Apache OpenOffice Reviews

80 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 29, 2021
Fahad Khalil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • being available for free, no license required
  • consumes lesser system resources, even older machines are capable to run it
  • simpler and lighter, makes accomplishing things faster
  • makes easy to share work in team even if working on different operating systems
  • consumes lesser disk space, smaller package
Read Fahad Khalil's full review
January 20, 2021
Aurangzaib Adil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Moving to OpenOffice will save the organization the expense of Microsoft Office licenses in our organization.
  • You risk losing records since there isn't cloud saving. Follow general document reinforcement techniques to be protected.
  • OpenOffice has smoothed out representative venture association.
Read Aurangzaib Adil's full review
January 05, 2021
Waqar Ahmed | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • License cost saving.
  • Small in size.
  • Lighter to run.
  • Not bound to any specific operating system.
  • Less operating requirements.
Read Waqar Ahmed's full review
December 28, 2020
Abdul Wahab Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It saves me the cost of a license
  • It occupies comparatively less space\
  • It helps me work on any device running any operating system
  • It limits me when I need to edit DOCx, XLSx, and PPTx
Read Abdul Wahab Khan's full review
December 16, 2020
Pulkit Agrawal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our yearly subscription costs were cut down to zero which is quite a big deal considering there are more than 500 systems.
  • We had to give some time to the employees so that they can get familiar with the software and use it as a daily driver.
  • We saved some internet bandwidth and storage space using OpenOffice.
Read Pulkit Agrawal's full review
February 12, 2020
Riva Schwartz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We are able to use a required template, without purchasing dedicated software.
  • After spending quite a bit of money for new computers, we are disappointed to find that OpenOffice isn't really suitable for Windows 10 64-bit.
Read Riva Schwartz's full review
January 18, 2019
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Moving to OpenOffice will save the company the cost of 500+ of Microsoft Office licenses in our company.
  • Because it is cross-platform, we could also save 500+ of Microsoft Windows licenses if we move everyone to Linux.
  • On the negative side, the lack of online collaboration and browser support may be an issue when you use clouds like Box, Workboard etc.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
August 31, 2018
Nathan Bowman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Well, because it's free, it's by far one of the top performing pieces of software we use in terms of ROI. We save thousands by not having to get so many licenses for other software suites.
  • I don't know that there's much more I can add - it's completely free, and the competition charges scads more money - if you're talking about ROI, you can't get much better than dividing by zero!
Read Nathan Bowman's full review
December 17, 2018
Chris Hecox | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • OpenOffice is free, which means you are going to save money using it.
  • You run the risk of losing files since there is not cloud saving. Follow general file backup procedures to be safe.
  • OpenOffice can write to .doc files, so once you've finished working on something, you can send the file to Microsoft Word users without any issues. This means you don't need to worry about others using separate software. You can use this and be fine.
Read Chris Hecox's full review
March 09, 2018
Liz Wade | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • OpenOffice allows me to complete all the basic needs of the administration side of my small business.
  • Any document that I have ever needed to create, whether that is an invoice, a quote, a receipt, or even a resume, I can create easily in OpenOffice.
  • Without software like OpenOffice, I would not be able to operate my small business in a professional manner.
Read Liz Wade's full review
November 27, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • OpenOffice has streamlined employee project organization
  • It has made it easier and cheaper to communicate with clients in a professional manner
  • It has completely removed the cost for office software
Read this authenticated review
March 12, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The initial cost in terms of price and time value of setup was negligible: immediate benefits.
  • High compatibility means less troubleshooting and conversion is required, saving time.
  • Weak macro support means that occasionally you will be required to use another suite.
Read this authenticated review
February 13, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • In my personal use, Apache OpenOffice has been a very wise decision. It is completely free and a very stable product.
  • Our use of the OpenOffice API to handle document conversion process in a programmatic fashion was very successful as well.
Read this authenticated review
January 31, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • OpenOffice is an open source product. So, ROI is immediate.
  • It works across multiple platforms such as Windows, Mac, and Linux. So, the user can have the Open Office experience accross most all of their devices.
  • Some people do just like Microsoft Office and will not adopt anything different.
Read this authenticated review

What is Apache OpenOffice?

Apache OpenOffice is a free open source office suite that includes six applications: Writer (word processor), Calc (spreadsheets), Impress (presentations), Draw (diagramming and graphics), Base (database), and Math (formulas).
Categories:  Diagramming,  Office Suites

Apache OpenOffice Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No