Apache OpenOffice Reviews

80 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 29, 2021
Fahad Khalil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • available for free
  • smaller package size
  • lighter and faster in operations
  • simple to use
  • available for many popular operating systems
  • variety of supported file formats
  • good collaboration tools
  • consumes lesser system resources
  • user interface gives a feel like an outdated office suite however it is actually not like that in its capabilities and functionalities
Read Fahad Khalil's full review
January 20, 2021
Aurangzaib Adil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • OpenOffice is ideal to have as an application on your PC versus utilizing an online word archive application like Google Docs.
  • OpenOffice can deal with an assortment of document types like [.doc, .rtf, .xml] , making it a fundamental apparatus for the individuals who don't approach Microsoft Word.
  • OpenOffice is a more profound programming than Word and is more open. I know, openness for a record composing programming, I know. In any case, OpenOffice takes into account rapidly evolving edges, typeface, size, and so forth, and I think shows improvement over Word, and in a simpler arrangement.
  • OpenOffice can deal with bookkeeping pages, essential information bases, introductions, and fundamental drawings. It handles the entirety of the typical Microsoft Office instruments inside one application.
  • In my all through experience of utilizing Apache Open Office, I didn't encountered any issue aside from record design uphold for new Microsoft Office document designs like DOCx, XLSx and PPTx.
Read Aurangzaib Adil's full review
January 05, 2021
Waqar Ahmed | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Supported on multiple operating systems.
  • All popular file formats are well supported.
  • Consume less disk space.
  • It's free and open source.
  • Latest file formats like docx, xlsx, and pptx are not yet supported.
  • Overall outlook is not much attractive.
  • MS Office files do not appear the same like they do originally.
Read Waqar Ahmed's full review
December 28, 2020
Abdul Wahab Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Supports a variety of formats
  • Open source and free
  • Small download package
  • Does not support the latest Microsoft Office formats
  • Layout doesn't appear exactly the same as in Microsoft Office
  • Theme of the application is not eye-catching
Read Abdul Wahab Khan's full review
December 16, 2020
Pulkit Agrawal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Low size, Apache Open office weighs only 200MB with the full capabilities as that of a 2GB Microsoft office. This saves some space on your system and your internet bandwidth.
  • It's Free. That's one of the benefit of open source softwares, they don't cost anything. We can use it on as many systems as we want without any subscription.
  • It's cross platform, unlike Microsoft office which is only available on Microsoft Windows, OpenOffice is available on Windows as well as Linux which is used my most of the students pursuing a computer science degree.
  • The available file formats are a bit unconventional in OpenOffice. By default it saves the document in .odt format which may work with almost any other word processor but with a chance of formatting issues.
  • UI is not as polished as other mainstream products like Microsoft Office so a new user may need some time to get familiar to it.
  • No cloud save option available. For saving files online you have to save the document locally and upload it on you favourite cloud drive. And for accessing it on other device you have to download the file from your drive and open it. This is not a very long task tbh but it's still an extra step which may be considered as a minus point to a business user.
Read Pulkit Agrawal's full review
February 12, 2020
Riva Schwartz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Converts .XLT files perfectly.
  • Easy to use.
  • There seem to be issues using this app in Windows 10. It worked fine when we used it on Windows 7, but after we upgraded the network with NEW Win 10 computers, it takes a very long time to process commands.
  • It will not allow any upgrades.
Read Riva Schwartz's full review
June 11, 2019
.Kim Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lightweight on our computer's resources
  • Loads and runs fast
  • Runs smoothly without technical errors
  • OpenOffice makes it very easy to create and edit documents fast
  • Not the best solution for larger or complex documents.
  • Doesn't integrate well with third-party software and applications.
  • Not as good as MS Office for document sharing and collaboration.
Read .Kim Murphy's full review
January 18, 2019
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The best thing that OpenOffice does is being free. The cost of Microsoft Office is high and smaller shops can't afford it.
  • OpenOffice has similar features with Microsoft Office and that is a lot, given that the Office team at Microsoft is huge and this product goes through all cycles of marketing, product planning&requirements, development, testing, rollout, and production maintenance.
  • In terms of performance, I have seen OpenOffice run as well as or even better than Microsoft Office.
  • It is cross-platform, one of the key strengths of OpenOffice.
  • Provides compatibility of the generated files with Microsoft Office - this will make the transition to OpenOffice for any company smoother.
  • The look & feel in general of OpenOffice is outdated and it doesn't match with the one from Microsoft.
  • The usability of the menus can use a little improvement; sometimes it is harder to find what you need in a reasonable time.
  • Some incompatibilities with .docx and macros in Excel .xlsx files are present. If you have complex macros and formulas in Excel files you may find it won't work in other tools.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
August 31, 2018
Nathan Bowman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The number one strength of OpenOffice is the flexibility it gives. We can open any file type, save any file type - it's pretty much invincible. Even if we're going to work on this in a different program, just being able to open some of these ancient files that we get from local city governments is a huge win for us.
  • It's also administrator friendly - I'll use it a lot on the road because the licensing is so much easier to deal with than trying to check out a license from a server or make sure that everybody has internet connectivity.
  • It just looks pretty! It's legitimately a quality product, the layout looks good, it's not nearly as pushy as "other suites," and for the money it's the best!
