This is great because OpenOffice is user-sourced, so there's plenty of new things to try for improving workflow.
  • Some people are legitimately not interested in using software outside of the Microsoft Office Suite or Google Drive, so this could be a hard sell for small-mid-sized businesses.
OpenOffice is excellent for quick use to accomplish the same tasks as competitors. It's useful for personal use as well as note-taking or presentations within the business setting.
Read Chris Hecox's full review
November 30, 2018
Kim Dammers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am the only person in our office who primarily uses Apache OpenOffice, although I have brought some others around to using it at least some of the time. This is especially true of the secretarial staff. As an office suite, it is used for general writing and calculating activities.
  • The program is free-ware. It can be quickly downloaded.
  • Correcting typos and finding errors in text are easy with this program.
  • OpenOffice documents can be saved in other formats such asthose from Microsoft and more basic ones.
  • Its interface is fairly straightforward and relatively easy to use.
  • For people used to Microsoft products, most of the basic functions are essentially the same.
  • It could break away from some of MS Word's structures.
  • It should have an (easy to find) option to set the line spacings at something other than the predetermined values without having to reset it every time the program is re-started or a new document is opened.
  • It re-saves documents at start-up without explaining why these need to be re-seaved or who to clear them.
Working offline on your own things with OpenOffice is great. Sending documents in OpenOffice format can be a problem since many organizations insist on MS formats. (But it is easy to convert OpenOffice format to an MS format.)
Read Kim Dammers's full review
March 09, 2018
Liz Wade | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a professional freelance photographer, so within my business, I handle all matters that require a word processor. I use OpenOffice, an open-source office productivity suite, to create any and all business-related documents: invoices, receipts, quotes, etc. I do not have the need to create more complicated documents or presentations, so I can move through the administrative part of my day with ease and no cost.

  • OpenOffice is free and fully functional. When I bought my first Macbook, I did not want to pay additionally for Microsoft Word or any other processing software. I found OpenOffice as a free alternative that met all of my needs.
  • It is easy for beginners to learn. Omitting some of the bells of whistles of Microsoft Word (for example), leaves it super user friendly but still powerful enough to get your work done.
  • Because it is open sourced, OpenOffice is well-policed software. Anyone can suggest improvements, propose bug fixes, read about future plans, and avoid the hype of commercial software.
  • Though not often, the software can occasionally act glitchy: it can lag a little bit or crash altogether, though this is rare in my experience.
  • The primary document format in OpenOffice is ODF, rather than DOC. I sometimes experience incompatibility when opening files from Microsoft DOC in OpenOffice, such as formatting errors.
  • OpenOffice does not have a built-in grammar check tool. This can be remedied by downloading an extension, but I'd like to see it built-in.
If you're looking for a free word processor and you do not need all the bells and whistles of Microsoft Office, then OpenOffice is the program for you. The software can sometimes be laggy and the design options are not quite at Microsoft level, but it is compatible with Microsoft Office file formats and there's only a small learning curve to it. If you're coming from Microsoft Office, you should be able to jump right into OpenOffice.
Read Liz Wade's full review
November 27, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OpenOffice is a great free alternative to Microsoft Office, used to create presentations for other employees, briefs, bulletins and to organize information.
  • It is free software!
  • The user interface is very simple to adapt to
  • It saves to Microsoft’s Office formats (like .docx)
  • I don’t have anything to critique OpenOffice for
OpenOffice is great for quick presentations and organization of information in the basic office setting. I do not recommend it for situations where more aesthetic is desired (such as a marketing campaign presentation) as templates are very basic.
Read this authenticated review
March 12, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been a user of OpenOffice off and on from when it was Star OfficeSuite; at the time it was the only Office Suite for Linux systems, and today is cross-platform and highly compatible and indeed equivalent with Microsoft Office.

While not being used across my current place of employment, in a previous career it was the sole office suite utilized by the business entity, selected because of its price and compatibility. With it I was able to send documents to other (larger) businesses who utilized current versions of Microsoft Office, and they were able to see the issued documents with high compatibility and no display issues.
  • Price: the version I used was free.
  • Compatibility: With exception of specific tabling in the word processor and macros in the spreadsheet tool, there was perfect compatibility.
  • System compatibility: I was able to access and use it with fairly old systems, and did not need a new or current PC to install and operate.
  • The system is fairly bloated. The amount of space the office suite takes up is increasingly larger and larger with each iteration.
  • Macro support is weak.
  • Greater XLSX and DOCX extension compatibility without required "conversions" would be good.
OOO is excellent for personal use or small businesses which cannot afford a Microsoft Office license. With it, you can expect high compatibility between MSO and other office suites, as well as an intuitive menu system that borrows many attributes from more widely-known office suites (particularly MS-Office).

It is a large installation, and leans heavily on JRE (Java Runtime Environment), which explains its high compatibility. Unfortunately that also means it is not optimized for the devices on which it runs, and you will find slower load/save/document conversion/export times compared to other office suites.

But the price wins. You can't compare it to others.
Read this authenticated review
February 13, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our university is a Microsoft partnered institute and all the department issued laptops and machines come preinstalled with Microsoft Office solutions. Since I prefer Linux Ubuntu OS, I started using Apache's OpenOffice suite. In my personal use, I found it to be an excellent alternative to Microsoft Office. In our IT department, we also experimented with OpenOffice API as part of a software tool we developed to handle document conversion process.
  • Apache Openoffice has some excellent features that made it an attractive tool for my personal use.
  • It is fully compatible with all the Microsoft document types and loads much faster on certain occasions. You can easily add on additional modules to customize the software further.
  • Being an open source community tool it is completely free of cost.
  • The Writer software, which is their equivalent of the Microsoft Word would often have problems importing tables and data from Excel or other spreadsheets and not render correctly.
  • One of the things that I have repeatedly had issues with was its presentation software, Impress. Presentations developed in that tool would sometimes not display correctly in projector mode and some graphics would not show at all.
Apache OpenOffice is an ideal software for all users who prefer using Linux machines and want a fast reliable alternative for the common Microsoft Office.

It is fully compliant with the Open Document format and has full feature support for proprietary Microsoft documents as well.
Read this authenticated review
January 31, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by persons that use the Linux environment and some Windows users that like that it is open source or just prefer it to Microsoft Office. It is also being used by those who take their work home on their personal devices and want the open source version, so as to not have to buy the Microsoft version.
  • It is a great alternative to the high cost of Microsoft Office.
  • It is not expensive to upgrade with every new release like Microsoft Office is.
  • It is works on multiple platforms. There are version for Windows, Linux, and Mac.
  • It does not have an email client. It needs an email client like Microsoft Office has in its Outlook application in Microsoft Office. For this I would suggest getting Mozilla's Open Source Thunderbird email client.
  • It does not have a calendar application. It needs an calendar application like Microsoft Office has built in to its Outlook application in Microsoft Office.
Openoffice is a great Office alternative to buying Microsoft Office. It has most of the same features, such as, features that you would expect in Microsoft Office only. But, those features are there in OpenOffice, too. Things that are in OpenOffice that people may not realize might be in there are: documents, presentations, spreadsheets, word processing, databases, and graphics. It even does things like tables, frames, style management, and even mail merge. It is, however, missing email and calendar applications. There is an open source email client out there that is really good, however, it's Mozilla Thunderbird.
Read this authenticated review

What is Apache OpenOffice?

Apache OpenOffice is a free open source office suite that includes six applications: Writer (word processor), Calc (spreadsheets), Impress (presentations), Draw (diagramming and graphics), Base (database), and Math (formulas).
Categories:  Diagramming,  Office Suites

Apache OpenOffice Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No