  • I would like to see more inclusive design - things that make accessibility a priority. Some of our users are older or vision impaired, and being able to include them is important to us.
  • This is nit-picky, but I don't like how it opens the startup menu every time - like you open a program, and it opens the overall menu. So, for example, I want to work on a database file in calc, so I open up calc - the first thing it does is say "which of these programs would you like to work with?" I just opened Calc - that's what I want, why are you asking me if I want to edit a presentation?
  • For whatever reason, formatting can sometimes be a little wonky around pictures - I get that that's a thing, but man I wish someone would perfect the ability to drag and drop pictures without exploding everything else in the document, you know?
Read Nathan Bowman's full review
December 17, 2018
Chris Hecox | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • OpenOffice is nice to have as an application on your computer vs. using an online word document application like Google Docs.
  • OpenOffice can handle a variety of file types (.doc, .rtf, .xml) , making it an essential tool for those who don't have access to Microsoft Word
  • OpenOffice is a deeper software than Word and is more accessible. I know, accessibility for a document typing software, I know. But, OpenOffice allows for quickly changing margins, typeface, size, etc, and I think does it better than Word, and in an easier format.
  • OpenOffice can handle spreadsheets, basic databases, presentations, and basic drawings. It handles all of the usual Microsoft Office tools within one application.
  • OpenOffice allows for user created third-party plugins so you have many options for pursuing very specific things within the program. This is great because OpenOffice is user-sourced, so there's plenty of new things to try for improving workflow.
  • Some people are legitimately not interested in using software outside of the Microsoft Office Suite or Google Drive, so this could be a hard sell for small-mid-sized businesses.
Read Chris Hecox's full review
November 30, 2018
Kim Dammers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The program is free-ware. It can be quickly downloaded.
  • Correcting typos and finding errors in text are easy with this program.
  • OpenOffice documents can be saved in other formats such asthose from Microsoft and more basic ones.
  • Its interface is fairly straightforward and relatively easy to use.
  • For people used to Microsoft products, most of the basic functions are essentially the same.
  • It could break away from some of MS Word's structures.
  • It should have an (easy to find) option to set the line spacings at something other than the predetermined values without having to reset it every time the program is re-started or a new document is opened.
  • It re-saves documents at start-up without explaining why these need to be re-seaved or who to clear them.
Read Kim Dammers's full review
March 09, 2018
Liz Wade | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • OpenOffice is free and fully functional. When I bought my first Macbook, I did not want to pay additionally for Microsoft Word or any other processing software. I found OpenOffice as a free alternative that met all of my needs.
  • It is easy for beginners to learn. Omitting some of the bells of whistles of Microsoft Word (for example), leaves it super user friendly but still powerful enough to get your work done.
  • Because it is open sourced, OpenOffice is well-policed software. Anyone can suggest improvements, propose bug fixes, read about future plans, and avoid the hype of commercial software.
  • Though not often, the software can occasionally act glitchy: it can lag a little bit or crash altogether, though this is rare in my experience.
  • The primary document format in OpenOffice is ODF, rather than DOC. I sometimes experience incompatibility when opening files from Microsoft DOC in OpenOffice, such as formatting errors.
  • OpenOffice does not have a built-in grammar check tool. This can be remedied by downloading an extension, but I'd like to see it built-in.
Read Liz Wade's full review
March 12, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Price: the version I used was free.
  • Compatibility: With exception of specific tabling in the word processor and macros in the spreadsheet tool, there was perfect compatibility.
  • System compatibility: I was able to access and use it with fairly old systems, and did not need a new or current PC to install and operate.
  • The system is fairly bloated. The amount of space the office suite takes up is increasingly larger and larger with each iteration.
  • Macro support is weak.
  • Greater XLSX and DOCX extension compatibility without required "conversions" would be good.
Read this authenticated review
February 13, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Apache Openoffice has some excellent features that made it an attractive tool for my personal use.
  • It is fully compatible with all the Microsoft document types and loads much faster on certain occasions. You can easily add on additional modules to customize the software further.
  • Being an open source community tool it is completely free of cost.
  • The Writer software, which is their equivalent of the Microsoft Word would often have problems importing tables and data from Excel or other spreadsheets and not render correctly.
  • One of the things that I have repeatedly had issues with was its presentation software, Impress. Presentations developed in that tool would sometimes not display correctly in projector mode and some graphics would not show at all.
Read this authenticated review
January 31, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is a great alternative to the high cost of Microsoft Office.
  • It is not expensive to upgrade with every new release like Microsoft Office is.
  • It is works on multiple platforms. There are version for Windows, Linux, and Mac.
  • It does not have an email client. It needs an email client like Microsoft Office has in its Outlook application in Microsoft Office. For this I would suggest getting Mozilla's Open Source Thunderbird email client.
  • It does not have a calendar application. It needs an calendar application like Microsoft Office has built in to its Outlook application in Microsoft Office.
Read this authenticated review

What is Apache OpenOffice?

Apache OpenOffice is a free open source office suite that includes six applications: Writer (word processor), Calc (spreadsheets), Impress (presentations), Draw (diagramming and graphics), Base (database), and Math (formulas).
Categories:  Diagramming,  Office Suites

Apache OpenOffice Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No